February 29, 2008


  • yahoo little pup color


    ~ MARY AND HER DOG LUCKY ~

    A true story of a dog and the one he loves …

    Anyone who has pets will like this story.
    You’ll like it even if you don’t, and you may even decide you need one!
    But first … here’s a poem I saw in a veterinarian’s office framed on a wall.

    ~ God – Spelled Backwards ~

    When God had made the earth and sky,
     The flowers and the trees.
    He then made all the animals,
    The fish, the birds and bees.
     And when at last He’d finished,
     Not one was quite the same.
     He said, “I’ll walk this world of mine,
     And give each one a name.”
     And so He traveled far and wide
     And everywhere He went,
     A little creature followed Him
     Until its strength was spent.
     When all were named upon the earth
     And in the sky and sea,
     The little creature said, “Dear Lord,
     There’s not one left for me.”
     Kindly the Father said to him,
    “I’ve left you to the end.
    I’ve turned my own name back to front
     And called you dog, my friend.”

    Author Unknown

    Bar Flower Vine

    Mary and her husband, Jim, had a dog named ‘Lucky.’  Lucky was a real character.  Whenever Mary and Jim had company come for a week end visit, they would warn their friends to not leave their luggage open because Lucky would help himself to whatever struck his fancy.  Inevitably, someone would forget and something would come up missing.

    Mary, or Jim, would go to Lucky’s toy box in the basement, and there the treasure would be, amid all of Lucky’s other favorite toys.  Lucky always stashed his finds in his toy box and he was very particular that his toys stay in the box.

    It happened that Mary found out she had breast cancer.  Something told her she was going to die of this disease … in fact, she was just sure it was fatal.  She scheduled the double mastectomy, fear riding her shoulders.

    The night before she was to go to the hospital she cuddled with Lucky.  A thought struck her … what would happen to Lucky?  Although the three-year-old dog liked Jim, he was Mary’s dog through and through.  If I die, Lucky will be abandoned, Mary thought.  He won’t understand that I didn’t want to leave him.  The thought made her sadder than thinking of her own death.

    The double mastectomy was harder on Mary than her doctors had anticipated, and Mary was hospitalized for over two weeks.  Jim took Lucky for his evening walk faithfully, but the little dog just drooped, whining and miserable.

    Finally the day came for Mary to leave the hospital.  When she arrived home, Mary was so exhausted she couldn’t even make it up the steps to her bedroom.  Jim made his wife comfortable on the couch and left her to nap.  Lucky stood watching Mary, but he didn’t come to her when she called.  It made Mary sad but sleep soon overcame her and she dozed.

    When Mary woke, for a second she couldn’t understand what was wrong.  She couldn’t move her head and her body felt heavy and hot.  But panic soon gave way to laughter when Mary realized the problem.  She was covered, literally blanketed, with every treasure Lucky owned!  While she had slept, the sorrowing dog had made trip after trip to the basement bringing his beloved mistress all his favorite things in life. 

    Tiny Tag Rose White He had covered her with his love!!

    Mary forgot about dying.  Instead she and Lucky began living again, walking further and further together every day.  It’s been 12 years now, and Mary is still cancer-free.  Lucky?  Well, he continues to steal treasures and stashes them in his toy box, but Mary remains his greatest treasure!

    Remember … Live every day to the fullest.  Each minute is a blessing from God.  And never forget that the people who make a difference in our lives, are not the ones with the most credentials, the most money, or the most awards.  They are the ones that care for us.

    Tiny Tag Rose White If you see someone without a smile today give them one of yours!

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose Live simply.

    Tiny Tag Rose White Love generously.

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose Care deeply.

    Tiny Tag Rose White Speak kindly.

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose Leave the rest to God.

    “In the shadow of His hand He hid me.”  What a beautiful picture of the loving, nurturing care with which God surrounds His children.  It is as though the hand of God were cupped over each of us, forming its protective shield against all danger, affording us shelter from the blazing heat of adversity. 

    Because we are hidden in the shadow of His hand, no foe can alarm us, no harm can befall us.  Under His protecting hand we are safe from every evil that would assail us.  The shadow of His hand affords peace and rest.  For Jesus’ sake, the hand that casts the shadow removes from us our every burden of guilt and shame. In the shadow of His hand we find spiritual refreshment, for there we feed on His Word, and there we are blessed by His Spirit, who restores our souls and renews our hearts.  Isaiah 49:2   ~ Anonymous

    Tiny Tag Rose White In the shadow of His hand, He indeed covers us with His love!   Be blessed!  Hugs … <><


    Bar Flower Vine

Comments (17)

  • Dogs are the best! Beautiful post, Thanks!

  • :heartbeat:Aw… how precious! I love the poem and the story! :heartbeat:I really do appreciate your posts, my friend. :yes:  Have a wonderful weekend! :love: {{hugs}} Carolyn

  • Great story Deborah. I am behind on my comments also. But thanks for stopping by. I was just working on my site when I saw your comment. I love my new PC. Haven’t had any trouble with Vista. But with any new PC it takes some getting use too! My DIL and my daughter are both doing so much better. I am sure it is because of all the prayers. God is so good! So sorry it is so cold there. We sat out in the sun today it was 69. But this afternoon a storm blew in but it is just rain. Don is gong to have to even cut our grass next week. It has been a mild Feb.

    God Bless you my friend. :heartbeat:Sharon 

  • I didn’t really think of this week, but now that I have read this story, I can go back now and realize how much more our dog has been staying close to me since I’ve been sick.  She normally is a big fan of my husband, and when he is around, no one else matters.  But the last few days, she’s been right with me!  Interesting, huh?  Funny, how the sense these things.

    The body aches are gone; the congestion; sinus crud; and the nasty cough is still here!  The cough has caused a pulled muscle I think in my chest area.  Every time I cough, it feels as if someone is stabbing me with an ice pick in my chest!  It really hurts!  I can’t even get a really good cough out!

    My sleep schedule is all messed up now!  It’s 1020pm tonight, and it feels like it’s only 430 in the afternoon! lol….Got to get back on schedule again!  Luckily, the clients I had to miss this week, didn’t mind at all.  Thank God for good clients!

    Not sure I will get to do this craft fair yet, or not.  I will definitely have to make that decision tomorrow when the sun begins to shine, and its’ a new day!  Lord willing, I am on the road to full recovery, by tomorrow!!!! :)

  • What a great story, i know when our granddaughter was in the hospital last year they brought  a dog into her room and that really made her perk up.  the hospital said that this really helps the chrildren get better faster,

    I also love the part where we should live each day to the fullest our lives are a blessing from god

     Have a blessed weekend my friend and did you get to see that picture of granny swinging ? hope you enjoy those meat loves i really like the topping on them catch up with you soon

                                                       sandy

  • What a beautiful story!  And to know it is true ~ God is good and we love our puppies!  Ours was lost yesterday and it was miraculous how we found him.  He is so friendly he’ll go to anyone.  Lately he’s been venturing away from the house, but this time he ended up in someone else’s home!  We happened to be driving by calling his name….”Lincoln!  Lincoln!”  We stopped a jogger to ask if she had seen a little black fluffy dog.  The man of the house we were near just ‘happened’ to be looking outside.  He and his wife came walking out with Lincoln!  He was far from home! 

    I have always loved dogs and this one is the best dog I’ve ever had!  I was so glad to see him and so was my 7 year old daugher!!!!

  • :goodjob: Great Story and poem! I loved them both. Dogs have a special place in heaven. They give so much hope and joy to the lives that they touch.

    Have a blessed weekend.

  • What a wonderful story….we have a small dog and a great big one…the small one Mr Bosley takes stuff to and hides them…socks, paper, whatever is to his liking..cracks us up…..

    Have a wonderful day Deborah…blessings to you

  • Dogs are so loyal! My daughter has a much loved little doggie named Chiquita who can tell if she is sad. If Hannah cries, Chiquita tries to lick her tears away. Sweet!

  • That is a precious story.  Our dog Toby knows when one of us is sick or troubled and stays glued by our side.  Hope you have a nice weekend.

  • What a sweet, sweet story!  So true that the heavenly Father blankets us with His love ~

  • What a great story!  It brought me to teary eyes!  Very touching!  I’m going to pass this onto a friend who is a dog lover.  I know she will be touched also.  Thank you for sharing!  Hugs right back at you! :wave:

  • :heartbeat::sunny:Praise God for His Unconditional Love always guiding us!………….Hope you have a Fantastic Friday Sweet Deborah! ((((((Hugs)))))))…………In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat::heartbeat::love:

  • Under His wings…. that is where I want to be.

  • Of course I love these dog stories…how sweet…. if we go out for awhile we leave Bindi in the office where her crate is and we put food and water and a doggie pad in there… when we return she is always so excited to see us and often brings one of her little food items and drops it at our feet… it is very clearly a present…… what is the world do they think that makes them act that way????? I wonder? Blessing on your weekend….. how is the cleanup/clearout going? I imagine you have had to take a break with being ill and your in laws moving.

  • @lindaintennessee - Yes!  I do … and a wonderful hymn it is! 

    Under His wings I am safely abiding;
    Though the night deepens and tempests are wild,
    Still I can trust Him; I know He will keep me;
    he has redeemed me, and I am His child.

    Under His wings, under His wings,
    Who from His love can sever?
    Under His wings, my soul shall abide,
    Safely abide forever.

    Under His wings, what a refuge in sorrow!
    How the heart yearningly turns to its rest!
    Often when earth has no balm for my healing,
    There I find comfort, and there I am blest.

    Under His wings, O what precious enjoyment!
    There will I hide till life’s trials are over;
    Sheltered, protected, no evil can harm me;
    Resting in Jesus I’m safe evermore.

  • That was a very special dog!

    Remember the hymn.. Under His Wings, I am safely abiding….

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads