June 26, 2008

  •  

    REFLECTIONS 2



    It’s All About God, Not Us …
    - CFDevotional -

    In the devotional series, Fight Like a Girl, Lisa Bevere said, “Adam and Eve were not the image of God, they were made in the image of God … they reflected God {like a mirror}.  To be a reflection means that you can not initiate something, only mimic. We are reflections of Christ.  “He has to initiate Himself in us, not ourselves initiating our Christ-likeness within ourselves.”  This statement is so wonderfully full of the New Covenant promise that is so easily forgotten.  I believe it is because of our soul longing for the deeper things of God, while our humanity tries to tag along.

    It is in this refreshing reminder that I can once again come back to the place at the Cross, where I can go simply as I am, with all of my human tendencies and natures; that I don’t have to do the work, and moreover, God doesn’t want me to do the work. He Himself wants to do the work inside me that produces the fruit of His glory in my life.  It is in this moment, that I again remember that I don’t have to try to be like God.  That is not what God intends for us.  Instead, truly, our goal is to surrender ourselves and allow God to initiate Himself – His thoughts, actions, and deeds within us.  I believe it is in this moment of complete submission, that we become the reflection of Christ.  It is here where others see past us, and can begin to see and hear Christ instead.  So let us, once again, go to the Cross and lay down our all in full submission, yielding every part of ourselves to the Lord.

    Father, I thank You for dying on the Cross, so that we may have life abundantly through You.  Thank You for the gentle reminder that it is truly about You having Your way in and through our lives.  Help us to remember that we do not need take control, but rather to surrender, and in so doing, reflect Your majestic glory.  Thank You for this day, and for Your grace and mercy that is new every day.  In Jesus’ name, AMEN.

    Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard,
    and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.
    Philippians 4:9

    REFLECTION
    The believer is most satisfied when he is most glorifying God with his life.  Through his faith, God’s grace works in his life to do good.  Daily he is being conformed to the image and quality of the God he serves.  Recognize, O Christian, whom God has made you, and do well according this truth.  And peace will be yours!  So says the Word of the Lord …


    “But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.  
    For if any be a hearer of the word, and not a doer,
    he is like unto a man beholding his natural face in a glass:

    For he beholdeth himself, and goeth his way,
    and straightway forgetteth
    what manner of man he was.
    But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and
    continueth therein,
    he being not a forgetful hearer,
    but a doer of the work, this man shall be
    blessed in his deed.”

    ~ James 1:22-25 ~

    lighthouse stamp

Comments (10)

  • Love this post and how we are to reflect our Lord. I have missed several of your last post and I don’t know why. It is like they have not shown up on my subs. I will have to go back and catch up!

    God bless, Sharon   

  • What a great post thanks for sharing  this with us , you are special and i am also glad that i have gotten to know you

                                                                                    God Bless,

                                                                               sandy

  • Such a peaceful place to come sit and rest in the Lord. Thank you for your haven and for sharing your heart, thoughts, and life. :littlekiss:

  • Thanks for the wonderful post.  I, too, believe that it’s in full surrender that Christ may be manifest through our lives.  I often pray, “Have Thine own way, Lord; have Thine own way; Hold o’er my being absolute sway; Fill with Thy Spirit till all shall see Christ only, always living in me.”  God bless ~Judy

  • Howdy! I think there is nothing boring about chocolate chip oatmeal cookies with mile. How about if I trade virtual butterscotch pudding for your real cookies?

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah! How Great minds write alike in our Devos for today!:yes:…………Suppose to be 92 today and sticky! Rain Friday and Saturday!……..Hope you have a day filled with unexpected Blessings! (((((Hugs)))))………In Christ’s Love….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • :yes:Very very, beautiful message!!! :sunny: I so enjoyed that this moring sister!! thanks for the wonderful meal at the table once again!! Your such an inspiration and a blessing to me!

    Have a great day!

  • :sunny: Hello  Deborah !  Think of you and prays for you my friend.((((((Hugs)))))). I have now the god.tv through internet.So I can be with brother & sisters  in this meeting often.  Love in Christ. Tip 

  • Good morning sweet Deborah! Your devotional was so near to my heart. I so want others to see Him in my face. I have actually been praying for that on a daily basis. I want to shine for Him, to have others see me and say to themselves… “I want some of what she’s got!” The Spirit of God, can anything else put such a smile in your heart or on your face?!

    I’ve missed you. It is so good to back on line with everyone. Not as much as before, but at least now I can jump in a time or two during the week. I was so busy when I went back to work, that I couldn’t even read my e-mails for awhile, then when I could, I didn’t have the time to respond. But, with His help, things have evened out some.

    I’ve been working as the controller this week while he is out of town. I majored in accounting etc and I have done his job before so it’s a nice little change. Next week, I go to housekeeping. We didn’t do very good on our last inspection with Choice Hotels, so… being the Assistant General Manager, I get pulled all over the place. Beginning next week, I will be inspecting rooms, in charge of special projects and have a team of three girls, to do all of the projects in all 200 rooms, and have a team of two and be in charge of getting the public areas into shape as well. Whew. It’s going to be a bit of a challenge. However… I do feel that God is answering another prayer of mine with this. I’ve been wanting to walk more. I will now being just that!

    How are your sweet in-laws? No more health problems I hope. Have you been effected by the flooding much? And the business, how is it going? Are you making soap right now? Any more trouble with the dogs next door? and last but not least… how’s the “west coast” son? Do now, my friend, that I think of you often and you and yours are always in my prayers.

    I have to go get ready for work now. May God’s blessings pour out upon you this day. Remember that there are a lot of us out here thankful that you are here, and blessed because of it!

    Love and ((hugs)) sent your way,
    Tonya :love:

  • Wonderful devotional! I do want others to see Christ in me. I am so glad the work is His! ~~ I so enjoyed your “wordiness” over on my site! I am so thankful for Xanga because without it I may never had met you, and I do love you so! ~~ Yesterday I didn’t spend much time on the internet, though. Some days you just need a break, y’know? ~~ This afternoon is shopping, so I have made my list and planned my strategy. I usually go to several stores for the bargains. It is always a challenge to make the money stretch, but God is so faithful. There are some inexpensive stores, but you can never be sure they will have what they advertise, and there is no such thing as a “rain check” here. It is frustrating to count on finding something and not see it. Also, you can never be sure that you will be able to find an item ever again, so if you know you really like it, and you can afford to, you should buy all the ones you see! LOL! I once found good ol’ Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup, and I bought four cans. I haven’t seen any since. :(   ~~ OK…. somehow I have changed to italics, and the key is stuck! ~~ It is tax time in Denmark, so we are scrambling around trying to get all our paperwork in order.  We don’t make enough to have to pay much, but we still have to set money aside. We also pay taxed in the U.S., so poor hubby has to keep very good records. ~~ Well, I pray you have a blessed day there! Hugs! :love:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads