January 1, 2008

  •   
    New Year Praise God 



    I hope you’re all having a blessed New Years Day!  We are just staying home, baking some cookies to send Ian {any tips on packing cookies for a trip out west?}, having spaghetti and salad for dinner, and watching the snow fall … yep, they’re predicting cold temperatures and about 3 inches of snow … I’m praying for 10!!   We’re being sort of lazy today, because when the sun rises tomorrow, we are going to dig in and start the monumental task that is set before us!  Lewis is not working, so it’ll give us a day to get started.  We’re going to work little by little sorting, discarding, giving away, selling, purging, and packing our things for the move in about 2 months!  I’m excited for the new thing that God is doing in our lives, and I’m looking forward to this new year, and sharing our ‘journey’ with all of you!  

    I know as we reflect over this past year, we could all share how God has worked in our hearts, and our lives.  I know for me, it’s been a difficult year, but as it comes to a close, I see where God has opened doors in my heart … molding and making me more in His image.  I thank Him for those hard things, for without them, I would not be where I am in Him now.  I see where I have been stunted spiritually and there was no real ‘life’ … I look again and see that the difficulties we go through bring life … spiritual life.  Don’t wrestle or struggle against adversity … submit to the working of God in your life, for in the end you’re closer and more like Him because of it!  He is ever faithful to see you through what He puts before you, to grow you up in Him.  To
    everything there is a purpose under Heaven!!

    I’m also excited to see what God is going to do in your lives this year!  I pray you’re all encouraged in your walk with Him … and that your relationship becomes deeper and richer as each day passes. I pray He blesses your year above all that you could ever ask or think!  I’m so thankful for the encouragement and closeness I’ve had with you here, and I look forward, with great anticipation, to all that God will bring into our lives as we look ahead.  Yes, God has blessed us all with another year … a clean slate … a fresh start … a new beginning … so, do you have any hopes, prayers, or goals for the new year?  I recently saw a blog where someone made a list of 8 goals for their lives in 2008 … this could be one of those ‘tags’ that everyone does … I’ve yet to do one, and this sure would be a good one to start with!  I’m going to make my list by the end of the week … anyone else??  Bless you all!!

    Animated candlestick small Hugs,
               ~ Deborah <><

    Bar Animated Stars

    A New Year With The Lord

    A new year is about to unfold
    With new opportunities to explore
    Doors will open for new experiences
    New adventures with the Lord

    Remember not the former things
    The things of this past year
    The Lord will do new things in us
    Much more than we are aware

    For He will make a way for us
    As we put our trust in Him
    And He will guide our every step
    By His presence we have within

    What God has placed within our hearts
    We find we’ll be able to do
    If we look for the opportunities
    We’ll see the door to go through

    We mustn’t let anything hold us back
    But rise up and take our place
    And be all that God wants us to be
    With a fresh touch of His grace


     ~ M.S.Lowndes

    Bar Animated Stars

    A New Year’s Prayer ~ Make this your own!

    Lord, my precious Savior and God, help me turn to You through this New Year’s prayer.  May I be grateful for every breath.  Dear Lord, as circumstances and issues came against me last year and have followed me into this New Year, I cry out to You.  Empower me with Your Holy Spirit to overcome these obstacles with a good perspective, realizing You allow trials in my life to mold me into the image of Your marvelous Son.

    I need a Father to truly love and care for me.  You are that Daddy, though at times I don’t feel Your presence.  Remind me that You will never leave or forsake me.  Teach me to find rest for my troubled heart.  Lord, let Your Word renew my mind day after day in this New Year. Protect me from the enemy who is on the prowl to devour me.

    This New Year, help me trust in You rather than be clothed with discouragement.  My desire is to follow You wholeheartedly this New Year.  Let my mind be renewed, refreshed, and returned to the joy of Your salvation.

    Heavenly Father, let me be not only a hearer of Your Word, but also a doer, practicing Your teachings, no longer quenching the Holy Spirit. Cause me to act on opportunities instead of apathetically overlooking them.  This readiness involves praising and worshipping You with a pure heart.

    This New Year, I trust Your closeness and care.  I have no need for fear because You lavish Your love on me.  My Father, I purpose to know more and more of You, seeking Your Kingdom and reign over my life.  May my actions prove I treasure the Holy Spirit indwelling inside me.

    Let this New Year and the following years consist of Your reign in me.  Let me take the time daily to lift Your name on high.  Let me realize all the marvelous gifts that come from above: rain, sunshine, blessings. Then, I will bless You with all my soul.

    May my mind focus on heavenly priorities: loving You and my neighbor.  Lord, this New Year let me walk in humility, serving You, loving You, giving You glory and honor every day.  Each day of this New Year may I acknowledge You in everything and for everything.  I thank You for the work You do inside me by Your love, power, and might.

    Thank You for this New Year.  Let me do according to Your good pleasure and purpose, pleasing You in every area of this life.  Thank You for Your mercy which makes all things new each morning — even after a day of failure.

    Father, thank You for adopting me as Your child.  In this New Year, I cry Abba Father, thanking you for restoring a right relationship with me through the cross. Conform and transform me unto all godliness through the burdens and blessings You allow to cross my path.

    Lord, thank You for hearing my prayer.  You care intimately for me.  May this New Year be truly about You – May I be all about God in my actions and attitudes.  From this New Year’s prayer, let me not forget to listen carefully to You.  Give me eyes to see and a heart to do Your will in this New Year.   In Jesus Name, Amen!



    Bar Animated Stars

Comments (15)

  • I love your new background…..never having met you IRL….it really suites you….your post was a blessing, thanks

    I used to pack cookies going across the country with popcorn….it is like the peanuts they use for packing but are eatible….

    And yeah for new beginnings…..His mercies are new every morning….ain’t God great…..

  • Happy New Year! We’ve been spending a quiet day at our house, too. We’re recovering from all the family we had visiting.

    I pray God will give you a tremendous 2008.

  • You have a beautiful site, and sound like a beautiful person.  It will be a joy getting to know you.

  • I am so blessed to call you my friend!  You give me so much to think about when I read your posts!  I am in awe of that beautiful prayer that you have posted here.  I prayed it outloud as I was reading it, and then prayed it again, from my heart!  What an awesome prayer!

    I LOVE New Beginnings!  I love being able to wipe the slate clean and start over!  As difficult as your packing may be at this point in time, I truly believe that one day you will look back at these days and thank God for the beauty that He will have surrounded you with in your home!  One day I would love to share a cup of hot chocolate or a cup of tea with you on that awesome back porch!  WOW!!! 

    Happy New Year my friend!  I pray that Lord will bless all that you put your hand to in 2008, in the name of our Lord & Savior, Jesus!  AMEN!!!

    LOVE YOU LOTS,

    Christi

  • Howdy. It is so great to know that as we travel into the new year, we do not travel alone.

    Have a great week!

  • :wave: :wave: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny:

    Hi again,

    Thanks for the comment. That was a good post, lots to think about and work on in 2008. I lived in Mich for 10 yrs in the 70′s with a detour to Int Falls, Mn, OMG talk about cold as croutLOL. I got divorced and moved back to TX. My daughter went back to MI to go to college there live with her Dad and that was in 1994 and she has never come back to live here :cry: :cry: . She is a teacher and likes it there. She comes and stays 6 wks in summer so that is great and since I retired I am subbing at school so it works out great. I am really enjoying my 2 wk vacation off from school, start back Monday.
    I don’t like the cold at all and hate the snow LOL. My daughter said they got about 8-9 in last night of snow, better her than me LOL. After I see Texas Tech get beat ( I am afraid) I will take the decorations off my tree, at least it takes less time taking them off than putting them on :yes:.
    I am so glad I happened upon you on here. Yes. there is qutie a few from TX on here, well, we are a big ole state!!!LOL
    You have a very Happy and Blessed New year and good luck starting going thru your stuff. I will let you know about the candle when I burn it. Now I am buring the eggnog one and it is ok.

    Hugs,

    Jackie :heartbeat:

  • Hi Deborah! I received a copy of the New Testament as William Tyndal translated it. I was reading Matthew 5 this morning…difficult teachings…sometimes can’t figure out what Jesus was saying… but…blessed are they who hunger and thirst after righteousness because they will be filled!!!So let us be among those who hunger and thirst after righteousness, right? I am going to rise to the challenge of 8 goals for 2008 but I want to think about it first. Be blessed!

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend! Happy New Year! I am off from work early because I did my Boss a favor yesterday with the agreement that I could leave early today! She kept her word!……….Hope you have a Blessed Day. A cookie that I love to make and eat is Oatmeal Scotties. The recipe is on the back of the bag of Butterscotch chips from TollHouse. Easy to make and eat!………..Even DH really liked them and he is more of a Peanut Butter cookie person! Ha!……Have a Wonderful time this week sorting through things, too! ((((((Hugs))))))……….In Christ’s Love……..Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

  • How exciting it is to step into another new year! I am expecting big things from God.  Your New Year’s Eve celebration sounded nice. We had a nice dinner with friends, and then went to church to be with our church family. It was great! All the pastors/elders were invited to share for a few minutes about their expectations for the new year. It was wonderful to hear. My problem was keeping it to three minutes! :p

  • Such a beautiful, thought-filled New Year’s post. May the Lord bless you this year with continued hope and peace in Him. Blessings, Laurie   :sunny:

  • God bless you in 2008! May He grant you much grace, mercy and love in this new year :)

    In His love, Chanin

  • I pray God abundantly blesses your New Year, and that He does wonderous things in your life this year.

    Heather

  • Happy 2008 Deborah!!! I am so glad to have met you and came across your marvelous writings. I look forward to the new year will all that God has for me. As I am delivered I pray that I can only be a light for His word to the people around me, like you are. What a beautiful post today….Lisa

  • Great post! Our sermon this past Sunday was from James where it says.. ‘don’t say that tomorrow you will ..’! The point being that it’s not a sin to make plans but keep God in mind and His will for your life through His Word as you are making those plans. Awesome reminder!

  • Happy New Year, Deborah!  The only tip I have as far as sending cookies is – is to place a slice of bread (untoasted) directly in with your cookies.  This will help them not be stale.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads