April 10, 2007

  • Taking Flight > > >

     Lavender Pots x 5
    Blinkie Simple Joys
     

    I hope everyone had a wonderful, joyus Resurrection weekend!  We spent a quiet, peaceful day celebrating Jesus….My guys were resting Sunday, after working a very long, hard, and grueling week…they were putting down ceramic tile and that’s hard work!  They’ve worked quite a few late night hours, and into the weekend. They still aren’t finished…and now my son is getting ready to take a trip, so we are having to prepare for that! – more on this below!  We also enjoyed the classic movie, “The Ten Commandments”, with Charleton Heston….I never tire of that one!  Love the parting of the Red Sea!  Wouldn’t you have loved to have been there when it really happened?  How awesome is our God!! 

    I also received a starter for Amish bread, and made some of that this weekend as well.  My sister-in-law had given me a starter quite a few years ago, and it had been passed down through a friend’s family, so it had quite a lengthy history…and, when I didn’t feed it, due to my schedule, I was pretty disheartened when it died!  Well, this last week, when my son was at his friend’s aunt’s house, she had just baked some up, so he told her my story!  She sent a starter home with him for me!  How sweet!!  It is a daily commitment, keeping that alive, but well worth it!  Her recipe is a little different then my first one, but it was still yummy!  

    Picture 001

     

    Bread Dirt 003


    Bread Dirt 006


    Bread Dirt 010


    **PRAYER REQUEST….Taking Flight >>>>

    Smilie Flying in Airplane


    I do have a much needed prayer request….my son, Ian, and his friend, Tim, will be flying out Thursday morning, to North Carolina to film the African Missions Children’s Choir.  They will be there 4 days, then from there they will be flying back to California to work on the editing, and some other projects, then finally home around the 24th, or 25th!  He’s super excited about it all…but, well, since this is his first time flying, and being away from home for so long….mom, here, needs some prayer!  I’m a bit nervous, to say the least!  I’ve never flown either, and I have no clue as to what he can, or can’t take on the flight!  We are working at getting everything together for the next 2 days…his flight leaves Thursday morning, so I’m asking for prayer, especially for their safe travels, and good weather….and for ol’ mom here, that I won’t worry so much!!  Yes, I’m human, and yes, I’m a bit concerned about it!  Am I being too, “mom” about all of this?!!  He’s been such a blessing in our lives, and we are sure going to miss him while he’s gone!  I know the LORD will watch over him…I just need to put him in God’s hands, and leave him there!  We call that “put & leave”, right?!!  So, I would really appreciate your thoughts, and prayers on this!  Also, if anyone has any pointers on packing for a double flight like that….or any words of hints, tips, wisdom, comfort, or encouragement, please, I’d so appreciate you sharing them with me! 

    ~ A STEADFAST FAITH ~
    Give me, LORD, a steadfast faith
    that stands on Your Word
    and trusts in Your goodness,
    knowing there is never a moment
    when I’m out of Your care.

    “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace,
    whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.
    Trust ye in the LORD for ever:
    for in the LORD JE-HO-VAH is everlasting strength:”
    {Isaiah 26:3  KJV}

    Well, I’m off to do a bit of shopping with Ian, and catch some dinner together, a mom and son thing!!   It’s so pretty here!  The birds are singing and it’s about 50*…but, they say the rain is a comin’ tomorrow!  I hope you all have a beautiful day, as well! 

    Be Blessed In Him!!
    ~ Deborah Tiny Tag Amereta's Graphics spring_dsy02
     

Comments (21)

  • :sunny:

    Hi Deborah ! Thanks for your comment and prayer.Prayed for your son, they are in His eyes.  I have seen the picuters you puted in your last post, all are precious !   Have a blessed weekend ! Love you in Christ. Tip

  • your son will be fine and that bread looks so yummy i could grab it off the puter and eat it im soooo hungry love you girl love shell.:p

  • your son will be fine and that bread looks so yummy i could grab it off the puter and eat it im soooo hungry love you girl love shell.:p

  •  I’m sure he’ll be fine. :) And you :wink:   Sound like they’re doing some fun stuff! I love your colors here!

    I checked out the site you told me about and I think maybe I’ll have to enter sometime. Sounds like fun! At least if I get votes!:p   It’ll be great to see more of the old ones you’re putting on your site!

    We’re really getting a cold blast here right now! Supposed to get a fair amount of snow too! Poor flowers and trees!

  • Yes! Subscribe! I’ll subscribe to you too! I am always thrilled to make a new friend! You sound like someone who I could sit down with over coffee and we could just pull stuff out of our hearts and really enjoy spending time together. I read on someone else’s blog that Ian is your only son, and that you had several miscarriages. I wasn’t supposed to be able to have children, so my two daughters are also a precious blessing to me. They are awesome women of God. I like it that they are going to go farther and do more than I ever could. I think, if each generation stood on the shoulders of the previous, we could lift them up to reach even higher for God! That’s how I define my role as a parent now! Like your son, our youngest has a mission’s call. She has been all over the world and is only 23! She is now working full time for Metro Ministries in the ghettos of NYC. Our oldest daughter (PXSmall on Xanga) teaches in an inner city school, and she rocks! She is a great teacher, and has such a heart of compassion for her kids.   May God bless your day. May He fill your heart with the peace that only He can give. Blessings to you! :heartbeat:

  • Praying. I love the taste of Amish friendship bread.

    Heather

  • Praying for your son…..my son is 23……they are always ‘near and dear’ to a mother’s heart!

  • Hi! I am visiting you from Aunt Gwen’s site! Hope that’s OK. I enjoyed your beautiful site and reading about your day. I pray your son Ian will have an awesome time and an easy trip. We fly quite a bit (mostly in Europe) and it really isn’t too complicated. I know most of what we see and hear about air travel is the bad stuff, but hundreds of thousands of people fly every day and it’s fine! Your son will do great! I like what you said about put & leave! We are often far better at the putting part, and really bad at the leaving part, huh? Blessings!

  • Have you heard from your son since he’s gotten there?  I know God is taking care of Him and you and will keep you strong!  God bless!

    ~Sarah

  • The delete button is way out of control…epidemic proportions… send in a swat team… stay tuned… live coverage at 11.  This Nattyco1 for “news at noon” reporting from the computer saying, “Please, step away from the delete button.” :lol:

    Debi, I pray you’ll know that I along with so many others have Ian in our prayers as he journeys off to an exciting new piece of his life but even beyond and more importantly than that..He is in God’s hands always and we both know that there is no better place to be. 

    RYC: wondering where you are… I am in south jersey about an hour from Amish country….

    Rest easy today… and know that the Lord is with you just looking at you with so much love hoping you’ll bring all your thoughts and feelings to him so that he can take care of them for you.  Such love….

    Be blessed today Debi-!

    -Natalie 

  • PS again!  (boy, am I absentminded or what!?)  forgot to say I would luv to have you subscribe……just be aware that I don’t create a new post every day…….I try for every week or so……….Gwen

  • Hi Deborah :o )  I think you must be on the east coast somewhere and I’m on the west coast……I stopped blogging at 10:15 last night, but I noticed it posted at 1:12 AM your time, so we have a 3 hour time difference.  I’m glad you like my vintage profile picture :)   guess what!!  That’s ME  :)    My mom said I refused to wear pants when I was little, so she always made pantaloons to match my dresses to keep my legs warm….she took the photo.  I was interested that you said you can’t eat MSG—like me.  For me, it causes migraines and since it is accumulative, I look for it in all of it’s forms and try to avoid all of them as much as I can.  I was terribly surprised to find out that even unbleached flour has a form of msg in it!  If you know of any special brands or ??? that do not have any form of msg I’d certainly be interested in sharing info.  Also—any restaurants that don’t use msg?   I also think I have a “homemade soap story” to tell you, but I have to talk to my mom first to make sure I’m remembering correctly.  Have a great day :sunny:  Gwen

  • :sunny:uhmmmm .. that looks so good!!

    Thanks for sending luvphoto over …. we have a lot in common for sure… I appreciate you doing that!

    Have a blessed day, sista!

  • PS  —-just found your comment :o )  come back and see my newest post :o )  Yes, the flowers are lilacs—-one of my favorites.   Gwen

  • Amish Friendship Bread is a full time job, isn’t it?!?  But I agree—it’s yummy :o )   I love the African Children’s Choir :o )  I have a daughter who is volunteering in an orpanage in Africa right now—for 4 months.   The experiences she is having are amazing!  God Bless.  Gwen 

  • I always take a pack of gum, because the air pressure always makes my ears pop and they have a hard time unpopping, so some thick gum like bubbalicious (sp?) always does the trick! No liquids unless they are travel size and see through bottles, no nail clippers, lighters, scissors shouldn’t be brought either. Be prepared to take your shoes off as well as flip flops believe it or not, because that happened to me. I’d pack seven shirts, five to seven pairs of pants, underwear, socks and then if he can do his laundry there or in a local laundrymat, he won’t have to pack so much! Pack a clear empty plastic grocery bag so that he can put his dirty unmentionables temporarily in there until they get washed. I always bring a carry on with me and I am pretty sure you can bring two suitcases and one carry on or maybe two, not sure. Hubby used to work for TSA at the airport, so I learned what was okay and what would hold you up. Sorry for the long comment, but hope this helps! I will be praying for your son’s safe travel!! I :heartbeat: to fly!! Have a super Wednesday!

  • Everytime I have to fly, I simply have to “crawl up on Jesus’ lap” and hang on for dear life.  It scares me green.  I usually end up in tears at take-off, but the last time, I actually made it through the flight without crying.  Taxiing up to the terminal after landing is just such a relief.

  • Hey Deborah…your site looks so pretty!!  Good job.  Will be in prayer for your son ~~  Let’s His angels watch over him and keep him in God’s perfect peace…and protection!!

    Blessings

    jamie

  • P.S. I will be praying for Ian!

  • Thank you for the last portion of your post. The ministry where I work/serve is undergoing some restructuring. They have been laying off people. I narrowly escaped a lay off a few months ago after having been on hold for 7 months. My stomach is a mess, I’m near tears…okok I am tearfull…and I KNOW the truths you have shared about a steadfast faith and being kept in perfect peace when my mind is stayed on Him - it’s just keeping it stayed on Him that is the difficult part. AND not thinking that I’ve done something wrong to cause my release! (Sorry to unload here…it’s the first safe place I’ve come since my one on one with my supervisor.)

  • :sunny:You know your son will be in God’s hands, and he will be just fine. Just think if you were going in his place how excited you would be…..God’s even excited!, That is why He is allowing this to happen! I will be praying for peace in your heart and safe travel for your son!…..Hope you have a Very Blessed evening!……In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads