April 28, 2007

  • A Bit of Weekend Fun!!

      

    Bar Sunshine Faces


    Porters & Smithys 4-11-07 025


    Bar Sunshine Faces


    Well, today I’m consolidating …. last weekend’s updates, with this one! … I know, a little late on last weekend, but we were busy catching up on some overdue projects, and other life happenings that were going on before Ian flew in yesterday, early AM.  I’m so glad to have him home again!  Anyway…back to our (last) weekend!

    It was the most beautiful weekend here in Indiana, finally!  So, my hubby and I went down to Brown County on Saturday, and enjoyed walking in the warm sunshine, seeing the spring flowers, listening to the local corner guitar player, singing gospel songs…he’s an icon there, and I should have gotten a picture, but by the time we came back his way again, he was gone…so I researched it online, and I came up with a local informational magazine about the town…and, he was showcased on the front of this past October’s issue!  Not a real clear picture, but you get the idea!  He’s been there as long as I can remember!  Same corner, same guitar, and same great songs!   

    Brown County Singer!

     

    When we got there, we so enjoyed the flowers … not as many as usual, probably due to the longer cold spells we’ve had!  These pictures aren’t the best, but I snapped a few shots from around the town … it was such a beautiful day!  Come on down for a visit!  

    Brown County Michaels Flowers 4-22-07
    … This sits in front of one of my favorite shops there …
    Michael’s Flowers! 
    They have anything you’d want to make a beautiful garden,
    or…to make a garden beautiful!



    Brown County Pink Bench 4-22-07
    … I loved this, very, pink bench …


    Brown County Robot 4-22-07
    … “Town Mascot” …
    … He actually talks and moves …
    He knows us by name!


    Brown County Mushrooms 4-22-07
    Now, wouldn’t you go mushroom hunting for these?!!
    “Garden art” by Michael’s Flowers!


    Brown County Tulips 4-22-07
    … I loved these tulips …
    Everything around them still had that wintery gray look,
    but these just “popped”,
    and brightened everything right up!
    “Garden art” by God! 
    “…Behold, I make all things new…”
    Revelation 21:5

    Brown County Tea Pots 4-22-07
    A clever use for recycling those old tea pots!
    I’ve got a couple I could use!
    Aren’t you so very thankful that God doesn’t just throw us away!  
    He recycles us, so to speak… 
    as we are repentant, and confess our sins,
    He forgives us, and then He redeems us!

    “Have mercy upon me, O God,
    according to thy lovingkindness:
    according unto the multitude of thy tender mercies
    blot out my transgressions.
    Wash me thoroughly from mine iniquity,
    and cleanse me from my sin.
    “Create in me a clean heart, O God;
    and renew a right spirit within me.”
    Psalm 51:1-2,10


    Bar Sunshine Faces


    Backing up a bit here …
    on our drive down to Brown County, we saw a very interesting site,
    which reminded me of my son being in California,
    and of the Beach Boys, and of the beach! 
    Ever seen one of these? 


    beach wagon
    “SURF’S UP”
    Well, not here in Indiana, anyway!
    (Yes, that’s DH standing in the background looking like he owns the thing!!)


    We were just driving along, when we saw this “beach wagon”, and just had to turn around in hopes that the owner would allow us to get some pictures of it … I lived in California, for a short time, in my teens, and I remember the dune buggies, and the 3 wheelers (sort of like a recycled motorcycle  ) … those were all the rage … really “groovy”, as we used to say!  Well, this man looked like he just walked off the beach!  Very nice guy!  He had a shirt that said “Surf Shop” on it, but he didn’t want to be in any pictures.  He was probably in his late 60′s, and still havin’ fun!  Check out that surf board, and the whitewalls with yellow rims!!  He didn’t mind at all that we snapped a few photos…and they don’t do it justice … you had to have been there … the inside of it was really nice!  There was a Christian bumper sticker on it, and it was nice to talk with him.  He said he’d been working on this wagon, and was waiting on some friends, then heading down to Brown County, as well, to a “souped up” hot rod car show on the streets down there, where he was going to park it for a little while. 

    When we got finally got to BC, after a beautiful drive in the country, down the back roads, we enjoyed some of the shops, then went on over to the car show.  The work these guys put into these cars is really amazing.  It’s spring time and that’s when they begin having these cars shows around here!  Most of my pictures were fuzzy, and there were a lot of people looking at them, so it was hard to get good clear shots of them…and I’m sorry, but here are a couple of our favorites … see anything you like?!

    Brown County Turq Car 4-22-07
    We had one similar to this when we first got married…
    my brother worked on cars like this…
    and he sold us one, very cheap, back then. 
    Oh, it wasn’t as nice as this one, but it was a very dependable car!
    I loved the turquoise color … and those whitewalls!

    Brown County Truck 4-22-07
    This one had a really nice paint job on it!
    Couldn’t get any more pictures…
    too many people oohing, and aahing, over it!



    Brown County White Car 4-22-07
    MY FAVORITE!



    Brown County Red Truck
    HUBBY’S FAVORITE!



    Brown County Red Car
    ANOTHER ONE WE BOTH LIKED!
    They just don’t make ‘em like they used to, do they?!!
    Blinkie Crusin 50 Chevy Red Large


    All around our weekend was wonderful….and this weekend, my guys are down in Louisville at an antique/craft/flea market.  They are having fun!  Me? I’m enjoying a nice quiet weekend, devotions, blogging, catching up on some reading and some housework.  Next week is going to be busy for us … cleaning out the garage, and the basement!!!  Both, monumental tasks, but nevertheless, it has to get done!!!  I pray you all have a wonderful, blessed weekend … the weather is beautiful here, and I hope it is where you all are, as well … we’re all due for some, right?!!  Do I hear a resounding, YES?!!  Enjoy the weekend, and the Sonshine!!

    Tiny Tag Have a sonshiney day
    Hugs,
    ~ Deborah  Tiny Tag flower bird  


    SONSHINE BLESSINGS ~

    Gather from each day God’s sunshine blessings to the heart –
    Gentle gifts of beauty, just for you …
    Hold them in your memory, wrap them carefully with love,
    and they will shine with joy forever new!

    “Be glad in the LORD, and rejoice, ye righteous:
    and shout for joy, all ye that are upright in heart.” 
    Psalm 32:11
     

Comments (16)

  • Hey,

    I’m glad you stopped by! If you ever need prayer just let us know. God bless you :heartbeat:

    Cynthia

  • well thanks for the comment you left me!! :heartbeat: yes I have 3 brothers and 1 sis…..:love: thanks for the welcome to come to your site!! well just wanted to say thanks * have a nice day!  Kaleah

  •                                                                 

    Those are great, looks like you had a *Beautiful* Day!!  If you want,  betsafly  has a gallery for people to post there flower pictures for everyone to see just go to betsafly  site and she has a link there. You can share your pics with everyone!!

                        S*Q*U*E*E*Z*E                   

  • It looks and sounds like you had a wonderful time. I really enjoyed looking at your pictures. I am sure it was as a special time to spend with your husband. My Honey and I like to poke around in different places. There are a few flea markets here in Denmark, and we visit many second hand stores. The prices fit our small budget, and you also don’t have to pay the stiff 25 % sales tax on used items.

  • Thanks for the comment…  Yes she is a precious daughter as is all of our five children. God has been good and has given us richly all things too enjoy!!!!Interesting to see that you are from Indiana also!!!! Blessings to you!!!!

  • I love songs like Convoy cus they tell a story, in a really unique way. It is accually a song by C.W McCall (I couldnt find a version of him singing it, but I think C.W does a much better job at it).

  • Thank you for your comment….I know that God carries me thru and I don’t even want to know how much worse I would be if I didn’t have Him to get me thru.  I have my good and bad and they are anywhere from seconds to minutes to hours to days. 

    I do sell Stampin’ Up! stamps, I have a catalog I can mail you, there will be a new one out in July, if you want to look before you get the book you can go to stampinup.com and they have the catalog online to view.  I will just need your address to mail one out.

    Let me know what you get when you are out camera shopping!  The pics you took are great!  What did you shoot them with?  

    Does Ian also do stills or just filming?  Congrats to him and his new business! 

    It is hard to lose a child, it just shouldn’t happen that you out live your children.  When John died I kept hearing a song over and over in my head, and I hung on to that song, I felt it was a direct message from the Lord…..”the things that I love and hold dear to my heart are just borrowed their not mine at all, Jesus only let me use them to brighten my life so remind me, remind me, dear Lord”  and even tho I know that that it true and that John is dancing and singing with the Lord, I still have a void that somedays are too much to bare!

    My husband is also an officer and Sarah is all to familiar with the schedule and the potential danger.  We are excited to be adding him to our family.
     
    Thanks so much for your post, I really appreciate it.  I am on alot sometimes and update, and then I go thru a period of not being online for weeks.  Look forward to hearing from you….  ~Connie

  • A 1955 red corvette, that could be considered my first true love of cars.

  • :yes:  great post as ever Debbie

    I love the pink bench too

  • Praise God for those moments of fun in the midst of a lot of stuff.

    Heather

  • Hello, Love the Pictures! I am planning an outing there in May for my birthday. Even if it’s by myself :love: Hope everyone made it home safe this weekend. Love to you :sunny:

  • hay just thinking of you love shelly.:love:

  • Beautiful post…….beautiful pix of the flowers and other sights from the county…..beautiful Scripture!!  Thanks so much!

  • That was an awesome post. You have such beauty where you live. Spring is here, sort of, but the flowers aren’t sure what to do. It gets cold every night (it’s like 30 or so at night!).It warms up during the day nicely (around 60) which is fine with me–I just miss the color of the flowers! Isn’t God awesome in knowing that humans would have a heart-desire for visual beauty—and then providing it???

    Thanks for your comment on my post. catzndogz9

  • :lol: :heartbeat:i loved th pictures of the flowers they are so gorgeous and also i called my husband in to check out the cars and he wanted me to save them to my puter so idid and thank you so much in advance i hope you didnt mind. my husband owned a 57 nomad when he was a teenager he so loved it any way god bles you sweete love shelly.:heartbeat::love::sunny::shysmile:

  • :goodjob:Love the  Pics! Flowers and the old Rods!……..My Hubby wants to find one to restore, too! He is into the Mustangs!……..Myself I like the old “57″ Corvett with the soft and hard-top!…..Have a Peaceful evening!……..In Christ’s Love……..Monic:heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads