March 12, 2008

  •   

    window peace rc


    The Secret Place
    ~ Gail Rodgers

    It was a beautiful spot.  Nestled along the edge of the river it was a little haven of quiet from her busy days.  She would wander down after supper and sit in the shadow of the trees, listening to the lapping of the water.  Her secret place.  Her spot to sort out the day’s happenings.

    God has a secret place too.  It also is in the ‘shadow’.  A place to sort out the day’s happenings with His perspective and with His wisdom.  It is the secret place of His presence. 

    Psalm 91:1 says … 
    “He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.”

    God’s secret place is not hard to find.  His promise is for rest there right under the shadow of God Himself.  It is a place to cry your heart out, or sing your praises out; a place to ask the things you do not understand, or to pray with weeping for needs He puts on your heart.  It is a safe place.  A place to release your spirit from the tight hold of controlled emotions; a place to let His calm envelope you and His strength fortify you.  It is truly a place of rest.  A place where, once you have found it, you want to return over and over.  It is the well of spiritual refreshment for a thirsty heart.

    How do you get there?  How do you find this place of rest for your soul? 

    Psalm 91:2  … “I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”

    You can only arrive at this place of refuge when you have put your trust in God.  Oh, not only trust in His grace to save you, but trust in Him completely and absolutely.  Trust in Him for the details of your life even when the pieces of the puzzle don’t seem to match up.  “My God in whom I trust!”  Personal, confident trust.

    If you doubt God’s goodness toward you and believe He is somehow out to default you or simply doesn’t care about you … you will never find the secret place.  The secret place can only be accessed through trust in a very personal God who shelters you under His wing and is your refuge from the storm.

    When you’re in the midst of the storm and you are hanging on for dear life … run to God with full trust in His loving ability to be your refuge.  Find a quiet corner and get on your knees or go for a walk, sit in the tub … it matters not where you are physically … just find a place to release your spirit and allow God into not only the cares of your world, but into the emotions of it as well.  Sit in His presence, be sheltered, and fortified, and leave with a peace that the world does not understand {John 14:27}.  Leave with a rested soul.

    quiet-time

    Dear Lord, I pray that You help each one of us find the ‘secret place’ of Your presence this day, where we can abide in You and find rest.  Help us to come to You with all the day’s cares, and fully trust in your ability to be our strong high tower, our place of refuge.  Help us to come to your spiritual well for our thirsty hearts, knowing that only You can satisfy!  Thank you, Lord, for it is only in You that we can truly trust!  In Jesus Name I pray ~ Amen 


    Frame Gray scroll


    Hope you all had a great weekend, and are enjoying your week so far. 
    I’ll be around soon to visit … I’ve been busy preparing for a 3 day show we have coming up.
    I’ll also have a bit more to share from this past weekend, as well.
    Enjoy your Wednesday … we will be near 60*, and I think I’m ready for Spring now!
    Still hope to have more snow, but at this point I think I’m going to just have to
    wait for next winter!  We had a cardinal sharing in with the squirrel at the bird feeder yesterday.
    My cat was in his spot, enjoying them as well!

    crd_r[1]

    Have a blessed day, abiding in Him!
    ~ Deborah <><


    Squirrel 3-08 rs     Cardinal 3-11-08

    Mooshie bird watchin 3-08 rs


    Frame Gray scroll

Comments (21)

  • Beautiful devotional and photos!
    Bee

  • awsome pictures debbie and also god is good rod is makeing little and better progresses weekly i love you gir l love shelly

  • I love that secret place with him.

    Heather

  • :love::love:Squeeeeeeeeeze!!:love::love:

  • Sweet friend, I have NEEDED your blog!!!  It feels like that secret place you were talking about!  Very refreshing for my soul!  The devotions here are hitting home.  I need to send a link to your site to a few friends!  :spinning:

    Did you get all moved in?  I have been thinking of you and praying for you.  Snow in the country is awesome…I love it!

    Your site is beautiful…I am always afraid to upgrade mine…I do have premium, but I don’t use any of the new stuff.  What if I hate it?  But yours….love-er-ly!

    I think I have neglected to add you to my sub list!  I shall do so this instant!

    Hugs,
    Beth

  • Hey sweetie, havn’t talked in awhile. Come by and see me sometime. :wave:

  • :) I have a secrete place too…I always love being with God alone

    :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat:  :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat:

    I Love your pictures of the animals…Very cute:fun:

  • I so enjoyed your thoughts!  I was just having a conversation with a friend tonight about having true and complete surrender unto the Lord and what freedom it brings and some of your words made me think along the same line.  Thank you for sharing!  I love the photo of your gray kitty!  So pretty!  Love and blessings, Elisha

  • :sunny  Good ´morning my sweet friend Deborah.  I do agree with your what you had post .

    Thanks for sharings this beautyful songs ! ((((hugs & prays  for )))) .

    Loves in Christ.

    Tip

  • 2nd attempt at this…not sure if my 1st will show up lol

    just stopping in to say HI!!! :)

  • :sunny:  We need some warmth!  and :sunny: to melt this snow!!

    Stopping in to say hey!  Your cat reminds me of my grandma’s cat.  Shadow- they could be twins. =]

  • He truly is our refuge… isn’t He, and how lucky we are to have Him for everything.
    You’re pictures are ‘great’! I have to say that I have to agree with you… since the cardinal is there…. Spring is on her way! Maybe next year Deborah… until later… ((hugs))

  • Ps 91 is one of my favorites!  Thanks for sharing this today!  I read your message the other day about “things going on”….we should talk soon.  Hope your weekend goes good for yuo, and you sell a lot of products!  I wish you had a website that we could look at to see what you have.  I would love to see what you have!:heartbeat:

  • Ps 91 is one of my fav…thanks for sharing

    Your cat looks LONGINGLY out at the bird….:lol:  Hey, he is just doing what God has him do, right…..even the birds of the air do God’s will….

    Blessings on your day also Deborah….may we both do Gods’s will today…

  • I love the picture at the top of the post. That would be a wonderful secret place. Thanks for sharing the secret place writing , I really need to read that this moring. I need to find my secret place with the lord.

    I also love the pictures of the bird, the squirrel, and your cat.

    God bless   Kelly

  • I love that place of refuge in the shadow of His wings! …love the picture at the top…. This reminds me of reading biographical books about Madeline L’Engle. She had a place by a brook that she liked to go for solitude…my week is going well…

  • Oh.. I linked to you today. I used your word.

  • Beautiful and comforting verses today. Hope your day is beautiful. I was off last night and am off tonight, so I am going to try to get some stuff done.

  • More than anything, I want to see the :sunny: !!!!!   It has rained every day for the last two weeks. Blessings on your busy days! :love:

  • Beautiful post. I needed this today. Thank you for the reminders. Have a blessed day! ~Chris

  • :heartbeat::sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah! ((((Hugs))))) Thank You for always being a true Sister in Christ and agreeing with me in prayer! Hope you have a Wonderful Day! If the weekend turns out like they are predicting, we have more snow on the way! So you may have a chance for some more before it is finished for next year!………….Have a Great time getting ready for your show! The weather is suppose to get near 70 today! How I am looking forward to that!In Christ’s Love………..Monic:heartbeat::wave::heartbeat::love:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads