September 21, 2007

  • FAITH IN OUR FATHER

       

    prayercn5


    MLeaf2 FAITH

    Years ago, I was enthralled as I listened to a pastor who for several years had faithfully served the church.  His executive responsibilities had taken him all over this country.  As he concluded his message, he told of one of the most frightening yet thought-provoking experiences of his life.

    He had been on a long flight.  The first warning of the approaching problems came when the sign on the airplane flashed on: “Fasten your seat belts.” Then, after a while, a calm voice said, “We shall not be serving the beverages at this time as we are expecting a little turbulence.  Please be sure your seat belt is fastened.”

    As he looked around the aircraft, it became obvious that many of the passengers were becoming apprehensive. Later, the voice of the announcer said,  ”We are so sorry that we are unable to serve the meal at this time. The turbulence is still ahead of us.” And then the storm broke.  The ominous cracks of thunder could be heard even above the roar of the engines. Lightening lit up the darkening skies, and within moments that great plane was like a cork tossed around on a celestial ocean.  One moment the airplane was lifted on terrific currents of air; the next, it dropped as if it were about to crash.

    The pastor confessed that he shared the discomfort and fear of those around him.  He said, “As I looked around the plane, I could see that nearly all the passengers were upset and alarmed.  Some were praying.  The future seemed ominous and many were wondering if they would make it through the storm.

    And then, I suddenly saw a girl to whom the storm meant nothing.  She had tucked her feet beneath her as she sat on her seat and was reading a book. Everything within her small world was calm and orderly.  Sometimes she closed her eyes, then she would read again; then she would straighten her legs, but worry and fear were not in her world.  When the plane was being buffeted by the terrible storm, when it lurched this way and that, as it rose and fell with frightening severity, when all the adults were scared half to death, that marvelous child was completely composed and unafraid.”

    The minister could hardly believe his eyes.

    It was not surprising therefore, that when the plane finally reached its destination and all the passengers were hurrying to disembark, he lingered to speak to the girl whom he had watched for such a long time.

    Having commented about the storm and behavior of the plane, he asked why she had not been afraid.  The sweet child replied, “Sir, my Daddy is the pilot, and he is taking me home.”

    MLeaf2 You are my hiding place from every storm of life; You even keep me from getting into trouble! You surround me with songs of victory. I will instruct you (says the Lord) and guide you along the best pathway for your life; I will advise you and watch your progress.  Psalms 32:7-9 {LB}

    MLeaf2 ”Faith isn’t faith, until it’s all you’re holding onto”.  ~unknown

    MLeaf2 ”Faith is deliberate confidence in the character of God
              whose ways you may not understand at the time”.  ~Oswald Chambers
    Bar Leaf Line Brown Maple

Comments (18)

  • :sunny::goodjob::yes::):coolman:

  • What a beautiful story!  How wonderful to replace worry with faith.  What a difference in make in my life!  Blessings and thank you so much for sharing it.

  • :sunny: What a great story….I love love love that picture of the baby held in prayer in the grandpa hands…..awesome….

    Have a blessed weekend

  • :sunny: RYC: We were at Grace College near Warsaw and have relatives there still. My mil was from Peru. I am from Philadelphia but my husband is from Dayton, Ohio and St. Petersburg, Florida. Here I think we are 9 hours later than you. I am getting inspired to improve my photographic skills by visiting sites on here…it is a fun pastime. :yes: 

  • Stoping by to see how you’re doing.  Been off line for a while with Leah here. We had a great time! That festival looked like fun!

  • Really enjoy your post  it makes us stop and think  when things come are way all we have to do is have FAITH and god will do the rest you have a great weekend,

                                                     God Bless

                                                       SANDY

  • What a beautiful story. I know I am safe in my Father’s arms.

  • Deborah,

    What an awesome story.  Now if we could just have faith like that child….

    ~ Gina

  •                                                  

    First What a sweet picture!!:) This story is very good. I love your scripture at the bottom, I read it, and then felt the need to read it again slower God is always so good to me…I L:heartbeat:VE HIM SO MUCH!:love:   

                   S*Q*U*E*E*Z*E              

  • What a wonderful story, thanks for sharing it!

  • Thanks for posting that sweet reminder of faith, my friend!!! :) Love, Susan

  • Good post. I lke your idea

  • What a good story about faith.  :love:

  • :wave: Hi Deborah! What a lovely site you have here! I noticed that you are also interested in photography and trying to learn your camera…me too. And..the other thing (besides the LORD) we have in common is that I lived in Indiana for 2+ years and my husband longer and my niece and nephew still. Have a good weekend.

  • :love:Great Post! Hope you have a Blessed Day! ((((((Hugs)))))))…………….In Christ’s Love……..Monic:heartbeat:

  • Wow! Deborah! What a beautiful and inspiring post to read first thing this morning. :heartbeat: “Sir, my daddy is the pilot, and he is taking me home.”  :heartbeat: What time I am afraid, I will trust in Thee. Thank you so much for keeping Kevin in prayer. I hope I hear soon how he is doing. Love your Fall layout. Blessings ~Carolyn

  • What a wonderful story! Faith does take the worry out of life. If I am convinced that God is able to keep me, my home and family, what have I to fear? My Father has been teaching me so much about trusting Him. I am learning that if I choose to trust, I can weather any storm. **A dear friend of ours, Judson Cornwall, who has since gone home to be with the Lord, once told about being on a plane with engine problems. He said he knew there were still things God had called him to do in this life, so he wasn’t worried that the plane would go down. He knew he possessed that promise from God that he would complete his work. And he did! **Hope you are having a good day, Deborah. I am trying to talk myself into going to the gym although my flesh is doing a lot of whining about it! LOL!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads