December 12, 2007


  • for gray green brown bkg


    ~ FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVE EVERYTHING ~
    John Killinger
     Christmas Spoke Here

    It is a commentary on our situation in life that the biggest problem most of us has with our Christmas shopping, aside from finding time to do it, is that most of the people we shop for already have everything they need.  This year I’m fresh out of ideas.

    We can imagine the scene in a fairly average household on Christmas morning.  When all the expensively wrapped gifts have been opened and the room looks like an explosion in a paper-goods factory…

    It is rather obvious that a typical American family has everything.  They have helped keep the economy on an upward spiral, gratifying both the local merchants and the administration in Washington, and they have cluttered their household with many more things that are destined for the school auction or the garage sale when they move or find that their home is simply too overladen for living.  They could not possibly want for anything they don’t have.

    Are they people who have everything or people who need everything?

    What do they really need this Christmas?

    They need simplicity, time for sorting out their lives, time for being together, time for getting to know one another, and time for sharing themselves at the deepest levels of human communication.

    They need holy time, a sense of life’s deeper dimensions, of eternal mysteries breaking in upon finite existence, of the God of righteousness whose being conveys meaning to all of life’s actions and relationships, and the blessing of a world that wants to bless us if we’ll only let it.

    They need space for seeing life as it is, for seeing the millions of people in the world who are starving to death and the millions who are dying of simple diseases, for realizing how shallow life is when it is lived merely for the pleasure of the moment without any regard to the future or its consequences, for standing back and looking at their own lives, so that, like Scrooge when the ghosts of Christmas Past and Christmas Present and Christmas Future whisked him away, they will have a chance to mend their ways, to become wholesome, to become worthy, and to become children of God.

    They need the Christ of Christmas and renewal of their inner spirits.  That is what it all comes down to, isn’t it?  They need to hear and receive the message of Christmas, that God has entered the human arena to dwell with us, that His presence is consequently here and available to us now, that we are not alone, spinning out our destinies…, and that all our days are spent before the Holy One of Israel who poured all that He was and is and will be through the funnel of a miracle into the child born in the manger of Bethlehem.  They need to surrender their lives to Christ, who is the real Gift of Christmas, and in the end He so overshadows all others as to be the only one.

    In a sense, I am talking about all of us.

    That is the way it ought to be for us at Christmas.  Most of us have been lost in the busyness of our existence, trying to cope from day to day, and have quite forgotten who we are or whose we are .… and then we, who thought we had everything, realize we have nothing, and, realizing we have nothing, stand ready to receive everything.  For He is our joy and peace.

    In all the frenzy and noise of the season, O God, help us to find our way home; and, having found it, let us never lose it. Through Christ, who was born to show us the way.  Amen.

    Let’s approach Christmas with an expectant hush, rather than a last-minute rush.
    ~Anonymous
     

    Bless you all!  Remember tomorrow, to have a  …..

    THANKFUL THURSDAY Stamp for sign

    Bullit Star Hugs,
    Deborah <><

Comments (19)

  • I completely agree with this post. Too bad it isn’t possible to wrap up the things mentioned and give them to people! I suppose it would be possible to offer a young mom some free babysitting so she could have a little time to herself. I can do that. **Since moving to Denmark, our lives have become much less complicated when it comes to the holidays. Although we are busy, we are kind of “out of the loop” when it comes to the frenzy of shopping and gift buying. Sometimes I feel a little bad that I can’t spend money on people I care about, but they understand and since, as you mentioned above, most people have too much stuff already, it really isn’t an issue! *** So, you will be on your own all cozy and quiet this weekend! I wish I could stop by for a chat and a cup of tea. Wouldn’t that be cool? ***Today I am wrapping up the gifts I have bought for our pastor and his wife, and the couple we spend Christmas with. Then I have to hit the gym for an hour and after that do the grocery shopping. We have just rain and wind here, so I have no travel concerns. Tomorrow I will assemble all the cookies I have baked on to plates and start visiting neighbors. Sunday we have another birthday party after church. So, my weekend isn’t too bad. Blessings! Give your kitty a scratch under his chin from me! :heartbeat:

  • Great post. Sometimes it really is hard to figure out a gift for someone who seems to have so much. If someoner were to ask me what I wanted or needed for Christmas, I would have no idea what to tell them.

    Have a great weekend.

  • Once again, you have a  lovely page!   

    RYC:  ah, moving, yes, it’s a rough thing!   We also has accumulated a lot, but here’s something I found online that works so well!    Color code each room, get a tablet and colored sharpies.   Number each box with the appropriate color and list the contents of that box number in your tablet!   It’s so easy and then it’s easier to find what you’re looking for if you’re just looking through a tablet instead of a million boxes!  

    Make a box with nessesities, phone, phone book, stuff like that that you’ll need before you start unpacking!   

    Hope it all goes smoothly for you!  I don’t think moving is ever easy, but to be honest, my aunt and I have both moved across the country and we think it’s easier than moving a short distance.    When moving a long distance, you have to have everything done and packed all at once and then you get to relax for a few days till you get to your destination.   But you’ll do fine!   Just get rid of anything that you can live without, as long as you’re not attatched to it!   

    Hope you have a blessed Christmas! 

    (((HUGS))) Berylla

  • Deborah
    Thank you for this great post….it is so true….we are all settled now and awaiting CHRISTmas in a very low key fashion….I love it this way….

  • We’ve had rain lately, and very warm temperatures..
    so even if we do get a little snow on Saturday (predicted 80%), I think the ground is too warm and wet for it to stick.

    I waited and waited last year for a good snow…. nothing.
    Areas all around us get it, and we don’t.. probably because our town is nestled down in a crater surrounded by mountains.. 2 miles over, they’ll get a foot of snow and we get a few flurries! UGH!
    :lol: Becca

  • Some Good insight!
    Your site is pretty.. I love the snowfall background.

    Hope your week is Blessed!

    Becca

  • :wave: My sister just got married and they got everything for there wedding:fun: So I didnt know what to get them for Christmas..LOL so I took thier wedding pictures and made a huge scrapbook and put some pictures I did for sepia and black and white for them. I Like your ideas

  • ^^^see I am in such a hurry to get ready to leave for the dentist that I couldn’t spell anything correctly…hope your deciphering skills are good :wink:

  • Hiya Deborah!!! How are you doing? How is Ians arm/shoulder doing? I hope all is well.

    Ok I am writing when I really need tyo get ready to leave for anopther dentist appointment…just wanted to see how you were doing?

    Love in Christ,

    Kelly

  • Hi!  I’m happy for you to get to move to the country.  Soon you will be hearing coyotes sing you to sleep at night like I do. :coolman:

    I am behind some on all my Christmas stuff but have been getting a lot of decorating done this week  I just love getting out all the lights and beautiful things we have collected.  Also finally got a great tree yesterday and it smells so good! So, I am working on that this afternoon.  Yesterday while it was warm I also put some things up outside.  I have some crafts I want to make, especially for my two new great-nieces and their parents.  Making some ornaments and stockings for them!  Then maybe I will get to some baking next week.  Isn’t it fun?  And it all has a special aura and meaning with remembering Jesus and letting his light shine.  We have things we are supposed to do this weekend, like an office dinner party and also playing music at church.  So I hope I can at least get out to those things!  The rest of the time I will stay cozy inside having fun making stuff.  See ya!  I hope I can meet you someday soon.

  • RYC, we live in so CA, no ice :)

  • Amen!:goodjob:

    I love that Snowman header!!!  Too cute.. you have the cutest stuff over here!

    Sorry I haven’t been by lately… it’s that time of year, ya know?

    Hugs!!!

  • This is all so very true.

  • Great post  hope all is going good for you and your family,  we are to get some bad weather here tomorrow and over the weekend, we are having dinner guest in tomorrow night so i hope it don’t get to bad for them to travel. thanks again for sharing this great reminder of what Christmas is all about.

                                     GOD BLESS,

                                     SANDY

  • :goodjob::yes::coolman::fun::spinning::heartbeat::wave::laugh::wink::wink:

  • What a great post!  My husband and I are volunteering to help at a Christmas Carnival for Urban Youth Impact, however, I should be doing so much more.  I pray by doing the volunteering, it will enrich our lives as well as the ones we are there to share the joy of Christ with. Blessings for a wonderful Christmas and New Year.  Jill

  • Your site looks so pretty!  Love the falling snow ~

  • Amen!  What a lovely post.

    And I do say that your snowman on top looks like he is giving all of us a big hug!

  • :heartbeat:Amen! Hope you are having a Wonderful evening!……………Stay safe and keep warm!………In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads