August 5, 2007

  •  Tiny Tag Amereta's Graphics spring_dsy01 beautyday Tiny Tag Amereta's Graphics spring_dsy01

    YEP, ANOTHER ONE!! 
    IT’S…….
    NATIONAL
    FRIENDSHIP DAY

    friendship day aug 5


    F-R-I-E-N-D-S-H-I-P

    F
    aithful
    Reliable 
     Interesting 
    Everlasting
    Nice
    Different
    Sharing
    Helpful
    Incredible
    Polite


    ~ The History of National Friendship Day in the United States ~

    Considering the valuable role friends play in our life it was deemed fit to have a day dedicated to
    friends and friendship.  The United States Congress, in 1935, proclaimed first Sunday of August as the National Friendship Day.  Since then, Celebration of National Friendship Day became an annual event. 
    The noble idea of honoring the beautiful relationship of friendship caught on with the people and soon Friendship Day became a hugly popular festival.

    Following the popularity and success of Friendship Day in the US, several other countries adopted the tradition of dedicating a day to friends.  Today, Friendship Day is enthusiastically celebrated by several countries across the world including India. 

    In 1997, the United Nations named Winnie-the Pooh as world’s Ambassador of Friendship!

    Winnie

    GO POOH !!!

    pooh friendship day


    Friendship Day has been dedicated to those friends who make our lives merrier and give a meaningful direction to the path of our lives. On Friendship Day people try their best to thank all those special angels called friends in their lives from the bottom of their hearts. There are some people who believe that friendship is so strong a relationship that it needs no special day for celebration. But then also it is a tried and tested fact that every relationship, no matter how strong needs some recognition and the Friendship Day enables you to do just the same that is it allows you to give due recognition to the beautiful bond of friendship which you share with your friend. 

    FRIENDSHIP 2 GIRLS


    At times we get so busy with our lives that we just start taking our friends for granted and just start neglecting them. On such occasions this Friendship Day reminds us of the importance of the friends in our lives so that we can never ever ignore those special people sent to this earth by God just for us.

    Friendship is not about leading or following, it is simply being with each other to share each and every single moment of our lives. These simple words contain in themselves the entire beauty of friendship. Thus take some extra time out of your busy day and try to spend some valuable time with your friends on this Friendship Day as you never know when the time will lapse and you wont even get the
    slightest time to say a simple thanks to your friend.

    Bar Denim Hearts

    Here are a few more thoughts on friendship I found that I’d like to share!

     pooh happy meal
    (This one’s ^ for my friend lindaintennessee)

    Friends come in all shapes and sizes;
    they can be near or far away;
    we can talk to them daily or only occasionally;
    but some friends we only get to know in cyber-space….

    There’s a miracle called Friendship
    That dwells in the heart
    You don’t know how it happens
    Or when it gets its start
    But you know the special lift
    It always brings
    And you realize that Friendship
    Is God’s most precious gift!

    kidshammockwatermelon

    Close friends are truly life’s treasures. Sometimes they know us better than we know ourselves.
    With gentle honesty, they are there to guide and support us, to share our laughter and our tears.
    Their presence reminds us that we are never really alone.” 
    - Vincent van Gogh - 

    To the world you may be one person,
    but to one person you may be the world.
    ~Author Unknown

    Those who bring sunshine to the lives of others
    cannot keep it from themselves.
    ~Sir James Barrie

    A friend is always faithful to you, even during the bad times.

    A friend is reliable..you can count on one to always be there.

    A friend stays in touch, even though it may not be as often as you’d like!

    A true friendship is enduring, lasting even when friends lose touch for a while.

    A friend is always there for you when you need someone.

    A friend is devoted to your friendship and will never do anything to destroy it.

    A friend is YOU! 

    Friendship winnie hug from pooh



    “A friend appreciates the good in you,
    overlooks the worst in you, and brings out the best in you.”

    “It doesn’t matter if you have five friends or five-thousand friends. 
    When it all comes down to it, popularity means nothing. 
    All that matters is that you know those five will be there holding your hand,
    as the five-thousand walk by.”

    “Some people come into our lives and quickly go. 
    Some stay for a while and leave footprints in your heart and we are never the same.”

    “Some acquaintances sweep into and out of your life like a storm.
    The true friends are those who, like the sunshine,
    wait behind the clouds for a chance to shine through.”


    friends2



    “Portrait of a Friend”

    I can’t give solutions to all of life’s problems, doubts, or fears.
    But I can listen to you, and together we will
    search for answers.

    I can’t change your past with all it’s heartache and pain,
    nor the future with its untold stories.
    But I can be there now when you need me to care.

    I can’t keep your feet from stumbling.
    I can only offer my hand that you may grasp it and not fall.

    Your joys, triumphs, successes, and happiness are not mine;
    Yet I can share in your laughter.

    Your decisions in life are not mine to make, nor to judge;
    I can only support you, encourage you,
    and help you when you ask.

    I can’t prevent you from falling away from friendship,
    from your values, from me.
    I can only pray for you, talk to you and wait for you.

    I can’t give you boundaries which I have determined for you,
    But I can give you the room to change, room to grow,
    room to be yourself.

    I can’t keep your heart from breaking and hurting,
    But I can cry with you and help you pick up the pieces
    and help to put them back in place.

    I can’t tell you who you are.
    I can only love you and be your friend.
    –Unknown

     

    friendship

    What Makes a Friend???

    A friend is someone who is always there,
    Someone with whom your day you share.

    A friend is there to lend a hand,
    In times of need they understand.

    A friend is there to lift your spirit,
    When your in doubt and can not bear it.

    They have a way to make you smile,
    And always go that extra mile.

    All this I have found in YOU,
    No longer am I feeling blue.

    I am glad that you’re my friend,
    And that on you I can depend!

    Thank You…
    For always being there for me!

    friendship winnie_the_pooh



    You each have a special place in my heart…and I’m so glad we met here in cyber-space!  You’ll never know how you’ve blessed my simple, plain old every day life!  I pray you have a wonderful Sunday, and treasure each one of those friends that God has brought into your lives…let them know just how special they truly are!! 

    Blessings to you all, my friends!
    Tiny Tag Amereta's Graphics spring_dsy01Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><

    You have been my friend,” replied Charlotte.
    “That in itself is a tremendous thing…”
    ~E.B. White Charlotte’s Web

    charlottes web

Comments (13)

  • RYC: Spirit Coast West 2007 was being advertised on the Christian radio station I listen to. 

  • Happy friendship day!

    I’m blessed to be able to call you friend!

  • Thanks for you friendship and great blog!!  I had NO idea it was National Friendship Day.  I will have to remember next year.

    Debbie

  • :sunny: What a wonderful post….I love Pooh!!!!

    Thanks for being my friend here on xanga….:wave:

    We had a great Sonday…..begun and ended with God…how can you miss….

  • :wave:Hey Deborah:wave:

    i didn’t know it was friendship day:love:

    ryc: i am still today having xanga problems…i say xanga because i can get around anywhere on the internet with no problem at all…that’s how i can tell its xanga and not my computer LOL:yes: but like when i try to open my sub list it comes up blank…just a blank screen…it also is opening up other xanga sites slooooow…i don’t understand why its like…especially since i can go anywhere on the internet with no problem…and i have DSL

    i’ve never heard of Spirit West Coast 2007…however i have heard of WinterFest & SummerFest which both my kids  attend each year…its a rivival for teens/youth  my daughter goes as a leader now that she’s a young adult…

    speaking of my daughter…yes, she goes to a local college here about 30 mintues away from home and commutes back and forth each day…though after this year she will be done with her miners and will graduate with her associates degree and then she’s off somewhere else to do her major which is education…she wants to be a 2nd grade teacher…this time next year we most likely will be shipping her off somewhere…we’ve been looking at many colleges…one that she’s really interested in is Lee University in Cleveland Tenn…she actually was looking at 2 different ones in Tenn & i think 2 here where i live in Maryland & Lancaster Bible College in PA…we’re not sure yet as to where she will be going but we have to know by Dec of this year since she will have to register for one and apply for scholarships…

    about the family quality time…it is SO PRECIOUS!!

    thanks for your prayers about me and me possibly getting a job with Lowe’s

    about the pics of the missions trip my kids took…i have uploaded them to my computer but not to xanga…since i was having problems with xanga i wasn’t able to update and now today since i could i just wanted to do a quick post and catch up on everyone…i haven’t forgotten heehee 

    i have heard of iliveinmycamera but i haven’t heard of the other one…Betsaflygallery…i think i will check it out…with me just kinda getting back into xanga i’m not fully in the swing of things yet…i used to be really involved but dropped out of everything when i left for awhile…but i’m so glad you mentioned these because i would like to get involved with something that has to do with photography…cuz its a passion of mine i live in my camera as well LOL

    Hope you have had a wonderful Sunday

    {{{HUGS}}}

    Jeanette

  • :heartbeat: Thank you for being my friend on Xanga. :heartbeat: You are a beautiful person. :love: ~Carolyn

  • Well, happy friendship day too!!  :wave:      Who new!  Thank  you for all the work you put into your sight on friendships.  It is great and friends are a gift from God, and blessings to us! Truly the most important thing is our relationship with HIM and our relationship that He wants us to have with  each other. Loving one another as He loves us! :love:   

    I had a really neat animated butterfly as my cursor, but it slowed down my web page to much.  I guess I tend to be a little impatient. :rolleyes: The others are ok! So happy looking!:sunny:  Your friend,  Sharon.

  • :laugh::laugh::laugh:  This is a very “friend”ly place. I agree. There are a lot of good friends around here!

  • Happy Friendship Day :wave: You should check out the Fish .com their e-cards have a wacky Holiday section I love

  • :heartbeat:I am also glad that we met through Xanga! You are a Faithful Friend!(((((((((((Hugs))))))))))))…………….In Christ’s Love………Monic:heartbeat:

  • Good morning D!

    Happy Friendship to you too…and you are an excellent encouraging friend!!

    jamie

  • :heartbeat: I am SO thankful for for friends…. both cyber and otherwise. :heartbeat:  God has blessed me with some wonderful ones, and I am grateful. Happy Friendship Day! :sunny:

  • Happy Friendship Day!!! :sunny: I know what you mean about it being rainy and humid out, we’ve got that here right now! I’ll be hibernating too this week with it being so hot! I’m so slack in my postings lately, but I’ve been doing sweepstakes left and right and it’s been causing me to be sidetracked on Xanga..lol Enjoy your Sunday!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads