July 9, 2008

  •  
     Andaman-Sea-Print-C10058984


    If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God,
    that giveth to all [men] liberally,
    and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.

    But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering.
    For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed.

    ~ James 1:5-6 ~

    No circumstance is too demanding or trivial for God.  As believers, we have the ability to gain wisdom from the Creator of the universe as we continue through this life.  If at any time we need direction or guidance we can ask God and He will lead us in the ways of righteousness. 

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small

    I know it’s been a few days here, and I’ve missed coming by to see you all.  I do hope you had a wonderful holiday weekend, and that your week is going well.  Mine has been, and is, full, but I’ll fill you all in here with my ‘oh so exciting life’ during the past few days … we didn’t have much of a holiday to speak of.  We spent most of it with a plunger, waiting on the ‘septic’ guy!  Since we had the flooding here, we’ve had some slow moving drains in our bathroom, and wouldn’t you know it, on the 4th, it decided to really get slow, and back up!  We had to call around and find someone willing to come out on a holiday … and we did finally get someone here on Saturday, but it didn’t remedy the problem.  We dealt with it the best we could for the rest of the weekend, and then Monday, they were able to get here and get things in proper working order … (a sigh of relief can still be heard!)  It’s funny, but some of you may remember this time last year, just before we picked our son up from the airport … we were having trouble with our well then and didn’t have any water … actually, it was exactly one year ago, on the 6th of July, that we had the ‘well man’ here … and Ian was here, too … but, as some of you know, he won’t be here this year for his birthday, so, we’ve been putting a ’goody box’, or two, together to send out to him.  I wish I could pack myself in there and really surprise him!  I spoke to him last night, and he said the wind had shifted yesterday, making it even smokier from the fires that are still burning.  There is a fireman in the church there who has asked for volunteers to help evacuate some people this week … Ian volunteered, and he’ll be going to help with that.  They’ve gotten some of them contained, but please continue to pray that they get the rest of those fires under control.  So much has already burned in one short week. 

    Well, we basically had a lazy Friday, waiting on someone to come fix things, but we did enjoy a french toast and egg breakfast.  It was raining off and on, and knew we wouldn’t be going anywhere, so we also worked on soap and candle labeling.  Saturday morning, Lewis had to work a bit, then being close to where they were, he spent some quality time with Mom Betty and O.P..  Please keep O.P. in your prayers.  He is still so weak, and sleeps all the time … he just isn’t himself anymore. 

    We did have a very nice Sunday.  After church, I talked with a friend whose daughter is getting married this Saturday.  I’m going to be taking some pictures, so say a prayer for me!  It’s more practice, and I’m blessed that they don’t mind my being there at all.  In the afternoon, we had a lite lunch with some friends … then, for the first time, went to Cold Stone Creamery.  It was a hot day, and we were in the mood for something cool!  I’ve never been there, and I chose to order a Blueberry Pineapple Smoothie, yummy!  I did think I could make one at home next time … they cost about as much as a gallon of gas these days!  On the way home, we dropped in over at my sister’s house and spent a little time with them, and my great niece and nephew.  On Monday, after they came and fixed our slow moving bathroom, we went to the antique mall to restock with soap and candles.  On the way there we had to get gas so we stopped and, reluctantly, paid $4.19 per gallon … (that’s the highest I’ve seen it here yet) … well, just down the road, there were long lines at another station waiting to pay only $3.88 per gallon … if only we had waited that extra few blocks!  On the way home later that night, though, it was back up to $4.19!  Can anyone tell me why they do that?! 
     
    For the most part, the weekend was very nice, other than a bump, or two, in the road!  I’m just so thankful that things are back to normal around here!  It’s so easy to take things for granted, until something like that happens!  So, for the rest of this week, I’m doing some intense studying, and working at becoming more acquainted with my digital camera before the wedding this Saturday.  I also have to finish baking, and packing the ‘goody box’ for Ian, do the laundry, clean house, and figure out what hubby and I are going to wear to the wedding … I’ve heard it’s going to be near 90* degrees.  We had storms come through last night, and it’s been hot, humid, and muggy … typical summer weather for July in Indiana!  Well, that’s my update on my ‘oh so exciting life’ during the past few days!  I’m not sure how much I’ll be around the rest of this week, but I’ll do my best to stop in to see you all.  Next week I’ll be around more.  In the meantime, I pray you have a wonderful and blessed week. 

    Animated Sun little Hugs,
              ~ Deborah <><



    camera blue flash I’ve entered another contest over at iliveinmycamera this week … 
                             … be sure to go vote for your favorite ‘FLAG’ photo!  Thank you!  
    Sig Tag American Flag

Comments (14)

  • Love the boat picture!!  Sorry to hear of the plumbing problems.  I have been taking a lot of time off the computer this summer too!  Sound like you are very busy these days. Have a blessed rest of July. It is going by fast.  Sharon

  • The fires–so scary and I hope the people there remain safe while trying to protect the property and people.  I hope the fires stop soon!  It was good to hear from you and I hope this weekend goes well for you!  I’m so grateful for Gods infinite wisdom. 

  • Plumbing problems are the worst. I had friends whose septic was causing troubles, but because of the frozen ground they couldn’t get it fixed right away. :(

    We are travelling this weekend. I am not eager to see the gas prices.

    I have to run now. Hope you have a good weekend,
    Kim

  • Wow! You have been busy!
    I live kinda close to where the Goleta fire is burning in southern California and we had alot of ash…
    Thank goodness we have had cloudy almost cool days here…I sure hope they get the fire contained soon!

    Wishing you a wonderful and blessed rest of the week!

  • Fire in Cali, and flooding in Indiana, lets just send them our extra water.

  • I read somewhere the other day that the firefighters in CA are fighting over 330 fires in CA!  Some big, but many small ones.  So sad that homes have to be lost.  But in so many ways, it is so good for the ground!  It can produce re-growth, and sometimes comes back even better than it was! 

    I will continue to pray for Ian, and the other involved in helping in any way, with these fires!  Big job! 

    I would love to see some of the work you do with the candles and soap.  Do you have a brochure???  If so, I would love to see one.  I can message you my address, if you have one to mail to me.  Let me know?

    So glad the plumbing got fixed!  We have some water damage downstairs too because of some water leaking from the AC unit.  Not sure if that’s exactly where it’s coming from, but I think that’s what hubby said.  We just keep our Wet Vac down there now, and use it quite often!  Sooner or later, we are going to have to call the insurance company because our carpet is getting ruined!!  We have a LOT of tanens (tanins) (sp) in our water, and it causes a lot of rust-like stains!  So our light colored carpet is not looking too pretty at this moment!  Plus the fact that it now smells down there, too!!  So much to do in this house, and so little time to do it!! 

    For just the two of us, this house is just too much for us to keep up with.    Really need to start cleaning closets out and looking for a smaller place.  We’ve talked about it for almost 2 yrs now, but always back down becuase of how much work it would take to get out of this one!!!  After being here for 20 years, hubby has accumulated quite a bit!!

    Enjoy your day Deborah!! I love the music on your site….so calming and soothing!!!!  I love to come here sometimes just to listen to the music!! :)

  • Well, your holiday weekend was eventful, I guess. I’m glad everything is fixed now.

    Gas here is about $4.39, so even $4.19 sounds like a bargain, sad isn’t it?

    Have a great rest of the week.

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah!……So glad you all got the plumbing problem fixed!…..The fires in CA seem to be worst this year than last! I wonder if it is all this crazy weather?…………Praying for Ian’s safety!………..I know when our niece got married at the end of July and HOT, it was outside and I settled for a nice capri outfit with a sleeveless shirt and a short sleeve over shirt. All cotton of course and sandles. Alot of the ladies wore sundresses with sandles, too.Just a suggestion…….. 
           We have more rain today so I am going downstairs to start my organizing. I bought 4- 30 gallon rubber made totes to repack my Christmas stuff in and we will see how far that goes before I need to buy more.  I figured that it is well worth $10.oo each in case my basement ever gets wet again. To help protect these things from getting wet!….I had to throw some ornaments away because the paint was just coming off of them from the water. Thank God they were cheap and nothing that my Boys had made me……….((((((Hugs))))))) Hope you have a Wonderful Day!…………In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • Gas was 4.39 in Chicago yesterday…haven’t been out today yet. UGH!

  • I do pray they will be able to get those fires under control out in CA. So many beautiful homes have gone up in flames. It would be great if they got a good, soaking rain. ~~  Glad the gurgles are burbles are gone! :goodjob: I just found out we have to leave the house a little before 5 AM tomorrow! GROAN! :eek: The ferry leaves at 7:30, they start boarding at 6:30, and it takes about an hour and a quarter to drive up north to the port. I think it will be a baseball cap kind of morning! LOL!

  • :fun: Sorry you had those bumps but glad things are better!!! I am thankful for candles because sometimes my world here does not smell too good…candles help!!!!
    That is a cool photo of the boat! Looks like it is floating on air because the water is so clear. :heartbeat:

  • Deborah,

    You had quite an eventful weekend! I am glad that your plumbing is all working now. I can remember when we were remodeling the bathrooms, the one that was working at the time stopped and there was about a day where we had to use the neighbor’s bathroom. God bless our neighbors!

    Have a lovely uneventful week!

    Gina

  • Plumbing problems are no fun!! Glad you were able to get everything working again – that’s important.

  • Backed up plumbing has to be better than a flooded house, I guess ~ but still not fun.  Glad it’s fixed now ~ blessings to you.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads