February 18, 2008

  •         

    Valentine's Day PM 2-08 jpeg rs

    I had to share this photo of a beautiful Valentine’s evening
    spent driving with my son in the country!  This is my favorite time of day!

    I hope you’ve all had a good weekend!  Thought I’d share with you a summary of this past week.  Having Ian home has been fun, but the time is soon coming to an end, and he’ll be flying out tonight around 6:30PM, for California.  I would so appreciate your prayers for his safe journey, and for God’s will to be done in his life.  We’ve had some good times together while he’s been home, and I hope you don’t mind if I share a few highlights from the week:

    *Filming, taking photos, and enjoying Ian’s good friend’s wedding … Rodney & Adria … here is the adorable couple! 


    Rodney & Adria Together rs


    *Going to church together again, as a family, last Sunday.  

    *Ian was able to spend some quality time with his close friends … he was missed.

    *Lewis had to work on Valentine’s Day, but he got away long enough to have dinner out together at Carrabba’s Italian Grill … notice the  shaped chicken?  Lew and I had that heart shaped herbed chicken, with lemon brocolli, and garlic mashed potatoes … Ian had their steak, and we all had the best salad, with hot bread dipped in herbed olive oil … it was a delicious meal!  After that Lewis had to go back to work, so Ian and I just took a drive in the country … {*see photo above of the beautiful night that we had here!}  


                          Carrabba's Salad rs Carrabba's Chicken dinner rs

      
    *Dinner with Grandma & Grandpa’s on Saturday … {it was the last time in their condominum that we can do that, as they are moving to the assisted living apartment this next weekend.  They will be much closer to us, so we’ll be able to see them more often without driving almost an hour away!}  We had a wonderful dinner … ham, sweet potatoes, fresh green beans, homemade coleslaw, a pineapple/cherry fruit dish on the side … and brownies for dessert.  Ian enjoyed every morsel, and so did we!  We cleaned up the kitchen for them while they sat and visited with Ian.  Here Ian is getting ready to enjoy that delicious meal that Grandma and Grandpa prepared!


    Ian at Grandma pa's 2  2-16-08 rs


    Out of all of their grandchildren, Ian is the only grandson who will carry on the family name, so you can imagine how special he is to them!  Grandma sat down with a box of family pictures and we enjoyed going through those!  Here are a few photos from that night, and a ‘photo within a photo’ of both Ian and his Grandparents … this is their wedding photo … Ian was 6 or 7,  {I’ll have to check on that to be sure!  I should know that, now shouldn’t I?!! 


    Photo within a photo 2 2-16-08 rs


    And, I have to share a smile in this photo here!  The ‘Lewis of today’, is holding up a photo of when he was in highschool, and also a photo of our family back in the mid 80′s!  I still don’t think that’s really him in the highschool picture … so, what do you think?!!    Remember those oversized, gargantuan glasses that I was wearing … boy have things changed … thank goodness!!


    Before, After Before, & Now! 2 2-16-08 rs2


    *On Sunday, yesterday, Ian had to take a trip up to Granger Community Church to a meeting on how their video communications program worked and will take the information back to the church in California … Granger is a ’mega’ church north of us here in Indiana, and I’ve never even heard of it until Ian told us about it.  They have an extensive website
    , one you could get lost in!  Lewis said you could get lost in the church as well!  Dave Ramsey’s seminar was going on this particular day … they enjoyed that, and learned a few wise tips about finances! {We’re starting ours at church next Sunday … good stuff on how to get debt free!}  Well, during the course of the meeting with Ian yesterday, they said they needed more help in that department … so that may be a future possibility for him … (at least it wouldn’t be 2500 miles from home … only 3 hours away … I could handle that!)  Lewis went with him yesterday … I definitely would have, except, (sigh) I’m feeling like I’m getting the flu, you know achey and chilled …  so we thought it best that I stay put! 

    *Finally, just spending time here at home with him, cooking together, movie night, and also a little shopping together … just being able to be a mom again to my son, was the highlight for me!

    He spent most of the time here with a bad head cold, so we didn’t do as much as we had planned … but he is hoping to come back in May for another friend’s wedding.  He was asked to film that one also.  He wanted to come back in April as well, in order to work with the youth at the Children Conferences at our annual homeschool convention.  That’s where all of this started … about a year ago!  It’s been hard adjusting, as a mom of one son, but God has grown me though it all, and I’m learning to trust Ian to Him!  

    Well, today, I’m feeling a little better … I’ve been working on getting Ian’s clothes cleaned and packed before he heads back this evening.  He was at a friend’s house most of the day yesterday after they got back from Granger, and I haven’t seen much of him today, either … he had some errands to run with Lewis, but we are all going to The House of Toyko for lunch together … he’s been wanting to go there since he’s been here.  They cook the most amazing tasting Japanese food right in front of you.  I’ll get some photos!  After that we’ll come home and finish the packing, and then head for the airport.   I really thank you for your prayers for him, and for a safe journey back!  I’ll be around to see you all soon … things will get quieter starting tomorrow, and I’ll be back with more photos to share.  Have a blessed Monday, everyone! 

    Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><
     

                                                                               Tag heart  Tag heart  Tag heart 

Comments (14)

  • I’m glad you had such a nice visit, and I hope he made it home safely and with no plane delays this time!  Hope you’re feeling better.  I enjoyed all the pictures.  :coolman:

  • im so glad you had so much fun with ian i hope you have a great week i love you deb love shelly

  • :heartbeat:Hello my dear sweet Deborah,

    I love the falling hearts so pretty, and what a great meal at both places…yum, yum.
    The couple looks very happy. It’s good that Ian has another contact here just in case.
    I hope your not getting that crud that Bob & I had and still it’s hanging on…I hate the
    deep down cough. I pray Ian’s trip was safe, and I know you will be counting the days
    until May…:lol:…that’s ok. It’s good that your inlaws will be closer to you all. How are
    things going with the move? I guess it’s still iffy huh? Just lean on the Lord for that decision.

    HuGs….Linda:sunny:

  • You have shared a beautiful  time — I pray that Ian arrived home safely. (by the way, I’m out here in CA so I’m neighbors so to speak) :sunny:  Blessings, Laurie

  • Sounds like you’ve had some wonderful times.  May isn’t so far away!!  Really it’s practically here :wink:   I love the pictures.  Dinner with grandma and grandpa sounds like it was a special time =]  I love seeing old photos.  I think it’s funny to look back and see our parents as teenagers and young adults.  I wonder what my kids will think of me and Doug LOL. 

    Praying for you today :heartbeat:  and a safe trip back for Ian.

  • I been praying for you today and i know that this has been a sad day for you my friend, you are so special and your writing always show how much that you  love the lord, the picture are great . God will be with you as you as once again have to say  good by  to your son, rememenber that he is in Gods hand and he just  a phone call away , I know how hard it is  for you but  we are here for you , you can message me anytime. have a blessed week and i will catch up with you soon

                                                          TAKE CARE,

                                                                 SANDY

  • I hope he got off safely. It sounds like you had a lovely time with him. I’m sorry he’s off again, but I’m sure it’s nice to see how God is using him.

  • :love::heartbeat:Hello Sweet Deborah! Sounds like you had a good time together! I will be praying for Ian’s trip to and fro for safety!……….Hope you get to feeling better! Love the Pics! ((((((Hugs)))))………..In Christ’s love…….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

  • Hope you are feeling better soon.

    Glad you had this time with your son. I enjoyed reading about the time you had together!

  • :love: Twilight in England in the summer was my favorite…it wouldn’t come until around 10PM and I would still be out in the garden and once I saw an owl. Good memories. I am sorry that Ian is leaving again. I misunderstood and thought he was back to stay. Sounds like you had a good visit though! Blessings!

  • I know you must feel sad today missing your boy, but April and May aren’t too far away! I hope he can come home then. :yes:

  • :wave: awww I Love your pictures Twilight is my favorite time of day too I always love being outside at that time. No matter what time of year it is…its the best time of day. :love:

  • So glad he can come home to visit somtimes. I love it when our kids can visit with us. Great pictures! My son had an 80′s hair do like your hubby back then too! Funny!  Will be praying for Lan’s safe trip back to Ca. I bet he well enjoy the nice weather there.:yes:Blessings!! Sharon  

  • :sunny: I like what you said…you enjoyed just being a mom again….yes…

    What a wonderful time you all had….good memories for all.

    Have a great week….aahh debit free…is that really possible?????

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads