December 10, 2008

  • Update and a Q & A ….

        

    winter barn rc

     
    Well, I’m finally here to update over the past two weeks!  I do trust you all had a blessed Thanksgiving weekend!  I’ll be around to check in to see how you’re doing here soon.  As you know, I was sick, so I couldn’t make it to our early family Thanksgiving meal on the Sunday before.  My hubby did bring me some of the wonderful food that they had, which I was thankful for, although I wasn’t up to eating much at the time.  I had also sent along that Pumpkin Dump Cake, which was a hit with everyone there.  By the time Thanksgiving, Thursday, rolled around, I was feeling better, although still tired … we spent the day here at home together, then headed to the airport to see Tim head out to Malawi, Africa.  {*I had shared about this in a previous post.}  Well, our airport was recently rebuilt, and it was a treat to see it.  It doesn’t even compare with the older one we had … it has so much more of an open air feel to it.  It’s also easier to get in and out of … and what traveler doesn’t like that!  We were there 2 hours before his flight, so we all took a ‘tour’ around the place and had a very nice time with Tim, and his family.  We had some ‘Thanksgiving’ dinner while there … and not your traditional turkey … we had Mexican food, but it’s not the food you eat, it’s the love of the friends, and family, you’re with that makes any day a day of thanksgiving!  I did get some photos … quite a few really, and I’ll be posting some next time.  I’m posting more photos over on my Facebook account, which is where we’ll be keeping in touch with Tim while he’s away.  He flew from Indiana to Washington, D.C. that night, then to London, for a one day layover, then onto Ethiopia, and finally to ‘somewhere’ near Malawi on Saturday, or Sunday.  We just recently heard that he made it safely … communication is difficult right now, at least until we get an international phone card, which we are in the process of doing.  We’re all anxious to hear how he’s doing, and how that long trip went!  He told me he’d like to have Ian come over there for a couple of weeks before he comes back home again, so, that could be in Ian’s future.  We miss our son so much … oh, I know you’re all probably tired of hearing me say that, but what’s a mom/dad to do when their one and only son is away!  Well, we face each day with confidence that God is watching over him, and that he is using wisdom in making right choices in his life, and that he has a heart that follows hard after God!  That’s all we can do.  He did say that he might be coming home for Christmas, but is finding that any cheap tickets are scarce right now.  We’ll wait and see.  It would be so good to see him … he did say that if he can’t come Christmas, he may try to make it after the first of the year. 
     
    Moving on … the Friday just after Thanksgiving we set up at our show, and it was quite busy for the first two days … Sundays are always a bit more slow, especially when there’s a Colts football game on!  God did bless our sales, and we both did well, and made a pretty good profit.  After the show was over for the first day, on Friday, I headed home, since I was still not feeling my best.  Lewis headed to church where they were putting on a Thanksgiving meal for the men of The Jesus House … which is a place of restoration for ex-offenders who found salvation while behind bars.  It offers safety, fellowship, accountability, and time to adjust to civilian life.  A wonderful program!  There are a few other churches in our area who work with them like this, as well.  According to Lewis, there were quite a few men there … and many shared their testimonies … and he said the food was plentiful, and delicious.  All the men were blessed, and seemed to enjoy themselves very much. 
     
    Saturday, was another day at the show, and very busy.  Right after it closed for the day, we headed to a place called Frye’s Electric, to ask some questions about my computer since I’m still having problems with it.  I had bought it there, and didn’t realize that I had purchased a 5 year warranty on it!  (*sigh*)  I had spent a lot of money having ‘Cory, the Computer Guy’ fix it, so I’m going to take it to Paul at Frye’s.  He said he’d fix us right up … with almost no charge this time!  I’m hoping to get it in very soon … like Friday of this week!  I was exhausted by the time I got home that night, so I dropped into bed, until Sunday morning, when we headed out for the last day of the show.  As I said, it was slow, but that gave me a chance to look around for some bargains myself.  I found some quilts that I liked, but the lady behind me was selling them for $1200 each, and that was at half price !?!  They were very old, and she had history on each one, but that was way out of my price range … I don’t sell that much soap!  She was probably the only one who had anything priced that high!  Anyway, I did buy a little tin bowl for $4.00 which I’ll use for my soap display, and I also found 3 electric candlelights … those look so pretty in windows in the winter … actually they’re pretty anytime … very inviting.  They were brand new, and only $1.00 each!  That’s all I spent … I was frugal!  We packed up after the show, and it had begun to snow.  It was so pretty, but it did get very cold, and windy.  Little Pookie is still on our porch, and warm in her box … but now, I have a concern … we are wondering if she’s pregnant!!  Now what do I do?!!  I can’t have kittens here … my sister, who loves cats, doesn’t want that added responsibility if she is pregnant, which I can totally understand, so, I’m in a bit of a quandry!  I don’t know if Pet Smart will take her in without costing me a fortune … they do take in strays … but ones that are pregnant?!  We’ll have to check with them in the next couple of days.  I’m hoping to be able to keep her … I’ve become very attached, and so has she!  I pick her up, and she doesn’t want me to put her down, and she loves to snuggle … I should call her Snuggles!  I can’t wait to get her indoors … I’m so praying that she’s NOT pregnant!

    And finally, to catch up on this past weekend … on Saturday we went to a Christmas brunch with friends, and had a great time of fellowship, and yummy food.  It was snowing, which made it even more perfect!  After the party, late afternoon, we headed to my sister’s house to spend our late Thanksgiving meal with her family.  We ate more yummy food, played cards, and had a great day all around.  Sunday, we went to church, and then to a Chinese restaurant for lunch with our ‘group’.  After that, we headed back to my sister’s house, as it was her birthday, and I wanted to spend some time with her … she is very dear to me.  And this week, I’ve been getting ready for another show on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, again!  After this weekend, we have a couple of ‘off’ weeks, and I’m going to take advantage of that!  My goal, among other things, is to get caught up here, with you all!  It’s been a very busy season … but I still love this time of year!  I also want to thank you for all your thoughts and prayers.  Now, I know this has been long, and thank you for getting down this far, but I’ve added a Q & A, which I found at a site called GotQuestions.org.  I hope it will speak to your heart, and encourage you, as it did me.  It is truly a journey we’re on … this walk of faith!  But God is faith-full!  I pray the rest of your week is abundantly blessed … and I’ll be posting photos soon … as long as my computer keeps working before I can get it in for repairs, that is! 
     
    coffee cup   Hugs,
                 ~ Deborah  <><

    Bar Rusty Star Grape Vine

    Question:
    “Does God promise to not give us more than we can handle?”

    Answer: 
    I Corinthians 10:13 in the NKJV reads, “No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.” This Scripture teaches us a powerful principle. If we belong to Him, God will not allow any difficulty to come into our lives that we are not capable of bearing.

    So, anything that comes our way, anything that tempts us, any tragedy that befalls us—we are capable of overcoming it and achieving spiritual victory. That does not mean it will always be easy. Quite the contrary—the fact that we may need a “way of escape” indicates that God sometimes allows difficult trials to come into our lives. We may not believe that we can overcome it, we may doubt our own strength to prevail, and we may even fail in the temptation. That does not mean, though, that we are not capable of overcoming that particular temptation. Whether it is a temptation to sin or a temptation to doubt God, God promises that we will be able to overcome it.

    But what does it mean to “overcome” trials? It means the trials do not overcome our faith or our position as children of God, and we come through the trials intact. Our eternal destiny is not in danger because we are kept by the Holy Spirit, who was given to us as a down payment on our salvation (2 Corinthians 2:21-22).  No trial can overcome that because it is of God. Therefore, the child of God will stand firm through the trials and come out on the other side still in God’s hand. This is proof that our salvation is real and our reward in heaven awaits us.  James 1:12 assures us, “Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.” 
     
    AMEN!!!!!

    SNOWFLAKE LINE IRENESCORNER COMhearts small goes with divider here somewhere SNOWFLAKE LINE IRENESCORNER COM

Comments (9)

  • Hey Deborah
    Thanks for all that you have written on my site. I think me and you could become fast friends. You said you work at craft fairs. Is that with the natural soaps you make? Also I saw your interest in natural remendies for health, tell me more about that. :wave:

  • :sunny:Hi Deb, I am glad to see you updated. I know how busy yall have been and its good to know that you did profit from the last show. I am glad your feeling better to. Oh I hope Pookie isn’t with babies…I would love to see you take her in, she would be very happy. Do you think Ian will go be with Tim for a while and is that what you want??? Praying for you both and wishing yall a very Merry Christmas:heartbeat:.

    HuGs…:love:Linda

  • :wave:  Glad you are feeling better!  Love the new look over here.  Cute picture of the day :goodjob:

  • Hello Deborah

    So glad you did well on your sales. You sound like you have been really busy hope you get some rest soon. I enjoyed reading your catching up. Things have been really busy around here as well. There are lots of things for a pastor’s family to do seems like, anyhow I love the businesss of it.   God bless you and your family         

    Charlene

  • I know that it must have been so hard to see your son leave but I’m sure that God will protect him and bring him home to you safe and sound!

    So glad that you are feeling better.   Wow, and I thought “I” have been busy! 

    I hope during your “off” time that you’ll be able to relax some and enjoy this holiday season.   :)

    Love the devotional you posted … how true it is!

    Have a good day, Deborah!

    Love,

    Jennelle

  • Hi Deborah.. just thought I would stop by for a visit. I am not getting as much done on my Xanga these days as I would like. Is your son on a mission trip? Mine went to Uganda a few years ago… it was a wonderful experience for him. We will lift him up in our prayers. BTW, love your new decor, (I always do though… you just have a gift for designing.)
    Blessings, Bee

  • Hello, Sweetie! It was great catching up with you. Glad to hear you sales have been going well. I do hope your computer will be healed and healthy soon! We have been very busy lately, too, and it won’t slow down until after the holidays. I am trying to accomplish a few things on my list each day and I am pleased to say I have finished the matching aprons I was making for my Danish granddaughter and her mommy. I think they turned out OK. Not perfect, but OK. I need to start baking, but I have to rearrange the freezer first! We have our first Christmas party tomorrow night, and I have been asked to bring brownies, so I have to hit the shops tomorrow and buy the ingredients I will need. I also got the package mailed out to the kids today. It helps that they will all be together in one place this year! Abby is with Hannah now. She already had an appointment with the immigration folks, so hopefully, it won’t be long before she can be back in Ireland with her hubby. Well, I have to leave for a meeting in a little while. Maybe I have time to organize the freezer and mix up some cookie dough. Blessings to you and Lewis!

  • Very thought provoking!  I’m glad you’re feeling better.  What a busy time of year it is for you.  I am occasionally feeling overwhelmed with all I still need to do for Christmas, which isn’t what Christmas is about, but I find myself getting stressed and then coming to the Lord and saying “HELP!”.  I love the new look to your site and the music-especially the Rejoice song.  Beautiful!  Have a wonderful week! Elisha

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah!……..Sounds like you are on the mend and now getting to catch-up on your rest!……..I will be praying that Ian will be able to come home for Christmas!………Did Lew find his wallet?…….Hope Pookie is not pregnant!………Hope you are staying warm. We had ice with 3 inches of snow on top yesterday!……..Oh what fun it will be driving in it to work this Morning. Thank God I only work 5 miles from home. just across town. Just have to go slow and be smart! Love the new look of your page! Very Welcoming……Noticed the very soothing sounds of new Christmas music you have added as well!……….Hope you have a Wonderful day! (((((HUGS)))))………In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads