December 14, 2007

  • Edit below …

      
    CHRISTMAS village

    ~ CHRISTMAS SPOKEN HERE ~
    John Killinger

    One day I was staring through the window of a beautiful little Christmas shop.  It was packed with Christmas items, even though Christmas was still six months away.  There were exquisite crèche scenes from Italy, Germany, and Norway.  There were fuzzy-faced elves and jolly old Santa Clauses, sleighs and reindeer of every size and description, bells and trees, and music boxes. There were nutcrackers and candles and electric lights, angels and wise men and little drummer boys, stars and snowmen and gingerbread cutouts.  The little shop was fairly bursting with Christmas, and a loudspeaker broadcast a medley of Yuletide tunes. It was infectious, even in the summertime.  And down in the corner of the front door, where no one could miss it, was the neatest touch of all. It was a small sign that said: “Christmas Spoken Here.”

    “Christmas Spoken Here.”  I cannot imagine a better slogan for the church, at this season or any time of year, than that one. What could say better why we are here?  God has entered human history to change its course forever.  He has come as a Word, as something said, articulated, put in a message: “The Word became flesh and dwelt among us” (John 1:14).  We remember the event each year in song and pageant and decoration. “Christmas spoken here.”  It has to be spoken here, for it is the basis of all we do.

    “Christmas Spoken Here.”  It is an appropriate motto for us.  The church ought always to speak Christmas.  We ought always to be reminded of the Word God has spoken: the intelligible, important, and loving Word of His concern for us.  And Christmas is the best time of all the year for remembering it.  “The Word became flesh and dwelt among us full of grace and truth.”  That is Christmas, and Christmas is spoken here.  It will always be spoken here.

    Lord, You have spoken to us in the birth and life and death of Jesus, and Your Word is plain.  Help us to hear it and respond with  all our hearts. For there is no other word as intelligible, or important, or loving as this one.  ~Amen.

    God grant you the light in Christmas, which is faith; the warmth of Christmas, which is love; the radiance of Christmas, which is purity; the righteousness of Christmas, which is justice; the belief in Christmas, which is truth; the all of Christmas, which is Christ. ~ Wilda English


    Bar Primitive Bow Star


    Hope you’re all doing well!  We had lots planned for this weekend, one of which was an antique/craft show that we were to do Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, but plans have changed, drastically!  My husband has to go out of town, to Illinois to help on a huge flooring job, and I’m asking that you pray for his safe travels!  He’s headed out at with the man who normally works with him at 6:00AM, and it’s about a 2 hour drive.  I’m more concerned with the drive home Saturday night! The weatherman is telling us we have some predicted snowfall headed this way … to arrive on Saturday, and into Sunday!  I’m praying it moves a bit to the south of us, then he’ll be fine, but that may not be the case! You never can tell about the weather, can you … he said if it was too bad, he would stay another night! They are paying for his hotel room, and food!  That’s such a blessing!

    Topper Snowman unassembled


    I do look forward to some snow though!  It makes everything so pretty … and especially around Christmas!  We did some grocery shopping so I’d have a few extras while he’s gone … I made a pot of Chili Soup that will keep me warm!  I’ll do some cleaning, and baking, then work at purging some closets.  I certainly have lots to keep me busy … and I just may decide to go out and build myself a snowman!  I’m also working on pictures to post, so I’ll be doing that too, this weekend!  We have a Christmas play this Sunday at church that I’m anxious to see!  I remember Ian doing plays when he was younger … the first part he played, when he was under a year, was ‘Baby Jesus’ … Lew and I were ‘Mary(with glasses) & Joseph’ … he was so quiet through the whole play … I’ll have to scan some old pictures and show you!  Other plays … he was ‘The Little Drummer Boy’, and a ‘shepherd’!  I miss those days!  One year, we all went to the shopping mall and put on the Christmas play there … these days, that is no longer allowed!  The world has changed so much, it’s so very sad!  Do you have any special memories of Christmas plays from your past?  Please share!  Well, I think that’s about all for now … but I do so appreciate your prayers for Lewis as he travels today!  Bless you all, and have a fantastic Friday!  

    Smilie Snowman Small*Christmas Spoken Here!
                      
    Hugs,
                          ~ Deborah <>< 

    EDIT:
      A very kind Xangan friend pointed out that the title of this devotion had a typo in it!  It should have been ‘HERE’ … and not ‘HEAR’!!  Thank you so much for letting me know!  It was quite early in the morning when I posted this!  But, ‘hear’, does seem to fit when you think about it, though!  Christ has spoken … do we hear?!!
     
    O LORD, help us to open our ears and HEAR what You are saying to our hearts! ~Amen!
     
     
    Well, I’ve got to get back to those dustbunnies … time’s a wastin’!!  Thank you for all of your prayers for my husband’s safe travels!  He made it there just fine this morning … and realized they were an hour earlier … a surprise for him!  They are saying this storm coming in could be rough, with ice added to it … so the drive home is what concerns me!  You all have a blessed evening, stay warm, and I’ll be around to see you all later tonight! :o

Comments (14)

  • Hey! I speak Christmas, too! I think the main theme of Christmas revolves around God demonstrating His amazing love for us. Christ’s birth was when He put His plan of redemption in motion. I am sure your Honey will be fine.  Think about God’s lovoing, strong arms around him! ***I slept in this morning and it felt good. I am shlupping around in my robe and slippers and it’s nearly time for me to start lunch!   Chili soup sounds good. *** I wish it would snow here. It would be a lovely change from all the rain. Drip, drip, drip!   :wave:

  • :)  Three separate ones!! I would like to try that sometime. Like linda does Huh? I sure hope you get to slow down after or if you move. It is so nice to have a simpler life. Get some rest now!:heartbeat: Sharon

  • :sunny: Hi there, I don’t know of any other place to get triples. But she is adding new ones now and then. I don’t limit my self to just a  certain theme of hers. I look at a lot of different ones before I choose. Some times what I think looks good doesn’t so I save several I like in my favorits so I don’t have to go looking again for a while. I don’t like  xanga themes either, to limiting for me also. I would have to learn how to work them. There is a vidio on them and it seamed quit confusing. ~I have also had to give away alot of things. I don’t even hardly want to buy things anymore. Just things we need. ~Wow, sounds like a big storm. Praying for your hubby.  ~ I had to watch the little kiddos this week and now I have their cold again!! :whocares: I just can’t say no when my daughter needs me.  God bless and good night!!  Sharon  

  • Christmas Spoken Here  , enjoy that so much, i remember when our chrildren were in plays and also my hubby and i ,it’s been about two years that we  were not able to be in them  and i do miss that.

    I will be holding your hubby up in prayer as he travel home, we are to get snow here  in the afternoon into Sunday, hope we don’t get to much for we have a church dinner to go to and our granddaughter 4 year birthday party on Sunday

     Have a blessed weekend, and don’t work to hard

    Ryc: i will message that pound cake recipe to you sometime this weekend

                                       Sandy

  • :sunny:Hi, so you are moving!!  That is so great that  you are going to be moving to the country!!  :goodjob:  Thank you for your  sweet comment. Yes, I will be praying for your hubby. Bless you as you go through all your stuff. It is amazing how much stuff we  can collect in’t it?:rolleyes:  God bless you!!!!:heartbeat:Sharon

  • I saw the weather warning on the news tonight. What day is he coming home? Hopefully, he will make it before it gets too bad. I will certainly be praying for him, though!!

    I love the “Christmas Spoken Here”….. Gives me another idea to do with the vinyl lettering!!! :)

  • I love that, “Christmas Spoken Here.”  I think I definitely need to make a little sign!  :wave:

  • I really like it when the weather is bad if I do not have to go to work. I am suppose to work tomorrow night but we are over staffed, so I might get to stay home. With bad weather, I may have to go in anyway.

    But don’t you just love a night when you have a very good reason to stay home.

  • I love the Christmas is spoken here!  We would do well to remember that.

    We are due for a big storm on Sunday into Monday.  Probably your same storm! 

    That chili sounds good.  Enjoy!

  • I loved these last two posts! So wonderful! I loved the idea that people don’t need anything- except simplicity- that is so true! I also love your new Christmas background :) Have a blessed weekend, Deborah!

  • ryc:  Yes, I got both emails… I wrote ya back or messaged you or something to say that I did…. LOL….

    No time for feet up until it sent out to all of you guys – more continuity editing, etc.!

  • :love: Greetings Deborah! I like that…”Christmas Spoken here!”  A lady at the market today wished me a “Happy Birthday of Christ” which is what I normally say but people usually just say “Happy Holidays” or “Happy New Year” YOur site looks very lovely!! We have snow as well but not enough to make a snow man. It sure is cold today. I was out for a little while but I gave up…too cold!!! I have the dsound on and love the music box!!! Have a good weekend and praying your husband gets home safely! :wave:

  • :heartbeat:Good Morning Ms. Deborah! Yes I have been in Christmas plays, always a singer! Ha! I actually created one, one year with the help of Ray Boltz’s Christmas album! Arranged it as a Musical! And Pastor did his sermon between songs! It went very well! God had Blessed it and everyone who saw it.!But now I am singing for this Christmas Sunday service and Christmas Eve! I was never one myself for acting, just singing more my comfort zone!Praying for Lewis safe travels and I hope you have a Fabulous Day! ((((((((Hugs)))))))))) ryc: Yes we got some ice but Thank God my trees didn’t get damaged this time and we kept power, too!…………In Christ’s Love….Monic:heartbeat::love::wave:

  • I love that slogan ~ “Christmas Spoken Here” ~ sent a quick prayer up for your husband’s travels.  I just love coming to your page and watching it “snow”!  :spinning:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads