May 26, 2008

  • MEMORIAL DAY TRIBUTE

     

    Praying all is well with everyone!  So many devastating storms across the country … are any of you being affected by them?  The fires in southern California are also affecting the air where Ian is, but they are now saying that it’s 60% contained.  Thankfully, there are no fires here, and our weather has been beautiful the past couple of days.  They are saying we may get some rain for the first half of the day today, which may put a damper on our friend’s annual Memorial Day picnic.  I’m hoping they don’t postpone it … I have tons of Ziti casserole, and dessert, that I don’t want hanging around here for us to gain that extra poundage on!  Besides, we really enjoy the day there every year.  I know I’ve been MIA around here, of late … I’ve been sitting at the computer, editing wedding photos of their son’s wedding … I shared a few of the photos, a couple of posts back, but what I’ve been working on all week was done for their family, and friends, to see while they are waiting on Tim’s professional copies.  I was telling a friend on here earlier, that I feel like I have ‘computer exhaustion’!  I really wanted to be outside yesterday, enjoying all that sunshine and, repotting my geraniums … the pots are shrinking!  We also talked about going to the zoo to see the koalas … it would have been a perfect day for that, but alas, I was getting requests to see these photos, and I finally got them finished and copied to a CD … I need a break, so we’re heading over to their house to just relax for the day.  Do you have any special plans?  I’ll be back to do some visiting and catch up with you later tonight … I wanted to let you know that I’m still here … just been busy.  Do have a blessed Memorial Day, and pray for the families of those who have made that ultimate sacrifice, and for those serving now in our military who enable us to have the freedoms we so enjoy! 

    Animated candlestick small  Hugs,
                 ~ Deborah <><

    Don’t forget … this is the second week for the ‘feet’ contest over at
    iliveinmycamera … I did enter one that is showing there this week, so be sure to vote for your favorite!  Also, over at BetsaflyGallery, you’ll see photos of a variety of different types of ‘dishes’.  See ya soon!

    rain umbrella

    Sow to yourselves in righteousness, reap in mercy; break up your fallow ground:
    for it is time to seek the LORD, till he come and rain righteousness upon you.
    {Hosea 10:12}


    USE YOUR VOICE
    - Gail Rodgers

    The early morning was overcast and dark.  The rain drizzled down bringing with it the outlook of a dreary day.  I put the coffee on and opened the window to smell the fresh rain.  The pleasant sound of birds singing floated in on the morning air.  It took me by surprise.  I expect to hear the birds when the morning sun is streaming in … but today, in the rain, their song was beautiful music.  These birds were doing what they were created to do … they were praising God with their sweet voices … even in the rain.

    A verse from God’s Word ran through my mind …

    “Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.  You praise the Lord!”
    {Psalm 105:6}

    I thought of how easy it is to praise God when the sun is shining in my life.  Yet when I choose to praise Him, even in the rain and when the forecast is dreary, it changes my outlook.  It declares my trust in Him as my all knowing, all caring God.

    Our word declarations can be powerful in the spiritual realm.  Declaring God’s praise is more than positive thinking.  As we choose to rejoice in who God is and thankfully place our circumstances in His care, something happens. His amazing peace comes in and shields our hearts and minds … even in the rain.  {Philippians 4:4-7}

    Today, in spite of rain … or sunshine … and no matter what the forecast is … choose to lift your voice in praise to God.  Praise Him as your all knowing, all caring God who has promised to never leave you nor forsake you (Hebrews 13:5b).  He promises to strengthen you and help you {Isaiah 41:10}.  Let your breath praise the Lord today!

    Father God,
    Today I choose to lift my voice to You in praise.  I thank You that You are with me in the sunshine and in the rain. 
    I praise You because You are all knowing … You see my circumstances and understand them better than I do. 
    I praise You because You love me and You care about me today.  Thank you for Your promises to stay right beside me
    and give me the strength and help I need.  May my life be my song of praise to YoU … even in the rain.
    In Jesus’ powerful name I pray, Amen.

Comments (15)

  • i just wanted you to know i am thinking of you an that i so treasure our frip i have been so busy with rod lately and no time for my self any way god bless and stay safe love you lots love shelly.

  • :wave:So nice to hear from you too. Hope you get through all those photos soon. that does sound like a big job! ~ My blood work was all good except for my Vit D level was way down. It was 18 and should be about 70 or more.:eek: No wounder I have been feeling down. I really do think the light box works really well. But not if your vit D level is not right. I take Carlsons brand,4,000 units. I will be taking 2 in the morn and 2 in the evening for the next few months. Yep, that is 16,000 units a day. Our pastor had to take 20,000 a day for a few mo. His was down to 8. My daughter was down to 12. So it is a problem for all of us that don’t live in Ariz. or Calif. :sunny:  People just don’t realize it. And you have to ask for the blood test from your Dr. Seams like  it would be on the list of things to check, but it isn’t. :whocares: 

    DH has a car show every weekend in June. That is neat that you like them too.

    This themes thing is just like learning the old way, it just take some getting use to and a little time. :yes:  If you ever do change, save every thing in your custom module and your webstats first somewhere. Then you have it to put back in your new modules. You only have to do that the first time you change to themes. After that when you change a theme all your modules stay the same.  Hope that helps a little. Bless you!!! Sharon :heartbeat:

  • :wave: ryc: thanks & glad to be able to provide the words you needed to hear–though i think we both know where they ultimately came from…

  • :sunny: Its been beautiful here too all sunny but a slite chill. The flowers are blooming so nice. Were all gettin ready for the wedding this weeknd. Im so busy.  Its been crazy with all the disasters going on. So far we havent been effected by any of them here. Our famlies and friends havent bee either.:fun:

  • As far as natural disasters go, it is pretty safe here. The hardest thing for me is that there is a heavy, depressive “feeling ” over this nation. When I go to America, it is always hard to get used to it coming back. Lots of Danes struggle with depression, and you can almost feel it in the atmosphere, especially in the Winter months. I am so glad God gives me His joy!

  • @DanishDoll - I think I want to move to Denmark!  It sounds safer! 

  • What a BEAUTIFUL photo at the beginning of this post, simply beautiful. Well, I hope the weather held out and you were able to enjoy your picnic. We sure enjoyed ours, Michael and I took the kids back down to the beach and enjoyed a picnic there. I just posted some of the pictures if you get a chance, stop by. Have a wonderful week :sunny:

  • Hello, I always enjoy reading your messages. I really love it when it rain. When I was a child I use to go walking in the rain and my mind would be tanking God for the rain. I have arecording of rain and I like to listen to it when I go to bed, it is so relaxing to me and it clears my mind of clutter from the day. Bless you Deborah for bring that to me today. I hope you have a good week.

    In Christ love,  Charlene

  • :sunny: wow. i must remember to come by here more often–there is some great stuff here!

  • Hi!:wave:  We had great luck with traffic both in and out of the track.  We have a route we always use, taking 136 into Speedway from Brownsburg…it seems like hardly anyone else has discovered that way because every year we zip right into Speedway.  It only took us 15 or 20 minutes from our house to where we parked.  Then we walked a ways…it took us about an hour total and we had our tickets and were in the track.  I love the whole experience so much, but it just gets harder for me every year.  I really do think it is sitting in the sun for so long, and I guess the excitement of the whole thing.  By the time its over and we are home I am so exhausted and feel awful.  That is the part I don’t like.  But it was fun.

    I hope your day goes well, and if it rains I hope you all have a place to go inside and celebrate.  We have nothing planned for today.  I have a lot of cleaning to do around the house.  Getting Rob ready to go this week left a lot of messes and stuff undone.  Hopefully I will get some rest into day too. Take care!

  • I hope you get to have your picnic. We had our church picnic on Saturday. It was a lot of fun, but a lot of work for me since I was in charge of it. All in all it went great, though. Praise God! We even had people bring lots of visitors… friends, family and such so they could see our great fellowship in the Lord. It was very refreshing.

    My parents are here, so we will be enjoying today with them. They flew in last night.

    Have a lovely Memorial Day.

  • Hope you have a really good day. Maybe the rain will hold off for a little bit.

  • :sunny:Good Morning! Happy Memorial day Sweet Deborah and Lewis! Hope you both enjoy your day!………..I will be at work and DH is down at the lake helping to retrieve the In-Laws dock back. It broke loose during the storms dowm South , Lake Pomm De Terr. A nephew went down last week and was able to tie it to the trees so it couldn’t float away further or worse hit land. Jerry (dh)should be back tonight. I am sure there will be interesting stories how everything went. But there sounds like there was some damage, so I am sure he’ll be making another trip to help next weekend………….Hope you have a Great time today! It will be raining here. But my flowers and roses are blooming!…………..In Christ’s Love………Monica:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • :sunny:Now that the weather is warmer I think everyone is busier in their yard and just enjoying it. I needed the reminder to praise God even when it is gray and raining. Praising Him is the best thing we can do know matter what! I just sometimes forget. :rolleyes:  God bless, Sharon:heartbeat::wave: :sunny:

  • Hello! I’ve been missing you, but I know that “real life” needs to come before Xanga life. I am sure that CD of pictures is beautiful and will treasured.  I do hope you get to go to that picnic today. All that ziti! :laugh:  I think I am going to try making empanadas today. I found an internet recipe that looks doable. It’s overcast here, so maybe we are going to get some rain. We have had no nasty weather or fires. That would be most unusual for Denmark. I  guess I shouldn’t complain about all the rain we get, because it is sure better than tornados or earthquakes or forest fires! Blessings on your day, my friend! :heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads