February 23, 2008

  •  

    FLOWERS Sepia 3 flowers 2

     
    A few years ago a group of salesmen went to a regional sales convention in Chicago.  They had assured their wives that they would be home in plenty of time for Friday night’s dinner.  In their rush, with tickets and briefcases, one of these salesmen inadvertently kicked over a table which held a display of apples.  Apples flew everywhere.  Without stopping or looking back, they all managed to reach the plane in time for their nearly-missed boarding.

    ALL BUT ONE !!!  He paused, took a deep breath, got in touch with his feelings, and experienced a twinge of compassion for the girl whose apple stand had been overturned.

    He told his buddies to go on without him, waved good-bye, told one of them to call his wife when they arrived at their home destination and explain his taking a later flight.  Then he returned to the terminal where the apples were all over the terminal floor.

    He was glad he did.

    The 16-year-old girl was totally blind!  She was softly crying, tears running down her cheeks in frustration, and at the same time helplessly groping for her spilled produce as the crowd swirled about her, no one stopping and no one to care for her plight.

    The salesman knelt on the floor with her, gathered up the apples, put them back on the table and helped organize her display.  As he did this, he noticed that many of them had become battered and bruised; these he set aside in another basket.

    When he had finished, he pulled out his wallet and said to the girl, ‘Here, please take this $40 for the damage we did. Are you okay?’ She nodded through her tears.. He continued on with, ‘I hope we didn’t spoil your day too badly.’

    As the salesman started to walk away, the bewildered blind girl called out to him, ‘Mister….’ He paused and turned to look back into those blind eyes.  She continued, ‘Are you Jesus?’

    He stopped in mid-stride, and he wondered.  Then slowly he made his way to catch the later flight with that question burning and bouncing about in his soul: ‘Are you Jesus?’  Do people mistake you for Jesus?  That’s our destiny, is it not? To be so much like Jesus that people cannot tell the difference as we live and interact with a world that is blind to His love, life, and grace.

    If we claim to know Him, we should live, walk and act as He would.  Knowing Him is more than simply quoting Scripture and going to church.  It’s actually living the Word as life unfolds day to day.

    You are the apple of His eye even though we, too, have been bruised by a fall.  He stopped what He was doing and picked you and me up on a hill called Calvary and paid in full for our damaged fruit.


    Be warm and merciful and let no one go from you empty-handed.
    The least you can offer is your time and patience, your affection and your prayer.  ~ Anonymous 

    Bar Lace Stitch Divider

    I’ll be back soon to catch up with you all … haven’t been feeling real good, and I know many of you out there, don’t either!  I hope you’re staying warm … here it’s been pretty cold, with freezing rain and some snow … there have been accidents everywhere, and my car is coated in ice … no worry, I’m not going anywhere, until tomorrow for church, that is, if I’m feeling up to it!  Also, our Dave Ramsey seminar starts later in the afternoon tomorrow, so I’m hoping to be able to go … my dear hubby will if I don’t, but, I really don’t want to miss it!  So to help me get better, I did what my mother used to do for me and my sister, when we were sick with the flu … I made a big pot of homemade vegetable beef soup yesterday!  It really seemed to help get us on the road to recovery!   

    As you can see I’ve been making some changes here, so for a little while, you’ll be in the ‘construction zone’ while I figure out what to add!  I was wondering if anyone knows how to get the music on the new Xanga themes page?  I’m still going to keep the old theme here, but I have another site I’m playing around with for my photos, and it’s much more difficult to figure out … it’s like you have two sites in one … the old page, that only you can see, and then the new one, do you know what I mean!?  I went to the comment page on the new Xanga themes, and not too many people are happy with them.  Is there an instruction page I could go to?  I remember when they first started it, there was a how-to video, but I can’t seem to find it now.  So those of you who switched to the new theme, what are your thoughts on it?! And, if anyone who has the new themes can help me, that would be so appreciated!  Anyway, I’m still working at getting photos loaded from Ian’s visit and the wedding, so I’ll be sharing more of those soon.  He’s back in California and busy as ever … I so appreciate your prayers for him, for God’s perfect will in his life.  I hope you all have a wonderful weekend … stay warm, healthy, and well! 

    Tiny Tag Rose White Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><    

Comments (18)

  • I pray you feel better very soon.

    Love the story you posted.

    Blessings,
    Becca

  • I can’t figure out the new themes either! It drives me crazy!

    Hope you feel beter soon!

  • Love the story and I hope you are feeling better soon. Hang in there.

  • Wow beautiful story!  Thanks for sharing it.  Just came by and wanted to leave my heartprint.  Bless you!

  • Thank you for your compliments and your help!  I really enjoy your site also–everything about it!  The music, the look, and I loved this post and the story you shared!  How incredibly touching!  Please stop by anytime to my site.  I’m subscribing to yours!  Have a great week!  Love, Lish

  • I sure hope you are feeling better oh that flu stuff is criminal this year. I believe it dont escape no one this year. That was a wonderful story. And so very true. I dont know much about the new theme stuff. I am as of right now staying with the old. till i have time to figure things out lol…

    Have a bless day dear

    Angel

  • RYC:I guess on my end I see the old version…and don’t ask me how I got it….I just kept hitting buttons until something worked!! I get SO frustrated with the computer sometimes….our home computer is old….and tired….and has low memory.  Sometime in the next year or so I am praying that I can do transcription from home. If that hapens I will have to upgrade and get some new software. Until then, I have my laptop now as a backup and my husband and granddaughter use the home computer…. Elaine

  • :sunny:Praying that the Son is shining on You and that you feel better soon! ((((((Hugs)))))))……….In Christ’s Love……..Monic:heartbeat::love:

  • Popping in to say HI…..

  • I’ve seen that story before, but it’s still good to read over and over. There’s a song by Ron Hamilton that’s about how when we get to heaven getting to tell people that we saw Jesus in them.

    I have music on my theme in the custom module. I’m not sure if that helps or not. I do like your new look, though.

  • i hope you get to feeling much better. inspiring post…i loved the story.

  • What a beautiful story about the apples!  It put a lump in my throat, for sure!!!

    In order to add music to the new xanga themes, you have to add a new module.  It’s basically pretty easy…all done under edit my theme, then click on add module.  you have to choose “custom module” to add stuff like music, picture slides, etc.  hope this helps!!

    :love:

  • Ohhhh very nice over here.  Classy.  Hope you get to feeling better SOON!

    Can’t help much with the Themes thing,  I tried it once – don’t like it lol!

  • forgot to say… I LOVE the look of your site, very pretty. Your new profile picture is AWESOME, is the boot yours?

  • What a BEAUTIFUL story, I hadn’t heard that one before, thank you for sharing it with us. So sorry to hear you are not feeling well, praying God heals you from the top of your head to the souls of your feet. The seminar sounds awesome, I just bought of of his books and would love to attend one of his seminars but haven’t heard of any in Maine. Have a wonderful weekend, Deborah. ((((HUGS)))

  • Thank you for posting that beautiful, inspiring story.  Trying to live like Jesus is the ultimate gift from him, because when I try and live like Jesus, I have so much peace.  It’s a wonderful gift, that I struggle with daily.  I pray you feel better soon.  Blessings for a wonderful weekend.  Jill

  • Hi Deborah…sorry you don’t feel too well! It warmed up here and is actually really nice out…sunny and warmer…in the 40′s and low 50′s.

    This is a good story and an encouragement to remember who we represent.

    I am afraid I just bumble my way through using themes and such…not much help there. It looks very dramatic over here today!!! I did have that thing where the public page is different from the private but since the new set up it is all different and I am still getting used to it but I think I like having all the comments show up there and the new additions etc…all on one page…. I think it is easier……  

    Keep warm…eat some soup ; -) and get well soon!!!

  • What a wonderful story! We need to be reminded from time to time that WE are the only Jesus some people are ever going to see. May His likeness be formed in me. ** Sorry you’re not feeling well. There seems to be so much flu going around! I had a few bad days last week where I was dizzy and my head felt like it was being squeezed. Mostly I just slept, and that seemed to help the most. Hope you get better QUICK, my friend!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads