October 29, 2008

  • AB40470~Autumn-Road-Panel-Posters

    God Is My Salvation
    ~ Helen Grace Lescheid

    “Surely God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid” (Isaiah 12:2).

    Do you ever feel like you can’t face another day of challenges? Perhaps it’s time to take a day off and to spend it in quiet refection walking through nature or reading a good book by the fireplace. But what do you do when none of this helps to lift you out of the doldrums? May I suggest something that has helped me to get out of the fog–literally and emotionally?

    One night as I was coming home along the highway, the fog was as thick as pea soup. I could not see the road in front of me. I could barely glimpse the dim reflectors marking the lanes of the busy highway. How was I going to find my way home? It was by focusing on these “bright spots” in the fog. I inched forward from one reflector to the next. What a relief when, an hour-and-a-half later, I reached the warmth and light of home!

    By using the same mind-focusing principle, I’ve learned to let Scripture guide me instead of my moods. I take a portion of Scripture like Isaiah 12—a favorite – and personalize it. Then I say it out loud.

    Today I will give thanks to you, O LORD!

    When I feel afraid I will remember, Surely God is my salvation. I will trust, and will not be afraid.

    When I am weak, The LORD God is my strength and my might; He has become my salvation.

    When my resources are gone, I will draw water from the wells of salvation.

    I’ve discovered there’s power in speaking the Word of God out loud. As I recite God’s life-giving words throughout the day, my mood lifts and I receive courage to move forward one step at a time.

    ~ Lord Jesus, thank you that I don’t have to navigate this day alone. With Your help I will face every challenge and conquer it. For great is the Holy One of Israel who lives among us.

    * I hope that encouraged you, as it did me … there are just some days we need more encouragement than on others!  I’ve personalized scripture before … this devotional reminded me again, of how vital the Word of God is in, and to, our lives!  How often I let my moods guide me, instead of the Scriptures!  So today, I’m going to do just that … let the Scripture guide my moods! 

     Mom & Dad  

    Blinkie I Love My Hubby Blocks  Today is special for me and my hubby … {That’s us up there about a month before we got married on October 29, 1982 … my, oh my, how we’ve changed!}  It is our 26th Wedding Anniversary! Happy Anniversary, Sweetie .. I love you!  And yes, we’ve had our ups and downs like many couples, but we have that ‘Heavenly Glue’ that holds it all together!  Marriage is a commitment … not a contract.  Contracts are made to be broken … commitment goes so much deeper than that!  With the Lord between us, holding us together, we can make it through anything … and because of Him, we have made it through many bumps on some pretty rough roads!  The journey isn’t over yet, and we’re looking forward to some smooth highways ahead … but when we do come to those bumps, we’ll lean on the One, who we know will get us over them in ONE piece … together! 

    As for our plans today … well, I woke up to an absolutely beautiful day … the sun is shining through those golden leaves that are still clinging to the limbs … above, a clear blue sky … the weather, crisp, and cool!  My favorite kind of day, and I feel so very blessed!  We’ll be going to dinner tonight … not sure where yet, but I know it will be yummy.  We’ll probably drive around in the country to take in the beautiful colors that have finally arrived here!  And we’ll come home and look at our wedding photos … reflecting on the past, looking to the future.  This will all happen after my trip to the chiropractor … the show this past weekend did a number on my back, so this morning I started my stretching again!  I do feel better after that … just need to stay consistant with it now!  You really notice the difference when you keep up with an exercise program … and you notice it when you don’t! 

    My computer is still in the ‘shop’ … ‘Cory, the computer guy’, has yet to call me to let me know how it’s coming along … he did say he had a busy week, and just may not have gotten to it yet … I’d rather it be that, than a more serious problem!  ‘Tiny’, the little laptop here, seems to be working better today … it loads at a snail’s pace, so it takes me awhile to get around, but know that I’m working at doing just that!  I’m really so thankful for this ‘little guy’ … even though it’s slow, it enables me to get around and check in on you!  I can’t upload any photos though  … and today, I so wanted to share some ‘before’, and ‘afters’ … I am thankful that I didn’t delete the one I used here above, way back when I started here on Xanga!  I will upload more, when I get the desktop back, even though they’ll be off schedule, and maybe a bit out of season!  Please do say a prayer that Cory can save everything, and get our computer back up and running in tip-top shape!  FAITH!  

    In the meantime, you all be blessed this beautiful autumn day … let the Scriptures guide your moods … know that He is your strength for whatever it is you might be going through right now … and please know that you’re in my thoughts and prayers!  ‘Tiny’, and I will be by to see you soon … even though it will be slow going … so, please do be patient with me!

     Sunflower With love, hugs, & always … many prayers,
                                                                 ~ Deborah <><

    P.S.  I do apologize if the lettering is to small … it’s hard to tell on Tiny here, what the size actually is! 

     

Comments (14)

  • Hello :sunny:, so sorry I missed your Anniversary…Happy 26 years with Lewis that is a great commitment!

    I was just scrolling down my subbs and trying to visit a few. It’s been a while since I have dropped by here. I hope your back is much better, mine has been bothering me today not real bad though. I wasn’t able to squeeze my walk in today but after I vote tomorrow I will make myself walk. Bob has really been doing a great job on the wall, but we have spent more than we have so far, i’m afraid before this thing gets finished we will be flat broke! God has always made a way for us, we have been so blessed so I don’t worry that He will give up on us now. I hope you and Lew had a wonderful Anniversary and that your weather stays wonderful!

    :heartbeat:HuGs…..Linda:love:

  • :heartbeat:Happy Anniversary:heartbeat:

    Wow twentysix years! What a blessing. Today it is our 19th anniversary. God is good. I have definitely seen Him at work in our marriage. I hope that you and your husband had a wonderful anniversary. God bless you with many more. Talk to you soon.

  • Thanks so much for coming by…we are settling into life in California. I loved what you shared about speaking the Word – it truly is powerful and effective – how much we need to saturate our hearts, minds, and lives with the Word. Congratulations on your anniversary – I love seeing commitment like that in these days when many don’t seem to grasp that concept anymore – you are an inspiration. Blessings to you. ~Colleen~

  • Hi sweetie!

    Yep, it’s me!  Oh my word….you two were so cute!!!  What do I mean WERE?!  You still are!!!!  You have a GREAT smile, by the way!  Happy Anniversary!! :heartbeat:

    I posted some grandbaby pics :love:…and we heard a couple of weeks ago that my son is going to have number three in June!  We are VERY happy!

    Hope you all are well…we are recovering from about 2 weeks of crud. :whocares:  I feel so great about being back in the land of the living!

    Talk to you soon,
    Beth

  • Happy Anniversary Deborah and Lewis! Glad you stopped by! I will not have my Computer back until Monday, now! So I hope you and Lew have a Wonderful weekend and a Very Blessed time together on your Anniversary! (((((Hugs)))))……….In Christ’s Love………Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • Dear Deborah- Happy, happy anniversary!!! 26 yrs! Very inspiring

  • Happy Anniversary!

  • :heartbeat:Happy Anniversary to you both!!:heartbeat:  You both look great too =]

  • Hope you had a wonderful day! I love the picture! So young! Comparing it with the photo on the right of the page, I would say you both are aging very well. You haven’t changed much. I know we all feel age catching up with us, though.

    :sunny: :fun: :sunny: :fun: :sunny: :fun: :sunny: :fun: :sunny:

  • Well a magnifying glass would make a nice difference,

    I think anniversaries are beautiful celebrations! It certainly is not easy with a world trying its best to pull apart.

  • :sunny: Extremely encouraging — thank you for sharing these words of wisdom. And congratulations to you and your husband! Blessings, Laurie

  • Have a wonderful anniversary! I hope you get your computer up and running normally again. It’s amazing how much we rely on them.

  • Happy Anniversary! I bet you’ll be glad to have your computer back. Thanks for the encouragement, too.

  • Haha. Small print? I just grab a stronger pair of glasses. I hope your computer problems get solved fast and easy and not cost you a fortune. That’s hard. We make backups of everything because we’ve had a few surprise crashes over the years. Happy Anniversary. We just celebrated our 28th and my 30th birthday in the Lord the end of September. Have a great afternoon/evening.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads