December 20, 2007

  •  

    charlie brown's Christmas tree

    The Perfect Christmas Tree 
    ~ Kelly McFadden

    But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
    —2 Corinthians 12:9-10

    Each year in the mall near our home, a Christmas tree looms high above the department stores as a decoration and focal point for holiday celebrations.  It is breathtaking.  Of course, this tree gets a lot of help.  In fact, to make sure the tree looks perfect and even from all sides, existing branches are cut off, extra ones are collected, and each branch is cut and trimmed. Then, holes are drilled in the tree trunk and extra branches are placed in just the right spots.  The tree is made to look flawless.

    When I think about the holiday season and the message of Christ, this mall has it all wrong.  I think God looks at us more like Charlie Brown’s Christmas tree. You know the one I mean. A tree that is far from perfect: skimpy, left behind and unwanted.  A tree that has lots of gaps in the branches and need extra help getting decorated.

    God demonstrated his power in mighty ways through the Apostle Paul.  The passage from 2 Corinthians records Paul’s requests to God to remove the afflictions he was facing, but God chose not to do so.  God demonstrated His incredible power through Paul by working through Him even in the midst of His weaknesses.  It is also these weaknesses that reminded Paul to rely on the Lord, for he knew he could not succeed without the power of God in his life. 

    It is tempting to rely on our own strength or think we can do everything on our own based on the talents, energy and effort we give to something.  However, God wants us to realize instead that we need to rely on Him to be our strength.  When we rely on Him, we will not only find ourselves stronger, but we will also continue to grow and move to deeper Christian character when we allow God’s strength to work in us.  So when you face situations that are difficult and challenging, be encouraged.  God will make His power perfect in you…just as you are, with flaws and all.

    animated snow scene

    Thank you Lord, for honoring even the smallest faith … for even the smallest faith is inhabited by you.  With You, in You, and through You all things are truely possible and that is what gives us hope to go on!  We trust each day to You, as You walk with us through the valleys of life that bring us low, for in that place of lowliness, we can know that You will lift us up and bring us out into a place of freedom, a place of greater faith!! You truly are more than what we could ever ask or think….You truly are more than able!  In Jesus Name, Amen

Comments (12)

  • I really love that perspective don’t you with all our flaws  our Father Loves us more then we can even grasp. I wanted to wish you a Merry Christmas

  • Hey ,I see you are up rather late again. I was just finishing up a post when I saw your comment thanks for stopping by! Have fun shopping!!   Sharon

  • Thanks for sharing your heart…it is truly all about Him and relying on Him…may we never, never forget. ~Colleen~

  • :sunny: Just stopped by to wish you and yours a blessed merry Chrismas!!!

  • :sunny:  great post!

    RYC:  I have heard clothespin cookies also called ladyfingers or ladylocks.  You can go here and see a picture.

    I’m already running behind today lol.  I’m dragging.  I need to get busy, well it is almost lunch time so maybe after lunch I’ll get busy!  hehee

    Have a great day! 

  • Praise God that He loves us warts and all! What a comfort. I hope you’re having a good time getting ready for Christmas.

  • :coolman::coolman::coolman::coolman::coolman::coolman:GREAT POST!!!! Tis Very True!

    Oh btw I know my page is skinny again but did you ever look in protected for pics & I have new one of my cat too.

  • for the Lord to use me as He wills….what a great thought…I love Charlie Brown’s tree…I always cry at this show cuz the kids are so mean to him….I am sap….I know…..

    Blessings on your day….and your packing….:spinning:

  • Isn’t it weird how we are always trying to improve on reality? As long as we keep trying to “pretty it up” we don’t have to face the truth or our weakness. We try so hard to fix stuff, when God is what we need!  Hope you are having a nice, cozy day.  HUGS!

  • As we age, there are more physical flaws all the time ( :p )  ~  I praise God that those things are not what count in spiritual growth, but that He works with the inner man, stripping away the layers of self and pride, etc.  We are so safe in His hands as He continues to form us into His will for us.

  • Morning sweet sister :sunny: Love your site and the things you can do with it,Someday I will learn to do all this :) Thanks for the e-mail  tom and I watched it togerther and we laugh and we did not know that lewie could move that way :lol:   I hope you have a blessed day and I love you 

                                                                sasbonay_49

       

  • Hello My Sweet Lady! Interesting theology about the tree……..I will be singing a song this weekend called”The Perfect Tree.” by Ray Boltz. Heard it years ago at a Voice class and just had to find it. It’s a message about the Perfect Tree that God died on for You and me! …………Brings Christmas together, full circle!………….Hope you have a Wonderful Day! Just wanted to share a special piece of me with you! (((((((Hugs)))))))…………In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads