June 9, 2008

  •   
    The-Helping-Hand-1881-Print-C10082698


    Well, a quick update here … we did have a break in the weather Sunday, and were able to finish cleaning things up in the basement during the afternoon … but another day of storms were in store for us here again today … a ‘gully washer’, along with strong winds, and lightning, came through mid-afternoon, then there was a break, but now it’s raining again tonight … no leaks so far, though, but they are saying we could get 1 to 3 more inches overnight!  A little sparrow found refuge on our porch earlier today, and was joyfully singing as the storm was raging around him … a spiritual lesson there, to be sure!  

    Bless you all, and thank you for your thoughts and prayers … we are finding out that more friend’s families have been affected south of us.  We haven’t heard from a couple of them … we are praying.  My husband usually goes to the jail to minister in one of the harder hit locations, on Tuesday nights, and we’re unsure if that will be happening tomorrow night … they had announced over the radio not to go in, or out of, that town since it’s again under a flash flood warning.  We’ve heard in some areas there is so much water, that people are unable to get out, so they were dropping food and water in at some locations by helicopter.  Churches have opened their doors, to help others that are flooded out of their homes, and of course, the Red Cross is hard at work.  Other than that, it’s been pretty uneventful around here the past few days!  There was church yesterday, everything was working fine with the electricity back on.  A few people weren’t there because they were having to deal with an even worse situation then we did.  The church will rally around and meet the needs of those who were affected.  One couple had their basement completely flooded up to their first floor … some type of oil, or fuel, got all over their things, and they’re trying desperately to get the smell out of their clothes … the stains came out after a good washing, but the stubborn smell remains … does anyone know of anything that would take out that smell?  They’ve pretty much lost everything else that was in their basement.  If you have any hints, tips, or suggestions, please pass it along! 

    We did hear from Tim and his family Sunday night … their trip home is still going very well, and they should be home sometime on Tuesday.  Thank you again, for your prayers for them … God has blessed with a wonderful time as they’re traveling cross country.   I hope you’re all doing well, and having a wonderful week so far.  I’ll be making my rounds here to catch up with you soon.  I’ll leave you with a little devotion that I read today … one that touches the heart when times are rough for us, or for those around us … and as I was reading it … I also remembered that little sparrow that sang through the storm!  Many blessings, and have a terrific Tuesday! 

    Tiny Tag Amereta's Graphics spring_dsy01Hugs,
               ~ Deborah <>< 

    bar_vine  for great from 4millerfamily com bkg


    The Ripple Effect  

    “Let each of you esteem and look upon and be concerned for not [merely] his own interests,
    but also each for the interests of others.”   ~ Philippians 2:4

    What God does in my life, is not just about my life.  What happens to me may sometimes have more to do with what He wants to accomplish in the life of someone near to me.  If in my life I have a triumph or tragedy, whatever the case may be, it may be something being used to influence, aid, or transform others (perhaps many others) in order that they become more of what God desires them to be.  Though it may be difficult for us to understand, a Christ-like heart in us will be one where, regardless of personal circumstances, we rejoice in the Lord because we know He is truly working all things to the good.  It is through His eyes that we will learn to see our difficult times may be the very thing needed to draw others to Jesus.  In this, there is much cause to rejoice.  And as we rejoice, that too is something that will most assuredly be used in the lives of others.

Comments (11)

  • Deborah,

    Hope you are doing well…praying the rain stops for you.

    Thank you for the offer of homeschool stuff, I need to get my list together…but mostly I need literature and I am looking for Spelling Power…that is all that I can remember off the top of my head for now.

    Yeah the socialization thing is such a fuuny thing we homeschoolers have to deal with….as if that is so important anyhow…:p:p:p

    Love in Christ,

    Kel

  • Hey Deborah… I’m sorry I haven’t been around.. I haven’t been feeling too well!  I’m on the road to recovery, though, Praise the Lord!

    That new Web Community is at: http://www.heartbeatworld.ning.com

    You’ll find a lot of friends over there…

    Hugs!  Hope you are doing well!

  • I am glad you are ok, and not only did God take care of you, but for the sparrow.

    Heather

  • I love Streams in the Desert,  such an encouraging, refreshing devotional.  Did you know it had somewhat to do with the founding of the blogring “Water to the Thirsty” a couple of years ago?

    Thank you for stopping by and especially for your comment.  Hope to see you again soon!

  • I’m glad you are ok, and your family members.  It’s unbelievable to see all the flooding.  Thankfully the sun is out today! And it is supposed to dry out some.  We had big storms and rain again last night.  Stressful time here for our family but God is seeing us through.  Take care.

  • I’m so glad you are doing and God has protected you from all the flooding. I’ve seen the houses going down the rivers on the news and felt so badly for those people. How awful! They need much prayer.

    Thanks for updating us on your family.

  • They actually lost most of everything on the main floor also (furniture, clothes, toys, books), b/c the smell has permeated everything.  In addition to the basement, they had 2-3 feet of water on their main (first) floor, as well.  When the fuel/oil (whatever it is) mixed with the flood water, it went everywhere the water went.  Thanks so much for your prayers…there is so much to do, but God is with them and for them!!!!  He works all things together for good!!!

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Lady! Hope the Son will shine on you today! And that you have a Terrific Tuesday! Praying that your basement continues to dry……….Ours finally did…….I am so grateful that we just a little bit of trouble compared to everyone else………………Praying for Tim and family that they continue on their safe journey as well home……….In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat:

  • I saw some pictures on the news the other night. Thought about you. I like that the sparrow can sing in the storm…. His eye is on the sparrow… and I know He watches me….

  • Me again! I forgot to say that a cup or two of white vinegar in the wash with the clothes that smell like oil might do the trick to take that smell away.  :yes:

  • Glad you are staying dry there. I do hope that the rain will stop for a few days at least to give people a chance to recover! ~~ Your talk of the little sparrow on your porch made me think of that song “…I sing because I’m happy. I sing because I’m free. His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.” Isn’t it good to know He is there? ~~ It looks like our wonderful, warm sunny weather is ending. I was checking the weather here this morning, and by Wednesday temperatures will be down in the low 40′s! In Denmark you can never really pack your sweaters away for the summer. Brrrr! I will certainly be able to get some baking done. ~~ Yesterday it was in the low 70′s and windy, but Pea Hater and I went out with the camera and got a few more good shots around the town. At some point I will put up another photo blog. ~~ Blessings on your day, my friend. :heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads