June 5, 2008


  • rain umbrella



    Hope you’re all having a good week so far.  We’ve been dealing with the weather the past couple of days, and today I’m so very thankful that we’ve had no significant damage to our property, other than a couple of huge limbs that fell from the trees!  There was a lot of damage down south of our home this last round, but God has protected us again.  I’ve never known it to be this bad here … the winds were fierce, leveling buildings to their foundations, tossing cars around like toys, and I even saw a semi-trailor truck turned completely upside down.  Another tornado damaged 40 buildings at the Indiana National Guard’s Camp Atterbury … so much destruction, and they said a trailor was picked up by the storm, and landed on the roof of a public works building there on the base.  Also, a long span, two lane, covered bridge in our state was completely destroyed, built in 1886 … this was one I had yet to see … it had withstood many a storm for 122 years … and I could go on and on!  They’re saying we could have the possibility of more storms over the next few days, along with very warm, and muggy conditions.  I pray the weather in your area is much calmer than what we’ve recently experienced here!   

    I also ask you for your prayers … Tim, who has been out in California with Ian, is beginning the long drive back home here to Indiana this morning, with part of his family.  I’d so appreciate your prayers for their safe travels … he’s with his father, younger sister, and little brother … and no, Ian is not coming back with them    … I was so hoping!  He’ll still continue to work at the church, where his schedule is full these days.  He doesn’t know exactly when, but he’ll be coming home … he’s talking about the possibility of a couple of missionary trips first … one being this summer, and one in December before he would come home.  We’re hoping the first of the year.  We do miss our son!  We are praying for God’s will to be done in his life.  Some of you may remember, around this time last year, when I posted about their trip out to California, when they first flew out for a couple of weeks, and then when my husband drove them out for a longer stay.  What started out to be only a few months, has now become a little more than a year.  It’s been a long year for me, and yes, many times difficult, but I know that God has a purpose for everything that He’s allowed in my life through this … I don’t know what the future holds, but I do know that in His love, He’s taught me to trust ……

    Well, this is a little off the norm, but I’ve gotten two of these e-mails on this ‘tip’, and I thought it worthy enough to pass along, especially since most of us deal with this pesky ’little’ problem in the warmer months anyway.  Have any of you ever heard of this?  I think it’s worth trying … just to see if it does works!   I would love feedback on it … so let’s try it and compare notes!   You all have a blessed day!

    Hugs,
       ~ Deborah <><



                                                  animated mosquito original listerine animated mosquito


    MOUTHWASH MOSQUITO SPRAY

    I thought I’d share this since we have a mosquito problem here … the best way to get rid of those bothersome bugs is, believe it or not, … LISTERINE MOUTHWASH!  The original flavored medicinal type, in that BIG bottle, which costs lots less then the ‘chemical’ bug sprays, costing a small fortune, and those don’t last too long, either!  The cheap dollar store, generic brand works just as well.  The thing that I’m happy about, is it’s so much safer without the added DEET, like you’ll find in the ‘chemical’ brands, making it safer for spraying on the skin.

    We were at an outdoor dinner party, where the mosquitos were having their own ‘dinner’, when the host began spraying his lawn and deck with LISTERINE (undiluted), and those bothersome bugs were gone!  Well, I went home and I filled a 4-oz. spray bottle (full strength) and used it around my seat whenever I saw mosquitos … and it really does work!  I also use it to spray around the picnic tables, children’s swing area, and any standing water … anywhere those mosquitos can be found!  It doesn’t take much, and the effect will last a couple of days.

    During the warmer weather, I don’t leave home without it!  So, give this a try around your home and yard, and by spraying your door frames and window frames … you can even spray it in the dog house!

    Pass it on to anyone you care about!  You’ll all be ‘skeeter’ free this summer! 


Comments (19)

  • wow that is cool about the listerine

    great tip

    hugs,jen

  • Hi I saw that you came by. That link is working now and I don’t think it was when you came by. Blessing,  Sharon  

  • Thank you for the tip!  I’m so glad that you are safe!  I feel so bad for all those areas and people effected though!  My prayers are with you!

  • Glad you are safe!

    The listerine is worth a try. I think I like the idea of spaying that on the yard and back patio.

  • Deborah, praise the Lord He has kept you all safe this season!  Our hurricane season just started and it is difficult to not be fearful of the storms.  He has kept us through many of them, though, and I know He is able to do it again.  :yes:

    Btw, my hubby is from Indiana/Ohio.  His childhood home is right on the state line between the two!!!  His mom and grandma still live there, although we are constantly trying to get them to move to FL to be near us.  He misses them so much sometimes. 

    Praying you’ll get to see Ian soon.

    Alesha

  • @porterhome - You too, Sweet Hannie!  We should have been talking so much more while you’ve been out there!  I know if he doesn’t come home this trip, he’ll be home when the Lord says it’s time!  You have a safe journey back home, and we’ll see you all very soon for some picture sharing … we’ll bring the salsa and chips!!  Hugs ~

  • @BluebirdChris - Yes, Chris … you can put it on the skin, and it’s so much safer than the DEET!  Give it a try and let me know how it works for you!

  • I am so glad that the Lord has kept you safe during those awefully destructive storms you described and I pray He will carry that protection to Tim and all those traveling back home with him.

    As for the mosquito test I can’t help you out because we aren’t bothered by those little pests here. We had them in swarms when I lived in the prairies and I can sure say I don’t miss em one little bit.

    And I send you a big HUG and and a squeeze! Now we can settle down and have a nice cup of cyber tea together! <3

  • The Listerine sounds like a great idea.

    I’m glad God kept you safe during those storms. It sounds like the weather was quite bad.

    Have a great rest of your Thursday.

  • hey mrs. smith! it was great just talking to you. i’m still working on ian!! :D love you sooo much.
    Your California Beach Girl, Hannie :P

  • We don’t have mosquitos here where we are at, but that is a great tip.

    Those storms are pretty bad, glad you are safe there. I will not complain about our little rain and overcast anymore. God bless your day!!  :heartbeat:Sharon   

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend!……………I was busy since I came home last night helping Hubby in our basement. We lost power during the previous night and our sump pump couldn’t run……SO yes, we were cleaning out our basement of boxes and such that were stored down there. I just thank God we didn’t have it finished and that what was ruined and threw out wasn’t anything needed or important…….Made me praise Our Father even more like I told Jerry that I think of all the poeple who were hit by these tornadoes and lost their homes and the Katrina victims as well……Just know that friendships, love and family are so much more valuable!………….Hope you have a Great day and I will continue to pray for Ian and Tim’s family as well!…………In Christ’s Love……..Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

  • I can only imagine how much you miss Ian.  I know I miss Haley when she goes to camp and that’s only a few days =(  Saying a prayer Tim and his family get home safe and sound.

    I have heard that about the listerine…I think I will try it out soon.

    Have a great day!

  • :love: oooh Reflections, i wanna do an assignment of that anyways…..We are having a bad storm here today. I prayed over this property and my family I pray protection over Tim as he travels in Jesus Name

  • Since it’s been so dry here, we have not had a skeeter problem at all this year! Usually they are pretty bad, and because we have no screens on the windows, (not a big thing in Denmark!) the skeeters usually make themselves at home in the house if windows are open overnight. I haven’t seen a single one this year! If I do, I will break out the Listerine! LOL! It is pretty expensive here, though, and there are no “Dollar Stores!”
     
     
    Hubby and I are going to the park in a bit. It’s a nice day, and I want to practice with my camera. I am so thrilled and blessed by this camera!!!!
     
     
    I pray your weather lightens up! Goodness! That must be hard! I’m glad you both are OK.   :wave::heartbeat:

  • We had lots of hard rain but no wind in are area and so thankful that you are alright, our friends and us were talking last night about the change in the weather with so many area getting Tornado’s  i will be praying for your son friend as he and his family drive home and also for your son that he will let God lead him in the direction to go and i know that he will do gods will he has great parents that has supported him in these area even though it hard for us at home and as a mom of a love one being so far away i know that its hard but i also know that God is there with them and us back home i been there so many times and still there with are daughter living so far away.

    Thanks for the great tip i will have to try that have a blessed day my friend and i will catch up with you soon

                                                                                sandy

  • I know you really miss your son, I am experiencing a taste of that with Rob, since he will be gone 7 weeks, then going to college in CA.  And Dan has been in Chicago 5 years now, it’s hard to believe.  I’ve had him home a few of the summers, but now he really is on his own and I’m adjusting to this realization about the empty nest. ….Seeing that old covered bridge in splinters was very sad.  I hope the bad storms are gone now for a while.  I’ve read that about the Listerine but I can’t imagine how it would work.  It’s worth a try I guess!  I notice it doesn’t say anything about putting it on your skin.

  • Wow i will have to try this… I have used dryer sheets for the nats and that does work.. And also heard that if you fill a ziplock bag up with water and put it by your door then flies will stay away.. Dont really know if that works but i thought about trying that one to… Well i hope and pray the trip is good… I know you have to miss your son.. As even though mine childrent dont live so far away i miss them dearly…

    Have a blessed thursday sorry i havent been around in awhile..

    Angel

  • Interesting about the mouthwash!  I have also heard that dryer sheets work for repelling bees, etc.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads