November 19, 2007

  •  

    autumn lane

      

    I hope you’ve all had a great Friday, Saturday, and Sunday!  I know it’s been a few days since I updated, but most of you know that I’ve been so busy with getting ready for Ian to come home this Tuesday, and along with that, we also did a craft fair this past Saturday, which was again blessed as those bubbles floated off of the table!  Yesterday, we had a wonderful pre-Thanksgiving meal with the family!  We had 21 people, and they were all quite generous in contributing a dish to a meal that was fit for a king and queen … along with their royal court, I might add!  It made it nice that the meal wasn’t put on just one person to prepare, and we had every dish you could think of … but, not having felt too well most of the past week, I didn’t eat very much … although, I had lots to choose from!  


     harvest pcc Here’s what was on that menu: 
    *slow baked turkey 
    *honey glazed ham
    *fluffy buttery mashed potatoes
    *tasty gravy (2 kinds — turkey and red-eye for the ham)*
    *baked stuffing
    *cranberry sauce 
    *sweet potato casserole with a brown sugar buttery pecan topping 
    *sweet potatoes baked with marshmallows on top
    *fresh green beans
    *mexican corn casserole 
    *lettuce salad
    *24 hour salad
    *whole wheat rolls 
    *regular and flavored coffees


    fall_pumpie Now mind you … this did not include the abundant display over at the dessert table … 
    it was decked out with these goodies:
    *pumpkin pie
    *apple pie
    *homebaked cookies
    *pumpkin roll
    *cherry dump cake
    *chocolate iced brownies
    *chocolate iced peanut butter cheerio treats (similar to the Rice Krispie version — hubby loved those)
    { I didn’t eat any dessert ~ (now is that willpower or what?!) ~ oh, but we did bring part of a pumpkin pie home, which I’ll treat myself to later ~ only problem is, we have no whip cream! }


    fall_pum Now, of course, you realize I was just getting you ready for your big day, right?!!  Really, I hadn’t seen that much food since the last church pitch-in, and if I had even known how much food we were going to have, you all would have received an invitation!  We were so very blessed, and we have so much to be thankful for!  We had a wonderful day with Mom Betty, and Dad who seem to be doing much better.  We also found out that my niece, and her hubby, are expecting their first child!  My brother and sister-in-law are extremely happy to have their first grandbaby on the way!  We had a great day … but now Monday evening is here … and my day has been full of last minute things that I’ve needed to get done before Ian arrives tomorrow evening at 6:55PM!  At least I’ll have the better part of the day tomorrow to finish up … still not feeling 100%, but, I’m still so excited … can you tell! 

    I would so appreciate it if you would pray for Ian’s flight.  He flys out tomorrow, early in the morning, from San Jose, then to LAX, then onto Dallas, Ft. Worth, and then finally home.  The layovers are about an hour and 20 minutes each … and today, they were saying there were flight delays at the 2 airports due to snow in the northeast slowing things down.  So your prayers are very much appreciated!   

    Once he gets here, I’m not sure how often I’ll be checking in, but I’ll do it whenever I get the chance … and, of course I’ll be sharing pictures!  He may be working with his dad a couple of days this week, which will give me opportunity to let you know how things are going!  I will be praying for all of you this week, as I know you are busy with planning for your big day, and maybe possibly traveling.  I do want to get around to find out what your plans are before Thursday, though!  In the meantime, have a beautiful Monday evening and a terrific Tuesday … remember to rest in Him as you are busy preparing this week, and thank Him for all the blessings, large and small, in your lives … for we all have so very much to be thankful for! 

    fall_pum Hugs & Thanksgiving Blessings on your week!!
                                          ~ 
    Deborah <><

    thankful1

    The unthankful heart … discovers no mercies; but let the thankful heart sweep through the day and, as the magnet finds the iron, so it will find in every hour some heavenly blessings!   ~Henry Ward Beecher

    Thou who hast given so much to me, give me one more thing – a grateful heart!  ~George Herbert

    ‘Bless His Name”
    ~ Psalm 100: 1-5 

    “Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all ye lands.
    Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing.
    Know ye that the LORD he is God: it is he that hath made us, and not we ourselves;
    we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.
    Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise:
    be thankful unto him, and bless his name.
    For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations”.  


    black leaf

    camera blue flash Be sure to check out the photo contest over on iliveinmycamera
    and vote for your favorite ‘Mailbox’!! 
    Also check out the ‘Windmills’ over at
    BetsaflyGallery



    Bar leafybar 2

Comments (11)

  • :heartbeat:Hi Deborah! Hope you and your family have a Wonderful Thanksgiving with many Blessings! ((((((((((Hugs)))))))))………..In Christ’s Love……….Monic:heartbeat:

  • :sunny: I certainly hope you feel much better and that you have a wonderfully satisfying visit with your son!!! Thanks for the food list…it helped me remember these tasty sweet potatoes we had last year with pecans and since I just brought some home from the USA I can actually make some!!None of our family is here but our team is having a carry in dinner and I know it will be fun. Blessings on you and your family!!! :love:

  • I am so happy for you, that Ian will be home!!! How exciting! I hope you feel 100% better really soon so you can enjoy your holiday with your son.

    Have a blessed Thanksgiving!

    In His love, Chanin

  • What a feast! 

  • glad you had such a wonderful time and you are feeling better. i am praying that God will put a hedge of protection around Ian as he travels to and fro. Lord Bless.

  • WOW! All that food! Sounds wonderful! I finally found a turkey to buy… just a small one. (3400 grams) I am going to fix a nice meal for just hubby and I as I haven’t been feeling so hot, either. I usually invite some Danish friends to experience an American Thanksgiving, but we have been so busy lately, and I am so tired, :sleepy: I just don’t feel like all the cleaning and fussing and baking required to have guests. *** I can imagine how excited you are about your son coming! :fun: I’ve been there myself!  I pray you will enjoy every minute of the time you have him.  I know air travel gets kinda hairy at this time of year. I pray he won’t have any delays which would cause him to miss connecting flights. Long layovers are a bummer, but short ones can cause flights to be missed. These days, especially when traveling internationally, you need at least one hour between flights to get to your next gate and through security and customs. Blessings to you!  :heartbeat:

  • Have a great week! Enjoy God’s blessings.

  • Sounds like a wonderful day! I am praying for Lan and his flight. Blessings, Sharon

  • How can you sleep tonight knowing that Ian will soon be home! I hope that you will be feeling MUCH BETTER in the morning.  I will pray for his flight home. Treasure every moment you have with him…. All the food sounded so good….Mmmmmmmmmm.  Rest before you get Ian from the airport. Blessings ~Carolyn     :wave:

  • You just made me hungrey :) , i do hope you will be soon feeling much better , i will be keeping you in my prayers and also Ian in his flight home  i just bet you are so exicted to see your son , enjoy the time you have with him, and we will look forward to hearing all about it, have a wonderful Thanksgiving Day, we will have 23 here this year so we will have a full house and i can’t hardley wait until Fri when our daughter and granddaughter’s come in. they will leave SC Wed but will go to my son-in law  family for Thurs. I always enjoy that verse, we should make a joyful noise unto the lord and i am so thankfull for all that we he has done for us. God blessing be with and your family 

                                                  Sandy

  • What a spread…that is funny you call it a pitch-in…we call it a potluck

    Less than 24 hours…..can you stand it….

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads