March 28, 2008



  • give thanks

       

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose MORE THAN GRATITUDE
               
    ~  Gail Rodgers ~

    Becky had often heard the little saying, “Have an attitude of gratitude,” and for the most part she did.  She could count her blessings and generally found a thankful spirit.

    Yet she could find no thankfulness in this difficult circumstance!  Her “attitude of gratitude” could find nothing for which to be thankful for.  If she were not careful, her heart could slip into despair and even bitterness.

    She didn’t feel like reading her Bible, but she picked it up and flipped through it.  Her eyes fell on a familiar verse she had highlighted with red …

    “…in everything give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” { 1 Thessalonians 5:18 }.

    It seemed to hit her with new clarity.  It said, “in everything” not, “for everything.”  She pondered the thought.  If she could not be thankful FOR this particular circumstance, what did it mean to be thankful IN it?

    When we ask sincere questions, with hearts hungry to understand God’s ways, the Holy Spirit shows us the answer.

    Thoughts tumbled in her mind.  She could be thankful for God’s faithfulness to her.  As she recalled times past when life seemed out of control, she recalled God’s steadying hand upon her and how His strength had carried her in difficult times { Matthew 11:28 }.

    She could be thankful that God promised to work things out for good … yes; she had seen His hand bring good out of the most troubling things { Romans 8:28 }.

    With fresh realization her heart grew a bit lighter as she saw what God meant … be thankful IN her circumstance because she knew God was bigger than any problem, and He would be faithful to help her, His child.

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose Dear Father God …
    I am truly thankful for my blessings.  Yet it is quite another thing to be thankful in the hard times and with the unanswered questions of life.  Thank You for understanding that it is not easy for me.  Thank You for showing me that when I can’t be thankful for the hard stuff, You remind me just to be thankful IN it.  For it is in that where Your character of faithfulness will be proven over and over to me.  Thank You for the confidence that You will see me through.  Help me to lean hard on Your strength, wisdom and care.  Thank You that You will build a track record in my life through Your faithfulness. You enable me to be thankful in hard times because You are my God and You can be trusted with my life, even in the hard stuff!  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

    Sig Tag Cause Me to hear thy lovingkindness in the AM

    Bar Rose


    Hope you all have a great Friday!  It’s raining here … again, but I will be thankful IN all things!  I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a few days … it’s been a semi-lazy week for me.  Have you ever had one of those?  We have some studying to catch up on before Sunday, for our financial class.  We may also get together with my great nieces and nephews and head to the Children’s Museum … we used to take Ian and I’ve really missed that.  I’m anxious to see how many of the exhibits they’ve changed since we were there last.  My DH may have to work a bit on Saturday, too, so things are still up in the air for the weekend.  Other than that … things are pretty quiet here on the home front right now … and I do pray they stay that way!  So, any special plans on the horizon for you this weekend?  I’ll be around to catch up with you today and through the weekend.  Have a blessed day y’all! 

    Tiny Tag White Rose Hugs,
           ~ Deborah <><  

    Pic Rose Old

Comments (18)

  • :sunny::wave:Hi Deborah!

    Hope you have a great weekend :)

  • Good morning! Thanks for your great comments. Yeah……. what IS the time difference?   I am typing this at 10:06 AM Danish time. I know we are six hours ahead of EST. I ended up cancelling cell group because Pea Hater and I just were not doing well at all. I think I am better off than he is. He’s been feverish and er……….. producing a lot of goo! EWWWW! With me, it is mostly a sinus headache which makes me just want to lay down with heat on my face. We shall survive. Have a good Satruday, my dear! :wave:

  • hay debbie have a sweet weekend love shelly

  • I am having a good weekend!

  • Oh how I love this story and how it effected my perspective of God and His unending patience and love with me!  THANK YOU!  I hope you have a great weekend!:goodjob:

  • :eek: ya know…I almost ate that whole cake all by my self too!:laugh: Im such a bad girl:yes:

    You cannot be that old?? Im 39 how old are you?

    :heartbeat:H*A*P*P*Y  B*I*R*T*H*D*A*Y:heartbeat:

  • :wave: Yes this week has been a lazy week for me. I keep telling myself  your just alowing yourself to heal well…LOL when actually I am just being lazy…LOL:laugh:  This was a good word from you today….I seriousely needed it

  • You always find the neatest stories to share with us, Thank you :sunny:. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.~Michelle

  • :sunny:The same yesterday, today, and forever, that’s my God…..He is the only constant in my life…..and for that I give thanks….enjoy your weekend, my friend

  • :heartbeat: Give thanks in everything – Amen. :love: Because no matter what’s going on in me or around me, this will never change – I AM HIS AND HE IS MINE!!  Thank You, Father for your Son! :heartbeat: :yes: :heartbeat: Have a blessed weekend, Deborah. :heartbeat: ~Carolyn

  • :goodjob:  “IN” everything give thanks.  Amen.  It is a shift of attitude.  Amen.

    Have a great great weekend…..

  • Hope you have a great weekend! It was snowing here yesterday. ICK!

  • I haven’t been to the Children’s Museum in a long time since my boys kinda grew out of it!  We had a lot of fun times there.  Have a great weekend.

  • Hi Sweetie,

    :sunny:Thought I’d send a little sunshine your way, we sure need it! Southern Indiana isn’t so sunny right now. My desk calender for day says “Real generosity towards the future lies in giving all to the present.” I am thanking God for todays rain, so that we can bask in the sunshine of the future. (That is true for many things).

    Love you, hope you have a great weekend…

    Deanna

  • “In EVERYTHING give thanks for this is the WILL OF GOD…”  Even when children are fighting and dumping oatmeal on their heads… I will give thanks for healthy children and oatmeal to eat.

    I hope you have a lovely weekend.  We are set to close on our house today, so pray all goes as expected with no last minute problems… or extra money we have to come up with.

  • :heartbeat::wave::heartbeat:Good Morning Sweet Deborah! I am so thankful for your prayers and support for my weekend ahead! Hope you and Lewis  have a Wonderful One as well! Be Blessed in His love!Will be back Sunday night with lots of pics Wish you were coming, too! ((((((((HUGS)))))))))………………..In Christ’s Love……….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

  • Yes great reminder! I have a massive exam tomorrow (for 2 courses) and tonight I can not fall asleep. It’s 3:30 am and I just can’t not off. I drank a massive cup of tea in the evening while studying so I think the caffine in it got me.  If I feel as awake in my exam as I do now that’ll be great!  LOL So for now at this moment I will just be thankful in this time of alertness! LOL

    I am planning to not be near a textbook all weekend!  Can’t wait. Monday I begin a new course so I am going to make use of those two days of freedom from the books. Have a great weekend.

  • Hello, dear friend! What a great devotional that was! Thank you. Sometimes I think that verse should read “IN SPITE OF everything, give thanks!” LOL!  Pea Hater and I are really snotty!  :rolleyes:  Being a man, he is very VERBAL about his discomfort. He is endearingly pitiful, and I am trying to be sympathetic in the midst of my own sniffing, snorting and sneezing!  :wink:   **** I have to clean today and bake a BIG cake for my Bible Study kids who will be over here tonight. I am thinking pineapple cake since I am pretty sure I have the ingredients for it. I also need to pray and prepare the lesson. Tomorrow is a work day at the church. I hope we are up to going. I think it depends on the weather. If it is wet and cold, I think we would be best to stay home and get better. ***We are on “short rations” due to big tax bills and too much other stuff to get into, but God is soooo faithful! We couldn’t afford to go grocery shopping last week or this week or put any gas in the car, but someone stopped by this morning and blessed us with some money, and we have also been invited out to eat after church on Sunday! YAY! Free food! When we trust Him, He always makes a way!  Blessings on your day! :heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads