May 20, 2008


  • Antique-Roses-Print-C10291271



    Well, just as I had thought … and I hope you all can forgive me!  I didn’t make it back in time to share about Mother’s Day before this Sunday rolled around!  Anyway, to do a bit more rewinding to a week ago Sunday, we had a great Mother’s Day with Mom Betty, O.P., and the rest of the family.  We had my sister-in-law’s famous spaghetti, a salad, garlic bread, and for dessert, if you recall, I was going to make either the blueberry, or cherry ‘dump cake’ … I chose the blueberry … it’s my pop-in-law’s favorite!  My sweet son sent me a HUGE card with the sweetest words written inside!  Of course, I cried!  He called me, too, and it was good to hear his voice.  He wants to come home in July for his birthday … it can’t come soon enough for me!  

    My sweet husband got home safely from Chicago this last Friday night, and was exhausted from the busy 3 days he had there.  He has to go back again to complete the job either Thursday, or Friday of this week.  We’re hoping gas prices will drop a little first!  Well, it also didn’t rain, at least not much, this last Saturday, or Sunday, as I had heard, but Saturday was still spent here at home just having a great day together, cooking, reading, and just relaxing.  It seems every weekend we are running somewhere, so it was nice to just take some down time.  We spent a good part of the day in the kitchen, cutting up fresh vegies for a huge salad.  We also made spaghetti, and our homemade sauce for dinner.  I have a picture of my dear husband’s plate below … yes, he was a hungry boy!  He was glad to get a homecooked meal after 3 days of restaurant food last week!  We had homebaked chocolate chip oatmeal cookies, and don’t forget the milk, for dessert. 

    Since we didn’t make it to our church on Mother’s Day, we didn’t hear that it was an all church pitch-in, or pot-luck, dinner for this Sunday!  I panicked a little that morning, since I hadn’t prepared anything … but hubby said, “hey, let’s just take the huge salad we made yesterday!”  I knew there was a reason we made all that salad!  We use red leaf lettuce, along with a little iceberg, then we cut up broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, cucumber, green and red pepper, celery, green onions (optional), then we serve it with chopped pecans, hard boiled egg (optional), and mandarin oranges, then it’s all topped with the Good Season’s Italian Dressing.  Yummy!  Although it’s practically a meal in itself, it goes well with all the Italian dishes we make.  I always take it to family dinners.  We did get to bring a little of it back home from church … at least enough for another meal.  We had a great time just sitting around eating and talking most of the afternoon, until our Dave Ramsey class.  When that was over we dropped by my sister’s house to visit a little bit.  My great niece, Cassandra, Cassie for short, has asked to be my little ‘model’ … and she’s a ‘ham’!!  She loves posing for pictures!  All in all, we had a very blessed weekend.

    I spent most of yesterday editing the wedding photos … and thanks to all of you for your sweet comments on those!  You’ll never know just how much that has encouraged me!   I’ll be spending most of this week editing the rest of them to share with the happy couple when we see them this coming Monday.  Josh’s parents have a huge picnic on Memorial Day, and we’ve been going for years … lots of food, fellowship, and fun … y’all come if your in the neighborhood … they always say the more the merrier!  This year, I’ll get photos to share with you.  I’ll be around to catch up with you all soon, as well!  Enjoy the day … this brand new day that God has blessed you with. 

    This is the beginning of a new day. God has given me this day to use as I will.  I can waste it or use it for good.  What I do today is important, because I’m exchanging a day of my life for it.  When tomorrow comes, this day will be gone forever, leaving in its place something that I have traded for it.  I want it to be gain, not loss; good, not evil; success, not failure; in order that I shall not regret the price I paid for it.  -Anonymous

    Sunflower Blessings & Hugs,
                                 ~ Deborah <><

    My Card Mother's Day 5-11-08 rs


    I received 2 very beautiful Mother’s Day cards …
    this very special one from my dear sweet husband. 
    I love you Lewie!


    Me and 'THE CARD' rs


    … and this huge card, from my precious son. 
    My hubby wanted to take a picture of me with it …
    It also shows you just how big it was!  It’s about a yard tall!
    I was so blessed when I got this from him!
    I love you, Buddy!


    Hubby's dinner  5-17-08 rs


    Okay, anyone hungry now?!
    This was what we cooked on Saturday …
     … my hubby was hungry!
    This is one of our favorite meals! 
    I just noticed … we’ve been eating alot of spaghetti lately!
    On Mother’s Day, at the wedding, and now ours on Saturday! 
    Oh well, like I said, it’s one of our favorite meals!


    <Mooshie B&W 5-14-08 rs


    Just thought I’d throw this one in of my cat, Mooshie …
    he’s been feeling a little left out on here lately!



    Cassie #1 RT rs



    And these are just a couple of ‘portrait’ photos of my new little ‘model’ … 
    my precious, great-niece, Cassie. 
    I adore her, and those freckles!!
    I can’t wait to work with her more …
    she loves ‘posing’ for the camera, can you tell?!  :o )



    Cassie #2 RT rs



    Hope you didn’t mind seeing more of my photos. 
    I’ve enjoyed all the practice lately.
    I’m working on another Xanga site, a photoblog, for posting my photography.
    If you’re interested, I’ll let you know when it’s up and running …
    I’m still getting used to working with the ‘new and improved’ Xanga over there,
    which I’m not so sure I agree with the ‘improved’ part … at least, not just yet!
    It’s a bit more difficult for me than this older version.
    It’s going to take some practice.

    And, speaking of photos …
    there is a new photo theme over at BetsaflyGallery
     go take a peek, and see all the interesting photos of ‘dishes’!!

    Have a terrific Tuesday!

Comments (10)

  • Always enjoy your post and the  picture’s let me know when you have your other site up and running for i know that that will be special too, the salad looks and sounds so good, and at our house we love spaghetti also in fact most Italian food is always a good meal here.

    Now for the cards, they are both so pretty, and your son out done himself this time  i bet you were surprise on the size it shows how much he does miss you and love you what a blessing for you to received this, my kids got me flowers and cards, really nice hanging basket from our one daughter, roses from are youngest son and flower plant to put out from are other son i think it is a begonia(not sure if i have that spell right) and a card from our daughter in SC . we had lunch with my Mom and brother and sil  at my Brother home my other brother had to work, it was a great day  to be able to spend it with my mom

    Have a Blessed week,

                      sandy                 

    RYC: My mom and brother and SIL made it down to Tenn safe and are having a great time thanks for the prayres

                                                                                                                

  • That salad looks SO yummy!

  • That plate of spaghetti and salad looks so good! I think you win the prize for the biggest Mother’s Day card!

  • I loved the photo’s and am so glad that you had a great mother’s day and time with your family.  I hope the memorial day picnic coming up will be just as much of a good time!  I hop your week is going well!  ((HUGS)) Elisha

  • You made me hungry….need to eat breakie still…..and do some more homeschool

    Sounds like you have been busy….I want to see all your photos…let me know when you open up your new site

    Have a wonderful day in Jesus

  • hello!!!
    how are you doing? i just wanted to drop by and say hello!! I hope you are having a great week!! :)

    that is exciting that Ian is coming home in july!!
    maybe, i can get out there while he’s here.. that would be fun!!

    alright, i gotta run. i’m keeping my cousins kids.. and then on Thursday i’m going on a day “road trip” with my cousin’s (another cousin) girlfriend.. soo. its a busy week.. lol and i’m babysitting tonight for a family i know. and i think i’m babysitting again for them friday.. anyhoo. have a wonderful tuesday!! talk to you soon!!!!

    :HUGS:
    ~Mandy :heartbeat:

  • Sounds like you had a great Mother’s Day. That card your son sent is gorgeous. Did it cost him an arm and a leg to mail it???? It’s almost lunch time here and I’m getting hunger pains from that big plate of spaghetti. :lol:

  • :wave:

    That is one huge card!  so sweet :love:  sorry this is so short.  Hope you have an AWESOME day! :sunny:

  • Hey! I am wondering how your son managed to get that huge card through the mail? And into your mailbox????? Nice though…I did not hear from either of mine…but my daughter sent a sweet card and my new son in law wrote in it as well……
    The new xanga system uploads photos so fast and easy…you will love it…. once you get used to it. Blessings!

  • :goodjob:Love the Pics!………………..That card from Ian is HUGE!…………..Or your just Very Petite!…………The Salad sounds wonderful!…………I am a Big salad eater. I could be a Rabbit and be very happy!…………Hope you have a Great Day my Sweet Friend!………..((((((Hugs)))))))………………In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads