March 24, 2007

  •             

    Art Good Morning


    Blinkie Spring Has Sprung 3


    Good Morning Ya’ll….well, I am starting this in the morning, but there have been a few interruptions, so by the time it actually gets posted, it may be afternoon!  Has that ever happened to any of you???!!  Neverless, it’s a beautiful day, a bit overcast, but the birds are singing, and you can see the buds on the limbs of the trees starting to reawaken!  Rejoice and be glad, for this is the day that the LORD has made!

    Blinkie Feed The Birds

    I asked my hubby to get some bird food on his way home from his prison ministry later on.  We have a feeder just outside our kitchen window…….and our cat, “the Moosh”, is sitting patiently in the window waiting for his spring time visitors!  So am I!! 

    Bar School  buzybee

    Well, today, I’m resting my weary, tired feet!  Yep, with Spring, comes home school convention time around here, and there’s lots of walkin’ goin’ on!  We only did a one day exhibit hall pass yesterday….now that we are “retired” home school parents, we don’t see that need to attend all of the seminars that are offered!  Besides, as long as we’ve been going, we’ve just about seen ‘em all!!  Oh, that’s not to say that we still couldn’t glean new wisdom for these changing times that we are living in, {and boy have there been changes since we first started going!}  We just aren’t in that mode any longer around here…our boy is grown, but, when I’m blessed to have grandchildren someday, I’m sure we’ll pass along all the information that we’ve learned to his family!!  I must say, that I did see some new things I wished they’d had back when I was in the mode!!  So many things are done on the computer now, almost everything!  But, as for me, I still hold to the traditional way of home schooling ….using those items we often remember as paper, pens, pencils, erasers, “ageless” Crayola crayons, scissors, and glue…Elmer’s, wasn’t it???!!  
    Well, now, we have an “Endangered Supply List”….

    Tiny tag Fruit Apple SmallWho needs paper ~ we have Word Pad 
    Tiny tag Fruit Apple SmallPencils and pens ~ throw out those sharpeners!!
            ….we now have what are commonly called “keys”
    Tiny tag Fruit Apple SmallErasers ~ well, we all know there’s a simpler less “crumby” method that’s called “Delete”
    Tiny tag Fruit Apple SmallCrayons ~ we now have Paint Shop, and they have more colors then Crayola ever did!!
    Tiny tag Fruit Apple SmallAnd finally, as for the scissors and the Elmer’s Glue
           ….now you can even “cut and paste” on a computer to get the same effect!
    Tiny tag Fruit Apple Small If anyone can think of any more….just “key” ’em in!!

    My, oh my, how things have changed!!  Yes, yes, I know times are achangin’ and there is need for all that now, but I must say that I was blessed enough to live in a time when we didn’t even have a computer in our home, we had no desire for one, nope, not a bit….but, we did finally break down in ’99…and now, well, I really wouldn’t want to be without it!  Oh, I could live without it, but I sure would miss doing this…and using it for business has sure been convenient!!  But ya know, it would help the cause for that “Endangered Supply List”!  Right!!  

    Children

    My son, is working with the Children’s International Conference there this weekend!  He is filming the whole thing, and I’m pretty proud of him!  He’s doing a great job!  He and his friend have stayed here for 2 nights, and when they got home yesterday, they were exhausted!  Ian’s feet hurt so bad….I told him I knew the feeling!  There are about 500 children and 100, or so, volunteers!  A good crowd, but boy are they ever busy!  He was gone to his friends house on an overnighter from Tuesday until Thursday, and I haven’t really gotten to see him much , but he did say his tailbone was feeling much better, although a twinge of pain every now and then, but better!  He’ll be resting the remainder of the weekend, then possibly to work on Monday…the work he does could injure it more, but he’s gonna give it a go!  Praise God for the healing He’s done so far!  Thank you for your prayers when I posted earlier about it!  You can be sure that God hears, and acts! 

    Blinkie Friends Are Special People

    We also got to see our friends, that we always run into each year, some of which we see throughout the year, but it’s always good to catch up!  I found out a friend  of mine, Dianna, is expecting their 7th, after 9 years!!  Say a prayer that all goes well with her pregnancy, and delivery!  They have the Nature’s Workshop Plus booth…you may have seen them if you’ve attended any of the conventions.  She’s due in August, and their business is blooming as well!  They have a wonderful web site where you can get to know the whole family!  They carry some great home school supplies, especially for nature lovers!  You can even get frogs, worms, etc., to dissect right in your own home….how’s that for table talk!!  And if you’d like to join the conversation, you can check out their great web site < here!

    Blinkie Frogs

    And, “The Country Baker”, Denise, is another friend, usually at the conventions…..we always stop by {she gets soap from me then}, and we buy the most awesome peanut butter cookies from her every year!  Her son makes them now, and I’ll print the recipe below, for you all to enjoy…they are “healthy”…and she said they do not cause any problems with your blood sugar, for those of you who might have that problem, like me!  You can also check out her other great recipes, and how-to bread making tips, here on their beautiful web site!  I’ve used her products, and made her home made bread recipes, and they are yummy!! 

    Okay, that’s enough advertising!  I hope you all have a wonderful Spring weekend!  I know many are getting ready for the Heart Beat Conference, and my prayers will go with you all!  Those of you not going…let’s keep on praying for the blessings to fall on everyone there…that they go with an open heart, asking, seeking, knocking, persistantly desiring to be in His presence, and to be filled to overflowing with His mighty love!  

    Oh, and do enjoy this recipe….I’m eating one now!!
    Hugs and blessings to all!!

    Tiny Tag flower bird ~ Deborah 

    COOKIES DENISE'S PEANUT BUTTER

    ~ WHOLE WHEAT PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES ~

    Denise says…..
    “My kids love these and they freeze great!”

    Cream together in mixer bowl with wire whips:

    {^Here’s she’s calling for the use of the Bosch mixer,
    she sells them….but a regular hand mixer works, or good
    ol’ elbow grease works just as well! – says Me!}


    1 1/2 cups soft butter
    4 cups raw or regular sugar
    2 1/2 cups natural sweetened or unsweetened peanut butter

    Add and cream for 3 minutes:

    1 T. vanilla
    4 large eggs

    Mix together in separate bowl and add to the creamed mixture:

    5 cups soft or hard whole wheat flour
    2 t. baking soda
    1 t. salt  {only if using unsalted butter}
    1 cup of coarsely ground flaxseed meal  {in bosch blender – you can also buy it preground, or use a coffee grinder!}
    {this ingredient is optional, won’t affect recipe one way or the other – but I love it in there!}

    Place by Tablespoonful onto greased cookie sheets 2 inches apart and flatten
    with a fork dipped in flour.
    Bake 350 degrees for 15 min.
    Cool for 1
    minute and then remove to wire racks to cool.
    Makes 8 delicious dozen!

    Bar Chocolate Chip Cookies
    These aren’t exactly Peanut Butter Cookies here….but you get the idea!!




    Bar Film Strip 2

    IT’S ….. Blinkie Phototime !!!

    I just had to share a photo with you all!  This was in the height of our homeschooling season…in the fall of 1994!  Let’s see…..that’s about 13 years ago!!!  Now he towers over Pa!  They loved to go and see who could “get the bullseye” first!  Ian always won!!  He’s a straight shooter!  I’ve got all of our “father~son” photos together, ready to make a Creative Memories album!  This is one of my favorite pictures! 

    teammates

    Blinkie I Love My Family

    P.S.  It’s LATE AFTERNOON!!!

    The End Cat

Comments (18)

  • :heartbeat:  Oh  Happy Birth Day to you Deborah !

    Thanks for your comment and encourages word on my site.  I ´m quite busy and  didn´t have much time with my PC.    Your post is always amazing ! Love in Christ. Tip

  • Thank you for voting!!!

  • Hi Deborah.  No I am not going to the conference but I wish I was.  Maybe next year. I’m afraid that I am more computer ignorant than you are.  I have no idea how to set up these sites with pictures, icons, etc.  I tell my sister what I want or something I have seen and then she puts it up for me.  She would be the one to ask how to do it. Sorry!!  I only know how to comment and post on my site.  Pretty pathetic.  Your background music is so pretty.  I’ll talk to you later.  Have a great day.  :sunny:  Debbie

  • Hello! I’m glad to hear that your son’s tail bone is starting to feel better! I have another item for your list! More of a place than an item though… The library! We have Google now, so no one goes there to research school reports anymore! What about a dictonary? We have spell scheck! It’s crazy to think how much school life has changed, even in my time. I’ll be 21 this year, and I remember 10 years ago, there were no computers in my school, and paper and pens were abuntant! Have a great day!

  • im so sorry this box seems to have a mind of its own any ways i wanted to let you know i love you and wish you were going to be there at the conference too. love shelly.:cry:

  • :sunny:Hi Deborah,

    Yes, I totally have days like that …lols! The recipe sounds great I am not
    going to make them though, because I will eat way to many…lols. I see you
    put on the right modules they look good. I am trying to comment now because
    I will be busy the rest of the week. I hope your Hump Day is blessed!

    HuGs,

    Linda:heartbeat::wave:

  • Yeah, it’s always dangerous for me to “take a peek” at the vendor hall during those conventions.  There are so many good books out there!  I’m glad that you found the time enjoyable!

    ~Sarah

  • WOW Ian looks, well differant in that picture. This is Doug Ruark by the way.

  • My camera is not that expensive.  It is the first digital I have owned and I am amazed at its capabilities.  It is small enough to carry in my purse all the time (a requirement I was looking for).  It is a Panasonic DMC-TZ1 with 10x optical zoom (which I use all the time).  It has a lot of neat features, many of which I haven’t even discovered yet.  I just wasn’t into investing into a lot of expensive equipment, lenses and such.  But I’m satisfied with this little gem ~ pretty powerful little package.

  • i love pb cookies they sound awsome love shelly.

  • Oh man! I totally forgot to get on here and wish you a happy birthday!  And I have not been to the post office at all!!!  POOH!!!!  Hope you had a wonderful  day!  What did you do? Anything special and fun?  I share a birthday with my husband in June.  :)   He’ll be busy in the summers from now on, so I’m sure it will be a non-event.  I LOVE CLEAN SWEEP!  I like to watch it if I can on Saturday mornings.  Sometimes, if I’m busy, I’ll watch the beginning when they show the cluttered rooms and then I’ll catch the last ten minutes when they show the rooms.  I love the in between stuff too but sometimes I just can’t watch it all, but I do love it.  I also know about the bronzing of the baby booties that you are referring to!  I do think you should do that with your platform shoes from the 70s, but it would probably be expensive.  Funny but expensive!!! Love the archery picture of your husband and son!!! SWEET!!! Also love the whole wheat cookie recipe!!!  I hate baking in high altitude though.  I have tried pretty much everything for high altitude.  Bought some cookbooks and have a book mark that someone gave me and tons of newspaper articles, but I just lost my magic touch when we moved up here!  *sniff*  I think I blogged about me not having any spring clothes to speak of.  I have mostly winter and some summer, even though I don’t dare wear shorts in the summer yet.  YIKES!  So, I did get a skirt and a couple of tops.  What I really need are some good bras, or as my five year old Harry would call them, “Hats.”  But I don’t think I’ll have time for a trip down the mountain for that and I’m FOR SURE not taking Harry with me when I have to go “Hat” shopping.  I do hope to learn more about my new camera before the trip to Texas.  I do think it will be a great opportunity to take some fun shots.  I am planning on making some little scrapbooks, about 6×6 for a few of the ladies that are going.  I wish I had time and resources to make them for everyone, but just can’t, so I’m making them for a few of the ones that are very special to my :heartbeat:.  Well, I should go to bed since I have a big day tomorrow.  I’m actually going to bed tonight instead of falling asleep on the couch like I’ve been doing lately.  :sleepy::sleepy::sleepy:  Talk to you soon, friend!!! Love, Susan

  • :sunny:  Happy Birthday!  Have a great day!

    Very cute picture!

  • mmm, those cookies look amazing!! :wink: I will have to visit your friends baking site, since I’m an avid baker!! I hope you are having a wonderful weekend! We need to chat via phone again sometime soon! :love: oxoxo

  • Conventions are so fun but yes, very exhausting!  I sooo enjoyed doing CCI conventions!  They are so much fun!  I can imagine that taping them is fun too!lol  Kids can be hillarious, as I’m sure you know!  Well, hope you have a great week!

    ~Sarah

  • Dear sister and friend~
     
    H A P P Y    B I R T H D A Y !!!
     

  • Good Morning! I laughed at your post taking most of the day to complete… I have had days like that. Your family sounds wonderful, you must be very proud! I, however, will be late to church if I don’t get off the computer – and that will not make my family proud! Have a blessed day. Dianne

  • :sunny:Prison ministry?  We have an awesome Prison Ministry out of our church… a group goes all the time to differenct prisons all over Texas… I really want to go to the Women’s Correctional Facilities… there is a lot of red tape to get in … one of the days I’m going to do it…

    Have a blessed Sunday… those cookies look gooooooooodddddddd!~~~~~

    Hugs, Connie:fun:

  • :sunny:Thanks for sharing the recipe I’ll have to try it since my Hubby likes peanut butter cookies!…….Hope you all have a Wonderful Weekend!………In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads