April 15, 2008


  • Not Just Popcorn Shop 4-9-08 rs

     
    Popcorn and Soap {?}  Well, it’s past Monday, and it’s been a few days since my last post, so I need to update here … hmmm, how many of us can say that?!  Thank you for all your comments on my last post … the show went very well on Saturday, but Sunday, just as Friday, was a fairly slow day.  It did allow time for us to walk around and talk with the other vendors and make new friends.  We always meet the nicest people.  That was the last show for that particular company until September, so we’ll have some ‘extra’ free time this summer in between our other shows.  It’ll give me time to work at my decluttering projects again … I’ve been slacking in that area lately, and we so need to get it done!  {Say a prayer for me, that I have the energy to think and plan and get it done … you know, the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak!!}  Also, it’ll give me time enough to get my soap inventory back up again … I have lots of the candles left … I don’t sell as many of those as I do the soap. 

    And, we now have a new scent … Sarsparilla - aka: Sassafras, and it really does smell wonderful!  What’s really interesting is we ran onto a little shop, not far from us, that makes, and flavors popcorn, and yes, you guessed it … they have Sassafras popcorn … one word for it … awesome!!  This little ‘mom & pop’ establishment, which started in 1989 with only four flavors, has now been in business for 19 years, and has managed to come up with 246 flavors of popcorn … you name it, they’ve probably got it!  Can you imagine Dill Pickle popcorn?  It’s great!  Really!   Or, how about Jalapeno, Strawberry Cheesecake, or Apple Cobbler popcorn … to which they’ve since added their vanilla flavor coating, and call that one Apple Pie a la mode!  Or, how about Chocolate Mocha Cappuccino, Chocolate Mint, Coffee, Coconut, Spearmint, or Cola popcorn!  We tried a sample of a new flavor called White Chocolate Raspberry, and that one is yummy.  Also, one called Wasabi, which was spicy, to hot, and not a favorite of mine.  Of course, we couldn’t sample them all, but we were invited back for a tour of the ‘kitchen’, and their popcorn popping process, which they are more than happy to give.  We’ll be going soon, and I’ll get pictures to share with you … it’s too bad I couldn’t send you all a sample of their popcorn, but I can share the web site with you.  Just click
    ‘Not Just Popcorn’, and you’ll see a little bit of history, and a couple of photos.  Not all flavors are listed, because they are so busy cranking out new ones, they just can’t keep up with that and the web site!  Two types of popcorn that they use, are grown here in Indiana right down the road from them … 200 acres of popcorn each year, to be exact!  This tiny little shop was featured on the Food Network back in 2001, and now ship all over the world.  Can you imagine, up to 500 pounds of popcorn per day … now popcorn doesn’t weigh that much … so I conclude that it is a lot of popcorn that those people pop!  Eveything is done by hand in small batches, just like the soap I sell, and I’m tempted to wholesale the Sassafras and sell it with the Sarsparilla Soap, and candle, in a gift basket.  Or, maybe the Apple Cobbler flavor with our Apple Jack soap and candle … the Lemon flavor with our Have A Nice Day soap, and candle … or, even the Black Raspberry flavor with our Black Raspberry Vanilla soap, and candle … and then there’s the Strawberry flavor with our Strawberry soap, and candle … or the Vanilla flavor with the Madagascar Vanilla soap and candle … and I could go on and do that with the list of the flavors they have, for almost every scent of soap/candle that we have, except maybe the Oooo Baby Soap … that smells like baby powder!  Nope, definitely not good for popcorn!  So what do you think??  Popcorn and soap … hmmm … yes, indeed, an interesting combination!

    Sarsparilla Soap and Candle 2 rt rs

    Family News:  My brother in law, Roy, should be in today from Utah.  My father-in-law is still in the hospital, and hopefully we’ll hear something today as to when he’ll be able to go home!  I so appreciate your prayers!  We’ll be spending some time with Dad and Roy, then on Saturday we’re having a family dinner, before my sister-in-law, and her husband, fly out to Hawaii to spend time with their daughter, and her husband.  He is in the Navy, and is stationed there.  They say it’s beautiful this time of year, well, probably any time of year … I’ve never been.  Both Steve and Jeannie are very excited!  They’ve never been there either, and will be gone for two and a half weeks, and they said we could use their house for a mini ‘get-away’ anytime while they’re gone!  We may just take them up on that.  It’s very close to the one we were going to move into … which may still happen … the owner still wants us in there, but sometimes the Lord just delays things in our lives … where many times we tend to rush His hand, but our Father knows best, and His timing is always perfect … He is never late!!  Anyway, it will be a nice change to spend some time at their home, out in the country, for a night or two.  Roy will be staying there for the first week after they leave, so we’ll stay sometime during the rest of the time they’re gone. 

    Weather and Farmer’s Markets:  I’m sure our weather isn’t anything like it is in Hawaii right now!  As I’ve said a few times in commenting, Spring hasn’t quite taken hold here yet … but it’s trying!  We’ve had cool temperatures the last 3 days, and tonight we have frost/freeze warnings out!  I’m glad I didn’t fill my planters yet!  I have four of them … I use 2 for herbs, and 2 for flowers, and as I’ve said earlier, we are’t planting a garden this year.  We get our herbs and flowers from the local farmer’s markets and it may be a little while before they get going for the season.  I really enjoy farmer’s markets … we have one up north that have such a variety to choose from, such as country eggs, honey and syrup, farm raised meats, and fish, all kinds of homemade foods such as baked goods, cheese, teas, cut flowers, herb flavored oils, dried and fresh herbs, and of course, fresh fruits and vegetables that the season delivers … and there’s even handcrafted soap (not the one I sell though, but we may try to get in this particular farmer’s market for the summer).  It doesn’t begin until the last Saturday of May, and runs every Saturday through the month of September this year.  There’s a much smaller one in our area, but it’s worth the drive north to experience that one!  Do any of you venture to your local farmer’s market?  If not, give it a go this year … you won’t regret it!

    On a sad note … I did some research on the ingredients in ’Twinkies’, and realizing just how unhealthy they are, I may be forgoing those recipes for now.  I don’t want to be the cause of someone’s hardened arteries!  If I do get any requests for them, I’d be glad to share them with you in a message.  So, no more ‘Twinkie Tuesdays’.  Hope your hearts aren’t too terribly broken up over this!  ;O)   

    Well, today I’ll be working on that laundry, and then my soap order, and I have to catalog coins for my husband’s new Ebay account.  We have a friend who is helping us with that.  I’m clueless as to how to start one!  I hope you all have a terrific and blessed Tuesday … minus the Twinkies! 

    Animated Sun little Hugs,
               ~ Deborah <><   


    One more thing … I saved the best for last!  I did hear from my dear sweet son this past Saturday night.  He sounded good, and was taking some time off of work, relaxing on the beach in Monterey Bay … just as the sun was setting.  I was so blessed that he called to share the moment with me.  I could picture it as he was describing it to me … I’d like to share it with you … another one of God’s beautiful masterpieces … a Pacific sunset … as seen through the eyes of my son

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-08 3 rt

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-08 6 rt

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-08 5

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-08 1 rt

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-07 4 rc



    Heaven is not here, it’s There
    If we were given all we wanted here, our hearts would settle for this world rather than the next.
    God is forever luring us up and away from this one, wooing us to Himself and His still invisible Kingdom,
    where we will certainly find what we so keenly long for. 

    ~ Elisabeth Elliot ~
    ‘Keep a Quiet Heart’
     


     

Comments (11)

  • :wave: 

    Sounds like a cool store.  Beautiful pictures. :heartbeat: I don’t care for twinkies so I’m not heartbroken lol 

    I hope your FIL comes home soon :sunny:

  • This is the second time i wrote this for some reason i lost it so her goes again, IT sounds like you had a busy weekend,  hope the weather is better for you it to warm up here in PA this week maybe we can get out side and star to clean up some the weeds are staring to show up fast. we do have a farmer market here every WED and then there a smaller one on Tue,  they are open all year, we have not been up to them in a while but would like to go soon, i just love to see all that they have and we get the best Pickles there  The popcorn sounds so yummy so many different flavor’s it would be hard to choose , i like the gift basket of popcorn and soap let me know if you do that and maybe i can get one from you.  Your son sent you some lovely picture’s we have been to Monterey and loved it , when our daughter lived there it was a great trip out to Calif and one that i will never forget we were going to go out this year to see my aunt and uncle but it did not work out  for us. They came in the other week so we did get to see them.  will i don’t want to lose this one so i will close and catch up with you soon, enjoy your time with your family and pray that FIL is much better, and oh how nice that your sister-in law and hubby can go to Hawaii they say it beautiful over there will also keep them in prayer for safe travel have a blessed day my friend

                                                                                      sandy

  • Beautiful pictures Deborah! I am so glad that your son called and shared that moment with you. What a special time and blessing for the two of you!
    Oh my gosh… I love sassafras! Before I moved here, I would always go out and dig sassafras root and make tea etc. um um good! I love homemade sassafras candy too. I went to the “not just popcorn” site. Wow! What a list! I am thinking about getting some… but what kind to try first?! Decisions, decisions, decisions. I actually like the idea of the popcorn, candle and soap combo kit! Sounds like a little piece of heaven to me.
    What different kinds of soap do you have? Is it all glycerin? I have never made soap. It sounds very interesting.
    I really love going to farmers markets. They are different here than back in Indiana. Just the difference in the agriculture I guess.
    Well, I am off to pop some kettle corn to get rid of the “craving” I now how! :shysmile:
    Have a blessed evening! ((hugs))Tonya :heartbeat:

  • :sunny:Ooooo Love popcorn!:fun:  I may have to order their sample box. Thanks for comming by and your sweet comments. Our daughter is better. And she just found out yesterday that she is Pregnant!! Yey!! :yes: Now we know why she wasn’t feeling good. God is so good!

    I just made that post, to get off Themes, and put in the computer info in my left module for anyone that wants it. :) It is not warm here either this week. :rolleyes:God Bless You my friend, :heartbeat: Sharon 

  • I think I would LOVE that popcorn store and eating the popcorn too!  I love the pictures of the sunset and the water and rocks.  They were beautiful!  I hope you’re having a great week!

  • Well, if you did die from hardened arteries from eating too many twinkies… at least you died happy.

    Well, maybe happy.

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah! Yay so glad you heard from Mr. Ian!……….That is so exciting for a Mom’s heart!………..I got my yard raked and fertilized, plus worked on a new ring  around one of my trees that desperately needed it  with new mulch. Than I thinned down my Day lillies and Irises and moved those to an area along our creek in the back of our property. That’s all for now. Was going to trim back my Rose bushes but decided to wait to make sure the frosted nights and mornings are through!………….Plus cleaned out pots to prepare for new plants. But I plant nothing until after Mother’s Day, to be safe! ………So today I will enjoy the sun on the deck and spend time with Our Father!……….Have a Great Day friend and know I am always thinking and praying for you! ((((((((HUGS)))))))))……………In Christ’s Love……..Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • Your business sounds like SO much fun.  Which farmers market are you talking about?  I’ve been thinking about starting selling things on Ebay but I don’t know what yet! :)   I’ll start out with stuff I have on hand that I need to get rid of.  Enjoy the sunshine!!

    :sunny:

  • I love popcorn but I’m not sure how I feel about those flavors. They could be interesting. Those beach pictures are beautiful. I have always wanted to see the sunset over the ocean. Sunrise is beautiful to but it comes to darn early. LOL!!

  • That popcorn sounds amazing! And so AMERICAN! We do like our choices! When our Danish friends were in the States they couldn’t believe all the choices in coffee creamers, cereals, etc. I like Kettle corn, but they don’t have it here. I am always bugging my sister, Mom and daughters to send some over. I think the popcorn would sell nicely with your candles and soaps. It’s something to think about. I’m glad you heard from Ian. How wonderful that he gets to see what’s in the pictures “in person.” I am praying for a good camera so I can learn to take  better pictures. I would like to share some of Denmark’s beautiful spots with Xanga.  Prayers for your Pop in law, and for all you have going on. Blessings on your laundry. Love you!

  • HAHAHA! you are up at strange hours again!!! THe photos and call from your son are so special!!! And I loved the quote from Elizabeth. Be blesses and get some sleep!!! :lol:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads