February 27, 2008

  • CREATIONS BOOKS 3


    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose The Lord Looks At the Heart
             ~ by Max Lucado

    “God does not see the same way people see.
    People look at the outside of a person, but the Lord looks at the heart.”
      II Samuel 16:7

    Seven sons pass.  Seven sons fail.  The procession comes to a halt.

    Samuel counts the siblings: one-two-three-four-five-six-seven.
    “Jesse, don’t you have eight sons?”
    A similar question caused Cinderella’s stepmother to squirm. Jesse likely did the same.

    “I still have the youngest son. He is out taking care of the sheep.” 
    (v. 11)

    The Hebrew name for “youngest son” is haqqaton. It implies more than age, it suggests rank.
    The haqqaton was more that the youngest brother- the runt, the hobbit, the “bay-ay-ay-by.”

    Sheep watching fits the family haqqaton. Put the boy where he can’t cause trouble.
    Leave him with woolly heads and open skies.

    What caused God to pick him?  We want to know.  We really want to know.

    “The Lord does not see as a man sees: for the man looks at the outward appearance,
    but the Lord looks at the heart”
    (v.7)

    Those words were written for the haqqatons of society, for misfits and castouts.
    God uses them all.

    Moses ran from justice, but God used him.

    Jonah ran from God, but God used him.

    Rahab ran a brothel, Samson ran to the wrong woman, Jacob ran in circles, Ruth ran to a distant land, Elijah ran into the mountains, Sarah ran out of hope, Lot ran with the wrong crowd, but God used them all.

    And David?  God saw a teenage boy, serving him in the backwoods of Bethlehem, at the intersection of boredom and anonymity, and through the voice of a brother, God called, “David! Come in. Someone wants to see you.”

    God saw what no one else saw: a God-seeking heart.  Others measure your waist size or wallet.
    Not God.  He examines hearts.  When he finds one set on him, he calls it and claims it.


    Tiny Tag White Rose  Thank you all, again, for you sweet comments, and prayers!  I am feeling a little better.  I will ask for your prayers this week as my in-laws are moving closer to us, to an assisted living care facility.  My sister in law is in town taking care of all the details, and the movers will be there to move them on Thursday.  My DH was there today helping to pack … I would have been, but they thought it best not to go around them right now … they were going to move this past weekend, but there was a flu epidemic there at the home, so they postponed it for later this week.  It will be a bit of an adjustment for them, but they are needing round the clock care, and living alone is not an option at this point in their lives.  Dad seems to be adjusting well enough … but Mom doesn’t want to leave her home, and it is a bit harder on her.  I can totally understand how she feels!  She is looking forward to all that her new home will offer her, though … they have many activities to choose from, and we’ll be just a short drive away.  Please keep them in your prayers for a smooth transition, for comfort and peace, and for good weather, as well.  We were supposed to get a winter storm here today, but nothing much came of it in our area.  That’s Indiana weather for ya!  Well, you all have a blessed day, as you set your heart on Him!

    Tiny Tag White Rose Hugs,
            ~ Deborah <><


    Smilie Camera Be sure to check out BetsaflyGallery for this week’s theme on ‘people doing something’
    I have one of my favorite photos in there this week … I took it at a living history museum called
    Conner Prairie.


Comments (17)

  • So glad that you are feeling better i love this post and also your new look, I know that it has to be hard for your in-law’s to make this moved, for know one once to leave there home but there comes a time in our lives that some of us has to make this choice and it will be nice for you and your hubby to have them closer my prayers are with them as they start a new beginning in there life, God will be there to help them in what ever way they need, we are so blessed to be able to have each other to pray for us when we have a need and i thank you my friend for being one that i can truly go to when i need a little extra prayer and i hope that you know that i am there for you . will catch up with you soon have a blessed evening

                                                                sandy

  • What a good reminder this was.  Thank you for sharing your thoughts, the scripture, and your humor on your comment to me!  I hope everything is going smoothly for your in laws.  I hope your feeling better day by day . . .

  • Beautiful post!  I just love Max Lucado…..I have alot of favorite authors and he’s definitely one of the top!

    I will pray for your family about this move.  We are having to make decisions at this time for my husband’s mother as well.  She lived with us for two years.  The house we are in is perfect for that (with a mother-in-law quarters built in), but we had alot of issues.  She wants to move back in as she is lonely and hates paying the high cost of the retirement community she is in.  It is very pricey.  We need wisdom!!!  She is offering to pay us alot of money to do it…..but what price do we pay?  With all my heart I want to honor her and always have.  :heartbeat:

    I love the multigenerational idea….all living under one roof, etc.  But she has so many issues and beliefs that differ from us.  I don’t want to be closed minded, prideful or reject her and neither does my husband.  Although she confesses to being a Christian and I truly believe she loves the Lord, she believes people like Oprah and her guests who say there are many ways to heaven…things like that.  We are polar when it comes to politics which has caused alot of problems with she and my husband.

    If it were my parents, it would be an easy breezy decision.  They are much easier to get along with and we are on the same page about so many important issues!  I know that every issue is not a battle and I don’t want it to be!  I truly want her to be here with us and to all get along with her!  I don’t know, short of a miracle, if that’s possible! :spinning:

    Is Ian still at home?  How was the visit?  I’m sorry I haven’t kept up with xanga in a little while.  I had a bump in the road with my health and I’m back on track….all glory to God!  He is Jehovah Rapha and I thank God for all He has done!

    Blessings to your family!  I enjoy your site! :sunny: 

  • I too hope the transition for your inlaws goes well.  I’m glad they have each other to make the transition and it is also a blessing that they will have you nearby as well.  Glad to hear you are feeling better!  {HUGS}

  • :wave::sunny:Glad you are feeling better! Hope everything is a smooth transition for your In-Laws!……….Love the pic of the Lady quilting! Have a Wonderful evening!…….In Christ’s Love…..Monic:heartbeat::love:

  • God always uses the “ordinary” to show His power. Isn’t that nice??? I’m ordinary… He can use me, too.

    I’ll be praying that you feel better and can help with the move. I’m sure you feel badly that you can’t help out right now. I know it will be nice to have your in-laws nearby so you can check on them often.

  • :sunny: Hi , my sweetie Deborah !   a song is so nice !  I´m praying for you and   the move of your sister in Law. .. 

    Hope you have a blessed week !  

    Miss you. (((((hugs))))). Tip

  • Hey Mrs. Smith! This is Rodney.

    Just looked through some of the pics of the wedding, They look good can’t wait to see the rest of them! Thank you for all your hard work at the wedding and you did a fine job at the photography.

  • Praying for you and your in-laws

  • Hope you have a great weekend. Thanks for the devotional. Have an awesome weekend. !

  • Oh I can understand how the move might be hard but I’m sure it will be best in the end.  Good you are feeling a bit better.

  • Deborah,

    I will pray for them. It is quite an adjustment to be sure. I pray they will be happy in their new home.

  • I pray for a smooth transition for them.  I know that it must be bittersweet.

    I simply love Max Lucado.  I enjoy his writings so much.

    I hope the storm isn’t as bad as the predicted.  The weather here has been weird this year as well, only too warm… it goes from 78 degrees to 30 degrees.  So strange.  There have been blooms on the trees for a couple of weeks now.  I even had lilies blooming at Christmas.

    Have a blessed day… I have set my eyes upon HIM.

  • :sunny: I am glad you are getting better…this nasty bug is bad this year…so many have had it. We are so technically advanced and little micro bugs get us and we have not found any to get rid of them….:p

    Anyway, praying your in-laws  have a smooth transition….I think of my own mom who is still very spry at 82 and lives alone.  I know she would not like to move at this time.  Extra grace and peace for all.

    Take care my friend

  • I hope the transition will go well for your in-laws and they will learn to love it.  Take care!

  • Thanks for posting the devotional by Max Lucado. I really enjoyed that. ***I am sure this is a bittersweet time for your in-laws. It will be good for them to be in a safer place, but it is hard to say good bye. I know all about good byes. They’re hard! I am praying they will have grace for all that is ahead. *** I am glad to hear you are feeling better, my friend! *** We finally heard the results of our daughter’s blood tests, and it is mono she has. I hope she will take the time to rest and get over it. She has already gone back to work. *** Hope you are having a blessed Wenesday. :sunny: 

  • My heart is set on HIM!!!
    I know Conner Prairie Farm!!! Love it!!!!Liked the photo as well. Get better!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads