July 16, 2008


  • Thy Word


    Hope you’re all doing well, are blessed, and having a good week so far.  I’m editing some photos, and I will be back with an update from my weekend, but, in the meantime, I wanted to share this devotion that I recently read.  I know it’s a bit long, but it’s worth it!  Be blessed in Him, and have a wonderful Wednesday!  Hugs ~ Deborah <>< 

    The Word for Wednesday …

    Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light unto my path.
    ~ Psalm 119:107

    Your Word have I laid up in my heart, that I might not sin against You.
    ~ Psalm 119:11

    The grass withers, the flower fades, But the word of our God stands forever.
    ~ Isaiah 40:8

    “Is not My word like fire?” declares the Lord, “and like a hammer which shatters a rock?”
    ~ Jeremiah 23:29

    THE WORD OF THE LORD:

    At it’s inception

    The Word was read and revered.

    It was powerful to convict.

    It was the standard for that person who chose to align himself with God.

    It revealed a Holy God to an unholy world.

    But it was an “it” — a treasured but an inanimate “thing.”

    Then John Said -

    In the beginning was the Word,
    and the Word was with God,
    and the Word was God.
    He was in the beginning with God.
    John 1: 1-2

    What is this that you are saying, John?

    In the beginning. . . .

    At the very onset.  When the earth was without form and void-empty-still-lonely, John is telling me; “This is how it all began.”

    …was the Word.

    Was the Word?  How did it come to be?  Where did it come from?  I don’t know.  But John says that the Word was there in the beginning.

    …and the Word was with God . . .

    This “Word” and God were together.  God!  The supreme Being!  The Source of all life!  The sovereign Ruler.  This “inanimate thing” was in the presence of God.  The Word and God.  But wait…

    …and the Word WAS God.

    This Word I’ve been reading about — seeing as an object — was not an object at all!  The Word was a Person.  The Word was with God!  No.  The Word WAS God.  This is all beyond my comprehension.  I am confused.

    He . . .

    the Word has a gender.  He!  He was in the beginning with God.  And the Word ceases to be an “outside influence.”  It ceases to be something I accept or reject as an object.  It ceases to be a teaching.  An inanimate object.  It becomes alive — a “He”-breathing, touching, seeing, hearing!  A person!  He lived with God.

    But then, Something even More Wonderful Happens . . .

    And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.  -John 1: 14

    That “He” Word invaded the world of men.  He became one of us.  He followed our rules for entering earth and lived among us.  Right here with us!  What was difficult for me to comprehend in abstract vernacular was simplified to childlike simplicity.  He isn’t abstract any longer.  Here is a man who walks and talks, touches and is loving, gentle, kind and strong.

    And then He began doing supernatural “Godlike” things.  He began saying radical things that caused people to revere Him or reject Him.  But they were glorious acts of power.  Of love.  Of mercy.  We beheld His glory and He was full of grace and truth.  Full of grace and all that grace gives.  Full of truth and all that truth stands for.

    We looked at Him.  We watched Him.  We listened to Him.  His compassion amazed us.  His love was beyond our understanding.  He gave and He gave and He gave.  He gave freely, unselfishly of Himself.  He gave Himself.

    I’m no longer confused, reading history or observing a set of rules or standards.  I’m having an interchange of thoughts. It’s as if I had a “never-before-seen-pen-pal.”  He has shared His innermost thoughts, His philosophy of life, His hopes, and His dreams — what He longs to accomplish.  I had heard about Him from other people, and from all reports He was a very unusual, wonderful, loving, charismatic person.  And after years of corresponding, we actually meet!

    That’s it!  I have “met” the Word.

    No.  The Word isn’t a thing any longer.  It is a Person who loves me.  A Person who fills my life with purpose, with joy, with peace, with Himself.  He loves me and I love Him.  We talk to each other.  Yes. I have met ” the Word.” 

    His name is Jesus.

    Thank You dear Holy Word, for coming to earth that I might know You.

    Will I know You any better in Heaven?  I don’t think so.
    We’re so very close to one another now ….

    ~ Anabel Gillham
     

    God the Father is a deep root, the Son is the shoot that breaks forth into the world,
    and the Spirit is that which spreads beauty and fragrance.

    Water_drop

Comments (16)

  • :heartbeat:Hi sweet lady… I was too sure about The Dark Knight, myself, but it was like the other ‘Batman’ movies… dark, maybe a little more violent.. but, I couldn’t keep my eyes off of Heath Ledger and his performance… he did a good job on portraying a deranged JOKER… it was good… not something I would take little children to see…

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Hugs!

  • :sunny: Just wanted to come by and wish you a wonderful weekend!

  • Thank you for what you commented to me. “He will quiet you with His love.” PERFECT right now… Thank you!!!  Blessings!  ~ Chris

  • Hi, thank you so much for your prayers.  I can surely feel the strength coming from all the prayers being said for us today.  The funeral is this afternoon.   I got the bluebird booth set up yesterday afternoon.  Some other people wiill be taking care of it today but I will probably be there tomorrow.  Thanks again for the support.

  • What a great post…thanks so much for sharing it!

    Wishing you a blessed day!

  • This was so refreshing!  Thank you for sharing it!:sunny:

  • Great post my dear friend,  hope that you are having a great week, it has been hot and to get hotter the next two days i am keeping you and your family in prayer hope your FIL is doing better  will message you soon have a Blessed day

                                                                                    sandy

  • Beautiful!!  Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!!

  • @Coveredwithjoy - Kim … I so appreciate that you shared your thoughts here … I wondered about that, as well, when I read that last sentence of her devotion. I was even going to add the scripture reference from I Corinthians 13:12,

    “For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face:
    now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.”

    With that being ‘written’, I’m not so sure we can fully know Him until we reach Heaven, either, so I was pondering that. I know I have not yet attained knowing all of who He is, or the closeness with Him that I so long for. My heart’s desire is to be closer, to press in, and to know Him so much more intimately here, and now … unfortunately, as you said, we tend to “see Him through eyes with the stains of the world hindering our view” … it will be wonderful when we’re finally with Him where the “distractions of this life” will cease to overtake us, and ‘we will then know Him even as also we are known’! Thanks again for sharing!

    If anyone else has a thought to share on this, please do! Blessings <><

  • :sunny: Refreshment in the Word — thank you for taking the time to share this! I pray that you are enjoying the blessings of peace, provision, and joy today. In Him, Laurie

  • “Will I know You any better in Heaven? I don’t think so. “

    I wonder about that. I think in a way we will. We will see Him through eyes without the stains of the world hindering our view. We see through a dark glass now. What will it be like to be with Him always, without the distractions of life sometimes overtaking us.

    This is a very good devotion, this is just the thought that came to mind when I read that statement. :)

    Hope you are having a good one. It’s hot and humid today. I got some sheets on the line inspite of the attacking ducks. Not sure what that is about. They leave the youngest ones alone, but have come to not like us bigger ones these last couple days. (shrugs)

    Well time for me to go now,
    Kim

  • Beautiful.  Thank you so much for sharing this with us.  May you have a beautiful, blessed day.  In Christ, Jill

  • :goodjob:

    Loved it.

    How are you????  I hope you are having a fun summer and that all is well in your world.  Have a good week.

  • :heartbeat: Silence for 400 years…then God spoke and the Word He spoke was Jesus….He is God’s message for us…and there has been no need for another message……
    Blessings on your week! Love, Ana

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend! I hope you have a Wonderful Day and know that I prayed for you today and Ian and you family, too!………..((((Hugs)))))……….In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

  • I had to memorize this passage in 10th grade. The Word… among us!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads