July 12, 2008

  •   
    Ian's Cake


    Today is a very special day for me, and my husband.  It is our one and only son’s birthday!  I know it’s near the end of the day … we’ve had such a long, and tiring Saturday with the wedding, but here, as late as it is, I still wanted to share a few pictures, along with some sweet memories from the day he was born 24 years ago … Ian’s Birth Day!  Unfortunately, back then, we didn’t have a camera, until about the day I was due, so the first picture you’ll see is the only one of me as ‘woman with child’!  Lewis always told me I was the most beautiful when I was carrying Ian.  He was, and is so sweet … but I did tell him love must be blind!  At that time, I’m glad it was!  But he did make me feel beautiful then, and still does today!

    Well, due to some forseen complications, my doctor thought it best that we deliver by cesarean.  I had such peace before the surgery … all of the doctors and nurses prayed with us … we felt God’s presence in a strong way, and everything went very well.  We didn’t know ahead of time if it would be a boy, or a girl … we didn’t want to know … I’ve always liked surprises … and surprised we were!  When they delivered him, I was behind the little curtain so I couldn’t see when he first appeared … and there was that moment of silence, then I heard, for the first time, my baby’s precious cry … well, when I was crying, everyone began to laugh … they said HE had just ‘baptized’ the doctor … Lewis said to them, “that’s my boy”!  I spent 3 semi-painful days in a very warm hospital, during the hottest part of July, but I had the total peace of the Lord, and my 2 best guys with me … yes, Lewis spent every warm night right there in a lounge-type chair with me, and our son!  He never let Ian out of his site, even when they took him for all those necessary tests!  He even changed all of the diapers … and brought us a fan!  What a wonderful man I married … I am truly blessed! 

    Ian is the only child that I have been able to carry to full term, so you can see why I speak of him often … he is dear to our hearts, and so special to both his father, and me.  We spoke to him earlier in the day, and he said he was going to just rest at home since he’s been so busy this week.  I told him I wished he was here, he said “I do too, Mom”.  It was hard being without him, especially today.  The picture of the cake above was from his Grandma and Grandpa last year, when he was home for a visit.  We hope we’ll be able to see him soon.  Well, I hope you don’t mind my sharing a trip down our memory lane.
     

    Ian's birthday 7-12-84   #1


    Ian's birthday july 12, 84  Showin' off

    These photos were taken at the ‘clean-up’ station! 
    Vicky was the best, most gentle and caring nurse with both me,
    and our precious little package! 
    Did I say ‘little’?!  :o )

    Ian's birthday july 12, 84 2a b

    In keeping with the ‘Family Friendly Site’ rules here, and in order not to offend anyone …
    you can see that I added a few touches to this one in Photoshop :o)
    So beautiful and healthy!  Yes, he was ‘beautiful’ to me!

     ian's birthday july 12, 84 2e 2

    Due to the surgery, and tubes protruding from both my arms,
    I was unable to hold Ian until later, after my time in recovery.
    So this is the very first time I got to feel his soft, warm, baby skin on my cheek!
    Vicky held him close to me for quite awhile … she was wonderful!
    I wanted to hold him … to touch him with my own hands so very much …
    and she was very sensitive to my ‘mommy’ heart!

    Ian's birthday july 12, 84 copywrite



    Ian's birthday Poppa and Ian first time to hold him

    My two best guys … this so warms my heart everytime I look at it! 
    My dear sweet husband took all of the pictures … except this one …
    I got the honors!

    July August 07

    And this is our ‘little boy’ now!  Not so little anymore! 
    He has been such a blessing to us all of these years,
    and it touches our hearts to see him loving and following the Lord!

    ~ 3 John 4 ~
    I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth. 

     Bar Denim Hearts

    I’ve certainly missed being here and checking in with everyone.  
    I’ll be back very soon to catch up and let you know what else is going on,
    but, in the meantime, I hope you all have a very blessed and joyous Sunday!

    Tiny Tag White Rose Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><
      

Comments (22)

  • I had forgotten all about “protected posts” until I got your message. Your son & my older son share the same birthday! (Only our Tom turned — gasp! :eek: 30 this month!) I love your memories and the pictures. Yes! God is so good! :heartbeat::heartbeat:

  • I loved looking at this post again….all the pictures!  I love how you did that with the comments and additions to each picture!  (esp the leaves – cute!)  You have a beautiful family!  God is good!!  :heartbeat:  Beautiful!  Life is beautiful isn’t it?  This is a story of LIFE, what God has done in a life, and what He is still doing in that young man of God’s life!  He is faithful!  :yes:

    :sunny: :sunny: :sunny:  :sunny:  :sunny:  :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny: :sunny:  :sunny: :sunny: :sunny:

  • Happy Birthday Ian.

    Deborah, your prayer request is posted. God bless you!

  • Sorry I am so late in responding to your post. Thank you for sharing these pics with us. What precious memories to hold close to your heart. Just think how the Lord loves us and His memories of us growing up both physically and spiritually. I’d love to see His scrapbooking pages of our lives. :)

    Bless you sweetie. Have a great Tuesday. {{{{HUGS}}}}}

    Know that you are loved and never alone!

  • Thank you for all the support.  It was a hard day, Ed’s dad passed away about 4:40 today.  I’ll let you know about the Boone  Co Fair…but I’ll probably be there every day at the Commercial building.  About all day on Fri and Sat, then in the afternoon and evening on Sunday, then in the evenings the rest of the week.  Depending on how many helpers I get!  Right now it’s hard to think about, I am little bit in shock but it’s a relief too, that he doesn’t have to suffer anymore.

  • What a sweet post!  Happy Birthday Ian!

  • Thank you for sharing this story. I have never been a mother or a wife. Somethings I will just have to wonder about because at 52, I don’t think see things changing much.

    I am glad there are people in this world like you and your husband who love each other and love their son. It really does make this world a better place.

  • :sunny: I can see that Ian had a HAPPY BIRTHDAY! And thank you for sharing the before and shortly after as well as the day of 24 years later picts! :fun:

    May you celebrate MANY, MANY MORE!!!!

    – GG

  • What wonderful pictures and special memories thank you for sharing  with us . i look at these picture and it brings back my memories  when i had my chrildren, Ian is one special son and i too wish him a wonderful birthday and a blessed year, i know how hard it is to not have him with you in person on his special day but know that he loves you and that he is doing Gods will in his life.  have a blessed week

                                                     sandy

    Ryc: yes  my hubby did get the air condition in and it has help a lot when it was in the 90′s the other week, we are to get in the 90′s again this week so i will turn it back on, my son has one in his room so that helps also to keep the house a little cooler . will be in touch soon

  • Congrats to you, and Happy Birthday to Ian! It’s really neat to hear that he loves and is serving the Lord. What a blessing!! :sunny:

  • Adorable retrospective of your son.  Many Ian have many more wonderful, blessed Birthdays. 

  • Precious pictures!  Thanks for sharing those stories with us. :goodjob::sunny:

  • Aaaw, how sweet. I like the “editing” you did to that one picture. I had to do that with one of MS, but putting a shamrock sticker on before scanning. LOL He has a very Irish name so it suited.

    God bless,
    Kim

  • I’ve had 3 pregnancies, with two that went full-term.  Both full-term pregnancies were c-sections.  There is nothing more precious to me than to experience LIFE firsthand!  I so enjoyed seeing these pics and hearing your story!!!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY IAN!  YOU ARE BLESSED WITH ONE BEAUTIFUL MAMA!!!

     

  • Hello… Happy Birthday Ian… That was wonderful. One day when i get a scanner i can put wonderful pics like that on here.

    RYC: I am enjoying my new computer but I installed XP back on it.. I havent really cared for window Vista at all.. It is a little iratating to say the least. Maybe once they get all the bugs out of it maybe i might but at this moment i like the XP the best… Well girl get some rest see ya later//

    Hugs

    Angel

  • :sunny: Happy Birthday to Ian!
    Wishing you a blessed Sonday and week ahead!

  • :love: Aww This was so nice to read and see the pictures. I Love getting to know you more and more Your husband was so right tho…….you did look beautiful and glowing in that picture:love:

  • Thank you for including us in your special day…and it was special too.
    Happy birthday Ian…..

    BTW..I remember those BIG glasses in the 80′s……I like the small ones now too…. :laugh:

  • Thank you for sharing that beautiful ‘window’ into your celebration!  (I could so relate – I’ve had six c-sections)

    Happy Birthday Ian!  You are sooooo loved by your family and friends.  You are in our prayers……Stephanie <><

    BTW Deborah, you haven’t changed at all ~ still young (except for the glasses! :lol: )  I like the current set myself!  LOL  :sunny:

    Just FYI, this is the link to the booklet Healing Forever Settled where I bought a recent copy.  http://search.stores.ebay.com/The-Seed-of-Calvary_healing-forever-settled_W0QQfciZQ2d1QQfclZ4QQfsnZTheQ20SeedQ20ofQ20CalvaryQQfsooZ1QQfsopZ1QQfsubZ0QQsaselZ7853705QQsofpZ0

    Blessings and I so enjoyed your pictures!  <><

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend! (sniff)……..Loved your pics and memories! Touched me as a Mom and reminded me of my DH with Jess when he was born. I have a pic of him holding Jess like Lew and Ian, too. Just touches deeply to see your Baby’s Daddy love the Baby like Momma………You know Philip was from my first marraige and my Ex, never wanted children, main reason we seperated and divorced.Another story for another time.
                 Happy Belated Bithday to Ian!!!!! ((((((Hugs)))))) to you and Lew!!! Hope you all have a Blessed Sunday!…….In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave: 

  • Thanks so much for sharing the pictures!! I hope you have a blessed day!! Happy Birthday Ian~

  • Happy birthday to Ian and congratulations to you!! :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads