September 19, 2007

  • Picture Update …

     
    greetings from Indianapolis       

    Hope you’ve all had a great week so far!  Our weather here is warming up, but up to now, it’s been 70* during the day, and 40′s through the night.  Many things going on here at home, getting ready for the fall craft shows, and I’ve been having some computer woes which have kept me from getting around to more of you, or even posting … 
    I did manage to get a few pictures uploaded to share with you from this past weekend at the Irish Fest on Saturday. 

    Sunday afternoon we went driving in the country to get pictures of all types of “FENCES”, and I did find one which I
    entered over at iliveinmycamera, for this weeks contest … so be sure to go vote for your favorite!  And if anyone is interested … the theme over at BetsaflyGallery for next week is “PETS” … so if you have any pictures of pets, any and all kinds, you can find all the information over there to help you get them submitted.  I’m still working on that one!! :o)  

    Well on Saturday, we headed for the Irish Fest after a great breakfast at Bob Evans, and found a parking place pretty easily … and the parking wasn’t free, but close to all the activities.  We walked to the what we thought was the Irish Fest, but realized that we were at the Mexican Fest!!  So we asked, and found out the Irish Fest was 7 blocks north of where we were.  Well, we knew in that moment that we were going to get that much needed exercise, so off we went …
    good thing we had our walking shoes on!  It was the most beautiful day … not a cloud in the deep blue sky. well maybe a wisp, or two … cool … and the walk was invigorating!  We could have driven, but we paid $5.00 to park and would have lost that …
    besides, we really enjoyed that walk! 


    This first picture is of the Scottish Rite Cathedral … a very impressive building …

    YAHOO SCOTTISH RITE CATHEDRAL 9-15-07 resized color


     We knew when we were getting closer …

    YAHOO IRISH MARKET SIGN


    The sounds of Ireland … they had 4 stages with Irish music playing … 
    my favorite was a smaller stage with a group of 3 women, and the music was wonderful …
    I couldn’t get the best pictures … and many didn’t turn out,
    but I’m still learning all the settings on this camera!   

     YAHOO CELTIC BAND


    We stopped at a larger stage with a group of men playing … (sorry about the clarity).
    If you can see the ‘drum’ that the man on the right is playing … it’s called a “Bodhran” …
    you can find a lot of history on line about them … they have the neatest sound to them …
    and if you play one, you’re known as a “Bodhranist”.   

    YAHOO CELTIC BAND 2


    Here are a few of the participants that were there … 
     … I love the sound of ‘bagpipes’ …
    and I kept telling Lewis that he shouldn’t have passed up buying that ’kilt’!! 
    He looked at me funny!  

        
    YAHOO BAGPIPES rs1         Kilt man rs 1 2 


    They had crafts, jewelry, lots of food, everything Irish … 
    (sorry, Lew … no elephant ears here!)

    GreenElephantArt2

        irish fest blankets rc rs

    … but as I said, a lot of pictures just didn’t make the cut …
    except the real important ones …..

    YAHOO SMITH 9-15-07

    They had a stand set up trying to get subscriptions to the Indianapolis Star …
    if you signed up you’d get one of these umbrellas …
    I would have liked to have had one, but the picture was free! 
    Might make for an interesting background!!

    Indy Umbrellas rc rs

    As promised … the ’Sheep and Duck Herding’  … in the city … 
    Waiting for the command … he was so eager to please!

    Sheep Herding rc rs


    herding sheep rc rs

    It was interesting how this particular sheep would seem to challenge the dog …
    He wasn’t very obedient! 

    sheep herding challenge rs rc

    The ducks were easy to move around the pen … 
    he had called out 2 dogs and it was very interesting to watch them work.

      Herding ducks FENCES 9-15,16-07 068 rs 2 

    This is the White River Canal, downtown … it’s a beautiful walk, and we wish we had come sooner! 
    There was artwork on the sides of the canal under the bridges we walked through …

    YAHOO CANAL USS INDPLS


    artwork rc rs

    You can also ride paddle boats on the canal …
    we’ll do that sometime …

    YAHOO CANAL BOATS

    We saw a few fountains … all so pretty …

    fountain rc rs

    … and more of the peaceful canal …

    YAHOO CANAL SCENE

    The water in this fountain runs between the potted flowers,
    down the center steps … it sounds so pretty …
    I’ve always wanted one of those table top fountains …
    anybody have one of those??

    fountain stairs rc rs

    A lot of the pictures of the actual canal way didn’t come out,
    so I found this last one on the Internet for you …
    it gives you an idea of what a walk might be like along the canal at night.
    That’s when I want to go again! 

    Downtown Indy on canal

    We walked on and found a wedding going on … there was no professional photographer …
    or at least I didn’t see one, and she was giving her mother directions on how she wanted her pictures taken. 
    I asked if I could practice and take a few photos, and she said she wouldn’t mind at all. 
    I told her I was no professional, and that I was learning how to use the camera. 
    I wish these were better, but I’m going to be sending them to her … 
    she was very sweet … and a very nervous bride … so was I!!

    YAHOO Wedding on the Canal 9-15-07 Beth Talo 3

    YAHOO Wedding on the Canal 9-15-07 Beth Talo 10

    YAHOO Wedding on the Canal 9-15-07 Beth Talo 6

    After we talked with this sweet couple, we walked on,
    and saw more beautiful fountains downtown…

    YAHOO FOUNTAIN DOWNTOWN 9-15-07

    The water looked so clear and refreshing …
    I would have loved to have dangled my feet over the edge!

    YAHOO DOWNTOWN FOUNTAIN 9-15-07

    This was a final parting shot of the Scottish Rite Cathedral … 
    … the sun was just behind it.

    Scottish Cathedral 9-15-07 rs

    When we got to the car, there was another wedding going on …
    this one, with a professional photographer, but I took a couple of photos anyway …
    I enjoyed watching the professionals at work,
    and would have loved to see the wedding album of this one! 

    YAHOO Wedding on the Monument 9-15-07 YAHOO PIC


    wedding downtown rc1rs

    This building is the Indiana World War Memorial …
    A very large, beautiful building.
    Next time I’m going to count those steps!

    YAHOO Wedding on the Monument 9-15-07 2

    I took took another picture of it in July …
    no wedding going on then!

    Indiana World War Memorial rc rs

    Finally … how cute is he?!  He wanted to come home with us!!
    I wanted to bring him home with us too,
    but, the lady that belongs to those feet, absolutely refused!
    Can’t blame her, can you?!!

    yahoo little pup color

    Well, I hope you enjoyed our Saturday … it was a full day …
    and my feet still hurt thinkin’ about it … but we really enjoyed our time in downtown Indy.
    and we’re looking forward to going back! 
    You all have a great ‘hump day’, and providing the DSL doesn’t give me more problems,
    I’m going to try to get around to visit and catch up with more of you later today. 

    Be blessed in Him!
    Hugs,
    Sunflower~ Deborah <><

    trust in the lord



Comments (28)

  • :sunny:I just love anything Irish…the dog herding..I would love to see that someday…

    That little dog is so cute…

    Thanks for sharing your Saturday with us…

  • Thanks for sharing your Saturday with us…I love anything Celtic…that little pup is a cutie and the duck herding I just love…

  • Thanks for stopping by my site — please come back any time!  I enjoyed your photos — that looks like quite a day you had, with the Mexican and Irish festivals and all those weddings!  Your wedding photos are lovely!  I used to know several people in Indy when I worked for Sallie Mae — they had plants both downtown and in Fishers. 

  • :sunny:It looked like such a fun day, your pictures are great and I bet that wedding couple will love that black & white one it is sooo gorgeous!
    I am feeling much better but now my allergies are sooo killing me I hate it when my eyes water so. Your right Deborah I need to pray for that lady in our neighborhood instead of getting mad about it, and I know that prayers are so amazing for calming me down as well. I’ll try and do better…lols. I know that I tend to let things bother me to much. Anyway I am thankful for such faithful praying cyber friends and I thank God for it. My daughter is doing better I posted about it, your right God can change hearts and I hope it truly was sincere.

    Have you heard from Ian, how is he? I know you still worry but God will ease your heart, and give you inner peace. I hope your weekend is good as I will not be on probably until Monday as Bob will be off the next 3 days WooHoo! So with that I will go for now and i’ll keep you close to my .

    HuGs,

    Linda:love: 

  • :sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny:

    My background picture I got from the internet. I always browes and look for nice and different ones. I wish i could take credit for taking it. Things are not that pretty around here yet.

    :sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny::sunny:

  • Your day is certainly well documented!  :goodjob:  You are good with a camera.

    Thanks for stopping by.  I’m fine, just too busy.  I keep thinking that one day my life will slow down.  :lol:

    Debbie

  • Deborah,

    The pictures are delightful.  I’ve never been to an Irish Fest but if I hear of one, I’d like to go. :)

    Have a lovely day ~ Gina

  •                                               

    :wave: Hi! I Love the water picture with the grass in front thats really nice. Its always fun to look at someone elses life on here, I think it helps us to really know each other better with pictures.:fun: Hope your having a good week.:love:  

            S*Q*U*E*E*Z*E       

  • Hello,:wave:Love your pictures! It looks like you had a great time.That puppy is so cute. :love: I voted on my favorite pic, don’t know if it was yours, sorry if it wasn’t.  I hate to ask again, but could you come by and post that web site for next weekend again. I just realized I deleted the post, along with your message. :p I can’t wait. Hope the weather is good. :coolman: Love to you, Deanna

  • RYC: When you upload pics on xanga before you put them in your post you can select the size (in the choose section)…mine is thumbnail, I think. I make them private and then when you click on them they open up in a different window the size yours are now. I prefer private because it takes too long to open in xanga photo manager after they’ve been uploaded.  Does this make any sense at all????

  • Your pics are great, and I love your site lay-out, too.  I noticed your counter says how many have “passed by” your site; but I think it would be more correct to say how many have”stopped, read, and been blessed”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Wow… THIS MAKES ME MISS INDIANA!!! :) Fun pictures, Mrs. Smith! Way to go. :) My favorite is the one of downtown, with the glowing reflection in the canal – beautiful. :) The dog is too cute. The second one of the couple is good, too. I like the angle. Thanks for the encouraging comment. Yep, driving time for me. Very fun. :) Have a special day with HIM!

  • The pics are great!

    I hope to fill you in on our life later.. trying to catch my breath and clear my mind right now. God bless you!

  • :heartbeat:Great pics, lady!

    rtc: yes, Phillip is a great encourager… he wanted me to jog with him tonight and I told him that I just couldn’t do it… “awww, comon’ mom, just to that mailbox”… it wasn’t that far, so I did it and he was happy… it just about killed me, but I did it.. ha!

    Anyway, try walking up and down your street.. if you can stick with it for a week, then you’ll do it all the time.  It’s very good exercise!

    Hope all is well… I gotta get to bed.. I’m helping out at Ben’s school tomorrow…

    Hugs!!!

  • These are excellent and way fun photos! Thanks for sharing!

  • Thanks for praying for Buster. Those little pill puches are a blessing!

  • oh i forgot to say … you think the “Pets”  theme would be so easy for me…but guess what…it’s not :lol: because i have SO MANY pet pics i havta go through them all…but i will narrow it down heehee

  • :wave:Hi Deborah:wave:

    i LOVED and ENJOYED reading your post!!!!!  I felt like i was there with ya hehehe:lol:

    that news paper would make a great background!!

    Those pics of the White River Canal are breath taking! WOW:eek: 

    I LOVE paddle boats!!!! & Fountains!!!! I’m like a little kid when i get around fountains:lol: just ask my hubby and kids:lol:

    and how neat that you got to take pics of two different weddings so cool:goodjob::yes:

    and that doggie is just so precious!!

    Thanks for sharing you day…it was so nice!

    :love:{{{HUGS TO YA}}}:love:

    Jeanette:p

  • :sunny:Good Afternoon! Great Pics! Love the black&white of the Wedding Couple! And that Puppy was way too Cute! My Dh was envious of you going to the Iris Festival! He loves Celtic Music!……….He always watches KCPT ~ Celtic Women!…….Maybe some day we can plan a trip and go with you all!…..Just a thought! Indy is not that far from K.C.Ha!……..Well I just wanted to tell you to have a Wonderful Wednessday! (((((Hugs))))))……..In Christ’s Love….Monic:heartbeat:

  • Lovely pics! Looks like you had a wonderful weekend. I love Celtic music. I’m sure it was lovely to hear.

  • What a Fun post….I enjoyed your photos alot. The one of the bride in b/w is beautiful, it needs framing.

    Have a Great Day….its talk like a pirate day btw:spinning:

  • :goodjob: 

    Groovy photos!  I haven’t “been” to a wedding in awhile… How sweet.  So hopeful!  Thanks for the “mini-vacation”.

  • Beautiful pics Deborah!!!  That was so nice of you to take pics for the bride =]  I’m sure she’ll love them and cherish them.  The second wedding pics look great too.  Makes me wanna have another wedding LOL!!! to my wonderful hubby of course! 

    Happy Wednesday! :sunny:

  • I did enjoy your outing, and I didn’t even have to get sore feet to do it! :) LOL! It did look like lots of fun. I like the sound of running water, too. I had a tabletop fountain in my office when I was a children’s pastor in America, but that’s not really the kind of thing you drag along when you move to another country! ***Hmm… I think my honey would look nice in a kilt! I think he has nice legs! :yes: *** I had physical therapy today, and I think I hurt myself. YOW! I added more weight to a couple of my sets. (Thought I could handle it :rolleyes:) A hot shower helped, and I am thinking a couple of ibuprofen might be a good idea. Have a blessed rest of the week, my friend!

  • The Irsih faire looks like fun!!  That was nice of you to take the wedding pics for that couple w/o a professional photographer.

  • Wow, what a wonderful day you had.  I wish I could have been right there with you!  I love the Irish Fest but didn’t get to it this time.  The canal really is a pretty place.  Love all the pictures.

    :sunny:

  • Those are some very neat pictures. Your husband reminds me of grizzly Adams. How does he feel about  bears?

  • FIRST!!!!!!  ha ha!  Hello my long lost friend!  I’m back, I think. :) What a talented little photographer you are!!!!   Sounds like you had a multicultural day on Saturday.  What a beautiful city!   I would have loved the Irish Fair as well.  How fun!!!!   Your pictures and descriptions make me feel like I was there too.  :)   When I graduated from College at William Jewell, their tradition is to have a large group of bagpipes playing as we walk from the Quad to the graduation ceremony hall.  Gives me goosebumps every time I hear bagpipes play.  Sorry I have been MIA.  Miss you!  Thanks for faithfully posting me….you’re the best!!! Love, Susan

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads