June 30, 2008

  •  

    Beach-Cottage-Print-C10264439


    Wait  – On God’s Timing

    Desperately, helplessly, longingly, I cried,
    Quietly, patiently, lovingly God replied.
    I pled and I wept for a clue to my fate,
    And the Master so gently said, “Child, you must wait.”

    “Wait? You say, wait! ” my indignant reply.
    “Lord, I need answers, I need to know why!
    Is your hand shortened? Or have you not heard?
    By Faith, I have asked, and am claiming your Word.

    My future and all to which I can relate
    Hangs in the balance, and YOU tell me to WAIT?
    I’m needing a ‘yes’, a go-ahead sign,
    Or even a ‘no’ to which I can resign.

    And Lord, You promised that if we believe
    We need but to ask, and we shall receive.
    And Lord, I’ve been asking, and this is my cry:
    I’m weary of asking! I need a reply!

    Then quietly, softly, I learned of my fate
    As my Master replied once again, “You must wait.”
    So, I slumped in my chair, defeated and taut
    And grumbled to God, “So, I’m waiting … for what?”

    He seemed, then, to kneel, and His eyes wept with mine,
    And he tenderly said, “I could give you a sign.
    I could shake the heavens, and darken the sun.
    I could raise the dead, and cause mountains to run.

    All you seek, I could give, and pleased you would be.
    You would have what you want – But, you wouldn’t know Me.
    You’d not know the depth of My love for each saint;
    You’d not know the power that I give to the faint.

    You’d not learn to see through the clouds of despair;
    You’d not learn to trust just by knowing I’m there;
    You’d not know the joy of resting in Me
    When darkness and silence were all you could see.

    You’d never experience that fullness of love
    As the peace of My Spirit descends like a dove;
    You’d know that I give and I save… (for a start),
    But you’d not know the depth of the beat of My heart.

    The glow of My comfort late into the night,
    The faith that I give when you walk without sight,
    The depth that’s beyond getting just what you asked
    Of an infinite God, who makes what you have LAST. 

    You’d never know, should your pain quickly flee,
    What it means that “My grace is sufficient for Thee.”
    Yes, your dreams for your loved one overnight would come true,
    But, Oh, the Loss! If I lost what I’m doing in you!

    So, be silent, My Child, and in time you will see
    That the greatest of gifts is to get to know Me.
    And though oft may My answers seem terribly late,
    My most precious answer of all is still, “WAIT.”

    Author Unknown


    Walking girl with hat matches larger one

Comments (9)

  • Deborah,  WHERE do you find such beautiful poems as these?  They are just so fitting!!

    THANK YOU!!

  • Deborah, I have been reading about waiting in Luci Shaw’s book Water My Soul — she writes “often waiting time feels like wasting time” and then shares the analogy of the seed which waits to grow “in the dark, in the black, cold, wet, airless underground” which describes how we feel so often when waiting. Thank you for sharing this poem, this longing, and this reminder that we must wait but also this reminder of for whom we wait. I pray that our compassionate Lord holds you close during times of waiting. In Him, Laurie

  • Thanks Deborah…God’s timely message!

  • :sunny:

    this is so appox for me now…..I am in the waiting mode and have been for a good while now………blessings on your week my sweet friend

  • Waiting is hard.

    Hope your week is good.

  • Beautiful, soft, summer look on here!  I always love your site…it’s very relaxing and refreshing! 

    Deborah, this poem says it all, does it not?  The best gift of all is getting to know Him.  I feel your pain…”Yes your dream for your loved one overnight would come true.  But, oh, the loss!  If I lost what I’m doing in you!”  

    The good news is that He isn’t just working in you…but in your loved one!!! 

    Prayers!

  • Human nature just gets in the way of patient waiting, doesn’t it.  We live in such a “now” world ~ but His way is always best ~ He teaches us so very much as we wait on Him ~

  • That is so very true! Waiting is so hard, though! :lookaround:

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend! Beautiful and true poem of God’s timing! How He makes us aware of how in control He is in every situation!Hope you have a Glorious Day!And the Son shines on you with many unexpected Blessings! ((((Hugs))))………In Christ’s love……Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads