November 5, 2008

  •     
    IMG_9624 FLOWER copy rs


    I love that ‘Pulse’ we have on here!  Thanks to those who commented on all of them that I had recently put up … so much has been happening, but first let me catch you up on our anniversary last week.  Hubby didn’t get home when he thought he would last Wednesday afternoon, so we didn’t get to do much driving around in the country, to enjoy those colors before darkness fell, but we did have a very nice anniversary dinner.  We ate at a place called ‘Outback’ Steak House … it has an Australian flair … we hadn’t eaten there in a very long time, so we thought, why not!  We had an appetizer called the ‘Bloomin’ Onion’, with a great dipping sauce that started off our meal, which consisted of the house salad, seasoned rib-eye steak, steamed buttered broccoli.  I had the whole grain seasoned wild rice, and Lew had the sweet baked potato with lots o’ butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon!  I prefer the rice to that … I don’t like too much sugar with my steak, if you know what I mean!  Anyway, it was a nice quiet, romantic dinner, and as usual, after we were finished eating that, we were approached with their luscious dessert menu!  It wasn’t a hard decision at all, though … we chose their moist, three layer, carrot cake with buttered cream cheese icing, toasted pecans, and sprinkles of cinnamon on top!  We shared one very large piece, and oh my … that’s worth a trip back just for that!  It was special to us because our wedding cake was just that very same flavor!  Not white, or chocolate, but, moist carrot with that buttered cream cheese icing and pecans!  We had apple cider instead of the traditional punch.  I think I kept the top of that cake for quite a few years … in the freezer … we never did eat it, isn’t that sad?!  Of course, it did eventually deteriorate, so I took a photo of it when we were moving one year, then I had to finally get rid of it! :o (  I’ll have to share that photo with you, sometime!  Then, after dinner, we did a little driving in the country, but we only had about a half hour of light left … so I went to get the back of my hair trimmed up … the lady who does it would normally charge me $10.00 for what they call a ‘bang trim’.  Well, she had called and said her prices went up a little bit, so when I went in and got only 3 inches trimmed off, no shampoo, and no extras … I figured it might have gone up $5.00 at the most, but when I went to pay — mind you it took only 5 minutes … she told us it would be $27.00!!!  I just couldn’t believe it!  Neither could my husband!  So I said, you mean it went up $17.00, no shampoo, or coloring, or anything???  She shook her head yes!  Well, now, what would you have done?  First I looked at my husband, and said, ‘Happy Anniversary, Honey’!  I honestly felt like telling her we didn’t bring that much with us, but I knew I couldn’t tell a lie, but I came to a very quick, and wise conclusion that I won’t be going back there again!  I thought that I would do some calling around to find someone to do it much cheaper … then a friend told me about a lady who does it from her home … ‘Deb’s Country Cuts’!  Their family loves her, so I’ll be ’paying’ her a visit in about 3 months!  After we left there, we went mall walking and hubby got me some chocolate covered peanuts … double dipped!  Love those things! 
     
    Friday night we had a fun night of fellowship at a friend’s house … ate some great food, and watched a movie called ‘A Song for the Season’ … a very sweet movie.  We do this every year with them … many of you may remember last year, when they got us a 25th wedding anniversary cake, which, by the way, we did eat!  :o)  And, we had a great time again this year.  I took a dessert that I had never made before, and it was easy to make, but it sure was a hit … great for this time of year … everyone wanted the recipe, so I thought I’d share it with you here, as well:   

    Bar fallline2[1]
    Pumpkin Dump Cake

    Mix together:

    1-16 oz. can pumpkin
    1-12 oz. can evaporated milk
    3 eggs
    1 1/2 cups sugar
    2 – 4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (depending on your taste)
    1/2 tsp. salt

    Pour into a 9 x 13 pan.
    Sprinkle with 1 box yellow or spice cake mix, dry.
    Sprinkle 1/2 to 1 cup chopped pecans evenly over the top.
    Drizzle over all 1 cup {2 sticks} melted margarine, or butter.
    Bake 50 – 60 minutes at 350° F.  
    Ice cream is great with this … as is whipped cream.
    Enjoy!

     
    Saturday, we went to the antique mall to restock … it was a beautiful day, as it has been most of the week … it is very dry, though, and we sure could use the rain.  It’s been in the 70′s the past few days … Indian Summer, I suppose … but it has been very nice.  We also decided to play a game of Putt-Putt on the way home that night.  Hubby won … this time! 

    Then on Sunday, we had a special day at church … Our Pastor Paul is stepping down, and it was his last day before he begins a new ministry helping to build up and encourage leaders at other churches.  This will still be his home, but he will be ‘on the road’ often.  There was a video about the very beginning of the church, up to now.  There were many tears as we all thought about past memories.  Many stood to give a word about how Pastor Paul, and Sue, touched their lives and encouraged them in some way. They had photo albums of different events over the years, and my, how we’ve all changed … as have the styles of hair, and clothing!  We also had a pitch-in, and I helped take photos of the event, as well … {I’m going to have to take a week just to post photos of all that’s been happening since my computer went down.} 
     
    Next Sunday Pastor Jeremy will begin his leadership in the church … he’s been speaking off and on quite often over the past year … he is a wonderful man with a very sweet family.  It will be a good day!  After church we headed over to my sisters to spend some time with them … it was also my nieces 6th birthday.  We played some cards, then left and went to pick up the computer.  I’m so thankful … from what I can tell most of it is still here, although when I first hooked it back up the photos all looked distorted, which really concerned me, but the resolution just needed to be changed, and now I’ve been ‘tweaking’ it, trying to get everything else to look normal again … and I’m noticing that some of my programs are not able to be opened, and some of the programs aren’t detecting certain files.  Also, it’s not loading normally, either … not sure what’s going on.  Also, the Media Center I have on here is no longer working, for some reason, so I have to get him to look at it again … and soon!  At least I can use the main things … so far, anyway!  Time will tell what else might have gotten changed on it when he transferred everything from one hard drive to another!  Please keep that in your prayers!  What he’s already done has cost me $200.00, and I’m really hoping I’m not charged much more!  I know it didn’t leave here with ALL of these problems I’m finding!  I pray he takes that into consideration!  So, I may be getting ‘Tiny’ out here again, soon! 
     
    Smilie Praying 2 Yesterday … we got up and got in line to vote at 5:45AM, and today, have a new President elect.  I feel we need to pray, first and foremost, for his salvation, and also for Godly wisdom to take on this enormous task that he is facing!  I have friends who are very concerned about where he might take this country, as too, are we … but, we need to just take one day at a time … have faith in our Father, and trust … our joy truly comes from the Lord, not any man, or our circumstances … so be encouraged … God is STILL on the throne, and is in complete control … remember, the hearts of the ‘kings’ are in His hands! - Proverbs 21:1.  Our hope should remain in the Lord … for true, and lasting, peace comes from Him … He is faithful and just …
     
    “As for God, His way is perfect …” Psalm 18:30.

    Stamp Our God Is an Awesome God

    And finally, Lewis was doing one-on-one ministry last night at the county jail … it took him awhile, so I thought I’d sit down, with a cup of hot cocoa, and catch you all up on what’s been going on!  It’s taken me a little while to collect all of these thoughts … (and I know there are a lot of thoughts here, so thank you for bearing with me!)  … so this probably won’t get put on until Wednesday … which is exactly what has happened, as it is Wednesday now … but, I hope you’re all having a good week, so far.  I’ll be around to visit soon, as I’m now off to the chiropractor’s for an adjustment this afternoon … wish it were that easy, and quick, to fix a computer!  It is good to be back again, even though this is still a bit flawed!  I’ve missed you all!  I also need to make some changes around here … the seasons have changed, haven’t they!  I do want to share photos … just not sure if I should upload all of them with the trouble I’m still having with the computer.  In the meantime, you have a great day enjoying the presence of the Lord … He so enjoys yours!  See you soon!    
     
    Tiny Tag Sunflower Button 2 Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><

Comments (7)

  • :love: Happy Anniversary ~again~   couldent help it. It sounds like a really nice evening. I Love the OUt Back steak house too. I Like there coconut shrimp. Im so sory they raised there prices soooo HIGH:eek: thats just crazy. I only get trims too and it costs me 12 to 15 every time and I thought that was high. I am agreement with you on taking one day at a time and praying for our leaders:love:

  • Sounds like you had a wonderful anniversary and weekend.  $27.00 for a haircut is unreal.  I wonder if she has lost a lot of business.  I’m not sure I could have kept my mouth shut and paid it,lol.  The cake sounds delicious…thanks for sharing.  What date was  your anniversary?  We celebrated 24yrs on October 27th.

  • Deborah,

    We ate at Outback Steakhouse on Tuesday night. I was tempted to try that carrot cake but I didn’t. (Now I wish I had!) :)

    That is a shame about the haircut price going up THAT much! They should have posted the price.

    Have a lovely day

    Gina

  • I enjoyed your collection of thoughts.  You have a lot going on at church and I am lifting your local body up as you go through this transition.  You Anniversary date sounds so nice.  I hope you have many more to come.  I too am thankful that God is still on the throne and am praying for our president and nation.  I hope you have a great day!  Love, Elisha

  • :sunny:Hi Deborah ! I´m glad to hear you had a good time with each other . Thanks for your message to let me know how to prays for Elizabeth, still keeping on prays for her.(((((Hugs))))) . Love in Christ. Tip

  • I am so glad you are back. Your anniversary celebration sounds nice. Our kids took us to the Outback last time we were in the States. Their food is SO good! I hope your computer problems can be straightened out soon. It can be so frustrating, can’t it? I can’t imagine having to pay $27 to have your hair trimmed! WOW! Pea Hater and I help each other and do our own hair. I cut and perm mine, although he squirts the stinky stuff on for me! I cut the back of his, and he cuts the back of mine. I got hit with some virus that has knocked me down for the last week. I haven’t been sleeping much because of the coughing. I have been trying to just wait it out, but I just may call the doctor tomorrow because it really hasn’t let up. I look forward to seeing all those photos that have been accumulating! Blessings to you! :heartbeat: :heartbeat:

  • Wow! That was quite the update. We like Outback, too. We don’t go there too often either, but when we do it’s a treat. I’m glad you had such a good week and a good anniversary.

    And yes, no matter our politics, we must pray for our president-elect.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads