September 13, 2008

  •    
    Tea Cup with Lemon_72


    Well, grab yourself a cup of tea, or coffee!  It’s almost the weekend, hmmm, it is the weekend again, isn’t it … and I haven’t even caught you up on what my last one was like!  I’d better get busy!  It has been awhile, hasn’t it … yes, I’m late again!  Oh, this isn’t the only thing I’m late at … I’m always the last one to finish eating a meal!  Anyway … I’ll try to do this quick (… famous last words!).  

    First, remember those ‘lost’ files I shared about in my last post … well, they are now ‘found’ files!!  When Juno went down, they were all saved in a ‘restored’ file!  Thank you, mom1945!  Juno saved them, yes, but they were all out of their designated files, and out of order, so I’ve been going through and reorganizing them this week.  I’m so thankful they were all there! 

    On Saturday, we went to the Zionsville Fall Festival, instead of the Heartnut Heritage Festival.  They had it marked wrong in the festival guide and we thought it was this coming weekend, but, nope, it was a typo, so our plans changed.  We still had a nice time in a very quaint little town!  I’ve always wanted to live there, so we enjoyed driving through the neighborhoods, and seeing the little ‘cottages’ … there were quite a few of them with ‘For Sale’ signs in the yards.  There certainly are tough times everywhere! 

    Sunday, we went to church, and were blessed, as usual.  Afterwards, we went to dinner with some friends at a local buffet … those sorts of restaurants are very dangerous … have you seen the desserts they offer?!!  I refrained … I was thinking of my hot homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, along with a glass of ice cold milk, when I got home later!  Enough of that … after dinner we left and went to see our dear Miss Elizabeth.  She was all smiles, and just leaving with her father to go for her treatment at the hospital, so we sat with her mother, sister, and brother until they got back.  Their new ‘apartment’ is quite nice, open and spacious, with lots of windows!  Things are somewhat improving for her, so instead of the two treatments per day, there now is only one, along with her other two visits per week … on those days she’ll be going twice.  She still has a long way to go through this process, so we continue to hold her up in prayer.  Things seem so much better for them, with her family all together again in their new ‘apartment’.  As usual, we had a good time together, and even watched a great video by Louie Giglio called ‘Indescribable’ … ‘How Great Is Our God’ Tour.  It’s about the incredible awesomeness of our God!  If you haven’t seen, or heard of it, you can see parts of it
    HERE.  They are showing 5 parts … some being over 9 minutes long, but, very worth the time.  It isn’t the same exact movie that we saw, but most of what he said in that, he says in these clips.  It gives you a new perspective on how small we truly are … how small all of our problems are in comparison to the greatness of the Father of the whole universe … Our Father!  I think you’ll enjoy it!  We were glad they shared it with us! 

    Monday and Tuesday were both fairly lazy days for me, but I did do some catching up on laundry, and visited a little around on here.  My husband had the day off on Wednesday, and, being blessed with perfect weather, we headed to
    Conner Prairie … a ‘living history’ museum … not much ‘living’ going on there during the middle of the week, though … the ‘town’ was pretty quiet, but we enjoyed the day, and getting to talk to those who where there, either weaving at the loom, spinning the potters wheel, or tending to the farm animals.  We had a great day, although I did accidently step in a ‘hole’ wrong, or should I say, just right, and I felt my ankle twist in the opposite direction … I waited the 2 miliseconds it usually takes to feel pain, but, Praise The Lord, I felt only a twinge!  I had done that in the past, with much more painful results!  Lewis, of course, said, “you have to watch where you’re going!” … to which I replied, “I thought that was your job!”  Lol!!  I was carrying the camera, and thankfully, I didn’t fall!  Anyway, we plan on going back soon when all of the fall festivities begin … this time I’ll watch out for those holes!  After that we left and had a bite of dinner at the Italian Olive Gardens … I must say that the lasagna, along with the salad and breadsticks, was extremely tasty that day!  Then we did a little mall walking, to work off all those calories … we noticed, again, more tough times, with stores that had closed there in the mall.  Finally, we headed over to Panera Bread Company …. oh, my, no … not to eat again, lol, but to help my husband’s crew get started on an overnight job there putting in new flooring. They are remodeling all of their stores, one at a time, and my husband has done a couple of them, and we think there is more in the future … only thing is, it’s an overnight job, and it can be hard on him.  He’ll be working there this coming Monday, and Tuesday nights with his crew, so, he’ll be sleeping through those days here at home.  We also got a call that afternoon, that my mother-in-law, Mom Betty, was going in for surgery to remove her gallbladder the next morning … a last minute decision.  We would take her to the hospital, then wait with the rest of the family. 

    Well, unfortunately … that next morning, on Thursday, I realized that stepping in that hole, at Conner Prairie, did more damage than I had felt at the time it happened!  My whole body ached, as if I had been in an accident!  I was hobbling most of the day from the pain, especially in my upper right leg, and even Ibuprophen didn’t help … I don’t normally take anything for pain, but I had to Thursday, to get some relief.  Needless to say, Lewis went to the hospital without me, but we stayed in touch throughout the morning … all went well with her surgery, and she woke up feeling great, and is now back in their apartment, and doing much better!   

    I woke up Friday morning, yesterday, and my leg was still quite sore … thankfully, I had an appointment already scheduled with my chiropractor for later in the day … he checked me, worked me over, and I left feeling so much better … he said that my ‘atlas’, and something else (?), was way out of alignment from the mishap with that hole … and, as I’m typing now, the pain is almost all gone!  I tell you, a chiropractor can work wonders!  This one uses what is called an ‘activator’ … a more gentle way of chiropractic adjustments … my husband prefers the other kind … the one where they ’crack’ the back … well, to each his own!

    Now that I’ve filled you in, I see another weekend is upon us.  It’s very warm and muggy here, but it’s supposed to cool down this next week.  Today, I’m just going to catch up on some things here at home, do some more studying on my camera, visit you all, and get things ready for church tomorrow.  We have relatives coming in to see Mom Betty, and O.P., this weekend, and we’ll be getting together after church for dinner.  After that, it’s time to rest before the new week begins, with those overnights coming up for Lewis.  I pray you’re all doing well … so, tell me, what are your plans for this weekend?  Also, we are praying for all those in the path of Hurricane Ike!  I was watching the news coverage in the wee hours of the morning … have you seen those reporters standing in the middle of all that?!  Crazy, I tell ya!  A lot of folks stayed to ride it out … not me … I get nervous when we have 35 mile an hour winds here!  Those brave souls are in our prayers, as well!  Thanks so much for hanging on, and reading all of this!  I know I haven’t been as faithful in getting around to you lately, with all that has been going on this summer … and with life in general!  Other than our craft shows coming up … I’m hoping things will slow down a little so I can be more consistant on here.  I hope you don’t give up on me!  Also, I do have some photos from this past week that I’ll post soon.  I pray you all have a blessed weekend, and I will be around to check in on you soon! 

    SunflowerHugs,
                     ~ Deborah <><  

    Few delights can equal the mere presence of One whom we fully trust. 
    ~George Macdonald

Comments (8)

  • Glad things are going better for Elizabeth. Glad you are not hurting as much too.

    Have a great weekend.

  • I enjoyed that cup of tea with you and hearing about what been going on with you life this week, i do hope your ankle is better they can be painful for this has happen to me over the years.  It is so good to hear that Elizabeth is coming along good and will continue to hold her up in prayer. sounds like your hubby will be busy laying floor down, are Wal Mart here where we live has everything tore up they are changing it all around.  Hope your MIL is doing better Gallbladder can also be painful    we enjoy going to the Festival  in are area my hubby wanted to go to one this week but we did not not get the time, we did get to the Farmer’s Market which is always so nice this time of the year with all it Pumpkins and apple display ‘sand we look forward in two weeks to go to the Fair  we do try and go there one day and speaking of eating i love those Buffet but  i eat way to much lol  will i have some things to get done this morning and then we want to take a trip to the Mall so my dear friend it always good to hear from you and thank’s for sharing about your week have a Blessed Sunday and i will catch up with you soon

  • Hi Deborah!  Great to catch up with you.  You’ve been so busy.  I did something similiar yesterday leaving work.  My ankle twisted and thankfully, I didn’t fall.  My entire leg hurts this morning….so, I can feel your pain :yes:.  Praise God that Elizabeth is improving.  I am going to the hairdresser this morning and then we are going out with friends. Tomorrow I hope to clean out my freezer and then label everything and put a list on the fridge of what is in that black hole :) .  We are planning on visiting a new church tomorrow morning as we are searching for a church in our area.  I pray God leads us in this.  Watching Ike and praying for everyone in its path.  Have a blessed weekend.

  • Glad that you’re feeling better.  I enjoyed hearing about your week.  I love the music on your site.  It is very relaxing.  Is your husband in the construction business?  Conner Prairie sounds neat.  I’ll have to check out the linked site some other time though.  Jeremy and I are about ready to leave to go to a leaders retreat for the church we attend.  It’s an all day think in PA.  This will be a busy weekend for us but filled with being around people we love and we’re hoping we’ll come away from this meeting today with Vision from the Lord.  Blessings and Love, Elisha

  • :wave:Good morning! I am also happy to hear about Elizabeth improving. I am sure that being able to live in the family atmosphere is so healing!
    You are (as usual) a busy woman!
    Last weekend we went to a Bulgarian village nestled deep in the mountains that has a lot of historic significance. It was fun. I took photos which I will post later after I get finished with the travel ones.
    Last night I went to see Mama Mia with a bunch of ladies. It was silly..it looked like the actors were having loads of fun making it though. Before the film we all had dinner together and time to chat which we don’t often get.
    The rest of the weekend we are getting ready for the people whose apartment we have been inhabiting for the past three years to come to collect their stuff and sell what they don’t want. I am expecting a chaotic 10 days or so.
    I would really enjoy visiting Connor’s Prairie again. Take photos and post them for me when you return.
    Blessings! Love, Ana :sunny:

  • We’ve seen 2 of the Louis Giglio film ~ Indescribable and How Great Is Our God.  I’ve heard he has a 3rd one called Hope ~ anxious to see it too.  The films are awesome!

  • It was good catching up with you here! I am happy to hear that Elizabeth is continuing to improve. I know it will take time, but I do expect she will make a full recovery! How great our God is! ~~ I do hope your body stays “adjusted” after your mishap. YOUCH! My arm is doing much better. Not 100% yet, but every day a little better. I just have to be careful not to strain it again which is harder to do now that it isn’t hurting all the time. ~~ We picked my daughter and her husband up at the airport on Wednesday. They slept a lot! They were so exhausted! Then Friday they rented a car and drove to Holland to visit some old friends. They will be back Tuesday, and I am sure they will be exhausted all over again! LOL! We have them until the 24th, and then they go back to N. Ireland. Abby can stay there for a week or two, but then she has to fly back to live with her sister until her visa permission is straightened out. It is going to be VERY hard for the newlyweds to be separated. She is so sad! I pray that all the paperwork will be right soon, so they can be together. ~~ Today we poked around in a few second hand shops. Later we have a birthday party to attend. Tomorrow will be church, nap time and calling our older daughter in the U.S. day. ~~ So glad Mom Betty did well with the surgery! Enjoy the sunshine! Blessings to you, dear friend!

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend! praying for you to watch out for those holes! Glad the Chiropractor fixed you! But please be careful and tell Lew he needs to keep a hand on your shoulder to help you!……….Glad your MIL is doing good and O.P.and Miss Elizabeth! Hope you have a Wonderful weekend! Tonight we are going to dinner with the In-Laws to celebrate Jerry’s B-day. It was last weekend and now that I worked Saturdays they wanted to take us out sometime. Last Sat would of been good but Mom had a cold. ……..ryc: Worship Team was wonderful. Love feeling the Spirit move. PR was pleased, too! I would love it if you two lived closer, too. Patchwork is such a small Church but full of love! I never seen so much love amongst a Church Family that is very Supportive for each other and all of our ministries! NO back biting whatsoever!………Well I hope you and Lew try to stay dry this weekend! I know we are in for more rain today and tommorow! Due to Ike! ((((((((HUGS))))))))) Have a Wonderful weekend and a Very Blessed Sunday!……..In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads