May 1, 2008

  •      
    jesus_with_little_one


    Who Am I ?
    Author Unknown ~

    Only a short while ago the Lord’s friends gathered around to hear Him speak of great and wonderful things.  The things of God, eternal things.  We hung on every word, savoring it, digesting it.  Now, they are gone and I alone remain, sitting at His feet.  Like a delicate fragrance, the sound of His voice seems to linger in the air.

    I breathe in the essence of His presence and sigh.  It’s good that I should be here; I want to stay forever.  For a moment He shuffles in His seat and I fear that my Lord is going to leave.  My heart sinks until I realize He is leaning forward and reaching out His hands to me.

    All at once the child in me comes alive as Jesus lifts me to His lap and cradles me in His arms.  Tears of joy fill my eyes and overflow, cascading down my cheeks.  I weep softly and bury my face in the folds of His robe as His strong arms close around me.

    Who am I that the Lord should hold me so tenderly?  Did He hear my anguished cry for more of Him?  Had He peered into the depths of my heart and dug through the pain and deeply rooted pride and anger and actually found some good buried there?

    Is there any good in me?  I am still so slow to learn, so quick to fall.  My reasoning weaves a maze through my mind as I try to comprehend.  As Jesus draws me closer to Himself, a thread of gold enters the woven maze in my mind and I understand.  Jesus holds me not because of my goodness, but His; not because of my love for Him, but rather because of His great love for me.

    My thoughts become a blur, struggling to grasp what is unimaginable for the human mind.  He is able to do exceedingly and abundantly more than I think or imagine.  My Lord and my God loves me!  I savor this delicious morsel of truth as He gently cradles me in His strong arms like a dear beloved child, and holds me close to His chest.

    A favorite Scripture from Isaiah comes to mind:
    “You are mine, you are precious in my sight and I love you.”  I ponder this, these words meant for me as well.

    As I listened to the Savior’s heartbeat, He also was listening to mine.  What I couldn’t put into words He heard from the cry of my heart.  My desire for Him.  My love for Him.  My longing to be with Him.  And the heartbreaking sorrow I felt for ever having done anything that put a distance between my beloved Jesus and I.

    For a moment He stops rocking me and I can feel His warm breath on my forehead.  He tenderly says, “child, look at me.”  I am reluctant to look up because I know that my eyes will meet His.  What I have longed for, now suddenly fills me with dread.  I fear what He will see in the face of this unworthy child.  His fingers are beneath my chin and He raises my head until my eyes meet His.  What I see is more beautiful than words can express.  In His eyes there is an ocean of love, deeper, wider, and higher than all the world can contain.  His eyes are the color of mercy.

    For a moment I feel as if I am little more than an ant at the foot of the cross, just beginning to comprehend His love and sacrifice.  The King of all the universe is gazing into my eyes and communicating His love to me.

    Jesus’ hand is warm against my face.  He cups my cheek and wipes away my tears with His thumb.  God’s thumb, wiping away my tears.  He holds my face firmly for a moment and looks deep in to my eyes as if to say, “this is important, listen to Me.” 

    His eyes seem to plead with me as He speaks.  He wants me to understand and believe it.  As His eyes fill with tears, He says,

    “This is why I did it: so I could hold you and love you for eternity.” 

    So again, I ask, “who am I?”

    I-am-a-Child-of-God-Print-I13201349


    If there be anything that can render the soul calm, dissipate its scruples and dispel its fears, sweeten its sufferings by the anointing of love, impart strength to all its actions, and spread abroad the joy of the Holy Spirit in its countenance and words, it is this simple and childlike repose in the arms of God.  ~ S. D. Gordon

    Consider Jesus.  Know Jesus.  Learn what kind of Person it is you say you trust and love and worship.  Soak in the shadow of Jesus.  Saturate your soul with the ways of Jesus.  Watch Him.  Listen to Him.  Stand in awe of Him.  Let Him overwhelm you with the way He is. 
    ~ John Piper

    Jesus, within you I lose myself, without You, I find myself searching to be lost again.  ~ Anonymous

    There is an experience of the love of God which, when it comes upon us, and enfolds us, and bathes us, and warms us, is so utterly new that we can hardly identify it with the old phrase, God is love.  Can this be the love of God, this burning, tender, wooing, wounding pain of love that pierces the marrow of my bones and burns out old loves and ambitions – God experienced is a vast surprise. 
    ~ Thomas R. Kelly

    A quiet time, to me, is just an established time to go to my Source, to the Father, and spend time with Him.  It doesn’t matter what you’ve done, or who you are, or how you’ve screwed it up, but you have a Father who likes to spend time with you.  To go before God, to know what I’ve done and thought and to expect that He’s going to strike me with a lightning bolt – but to be hugged instead – creates great astonishment.  We mature Christians, we get so we’re not astonished any more.
    ~ Steve Brown

Comments (12)

  • Loved your blog. It is really encouraging. I am a hoosier also, now I am in Louisana.

    God bless you and have a wonderful week-end

    Charlene

  • :love: You always come with love and encouragement, I just want you to know that I apreciate *YOU* very much!!!:love:

  • Thinking of you today and praying  for you and the family i will message you real soon, so my friend remember that the lord will take care of each of our needs and that he will be with us as our chrildren set out to do the lords will in there lives thanks for praying for me love ya and thanks for the  blessing i got from this post you are such a great witness.

                                   sandy

  • Great post! Finally got around to reading it. Have a great evening!

  • Greetings from Pastor Doug Hoffer,
    1993 Graduate of Rhema Bible Training Center!
     
    May the following words be a blessing to you:
    Psalm 35:27 declares,    
     
     ”God is always a plus factor.
    He is never a disadvantage to you.
    He is always an asset.
    He wants you to succeed and
    He has pleasure in the prosperity of His servant.”  
     
     Best regards!

  • :goodjob: Very Nice

    How are you doing today??:love:

  • :wave:

    Thanks for stopping by…I just finished uploading the pics…I think you just missed them lol.

    We have a charcoal.  That’s what Doug prefers and since he’s the griller I don’t really care lol.  He has a chimney starter thing (seen here- http://www.virtualweberbullet.com/chimney.html)  to start the fire with- he saw it on Good Eats (food network- Alton Brown’s Show) years ago and that’s what he likes. 

    the crochet thing- what to make a 23 year old…..lol  I have the same issue…I can think of lots of stuff for the girls/ladies in the family but the boys/men are a different story.  I am going to make all the boys (will there be 2 or 3?  lol) matching hats and scarves for winter (probably in the camo)  but maybe Ian wouldn’t want a scarf?  I know you can make sweaters and stuff but I know Doug wouldn’t wear one.  He doesn’t want a scarf either…hmm.  Maybe I’ll make him a pillow for when he’s resting on the couch with the baby =]

    :sunny:Catch ya later!:sunny:

  • :sunny:Awesome my friend….I have not been here in soooooooooooo long…I have missed all of my online friends….

    Blessings on the rest of your week….:love:

  • It is a sad thing that many of us do not look forward with joy and excitement to being in His presence. Many see it as a duty and miss so much of what He wants to share with them. I know how I feel when I have to be away from my husband. I miss him. I LONG for him. When we are together again I want to snuggle into his arms, hear his voice and smell his skin. I want to be close to him. I think that’s how we should also feel about our Savior. Spending time with Him is a treasure and a joy.  Thanks for posting this, sweet friend! Are you having a good day?  :sunny:

  • That is beautiful. Thannks for sharing.

  • I hope you have a good day!! Talk to you later!!!

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend!…………Hope you have a Thankful Thursday!………..And know that someone in MO is praying for you as always and appreciates you!Let me know how Ian is doing with his arm! …………….In Christ’s Love…………Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads