September 27, 2007

  • The Worth of a Soul – Thankful Thursday and You!

               
    VIOLIN OLD MAN

     The Touch of the Master’s Hand
    by Myra Brooks Welch

    Bar Violins

    ‘Twas battered and scarred, and the old auctioneer
    Thought it scarcely worth his while
    to waste much time on the old violin,
    But he still held it up with a smile:
    “What am I bidden, good folks,” he cried,
    “Who’ll start the bidding for me?”
    “A dollar, a dollar”; then, “Two!” “Only two?
    Two dollars, and who’ll make it three?
    Three dollars, once; three dollars, twice;
    going for three …” but no.
    From the room far back, a gray-haired man
    Came forward and picked up the bow;
    Then, wiping the dust from the old violin,
    And tightening the loose strings,
    He played a melody pure and sweet
    As a caroling angel sings.

    The music ceased, and the auctioneer,
    With a voice that was quiet and low,
    Said; “What am I bidden for the old violin?”
    And he held it up with the bow.
    “A thousand! And who’ll make it two?
    Two thousand! And who’ll make it three?
    Three thousand, once, three thousand, twice,
    And going, and gone,” said he.
    The people cheered, but some of them cried,
    “We do not quite understand
    What changed it’s worth.” Swift came the reply:
    “The touch of the master’s hand.”

    And many a man with life out of tune,
    And battered and scarred with sun,
    Is auctioned cheep to the thoughtless crowd,
    Much like this old violin.
    A “mess of pottage,” a glass of wine;
    A game; and he travels on.
    He is “going” once, “going” twice,
    He’s “going” and almost “gone.”
    But the Master comes, and the foolish crowd
    Never can quite understand
    The worth of a soul and the change that’s wrought
    By the touch of the Master’s hand.


    “For I know the plans I have for you
    declares the lord ….
    plans to give you a hope
    and a future ….
    You will seek me and find me,
    when you seek me with all your heart.

    - Jeremiah 29:11,13 -

    SunflowerGarland[1]


    THANKFUL THURSDAY Stamp for sign

    Thank you God for creating ME!

    Thank you God for creating ME.
    In your womb I have been fashioned;
    Your spirit dwells within me;
    Truly I am wonderfully marvelously made.
    From your love and wisdom have I come
    To this place and time.
    To me you have given talent and life and blessings.
    To me you have given tasks given to no others.

    With joy and gratitude
    I celebrate my much-honored existence.
    From ages past to eternity,
    I have been included in your divine plan.

    Thank you, God, for creating ME!
    - unknown -
     
    Sig Tag But the very hairs are numbered

    Each one of you is fearfully and wonderfully made,
    created by Him and for Him … 
    every one unique and special in your own way.
    Take time today to thank Him for creating ’you’ ….
    I’m thanking Him for the blessing of ’you’ in my life today!
     H
    ave a beautiful Thankful Thursday in Him. 
    MLeaf2Hugs, 
    Deborah <><

    … something I read earlier …

    “everything that exists, exists to make the
    greatness of Christ more fully known”
     
    Bar Sunflower 2

Comments (19)

  • :sunny:What a great story….thanks for being such a blessing in my life, Deborah

  • Deborah,

    Thanks for the update about Ian. I’ve been praying for him every day and I was wondering how he was.

    God bless you!!

    Cynthia

  • :heartbeat: I love that song…

    See you when I get back… don’t miss me too much! ha! :fun:

    Hold down the fort, the natives are restless!

    Hugs!

  • Thanks for sharing the word of god with us again, GOD is so good to us all and we sometime don’t thank him enough for all that he does in our lives, each of us was created to be special and to do what we can for each other he gives us all a talent and i thankful he gave me a friend in you that we can share  about how god is working in our lives.

      Was going to post tonight about my day at the fair, but am tired so i thought i drop by a few site’s before going to bed  you have a blessed weekend,

                                       SANDY                                                              

  • I like that poem too. We  use to put that verse in front of the kid’s Bibles that were given to them when they entered kindergarten! Start them out young!

    It is good to know that even at my age…God still has plans for me. Its a good thing!

  • Thankful today that you shared this here.

  • What a lovely story, Deborah.  Thank you for sharing it and also for being such an encouraging soul. ~ Gina

  • What a wonderful post. Being thankful for me. Thank you for reminding me- as I am in constant need of reminding. I tend to be so analytical and critical of myself. But we do exist to make the greatness of Christ more fully known. This also reminds me of this Francis Schaeffer book I read recently on Love- I keep wanting to post about it but then I forget.

    ryc. Yes, Arielle is humble1. Believe me, even as she posts those comments to me, I am very aware that there are many parents who wish the same thing you said. It is bittersweet to me becuase I know how blessed I am and that she is in a very small minority of young people who are just in love with Jesus, walking with a surrendered heart and is ready to do anything and give anything up for Him. But I can honestly say that it wasn’t anything I did really, it was the Lord. He called her at a young age to be set apart for Him. I have no room to boast because I still have two younger ones who may be nothing like her- I hope and pray that they are but I don’t have those expectations on them. They will be whoever God wants them to be and that means He might call them to Himself in that way at a different time in their lives.

    I know it’s so hard not to compare. I just want to encourage you that God is in control. He is faithful. Your son may need these experiences for God to use him in the future. And of course, He is using this time to stretch and grow you too. I am sure I am going to have alot of stretching and growing time when my yougest two hit the teen years To be honest, I am so thankful that I don’t have to worry about Arielle at all at this time in my life because I have been hit with such huge trials the past few years. The Lord knew what He was doing and He times it all just right

    Blessings to you!

  • I sent you an email on Monday letting you know that your photo is in the gallery, but today I got an email telling me it was unable to send the email to you.  Are you having problems with you email?  Anyway, don’t forget to let everyone know your photo is in the gallery.  :sunny:

  • Love that poem. I’ve heard it many times, but it’s just as beautiful every time. God certainly has a grand plan for each of us. Thanks for the reminder today.

  •                                             

    Do you like Sunflowers? I have the neatest Sunflower background if your ever interested   

                   S*Q*U*E*E*Z*E              

  •                                                    

    Amen!!:wave: I thank God for creating me too. I pray I can live up to his reason for creating me maybe soon  

                   S*Q*U*E*E*Z*E              

  • :love: Hi! I sure like all your interesting graphics!!!!I remember this story from awhile ago! I like a good cup of tea….. know how to make one as well since I lived in England for 12 years! It is one of those sweet little comforts of life and such a good way to enjoy fellowship. Hope you have a good week…. :wave:   

  • :sunny:  Hello!  The rain has left us here for a few days and we will have sun again.  But, we sure needed that rain.  Hope you are having a great week.  :wave:

  • :wave: Deborah,

    I have to say it again……gonna sound like a broken record lol…..your site is so inviting and the graphics in the post are adorable…..okay moving on………lol :wink:

    Oh No!!! You missed kid nation!  :( It was a good one.  Last week Doug didn’t watch it with us and Ty was in the other room watching Deal or No Deal (he really likes that show) well this week we all sat down and watched it together (there aren’t many shows you can watch as a family now a days so it was nice ya know?)  anyway they had to decide if they wanted to eat meat (chicken)  as you can imagine some were against it lol.  I was just thinking of the killing and cleaning part……I didn’t think I’d want to do it let alone little kids…but they surprised me!!!  They did a great job.  It got really cold and the pumps froze but some boys thawed it out and got that going again.  There challenge or “showdown” was to screw pipes together through different things like a barrel, and out house, and make it to a water wheel.  The first team to get their wheel moving was the upperclass and so on.  BUT! while they were screwing their pipes together the water was coming out so it was a wet job!  Blue won, then red, then yellow, and green just couldn’t finish so they didn’t get the town reward.  which was a choice of a huge water slide in the middle of town OR a bunch of water pumps designed not to freeze.  =(  Some are upset because yellow team are the cooks and they don’t do it!  Green has been cooking.  And Micheal won the star.  Well that’s that.  =]

    I wouldn’t keep you guessing about the new addition that long…….I’m not cruel LOL!!! :yes:  I’ll give you a hint………it rolls.

    The Browns almost won last week.  Came down to a field goal that they made but the other team called a time out so it didn’t count and the next attempt was blocked :(   I want the team that played 2 weeks ago to show up on Sunday!!!  We’ll see.  Your colts are always pretty good :wink:   I rooted for them in the superbowl- now if they were against us I couldn’t do that, you understand LMBO!!!

    Thanks for the thoughts on the pantyhose too =]  Hope you have a wonderful Thursday dear friend!  And a great weekend selling soap =]

    Hugs,
    Theresa

  • How sweet it is! Before Jesus wiped the dirt off my life, “tuned me” and played something beautiful on me, I never knew I was worth anything! :)   I am so glad that He saw something in me that I could not see in myself. I am thankful for His touch on my life. Pray you are having a wonderful day today. I had a friend over this morning, and we had a great time together. Hubby is at a pastor’s meeting in Vejle, and I don’t know when to expect him home. It’s quite nice having some time to myself. :wave:

  • I love this poem!  It brings back sweet memories.  Thanks for sharing it.

  • Hi Deborah! Yep, I’m coming Saturday. Does your both have a number.name or location? The rug lady is a different person. Her name is Marlene Gaither and she has three boys. Our church is having their 25th Anniversary Quilt show this Friday and Saturday. They call them selves the “Willing Workers” and they have been the biggest fund raising group in our church.
    Evan will be with me, so he can help navigate the directions and bringing the camera. I can hardly wait.
    See you soon! Deanna
    :wave:

  • :sunny:Hope you have a Great Thursday! ((((((((((Hugs)))))))))………..In Christ’s Love………..Monic:heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads