April 29, 2008

  • A-Hint-of-Romance-Print-C12835284



    Catching up …
    A busy weekend for us.  Saturday we went over to help my sister’s family finish moving in … then headed down to Brown County to enjoy the rest of the afternoon.  It was a beautiful Spring day, and, as ‘Baby Bear’ would say, the temperatures were ‘just right!’  We didn’t get there until near closing, but the drive was beautiful, and there were a few stores that stayed open longer.  It’s a quaint little tourist town, about 45 minutes away, where we like to go when we have a free day.  With gas prices the way they are, though, those trips might be fewer and farther between!  So how much is gas in your area … it’s $ 3.65 here right now.

    Sunday we went to church … here’s just a little bit of what the assistant Pastor shared with us from some of my hastily written notes … I left out a lot, for the sake of time, but he threw out a question to get us started …

    How have you ’tasted’ the Lord’s kindness in your life recently? 

    Our tongue has 10,000 tastebuds on it … each taste bud has 50 to 150 receptor cells, and each will judge the 4 different tastes of sweet, sour, salty, and bitter, and here’s a neat tidbit … they also regenerate every day!  His mercies are new every morning!  Now, if our body has that amazing capacity for tasting food, how much more should our ‘spiritual tastebuds’ need to be aware of His kindnesses to us each day of our life.  You know how you look forward to eating your favorite food?  I Peter 2:2 – we
    should desire the Word as we desire the taste for good food.  The Word should be our main course … not an appetizer!  We need to be nourished in the pure milk of the Word, that which we know to be true and unadulterated … no added presevatives, or fillers … the pure Word.  Are we spiritually dehydrated … His Word is the water we need!  If we ourselves aren’t nourished, and filled, how can we nourish others?  

    He is the only One Who can truly satisfy us!

    Psalm 34: 8  ~ 
    “O taste and see that the Lord is good!”  

    I Peter 2: 3  ~ 
    “Like newborn babies you should crave (thirst for, earnestly desire)
    the pure (unadulterated) spiritual milk,
    that by it you may be nurtured and grow unto [completed] salvation,
    since you have [already] tasted the goodness and kindness of the Lord.

    Now, speaking of tasting, and nourishment … after church we went to a great little restaurant, with 7 others, for a wonderful meal that tasted o’ so good!  :o )  No ‘appetizer’ here … just the ‘main course’ of Hawaiian Chicken with rice pilaf, salad, a tall glass of water with lemon, along with free desert of Tiramisu … which is a delicious Italian dessert!  We had a great time of fellowship, and one new friend there, I found out, was a photographer, so we had lots to talk about!  After that we headed back to church for our Dave Ramsey course … this one was about investing in mutual funds, etc. … something we’ve never done, and are just learning all about the wisest way to go … when we’re rich enough that is! Lol!!  You can take any amount of money and invest it, but, I’ve always thought it better to invest in the Kingdom of God … the returns are far greater!!  Now,, if any of you out there are mutual fund investors, {which is really the only way to go, according to DR}, then any thoughts would be welcome.  It was interesting to learn about it, though. 

    After all that ‘information overload’, we headed over to a little ‘homegrown’ plant business to pick a pot of flowers for my sister … I wanted to bless her and brighten her day, {she has come over to ‘sneak’ and plant flowers in my 2 barrels for the past 3 summers} … she loves flowers, and they had some mighty pretty ones … I was tempted to get some for me, but today was for her.  If you all remember her, please say a prayer for
    Pattie, and maybe stop in over at her bloghome … moving has been a little rougher on her this time, and she could use some encouragement.  She hasn’t been on here much lately, but I know it would bless her once she’s back on again soon.  Their new apartment is adorable, and has a lot of character … it has a Tuscany style look to it.  I’m glad they’ll be living closer to us!  Walking distance now!  Yesterday, wasn’t too eventful … Monday’s are usually my ‘lazy’ day after a long weekend.  It’s gradually gotten colder, and is now 37* … just 2 days ago we were in the 70′s!  It’s gradually going to warm back up as the week goes on … we had pea size hail today, too.  Almost looked like snow!  Wouldn’t that be nice!  Well, for me, anyway!  Hope you all have a blessed Tuesday.  I’m going to be around to visit you soon, and catch up … now, I’m going to throw it out at you, so if you’d like to share ….

    How have you ’tasted’ the Lord’s kindness in your life recently? 

    Animated 2 lovebirds Hugs,
                  ~ Deborah <><
     

    bbdaffodline3

       Only He Satisfies

    My people shall be satisfied with My goodness,
    saith the LORD.  
    Jeremiah 31:14b

    With lovingkindness to His own,
      With mercies full and free,
    The blessed Saviour satisfies,
      He satisfieth me.

    He satisfies the longing soul,
      His hungry sheep are fed,
    To pastures green He leadeth them,
      By waters still they’re led.

    With marrow and with fatness, and
      With honey from the Rock,
    The Shepherd ever satisfies,
      And careth for His flock.

    My people shall be satisfied,
      Tis God who speaks the Word,
    My goodness and My mercies will
      Be with them, saith the Lord.

    For riches cannot satisfy,
      Nor gold nor silver can,
    ‘Tis only Jesus satisfies,
      And fills the heart of man.

    He satisfies continually,
      Each moment of the day,
    His love can fill your longing soul,
      And care for you alway.

    Oh yes! My Saviour satisfies,
      As nothing else can do;
    The Chiefest of ten thousand, He
      Can satisfy you too.

    The altogether lovely One,
      O won’t you taste and see?
    For Jesus ever satisfies,
      He satisfieth me.

       ~ Author unknown ~

    O taste and see that the LORD is good:
    blessed is the man that trusteth in Him.  
    Psalm 34:8

Comments (18)

  • Hello Friend  I love reading your blogs. I am not so great at writeing things but I do what I can.  I have been to Brown County many times and I love going there. The trip there is really beautiful in the Fall. There is a lot of God’s handy work and beautiful colors in that part of the country. When I lived in Indiana I lived in the country and there was beautiful things to see year round. I love Indiana.

    Have a great week-end. God bless

                                          Charlene

  • i’m not really a religious person, but the story about your fellowship inspires me.

  • Hi! Sorry it’s been a while. I haven’t been on the computer much lately. How is your dad?

    Sarah

  • :sunny: wow Iv been gone for a few days. You have been busey I Love that picture up above did you take it (the flowers) How are you and your familly doing?

  • I have got caught up on my sleep- mostly!!! =) I got to spend the day today with my cousin (alabama) we went to the park and baked cookies- and so that was fun.. and tomorrow i am taking my grandpa to the doctor- for surgery. and then i think i’m taking my other cousins little girl out for the day.. we’ll prolly go to the park and stuff again!!

    Those pictures were taken at the Richmond Va Children’s museum! My favorite 6 year old’s mom is my cousin (well my cousin’s ex-wife!) but she’s great.. and lots of fun to hang out with!!!! :)

    i’ll have to go check that out!! :)

    Hopefully we can talk tonight.. have fun at dinner =) I should be on when i get home from church..so hopefully we can catch up tonight!!

    :Hugs:

    :heartbeat: Miss ya!!

    :heartbeat: Mandy

  • Hi lady!  I have missed a lot of your posts!  Not just yours, but everyone’s!!  As always…I shall endeaver to do better!

    Think it might snow up your way?  I heard something like that, didn’t I?

    Wow, just think, if you had moved, you wouldn’t be in walking distance to your sister!

    I gotta get off here…I am so behind today!

    Hugs!
    Beth

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah! Well today is the day my Manager is going to be talking to my Supervisor about me and this situation. Please continue to pray!……….My Supervisor was not to happy when I told her that I called the Manager about this. But I feel I must do what is right. I pray God will allow her to see the mistake she is making and this can be resolved!……….She is young and new in her position. I feel it is about her position and that she is on a Power-trip!She is a Christian so I am praying God reminds her thet it is He that is in charge!……….

    So happy  that you got to hear from Ian!Praying for his finainces to work out!

    ((((((((((((Hugs))))))))))))))) Thank You for your freindship and prayers! In Christ’s Love…….Monica:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • Hello..just browsing by..and i thought i would say HELLO!!!:):sunny:

  • Hello sweet friend! Sorry I haven’t been around much, I’m getting ready to go back to work, among other things!

    I LOVE Brown County! I’ve even been to the little “Opry” there. It is such an amazing place to visit! So much beauty!

    I really liked the reference to the taste buds! Wow! I had to e-mail it to myself… that is a keeper!

    I will for sure keep Pattie in my prayers along with you and the rest of your family. When you get a chance in your busy world, stop by and say “hello”. You are always in my prayers and thoughts my friend.

    In Christ’s Love,
    Tonya :heartbeat:

  • Gas prices are horrible here.  By my place, we’re getting close to $4.00 for regular.  It really is upsetting and I feel like nothing is being done about it.  There are families that are really struggling because of it.  There’s no reason for the gas to be so high. :mad:

  • I’m glad you had a good weekend. It sounded very busy but fun.

    The gas here is about $3.75 a gallon or so. I’m trying to find a way to walk to all of our errands right now.

  • Hi!  Did you really say that snow would be a good thing????  These little cold snaps are hard to take when I am just getting used to going outside in the nice warm spring temps!  Oh well, we’ll all be hot and cooking before long! I love going to Nashville and all over Brown County, and I’m ready for a trip down there.  After I get through this crazy month.  What kind of celebration did you have for your son when he graduated homeschool?  We are having a ceremony and party on the 17th and I am still trying to figure out how it is all going to work.  So much to do.  I need to relax because I’m getting stressed out and then I won’t be able to enjoy these last few weeks with my boy.  So thanks for the reminder to remember how God has blessed and supplied our lives.

  • Psa 27:13 “I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.”   I agree with David!   Gasoline here is up to $8.80 a gallon! You better believe we aren’t going on too many trips! LOL! Pea Hater just had a bike given to him, which will be a blessing. On good days he can ride that to the church and for other errands. Blessings to you, dear friend.

  • The Lord is so good to us. Hope you are having a good week.

  • Hey Deborah….long time no see….thought I would say hello and slow down for a second to read your post.  You’re first on my subscription list this morning and that means I have time to read your post!  I”m off for a day of errands.  Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend.  I can’t wait for warmer weather to start some plants in my greenhouse.  Still getting snow here. :) Love, Susan

  • Hi Deborah,

    What a neat analogy about the taste buds :) Hope you are doing well! You are loved with an everlasting love!

    Blessings, Chanin

  • :wave: Hi! It is cooler here as well..in the 50s though! I liked that sermon on “taste”…. I have tasted the Lord’s goodness in many ways recently…especially with the blessings of the wedding and how He supplied…we don’t even owe any money for it!!!!
    Have a good week and hope it warms up!

  • :heartbeat:  Hi my sweet friend Deborah . :sunny: I´m happy to hear that you had have a great weekend ! Our Father , He is always comforted His children because of His love is great for us. Stil keeping in prays for you and family.:sunny:  Love in Christ. Tip

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads