December 19, 2008

  • Animated Snowy Cabin

     

    UPDATE WITH YET ANOTHER PRAYER REQUEST:  This one for our dear Mom Betty!
    Some of you have followed my entries, and know the situation with my in-laws, Mom Betty, and O.P.  Well, we got a call from the retirement village, and she’s been taken to the hospital!  She had called her daughter, and said she had a major rash breaking out on her chest, and her daughter said that she was not sounding rational with other things she was saying, so they sent a nurse to her room, and found she had a temperature of 103*, and after being examined, decided right away, to send her to the hospital.  My sister-in-law is with her now, and my husband is on his way to be with her, as well.  I will keep you updated on her, and also on my friend *Karen > (*see prayer request below), as I hear about them both.  Right now I’m feeling pretty helpless, not being able to go see either one with this ’flu’ that I have again, but I’m praying for them both, and I thank you again, so much for your thoughts and prayers for both of these dear people!   Blessings!  <>< 

    Bar Pinecones ButtonBar Pinecones ButtonBar Pinecones Button

    *Before I update, I do have an urgent prayer request … you might have heard that we have had icy weather the past couple of days … well, a sweet friend of mine, Karen, fell on that ice outside her daughter’s home today!  They rushed her to the hospital to find that she had fractured her pelvis!  They then transferred her to another hospital where her surgery will take place sometime this morning, and I would ask that you lift her up in prayer, as well as her family!  She isn’t much older than me, and is very blessed with a large family, so she is a very busy wife, and homeschool mom!  They just saw their oldest daughter married this past October … this is a photo of Karen, (second from the left) and her family below … four beautiful daughters, and two handsome sons … they are a very musical family, and are a wonderful testimony to the Lord!  This is major surgery, that requires a long recovery period, and they’re all going to need abundant grace to get through it!  Her oldest son, Michael, (second from the right) grew up with Ian, and is one of his best friends, and Ian is concerned for her … we all are, so your prayers would be coveted!  Thank you all so much!!  

    Wedding Shaun & Danielle 087 Norton Family RS

    ~ The Norton Family ~
    “…The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”
    (James 5:16b)

    Bar Pinecones Button

    Well, I can’t thank you all enough, for your thoughts and prayers, and for coming by to leave your kind words about Ian’s accident.  I spoke to him yesterday, and his neck is still pretty sore, and his leg is still bruised.  We’re hoping he’ll get x-rays soon … our chiropractor told us to tell him to get them ASAP … he said that you can never know what might show up after an accident like that.  He may be able to come home after the first of the year for a visit … we’re praying!

    We had a busy weekend with the show, although it was a tad bit slow … still, I’m very thankful for every bar of soap, or candle, that I sold!  I found a great buy on another teacup for my collection … I’ll do photos on those soon.  Saturday night we went to my husband’s company Christmas party, which they had for all their employees in their home.  We had a nice meal, good conversation, and she definitely loved to decorate for the holiday!  I wish I could have taken photos, but, being in their home for the first time, well, I just didn’t think that would be appropriate!  Besides all of the outdoor lights they had, indoors, we found snowmen of every type, a huge display of a Christmas village, with lights in all the little buildings, which I couldn’t quit looking at.  Kind of made me want to shrink myself and go inside!  There were snow globes sitting on every table that played Christmas music, and even her pictures on the walls had been wrapped in festive Christmas paper, each one complete with a bow!  I was looking for a Nativity scene in the midst all of it, but there wasn’t one to be found.  The ‘boss’ made a comment about my husband blessing the food, but no more was said after that.  He’s been sharing the Lord with him … he seems open, but it just takes time, and much prayer! 

    Sunday was very slow at the show … so we closed up a little early.  My sister, and her husband, came and helped us to load.  After being sick before, I didn’t have a whole lot of energy, and now, again, I find myself coughing, so it’s hard to sleep, and feeling achy, and tired.  I must have caught something more at the show … a lot of people were coughing there.  Me, well, when I’m sick, I stay home so I don’t spread it to others!  So now … again, I’m staying home, even though I so want to go see Karen and be with her at the hospital!  My husband has been blessed and hasn’t had any sign of a cold, or flu, even though people around him at work have it.  I’m thankful that he’s staying well … he may go ahead tomorrow, and spend some time with her husband at the hospital even if I can’t go.  I’ve been resting most of the week, and yesterday, I made some homemade chicken & rice veggie soup to help get me well for this next week!  Missing Thanksgiving with his family was bad enough, and I don’t want to miss Christmas Eve dinner with them, too!  On Christmas day, we’re supposed to be going to my sisters, and I’m going to be cooking something for both places!  Pray I feel better soon!

    We’re getting more bad weather here in the form of sleet again … and I’m very thankful that my hubby wasn’t hurt yesterday morning when HE fell on the ice that had accumulated in our driveway the night before!  He salted it, but said he apparently missed a spot!  He said he landed just right, and didn’t feel any pain!  With this new storm, it could get nasty again!  Well, I do hope you’re all safe and warm … I know some places are getting snow that’s unheard of … like the desert in Las Vegas?!  It’s supposed to warm up to the 50′s here, after this latest winter storm passes!  We just never know what we may get these days … anywhere! 

    Be blessed, everyone, and have a great weekend!  Thank you again for your thoughts and prayers for Karen, and her precious family!  I’ll keep you updated as I hear from Michael.  In the meantime, I’ll be visiting around here this weekend, as I eat my chicken soup, and drink my hot tea!  

    Christmas snowman11 And before I forget … do click on over to BetsaflyGallery and see all the great ‘snow’ pictures!  I have one in there, and I need to remind everyone … before it all melts!  :o )

     coffee cup Hugs,
                 ~ Deborah <><

    Bar Pinecones ButtonBar Pinecones ButtonBar Pinecones Button

Comments (16)

  • Oh my, Deborah. It has been too long away from Xanga visits. I immediately read back over the last couple of posts, and put each of your prayer requests on my list. I’m praying for you even as I sign off for tonight to head to bed. God bless you dear one, as well as each of these for whom I’m now praying. PTL for God’s watchcare over Ian & his friend. :heartbeat:

  • Oh my sweet friend… I am praying for all of you. Please keep us updated on everyone. ((hugs)) and lots of healing hot tea… get well and may God continue to bless and heal you and your family and loved ones…

  • {Hugs and prayers}

  • you know you have my prayers…..you need to rest and get well too my friend

  • Hello my friend….oh I have been away from your beautiful site for far too long. I’m so sorry to read about your son’s incredible accident. He has such a great, calm, cool head on his shoulders it sounds like. For him to think how to protect the young girl….wow. I’m glad it was not worse and am praying for him and for you, as you are away from him. I am also praying for your friend that fell and fractured her pelvis and your mother in law!!! Love you! Susan

  • Michael is a good friend of ours…Karen and that family is definitely in my prayers! Would you happen to know the Bakers? They used to live in Indiana. Well, Mrs. Baker’s daughter is the one who recently married my brother! They are also very good friends of the Nortons. In fact, it is through Michael Stephen and Ashley ever connected! At any rate, I have heard so much of the Norton family, I feel like they are old friends and are very much on my heart at this time. What an awesome pic of them! Please keep us posted!

    ~Sarah

    PS – I’m also praying for your mom and that situation.

  • Praying now for all your requests. A fractured pelvis is going to take a long time to get over. I feel fortunate all I’m dealing with is knee replacement! :yes: :wave:

  • Praying for Mom Betty!

  • Praying for Mom Betty, Karen and Ian!!  I also pray you continue to recover quikly.  I am so busy, I haven’t had time to stop by.  If you get a chance, can you update on Elizabeth?  Continually praying for her as well.  Have a very blessed weekend.

  • Praying for your many prayer requests! My goodness, you’ve been hit from all sides. Praise the Lord for your son’s safety through his accident. My hubby and I were both amazed at the picture of the car!

    Alesha

  • Well you sure have had a rough week! I am so thankful and praise God with you that your son is okay. Also I’ll pray for your MIL and your friend. Right now I am thinking about my boy Rob who will be flying home tonight! Hopefully both flights will go smoothly with no weather problems. I am so ready to see him after 4 months! You take care and I hope your weekend will be peaceful. Christy

    :sunny:

  • Just wanted to come by and say hi! Just prayed for your friend. I hope you’re doing well. We’re having freezing rain here today and schools are closed.  Blessings!  ~ Chris

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah! I am so sorry that you are coughing again, Some of the people I work with have had this stuff and they say it sticks around for awhile. One said that even antibiotics doesn’t help. You just have to ride it out!……..Praying for Karen!….I noticed in the weeding pic, her daughter that Wed, looks very young! I wonder if that means I’m just getting older!:yes:………..Hope Ian does go to the Doctor for a check-up. One of the girls I work with was in a very bad car accident, everyone lived. But she messed up the cartiledge (sp) in her knee, when the dash board was pushed in, that she has been going to therapy. At first she just thought like Ian she was bruised up.
           Well Sweet Friend, things are improving with my Mom’s situation. I will have to message you sometime about the circumstances. I put the pieces together, and while praying the other night, after my request, so after we all had, she called back again, and I just asked her, she said yes that was what she was waiting to tell me. I just know that Satan will be defeated in this and  I told her, God is not done with her yet! But she will achieve and win this battle with God on her side and all of us praying! 
            Hope you get plaenty of rest and I will be prayin for you, too!………Thank You so much for your prayers for me as well and I appreciate you! ………..In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • will be praying for your friend…and for you to get well quickly!

  • Praying for karen and you and Ian!  I hope this long streek of sickness ends soon.  Love, Lish

  • So sorry for your friend! I pray they get everything aligned correctly, and that she heals quickly. Ice is no fun! We don’t get much snow here, but we get a lot of ice. I have these grips that slip on over my shoes, and I wear them when it is icy. We have quite a hike out to the parking lot from where our apartment building is, and when the sidewalks are slippery you just pray!

    I do hope Ian will not put off getting those x-rays! What is it about guys that they don’t take care of themselves? My SIL in Ireland has strep and has been having a high fever, but he has not gone to the doctor. Grrrr!

    I pray you will be feeling better soon. Pea Hater and I are again fighting something, but I am just getting mad about it. Jesus is my Savior, and He is also my Healer. I refuse to keep getting sick! LOL! I know that sounds kinda silly, but I am just tired of being sick and tired. I decided I am going to take care of myself, but I am going to keep going and trusting in my Healer.

    Hopefully this morning I can get out to the shops before it gets too crowded and get just a couple of things I still need to buy. Then I will come home and keep baking. I have seven kinds of cookies made, and just a few more I want to do.

    Our kids got their Christmas package, and we got ours from Craig and Abby. So sweet of them! I finished the aprons I made. Most of the parties are over, and I think I am on target with all I have to do.

    Feel better!

    Blessings to you and your hubby!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads