July 5, 2007

  •        

    Crack_Pot  heleneminelliart com


    cracked_pot

    ~ THE CRACKED POT ~ 


    ” … He shall be a vessel unto honour, sanctified, and meet for the master’s use,
    and prepared for every good work.”

    II Tim 2:21

    A water bearer in India had two large pots, each hung on each end of a pole which he carried across his neck.  One of the pots had a crack in it, and while the other pot was perfect and always delivered a full portion of water at the end of the long walk from the stream to the master’s house, the cracked pot arrived only half full.  For a full two years this went on daily, with the bearer delivering only one and a half pots full of water to his master’s house.  Of course, the perfect pot was proud of its accomplishments, perfect to the end for which it was made.  But the poor cracked pot was ashamed of its own imperfection, and miserable that it was able to accomplish only half of what it had been made to do. After two years of what it perceived to be a bitter failure, it spoke to the water bearer one day by the stream.

    “I am ashamed of myself, and I want to apologise to you.”  “Why?” asked the bearer. “What are you ashamed of?”
    “I have been able, for these past two years, to deliver only half my load because this crack in my side causes water to leak out all the way back to your master’s house.  Because of my flaws, you have to do all of this work, and you don’t get full value from your efforts,” the pot said.

    The water bearer felt sorry for the old cracked pot, and in his compassion he said,  “As we return to the master’s house, I want you to notice the beautiful flowers along the path.”

    Indeed, as they went up the hill, the old cracked pot took notice of the sun warming the beautiful wild flowers on the side of the path, and this cheered it some.  But at the end of the trail, it still felt bad because it had leaked out half its load, and so again it apologised to the bearer for its failure.

    The bearer said to the pot, “Did you notice that there were flowers only on your side of your path, but not on the other pot’s side? That’s because I have always known about your flaw, and I took advantage of it.  I planted flower seeds on your side of the path, and every day while we walk back from the stream, you’ve watered them.  For two years I have been able to pick these beautiful flowers to decorate my master’s table.  Without you being just the way you are, he would not have this beauty to grace his house.”

    Each of us has our own unique flaws.  We’re all cracked pots.  But if we will allow it, the Lord will use our flaws to grace His Father’s table.  In God’s great economy, nothing goes to waste.  So as we seek ways to minister together, and as God calls you to the tasks He has appointed for you, don’t be afraid of your flaws.  Acknowledge them, and allow Him to take advantage of them, and you, too, can be the cause of beauty in His pathway.  Go out boldly, knowing that in our weakness we find His strength, and that “In Him every one of God’s promises is a Yes.”     –Author Unknown


    Bar Flowergroupings in bar


    I hope you’ve all had a blessed Happy Fourth!   What were some of your highlights?  Most outdoor activities around our area were canceled due to the buckets of rain that we had today!  Well, at least the tomato plants, that my dear husband planted, are loving it!  We just stayed in and had a nice quiet day!  Lewis fixed me breakfast this morning, and we had a light dinner.  I’m feeling somewhat better today, but still a bit apprehensive about that doctor visit on Monday!  Not to think on that now … we also got the phone call today from our son … YES!!  It’s a official … he got the tickets!!  Both Ian and Tim will be flying home Friday, arriving at 9:00a.m. our time!  Now, I’ll ask for those prayers for safe travels for them!  We are going to meet Tim’s parents at the airport, pick up our precious cargo, and go have some breakfast together and catch up!  Then Ian and I will head home … Lewis has to work that day … so it’ll just be me and my son for the afternoon!  But between now and then, I have to clean house, grocery shop, do laundry, and prepare clothes for our out-of-town weekend family wedding that we are going to.  I hope to hop back on and update as I get further into the weekend, but in the meantime, you all have a wonderful Thursday, and Friday!  I’m going to get welcome home pictures and I’ll try to post those on Friday night!  He’s also bringing the pictures from the drive out there last month … so I’ll be able to, finally, share those!  He just never had a chance to send them by snail mail, so now I’ll get them by air mail, but with a very special bonus package … Ian!   Bless you all, and I’ll be back soon!  


    Tiny Tag Sunflower Button 2 Resting in Him …
    Love & Hugs!
    ~ Deborah <><

Comments (19)

  • I love this modern parable.

    Heather

  • :sunny:Deborah, thinking of you this day and praying all goes well. I hope
    to be by more this week. I do however have some running around to do today
    and will be a bit busy with Alyssa for the next few days. Vanessa will pick her
    up Tuesday evening. Just wondering if you might know where Gina has moved
    to I think her site name was of heart and home. Her daughter just got married.
    I thought I had her email address but must have misplaced it. Anyway, hope all
    goes well.

    HuGs,

    Linda

  • Praying, praying, praying! I can’t wait to hear more when you are able to update. God bless!

  • Yay! I’m glad you are going to do the questions. Thank you for always leaving such encouraging responses on my blog!

  • That is such a good story!  And beautifully captures the work of grace in our lives and how He is our strength in weakness.  Thank you for the comment, and yes it rained here also…but we had a wonderful time just spending as a family.  God bless and help you prepare for your guys to come home!!!

    ~Sarah

  • :sunny:  I love this story….can’t hear it too many times……thank the Lord He can use us, cracked as we are to His Glory…..so glad you will be seeing your son….Rest in Him

    Be Blessed

  • I’ve always liked that cracked pot story. :)    Blessings to you! ~Chris

  • Deborah,
    I guess there are many cracked pots around judging from all the comments you received…it sometimes feels like I am one of the few cracked pots around…and I feel useless…but then I am reminded that God uses the foolish things of this world to confound the wise…I take that as he uses the cracked pots more so then the perfect ones as your story states.
    I will be praying for safe travels for Ian as he travels back home,
    Blessings in Christ,
    Kelly

  • Glad you’re son will be home.  Have a nice weekend!  :sunny::wave:

  • RYC: I was so blessed to see you stopped by! I do remember you! What a wonderful blessing to find a sister, not only with the same name as me, but also similar taste! God bless you!

    I think God is getting ready to do something big! I keep hearing others who are also being told the same thing God is telling us! This is exciting.. to see Him speaking similar things into brothers and sisters around us.

    The song on my website is from a Sara Groves CD that I have. I just ripped the mp3, uploaded it to my website, then linked it through Xanga. Let me know if you need the exact code, and I can send it to you.

    Praying you have a wonderful day.. and that many more follow. God bless you!

  • Proud to be a “Cracked Pot”!!!!

    LOVE your layout!!!! BEAUTIFUL!!!

  • :wave:

    Your layout is really nice!

    “in our weakness we find His strength”  I love that! :love:

    Yay Ian is coming home!!  Prayers for safe travel! :goodjob:h”

  • I loved the story today.  Sorry about all the rain but at least nature is enjoying it!

    RYC’s:  I sell Mary Kay.  That is my main JOB.  I also do organizational work for a neighbor and her business as well as organizing anyone who needs it.  I am a one woman “Clean Sweep” team.  Mainly, I am a stay at home mom….so there are my many hats.

    As far as the comments thing…for some reason, the second person to comment gets the funky thing with the words and such.  It doesn’t always happen on every entry but it always happens on the second comment of the entry when it does happen…does that make sense?  I just figured it was because you were the important person for the day!!!

    Have an AWESOME, blessed and wonderful day!!!!!

  • Thank goodness He can use cracked pots ~

  • Hope you have a really good day. I am having to speed through all this so I can get to bed.

  • Glad you will be seeing your son soon! That is awesome! :)

    I love your background and theme on here- its really nice!

  • That is a good story and good lesson for us. have a good day!:sunny:

  • :sunny: I am just another one of God’s crack pots! Er…. I mean cracked pots! :rolleyes:  Yes! We are both looking forward to wonderful visits! Both my girls and their guys will arrive on the 18th. Abby and Craig are coming from Northern Ireland, and can only stay five days. Hannah and David will come later in the day (2 trips to an airpost an hour’s drive away!) David can stay 2 weeks, and Hannah can stay three! So, we will be making LOTS of trips back and forth to the airport! I do hope our weather will change. We haven’t been having much summer at all with temperatures only in the 50′s and 60′s. June broke records in Denmark for rainfall, and so far, July has been nothing but rain as well. ** Everytime you think about Monday, remind yourself that GOD is in control! :goodjob: Blessings to you!

  • :sunny:Love this story! Goes to show us how God uses all of us for His Special purpose!…….Cracked and all!…………Praying for those young men to catch their flight on time and all to go well! ……….Hope you have an Awesome Thursday and Friday!….(((((Hugs))))…..In Christ’s Love……Monic

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads