June 16, 2007

  •     Picture 069

    A Package Arrived Today….
    From My Sweet Son!!

    I hope you’ve all had a blessed week!  God continues to grow me up in Him!  The time of more stretching has arrived!  I’m a bit guilty of “grumbling”, but I’m working through that…*see devotion below.  First of all, I’m still waiting patiently (but it’s gettin’ thin here) on the DVD of pictures from the journey out west, which you may recall, that my son, his best friend, and my husband took last month!  We did get a package from Ian, but, sadly, among all the other goodies, that was nowhere to be found!  He said that it was soon to follow!  In the package, however, we did find some sweet gifts … two shirts for his dad, for Father’s Day!  One is a linen Hawaiian print, and one a plain white linen, a ”dolphin coffee mug”, (just can’t see DH drinking out of that dolphin mug!) … a picture frame with 3 otters on it … (one for each one of us!) … and also there was an Hawaiian Ti Plant.  I’ve never grown one of those, but I’ll keep you posted on it’s progress with pictures! (if it survives my “not so green” thumb!)  All of it came nicely packed in peanuts and bubble wrap!  He is too SWEET!!  He knows how much I love to pop bubble wrap!!  Moosh loves to play in the peanuts! We’re going to get a “goodie box” ready to send to him, too!  How would you pack homemade pumpkin bread??  I did take pictures but they didn’t turn out very good. I’ve got a couple here though.  I’m learning to work the new camera, but this one was our smaller digital that seems to give everything a brownish red overtone. Probably some setting I need to change on it! 

    This is a picture of ….”the dolphin mug”!!
    P.S. My husband just informed me that this was my mug! 
    He had bought it while out in Monterey with the boys, and had
    forgotten to bring it home when he came!  So Ian sent it with the
    other things. 
    Oh, how I love him!!!! 

    Picture 042




















    This is a little stuffed otter that Ian brough back to me
    from his first 2 week trip to California! 
    I love it!  So does “the Moosh”!

    Picture 073




















    It’s been over a month now since I’ve seen my son, and I’m thankful that it has passed quickly!  Ian and Tim have been very busy, and if you haven’t seen the videos they’ve edited, you can check them out on Tim’s site. They were also working on another African Mission Children’s Choir film, and some testimonials for the church.  There is talk of a mission trip for them both, with groups from the church.  Ian would be going to Baja, California, and Tim would be traveling to Guatemala.  Not sure of the details yet, but again, I’ll keep you posted … you know I’m going to ask for prayer for those two very special guys!!  Prayer is still appreciated for them … they are working long hours, and I don’t think they’re getting enough sleep! 

    They also had worked on a movie called
    The Broken Road this last summer with a local Christian production company here in Indiana.  You can see some of that work at the website above, where it also shows them at work in some of the pictures, and you can see the trailer to the movie.  The screening is showing locally, tonight through the 21st of this month, here in Indy at a dinner theatre.  We’ll be going, and hopefully, with Tim’s family. 

     
    Tiny Tag Flower

    As I said above, I’m enduring some spiritual stretching, and when that happens, sometimes I … grumble!  Here’s a devotion I read today on that very subject … He knows just when to get our attention! … Thought I’d share! 

    GRUMBLING…..
    Evidently God sees grumbling as a lot more serious sin than I do.  Did you know that He put it in the same category as idolatry and sexual immorality {1 Corinthians 10}?  That certainly gets my attention!!

    We don’t even use the word “grumbling” much anymore—though we do plenty of it. 

    Out of curiosity I looked it up in the dictionary:
    “to mutter in discontent.” 

    But look at the synonyms I found in the thesaurus:
    “beef, bellyache, brawl, crab, fuss, gripe, hollar, squawk, whine, groan, moan, complain, kick”. 
    Now, those I can identify with!

    The circumstances mentioned in 1 Corinthians were this:  The children of Israel were on their way from Egypt to the land God had promised them.  Along the way things did not go like they had expected—and they didn’t hesitate to make sure Moses, their leader, knew exactly how they felt about things!  They clearly had an “attitude”, and as a result, most of them died in the wilderness because they did not believe and obey God.  The writer, Paul, says, “Now these things occurred as examples, to keep us from setting our hearts on evil things as they did.”  What were those “evil things”? 

    Paul mentions four:
    *Idolatry
    *Sexual immorality
    *Testing the LORD
    *Grumbling!!

    Grumbling? 
    I would not have put it in the same category as the other three on the list. 
    But God does!

    Among other things, God’s people griped about:
    *Lack of water  {Exodus 17:2-3}
    *The difficulty of what God asked them to do  {Numbers 14:27-30}
    *The leaders God gave them  {Numbers 16}

    Paul says:

    “And do not grumble, as some of them did–and were killed by the destroying angel.
    These things happened to them as examples and were written down as warnings for us,
    on whom the fulfillment of the ages has come.  So if you think you are standing firm,
    be careful that you don’t fall!”  {1 Corinthians 10:10-12}

    Well, that’s plain enough for me—-an example and a warning not to gripe!  I’m glad the next verse after that is one of reassurance.  God will help me the next time I’m tempted to complain, for He says:

    “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. 
    And God is faithful; He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. 
    But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it” {vs. 13}.

    Thank you, LORD.  I’m sure I’ll need that promise!! 



    father's day

    You all have a wonderful weekend …
    and a Happy Father’s Day!!

    A Dad is a person who is loving and kind,
    And often he knows what you have on your mind.
    He’s someone who listens, suggests, and defends.
    A dad can be one of your very best friends!
    He’s proud of your triumphs,
    but when things go wrong,
    A dad can be patient and helpful and strong.
    In all that you do, a dad’s love plays a part.
    There’s always a place for him deep in your heart.
    And each year that passes, you’re even more glad,
    More grateful and proud just to call him your dad!
    Thank you, Dad…
    for listening and caring, for giving and sharing,
    but, especially, for just being you!
    Happy Father’s Day. 
    - Author Unknown

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose
    Blessings!  
                Deborah <><

Comments (10)

  • oh man what an awsome family you have getting you special gifts as thoughs those are best the ones that dont cost to much and are really from the heart i love you debb and i hope you have a really great week and please pray for me really hard that i can get up when my alarm goes off this week and to excercise i so need to do that love you lotts love shelly.:lol::sunny::giggle:

  • I too have been known to grumble, and I guess the cure is more thankfulness for what God is doing in my life.

    Heather

  • Hello my sweet friend! Those are some amazingly cute gifts your son sent to you both!! I love otters and dolphins, looks like you and “the moosh” will get some great enjoyment from them! I loved the devotional too, it seems there’s always someone in my life that enjoys grumbling or complaining and sadly I’ve even fallen victim to it myself. It’s great to read this and put things into perspective! Stay cool and enjoy the rest of your weekend! Hugs!!

  • :yes:  Grumbling gets me into trouble all the time…..I am trying to teach my Amy not to also…..hard task for both of us.

    I just love that mug…too cute..

    Ian is right where the Lord wants him….he is being stretched also, just like you

    Be Blessed:wave:

  • :wave: You are blessed. May you be encouraged and strengthened as you pray something like this-

    Father, I am asking you, God, to fill us with the knowledge of your will through all wisdom and spiritual understanding. And I pray this in order that we may live a life worthy of you, Lord, and may please you in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of you, being strengthened with all power according to your glorious might so that we may have great endurance and patience, and joyfully give thanks to you, Father, because you have qualified us to share in the inheritance of the saints in the kingdom of light. For you have rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son you love, in whom we have redemption, even the forgiveness of sins. Colossians 1:9-14 (NIV and mlminin’s paraphrase)

    …joyfully giving thanks. . . Have you noticed that a heart of gratitude produces a meek and quiet spirit? Contentment? Sensitivity? Peace? Praise God for his mercy and grace to produce something beautiful out of our “nothingness.”

    “God creates out of nothing. Therefore, until man is nothing, God can make nothing out of him.”
    Martin Luther

  • Hi Deborah ~ I can’t believe a whole month has passed already! I’m sure Ian is having the time of his life – loving every moment! Your dolphin mug is beautiful. Blessings ~Carolyn

  • What sweet presents!  Most interesting thought about grumbling, as was looking up the synomyms.

  • That was sweet of him =]  I love the dolphin mug and the otter.  The Father’s day poem is sweet!  Have a great weekend! :wave:

  • :sunny:Just remember Ian is safe and having the time of his life! He thinks of you and I am sure you are being missed, too!…………But they do need to leave the nest and take their own journeys!……..As a Mother we will always worry about our children, but that is when we must have faith and learn to Let Go and Let God!……….(((((((((Hugs))))))))))………In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

  • i like the mug alot! that is so sweet of your son to send gift for everyone..touch my heart!

    wish your hubby a happy fathers day!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads