April 21, 2008


  • VINTAGE

     
    Hope you’ve all had a blessed weekend … ours was busy, and I’ve really missed getting around to all of you.  To start on Thursday …  a highlight here … Ian called … he was shopping … needed mom’s help on a shirt he was buying!  He was needing clothes to wear, for filming a wedding on Saturday … all black with a silver tie.  It was fun to ‘go shopping with him’ again, even if it was by phone! 

    Friday … woke up to news of an earthquake in our area … didn’t feel a thing here … I was sleeping, and hubby just didn’t feel it … we heard that it gave some a pretty good jolt!  We went to our annual homeschool convention for the day … it’s a tradition now, you know!  We consider it a ‘downtown day date’.  We mainly go to encourage the ones that are just beginning, and to visit with friends we’ve made over the years … we also have friends who set up as vendors.  We’re considering doing that next year.  We always find a good book, or two, to read, as well.  Ian was here last year, and worked with the children’s conferences, it’s a program that they offer the children while their parents are at the convention … they do lots of fun activities … drama, crafts, etc., and the children always come away with a Biblical life lesson learned … we went in there this year, and visited Ian’s friends … he is missed!   We stayed until after closing, just talking to people … then walked around downtown to see the sites a little bit.  (Country roads take me home!)  Had a nice dinner on the way back home.  All in all, Friday was a good day.

    Saturday … went to my sister-in-laws for dinner with family … we also celebrated two birthdays … my father-in-law, O.P’s, and my sister-in-law, Jeannie’s.  Had our first cookout of the season, yum!  It was cloudy, and cool, and the walk we took, sure did us good!  Lots of pretty tulip trees in the area.  We also walked down to that house, some of you may remember, we were going to rent a couple of months ago … it’s still empty, and it’s been on my husband’s mind and heart lately … well, we are starting to do some Ebay business, and we have a friend who is selling some things for us now, who will soon help us set one up of our own.  It would easily make the extra funds+ needed to live in that house, from what they are telling us.  We’ll wait a month and see how those sales go, praying and leaving it in God’s hands, then we’ll see what He would have us do about that house.  His timing is always perfect!  Your prayers would be so appreciated!  We really do want to move!  Also, my brother-in-law, Roy, is headed back to Utah tomorrow morning … my hubby is taking him to the airport … Mom Betty and Pop have enjoyed having him here, and don’t want him to leave. 

    My in-laws cannot drive their car right now, so we are going to be ‘car-sitting’ for awhile.  We’ll be insuring it, until Mom Betty feels she can drive again … if, and when, that happens, it’ll go back to them.  We hope that it does!  They enjoy the freedom to come and go, as they want.  No one else in the family needs a car right now, so my dh volunteered us!  They told us we could drive it anytime, which is a blessing because Lew’s van has high mileage on it, and he’ll be able to use it for personal use, also, our car has lots of miles as well, and also needs some repairs.  Afterwards, we drove around in the country for a little while before heading home to study for our Dave Ramsey class after church on Sunday.  

    Sunday … a blessed time in church … then a quick bite out, and back to church for our class … took a trip to the antique mall to check on things, then finally home for a quiet evening before the work week began again.  

    Prayers Needed: *When I did get home, though, I had some very sad, and tragic, family news … my brother called and shared with us that my step-nephew committed suicide this past Thursday.  It is a sad, and very unfortunate story … I had not seen him for quite a few years, and do think of him from time to time.  We were all close when I was in my teens.  My brother is so saddened … the funeral is tomorrow evening, and we’ll be seeing some family members that we haven’t seen in a while … please pray that we have the right words of hope and comfort to share with these hurting hearts. 

    * Just before going to bed, we had another earthquake, Sunday night … I did feel that one … it was a low rumble, and minor here, thank goodness!  Hope it stays that way if these aftershocks continue!   

    Today {Monday} … hubby off to work … spent some of the day with his brother.  Me … laundry and clutter-control … I’m now thinking of Lew’s sister, Jeannie, and her husband, enjoying the tropical breezes of Hawaii today!  They flew out yesterday morning to stay with their daugher, and her husband who is stationed there.  They’re hoping to send me pictures that I’ll share.  They do need a vacation, especially Jeannie … she’s been working so hard getting things arranged for Mom Betty & O.P., and she’s done such a wonderful job, too!  If you would also, please, say a prayer for them, for a safe, and restful vacation.  

    It started out very foggy this morning … in the low 70′s … finally the sun was shining.  Hope the weather is nice where you are.  Well that’s my weekend in review … how was yours?  I’ll be starting my ’rounds’ on here soon, and catching up with you all this week.  Tomorrow will be busy though, and I’ll check in tomorrow night when we get home from the funeral … again, thank you for your prayers!

    Just a quick reminder about some photo news for the week … another contest just started today over at
    iliveinmycamera … please, do stop in and vote for your favorite ‘Game Board’ photo.  Also BetsaflyGallery has gone to the ‘Birds’, literally!   Drop in over there for some great photos of our ‘fine feathered friends’!  I pray you all have a very blessed Tuesday!

     Hugs,
                   ~ Deborah <><


    * In place of our exhaustion and spiritual fatigue, God will give us rest.  All He asks is that we come to Him … that we spend a while thinking about Him, meditating on Him, talking to Him, listening in silence, occupying ourselves with Him–totally and thoroughly lost in the hiding place of His presence.   ~ Charles (Chuck) Swindoll

    … and, I say Amen to that!!

Comments (10)

  • Just wanted to give you a hug.

    {{{{HUG}}}}

  • I’m so sorry to hear about your nephew. How tragic. I’m sorry that I didn’t get by sooner, but all are in my prayers now. I will write to you later this evening I just needed to drop you a line and let you know that I was thinking about ya. Gods blessings to you and your family.

  • :sunny:Hope all goes well tonight i’ll be thinking of you….hugs…Linda:wave:

  • So sorry about your nephew.  Saying a prayer for you all.

  • happy monday!
    I made it back to VA.. :( i miss Indiana already.. lol =) anyhoo i can’t wait to see some of the pictures you took on friday :)

  • :sunny:Good Morning Dear Friend!………Praying for comfort for all of you! Just being there in prayer will be enough during this time. It seems when someone commits suicide there really are no comforting words. It is a shock of disbelief. One of my most dearest friends, who helped me during some of my most difficult times in my life and both were Christians and one of the most perfect couples you could ever meet, her husband committed suicide. I still can remember the phone call, I was shocked and in disbelief. So I will pray that God brings comfort to all! ((((((Hugs)))))))…………..In Christ’s Love…….Monica:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

  • It was good catching up with you. You have so many things going on that you need wisdom, grace and strength for! I like that quote by Chuck Swindoll very much. It pretty much says it all, right? Our Savior has everything we need, if we will just come to Him. How awesome is that?  I do see you in that house, Deborah. Some how it is going to happen!   I pray you will enjoy some sunshine and some SONshine today! :sunny:

  • Wow thanks for the update.  I said earlier today, you have been on my heart all day so now I can pray for you more specifically. Blessings!

  • It sounds like you have been super busy. I am so sorry to hear about your step nephew. I will keep everyone in my prayers.

  • Hi my friend, i really enjoy hearing about your weekend but was so sorry to hear about this family member taking his life i will be holding you all up in prayer and i know that the lord will  use you in a special way to reach out and witness to the family.

    What a treat to be able to shop with Ian even if it was on the phone , it still was bonding time with your son  and that a blessing

    I know about cars that have a lot of miles on , my hubby truck as seen a lot of them but it still runs, we did just got another van are other one has had a lot of miles and it need some work and we have been praying for gods will in  getting another one and he lead us to a 2001 that only had 36, 583 miles on,  and at a good price so we got it about two weeks ago. we knew the lord would lead us to one in his timing as he will you with the house .

    Will i better get to bed we have a very busy week  and i am tired just thinking about it , will have to soon post something on my site as soon as i get time,  again remember that someone in PA is thinking about you and keeping you in prayer,

    PS glad that the earthquake did not do any damage to your home

                                                     GOD BLESS,

                                                           SANDY

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads