September 9, 2007

  • GRANDPARENTS


     Happy “Grandparent’s Day”

    GRANDPARENTS 2

    “Only take heed to thyself, and keep thy soul diligently, lest
    thou forget the things which thine eyes have seen, and lest
    they depart from thy heart all the days of thy life: but
    teach them thy sons, and thy sons’ sons;”
    ~Deuteronomy 4:9~

    Grandparents Day is Sunday September 9th, 2007

    GRANDPARENTS 3

    Let’s look at the History of “Grandparents Day”:

    “The impetus for a National Grandparents Day originated with Marian McQuade, a housewife in Fayette County, West Virginia. Her primary motivation was to champion the cause of lonely elderly in nursing homes. She also hoped to persuade grandchildren to tap the wisdom and heritage their grandparents could provide. President Jimmy Carter, in 1978, proclaimed that National Grandparents Day would be celebrated every year
    on the first Sunday after Labor Day.”
    ~Source
    National Grandparents Day Official Site~
    To learn more about the History of the Holiday
    visit their
    “How Grandparents Day Began” page.

    GRANDPARENTS 4

    There is no doubt at all! Grandparents are indeed a blessing from the Lord! They bring special memories to our minds and hearts. What a wonderful gift Grandparents are. Not just to the Grandkids but to the parents too!

    grandparents 5

    GRANDPARENTS

    Grandparents bestow upon their grandchildren
    The strength and wisdom that time
    And experience have given them.

    Grandchildren bless their Grandparents
    With a youthful vitality and innocence
    That help them stay young at heart forever.

    Together they create a chain of love
    Linking the past with the future.
    The chain may lengthen,
    But it will never part…

    ~Author Unknown~

    Bar Daisy Line

    “But the mercy and loving-kindness of the LORD are from everlasting to everlasting
    upon those who reverently and worshipfully fear Him,
    and His righteousness is to childrens’s children;
    that such as keep his covenanant {hearing, receiving, loving, and obeying it}
    and to those who {earnestly} remember His commandments to do them.
    {imprinting them on their hearts}.”
    ~ Psalm 103:17 ~


    grandmothers-day-th

    To all those precious Grandmamma’s and Grandpappa’s out there…
    …be ever so blessed, and enjoy this special day!
    Tiny Tag Rose White Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><


Comments (11)

  • :sunny:What a sweet blog about Grandparents… all of mine have passed away, but the kids sent cards to theirs and called them… sad we all live far away from each other!

    Hope you are doing great… the weather is supposed to be getting cooler here! whoot!

    Hugs!

  • Hi Deborah.. I came by your site from Carolyn (razehell).
    It is beautiful!! I love your decor and photos… and all those side bar thingys! I am still using the old xanga, I tried the themes and almost totally lost my site.. so I got scared and quit messing with it! I had my son help me design my original site I have now.. so I am afraid that is the way it will remain… until I become more computer literate! LOL
    Bee

  • Deborah ~ Here is an update about Kevin http://www.xanga.com/RaZeHeLL/615233439/update-on-kevin-.html  :heartbeat:

  • I have wonderful, godly grandparents (all of mine are still living!) and I’m so thankful my girls do, too. A family foundation is so important. Ainsley drew her grandparents a picture for grandparents day. :sunny:

  • RYC: You were right. Bedstemor is Grandma. Mother is Mor. (pronounced “mow”) When you learn Danish, you have to throw American phonics away! When little kids are whiney, they usually turn Mor into two syllables—- Mow-wah! I hear this A LOT! :)

  • SURE am glad we had Master B today…I didn’t even know it was grandparents day until the day was over.  We had a good day tho.  He called earlier saying he was going to miss me when i’m on my trip.  DH said  he’ll pray w/ him at night while I’m gone :)

    Blessings

    jamie

  • Wow, I am glad someone remembered:goodjob: Non of mine did. I hope it gets more popular in the future. There are so many forgotten ones out there. :whocares I am not one of them. Just not today!:) Thank you for  honoring us with this post! :heartbeat: Sharon  

  • I have high regard for those grandparents that submerge themselves into the lives of their children and grandchildren.  What a blessing.  And what is more important, I ask, than to build the self-esteem of these little ones?????? 

    :goodjob:

  • I love being a grandma! I have several little Danish munchkins who call me “Bedstemor.” After church today we were attending a picnic, and one of my sweet babies fell down and was crying. I opened my arms and she ran to me and snuggled in my lap for a bit. Nothing is as sweet! Hopefully, someday my daughters will decide to give me some grandchildren, too! :sunny:  Hope you are having a wonderful Sunday.

  • I am going to go find me a grandparent to hug on today.

  • :sunny:Good Morning! Hope you have a Blessed Sunday!………((((Hugs))))……….In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads