June 17, 2008

  •  

    webstockpro com 10


    I’m sitting here enjoying a soothing hot cup of chamomile tea, with a touch of honey, and thinking over the last couple of days.  Sunday started out sunny, and a bit warm … normal for a June day.  We went to an early morning class at church, which we recently started in, called  ‘A More Excellent Way’.  It’s a biblical perspective on health and healing.  Very insightful.  I’m looking forward to next week’s class.  We had a blessed time of worship … and a teaching by DeVern Fromke … he’s been to our church many times in the past, and we always enjoy him.  Some of you may have heard of him.  He’s written about 10 books … all well worth the read.  If interested, you can see his bio, and the book titles here.  You can click on each book for a brief summary.  We’ve been so blessed by the wisdom God has given him, and we’ve also read the children’s books that he wrote to Ian during his younger homeschool years.  He really enjoyed those … there are many wonderful lessons to be learned on those pages.  Also, our pastor’s daughter had her baby this past week, and there was a baby dedication at church!  I love those!  She was wearing a little gown that belonged to our pastor’s mother.  It was about 80 years old!  A pretty soft pink gown, that had apparently been very well preserved through the years.  It was long, with delicate white lace around the bottom edge, and collar … I knew I should have taken the camera!  It was such a special morning at church … His presence was so sweet. 

    Our family plans for the afternoon had changed that morning … Lindsey, our niece who just had her little girl, is having some post delivery problems, and wasn’t able to make the dinner.  Also. both Mom Betty, and O.P., weren’t up to the trip, or company either, that day.  Neither one was feeling well, so our ‘Father’s Day’ plans may be put on hold until next Sunday.  We’re praying Dad will be better soon … he was quite weak when my husband saw him yesterday afternoon … we’re concerned … prayers are needed.  

    Well, after finding our Sunday afternoon free, some friends asked us to join them for a bite to eat.  We went, and had a good time together … we ate a wonderful Italian meal.  It was strange that there wasn’t a wait at the restaurant … usually on Mother’s and Father’s Day, there’s at least a 2 hour wait for a table.  Must be the $4.15 per gallon of gas around here these days!  We at least saved for this day in advance, just in case things didn’t work out with the family.  After dinner, we ran some errands, and saw a sign that read 93* … it was nice to finally get home and into the air conditioning.  Later in the afternoon, more storms came through … there were some high winds, and some areas did lose electricity, but again, God protected us.  All in all, we had a blessed Father’s Day. 

    Ian had called us Saturday night, and we were able to see him on the webcam … in his kitchen!  He was playing ‘chef’, and cooking an Italian casserole that I always made for him … one of his favorites.  He said he’d keep it warm if we wanted to come over for a bite!    Wish we could have … but it was such a blessing to see, and talk with him even on the computer … it made this ’momma’s heart’ pretty happy, and it also made him seem a little closer to home!  Lewis, of course, enjoyed spending some time with his one and only son, too!  He called again Sunday night just to see what I was doing.    He was going out with some college friends from church for dinner … 60 friends, to be exact   … oh, those poor waiters and waitresses … that’s such a big group!  He said they do it every once in awhile, and really enjoy themselves.  He also told us they were seeing the ash from the fires now … and it looked like light snow falling.  They apparently haven’t gotten all the fires out yet, so we continue to pray.  

    And finally, yesterday was beautiful here … clear blue skies, a gentle breeze, and cool temperatures.  I enjoyed sitting in the warm sun, with my iced green tea, listening to the birds, and reading.  I took my cat out with me … he enjoyed the sunshine as well … I enjoyed his company!   I even got a bit of a sunburn … the sun felt so good, especially after all of the gray days, and storms, we’ve had lately.  Well, that’s about it for the weekend, and my Monday.  I’ll be around to catch up with you soon, and if you would, do stop in over at
    iliveinmycamera, and vote for your favorite ‘close-up’ … I have one entered this week, and there are lot’s of very good photos there to choose from.  And, do let me know how your weekend was!   

    Starfish blueHugs,
                     ~ Deborah <><

    beach Among-Friends-II-Panel-Print-C12027645


    It is the consciousness of the threefold joy of the Lord, His joy in ransoming us,
    His joy in dwelling within us as our Saviour and Power for fruitbearing,
    and His joy in possessing us as His Bride and His delight;
    it is the consciousness of this joy which is our real strength.
    Our joy in Him may be a fluctuating thing: His joy in us knows no change.
    - James Hudson Taylor -

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small

    A SONG IN MY HEART

    Thank You for those times, LORD,
    when You lead me to the mountain to rejoice …
    Those times You give my heart a song,
    my happiness a voice.

    I will rejoice in the LORD,
    I will be joyful in God my Savior.
    Habakkuk 3:18

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small

Comments (14)

  • So glad you were able to spend some “time” with Ian!  What a fun thing for you, even if it weren’t in person!  Our church did the same thing for a couple who’s son and family are doing missions work in Sudan.  They hooked up the web cam and the Pastor said “Today is Father’s day and we have a special father’s day gift for one of our members” and then they popped up the web cam with this family!  The Mom here in our church just gasped and started crying!  I just wanted to hug her!!  What a special blessing!!

    I’m so glad Ian has been spared from the fires and you all have been spared from the storms!  Praise God for his hedge of protection!!  Psalms 91 comes to mind!  We have more storms coming on Friday, but so far, we have not had any impact from our storms or flooding problems!  Praise God!

    I only have one house to clean today, besides my own.  So I am looking forward to an easy day!!  I redid my schedule last week to a 3-day work week now.  I will clean two houses each of those 3 days, and have Mon/Fri off!  I’m really looking forward to having those 2 days off each week.

    I’ve been noticing just how much the housecleaning is getting to me.  My body is truly feeling it!  I have realized lately that I am just not as young as I once was!  I actually even took my blood pressure the other night because I was just not feeling “right”.  It was low, for me.  111 over 54.  I usually range around 125 over upper 60′s.  Not sure what caused it, but I sure feel it!

    Well my Special Friend, have a beautiful day in the Lord!!  Rejoice and Be Glad!

    Love you lots,

    Christi :heartbeat:

  • It is always so delightful to visit here with you. I was intrigued with your comment about your studies on a biblical perspective on health and healing – this is a subject that really interests me. Your Italian meal sounds delightful – yes I think that everywhere people are pulling back and spending less, even here in South Africa. Thanks for sharing that quote by Hudson Taylor. Happy day to you! ~Colleen~

  • Thank you, thank you, thank you…I know have a pulse! :fun:

  • I got to spend lots and lots of time with my grandchildren. After church we took Pa out to eat at his favorite restaurant.  Come to think of it, it wasn’t as busy as it usually is.  We got in with no waiting.  Then we went to our son’s house for dessert.

    I love the Adirondack chairs.  I have a stamp set that features them that I just love to use.

    You can still find me here, but I have officially moved to bammy_times_five.  I’ve recently been upgraded!

  • I was traveling Sunday, so I had a hard time finding a really good place Sunday. Oh well. Dad and mom headed south while I headed northeast.

    Glad you got to visit with your son! Bet that was kind of fun.

  • I am so in shock watching all that flooding and crop damage. I am glad you are ok. It sounds like a wonderful weekend you had, and what a great Bible study. I am praying all stays well, and that your niece recovers from her post delivery problems.

    Heather

  • Thank you for stopping in and leaving a comment. When I first stopped in I thought, ‘What a beautiful site!’ It is really pretty.

  • Deborah,

    I’m so glad you have some clear skies lately! I am so sad about all those affected by the rains and flooding. I hope your basement is all dry now.

    Blessings,

    Gina

  • Thank you for your kind comments and subscribing. Only recently have I started taking photos of anything but my children. I have become so in awe of the Lord’s creation since moving to the country. It was there in the city, but overwhelmed by all the buildings and concrete. Talk about a culture shock for this born and bred in the city-girl.

    I just submitted my first photo to betsaflysgallery. I am not sure I am ready for a contest quite yet.

  • good morning…

    the picture of the cat in you module…is that your cat??? He looks just like Tom our office cat.. he’s gorgeous!!!

    have a great day

    hugs, jen:heartbeat:

  • Hi Deborah! I have read some of DeVern Fromke’s writings. I went to his website and i was shocked to see that he lives in Carmel. So close to my mom :) You are very blessed that he has come to your church to speak before- wow. What church do you guys go to in Greenwood? Have a great week!

  • I too thank Him for the rejoicing times which strengthen us for the valleys.  Blessings to you ~

  • Sounds like a lovely weekend. Technology is so neat that you can see and talk to Ian even though he’s so far away! I’m sure that was a great Father’s Day gift for your husband all by itself.

    We had a pretty low-key Father’s Day. I just made some of Josh’s favorite things and we stopped over at my in-law’s for a little bit, sandwiched in between church services.

    Have a lovely Tuesday.

  • :sunny:Hello Sweet Friend! I worked Saturday and than Sunday of course was a day at rest. Went to church and than we went to the In-Laws to give Dad his gift. We decided on different toys for his grill. A chicken leg holder, the rack that you can put a whole chicken on and smoke. Than of course we got him the rib and potatoe rack and a nice grilling basket for veges!He was tickled! I told him, I expected dinner ready when I put in my long days at work…….he asked me where was my ribs and chicken? I told him let me make a trip home I have them in the freezer! ha!…….Hubby was surprised, he didn’t think his Dad would enjoy the toys for the grill! Afterwards he was please how much his Dad enjoyed it all!……So glad you heard and sa Ian……….Have a Great Tuesday! ((((Hugs))))……….In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads