June 18, 2007

  • Fathers

    hapfathdaygraphicscupboard

    I didn’t get a chance to post this on Saturday, so that it would show up on Father’s Day, but wouldn’t you all agree … it’s never, ever, too late to honor those special Dads in our lives, right?!  Well, this is a little shout-out to my sweet hubby who’s been the “Bestest Dad” in the whole wide world to our precious son!  I’m so blessed to be married to the one whom God chose to be a father to Ian!  Thank you, darlin’, for guiding him to know who his Heavenly Father is … for leading him on paths of righteousness … for your loving discipline … your never ending tenderness toward him … for always telling him what a precious gift he is from God … for all those hugs, past, present and those to come!  I know he misses you on this special day, and I know you talked to him earlier, but I just wanted to thank you for both of us … for loving him, and for being the Greatest Dad and Godly example that you have been for him these past 22 years … {23 on July 12}! 

    Happy Father’s Day, Sweetie, we both love you! 

    Papa & Ian August 1984
    ~ Teeny Tiny ~
    {but only for awhile … see last picture!!}



    Papa & Ian Aug
    ~ Gentle Loving Papa ~



    Papa & Ian Dec
    ~ Christmas Play … Joseph & Baby Jesus ~



    Papa & Ian Sept
    ~ First trip to “The Mall” ~ 
    {Look at that face…typical guy when it comes to a trip to the mall!}



    Papa & Ian Oct
    ~ Back Pack with free back rubs ~
    {He taught him young!}



    Papa & Ian Dec
    ~ Learnin’ to strum ~



    Papa & Ian Christmas
    ~ Smiley Faces and lots of love ~



    Papa & Ian July 1988
    ~ Lean on me … with a smile ~



    Papa & Ian Christmas 1991
    A gift of “LOVE” to Papa!



    Papa & Ian June 18, 1991 Kings Island
    Buddies eatin’ lunch at King’s Island.



    Papa & Ian Fall 93 Stoney Creek Pumpkin Fest
    Lumberjack Lew … and Sidekick Son!

     

    Papa & Ian June  98 Ohio River
    ~ Sharing Life Lessons Together ~



    Picture 007
    ~ 2006 ~
    All grown up & a little older!
    I love these guys!


    I sure hope these pictures all come through!  Let me know which ones might have that little face that says “Image Not Found!  I could have put up so many more pictures, but this is a start, and we’ll save the others for the next slide show!!  Let’s be honest, we all love those family slide shows, don’t we!!  :0)  And those pictures from their trip should be here soon … I know, I know, I keep saying that, but they really will get here, eventually!  As for our weekend … we went to my SIL’s for a combination Father’s Day, and welcome home party for her daughter.  She came home from Hawaii to stay until mid July.  That is where both her, and her husband are stationed, but he is right now serving over in Iraq … she said he is in a fairly safe place, but you could see the concern in her eyes.  We are praying!  We had a great time together eating BBQ spareribs, chicken, cheeseburgers, hot dogs, baked beans, brocolli salad, the best cheesy bacon potato casserole ever, lettuce salad, veggies and dip, cold sweet ice tea, brownies, and cherry dump cake {which I brought}.  Everyone wanted to know about Ian, and how he was doing.  We shared videos from Ian and Tim’s work that’s here on Xanga.  Then Lewis headed to the prison ministry for the evening … and I headed home.  When Lew got home, he said the inmates were really on fire and the LORD was moving on their hearts!  A revival behind bars … with singing and praising God! 

    As for Sunday … a dear friend stopped by to borrow a book, and we enjoyed talking for awhile!  We had planned to go out to dinner, but after she left, we realized we’d rather just stay home and have a home cooked meal!  We had simple meal of baked lemon herbed fish, wild rice pilaf, and a green veggie … then we just sat around and enjoyed a quiet afternoon.  It was 93* here, and we opted to stay home in the air conditioning!  I guess we are spoiled!  Thank you, LORD, for air conditioning!  How blessed we are!  We will celebrate Father’s Day in real style when the ONE who made him a dad gets back home!  Oh, Lewis loved the 2 shirts he sent him!  He looks quite nice in them, if I do say so myself!   Well, you all have a wonderful Monday!  I’m going to do some visiting on here … catch up, say hi, see how you’re all doing!  

    As for me, and my earthly father … I read this devotion on Sunday, and it was as if this person had looked into my heart, then began to write about my life!  So I thought I’d share … { *my notes } …

    ~ My Father’s Eyes ~

    Father’s day brought up some memories for me this year since my father has been deceased for a long time.  {*He died when I was 8 years old.}  I hesitated to speak on this subject because I do not have the fondest recollections of my father. Yet, as a Christian I have forgiven him for his neglect, and have realized how he suffered much torment as a nonbeliever and as an alcoholic. 

    I forgave him long, long ago.  He probably did the best he could.  I pray for those who either have lost their father through death, divorce or perhaps some type of abuse or neglect.

    I do know today, at this moment, that I have the best Father, one who looks out for my good.  He longs to bless all of us in special ways.  We need to really get to know Him because He wants to guide our lives.

    When we learn about His love and goodness, our grief suffered by loss, and all the sorrows of the past will soon fade away.   When I look at others, I try to see them through my heavenly Father’s eyes.  His eyes are so kind and full of compassion.  

    As His daughter, I have inherited those same eyes.  I will continue to help people see that He wants to be a father to the fatherless, and even though I haven’t celebrated Fathers Day for so many years, I can celebrate my heavenly Father’s love this year.  Every day, I try to share this message with others who may be without an earthly father or those who do not have many fond memories of their father.

    When I look at my son, I see so many of the qualities of a great dad. He plays with his niece and nephew, and dearly loves those children.  When he hands his niece a chocolate pudding (that is almost a given whenever she comes to stay with us) her face lights up.  It’s always the little things that make her smile, and my son loves to give these simple gifts to her.  {*He is really like this too…his Daddy raised him to be a lover and a giver, with much compassion!}

    Matthew 7:11 promises,

    “If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” (NIV)

    Our Father God has gifts and blessings He wants to give us.  Sometimes He gives us what we ask for, and other times He just blesses us with the unexpected.  The Bible tells us that He loads us daily with His benefits.  

    Psalm 68:19 says,  

    “Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits, even the God of our salvation.” (KJV)

    We need to realize that He can make up for anything we lack from our past.  If you have a great dad let him know how much you appreciate him, and never take him for granted.  Let us also remember those great dads who have gone on to heaven.  And for the ones who feel as if their dad may have missed the mark … you are not fatherless, our father God is showering you daily with His love.

    Romans 8:16 declares,

    “The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.” (NIV)

Comments (14)

  • You have outstanding pictures. I sure hope there are lots with “Mom”, too! :wink:

    Check you my blog: http://www.xanga.com/foolforgiven for the latest evangelism updates. :sunny:

  • :heartbeat:What a great, great post… o my… so awesome!  I love those pics… I love those curls on your little boy’s head… I just go crazy for curly hair on a child… so cute!!!!!!!

    All grown up…. makes me want to cry – :whocares:

    Have a great day, girlfriend!

    Hugs!

  • :yes:Oh, what a BEAUTIFUL and MOVING post!  The pictues were just wonderful too!  God bless you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  In HIS amazing love–Paula:heartbeat:

  • Such a beautiful family, Deborah!  You are truly blessed!!

    RYC: thank you for the instructions on subscriptions! I’m so grateful! I hope I don’t have the same problems again, but from what others are saying, it sounds more like a Xanga problem than a “me” problem!! LOL 

    Thanks again….I’ll be by tomorrow when I have more time to read through your posts!  I miss reading them!  Life has been so hectic….but so good!! PTL!

    Sleep well, my Sweet Sister in Christ!

  • I really enjoyed your Father’s day post and the pics were great! Thanks for sharing. By the way, my sister-in-law and her family live in a neighborhood called Whispering ‘something’ (can’t remember the full name). It has a little covered bridge at the entrance. Greenwood is not that big so I thought maybe you’ve seen it :) Their last name is Townsend and her husband is a captain in the National Guard and she is a nurse. I doubt you know them, but you never know Be blessed today!

  • :wave:Wonderful post!  :goodjob:You really put together a precious post of pictures and memories. :heartbeat:Good devotional thoughts, too…. :yes:Blessings on your week… Carolyn

  • :sunny:Great father’s day post..Hugs, Linda:heartbeat:

  • Love the those sweet pictures through the years.

    What a lovely weekend you’ve had. I hope you have a lovely week as well.

  • :sunny::goodjob:

    What a great testimony your hubby gave your son

    Be Blessed

  • Those are such wonderful photos.   My favorite is Smily Faces and Lots of Love.  Our A/C broke once when it was in the 90′s for weeks.  I am most thankful for AC!

  • Awwww I love the pictures!!!  This was great!!  Your husband really looks like Eddie Rabbit in some of these especially the eating lunch at King’s Island one…..to see a pic http://content.answers.com/main/content/img/amg/pop_artists/P02096WOOYT.JPG

    I think so anyway lol

    Have a great Monday!!

    Theresa

  • Precious memories ~

  • What a wonderful tribute to your honey! I loved the pictures! It is indeed wonderful that our Heavenly Father can make for any lack we experienced from our earthly dads. I was blessed to have a Christian Dad. He wasn’t perfect, but I never doubted that he loved me.

  • :sunny:Good Morning!………………….Love the pics and the dedication to your Dear Hubby and Our Heavenly Father!………….(((((((((Hugs))))))))……….Have a Wonderful day!……..In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads