January 13, 2009

  •  

    IMG_3371 Ian and Me 1-9-09 rs

    Here I am, with Ian, this past Friday morning … 
    and a very early morning, I might add, on the day that he left.

    Wow, I finally made it back, and it’s been a ‘whirlwind’, ‘in-a-fog’, and ‘wish-I-could-do-it-all-over-again-when-I’m-feeling-better’, week!  Being sick during a ‘surpise’ visit from your only son is not something you’d want to try!  Regardless of that, and my hubby’s broken ankle, we enjoyed what time we had together with Ian!  Please, bear with me while I catch you up on the past week. 

    As you read in the last post, Ian got in on Thursday night.  Then, on Friday morning, early, the guys went out together, to run some errands, and also did some much needed grocery shopping for the week.  The ‘cupboards were bare’, as we hadn’t planned on him coming!  That was the first morning, of many, that Ian fixed us all breakfast!  And boy, can he cook a mean breakfast!  After that, we lazed around, catching up, and then Ian went to a movie with a friend later that night.
     
    Saturday, after another ‘breakfast by Ian’, I mustered up enough energy, and we headed to a surprise birthday party at church for a good friend of ours.  Ian tagged along, but seemed bored … it was an ‘older’ birthday party, and since we came in two vehicles, he went on home a little early to catch up on some sleep.  I seemed to be feeling worse, so we weren’t far behind him!  It was a nice, quiet family night at home … just being together again was such a blessing!  
     
    Sunday, we went to church, even though I really shouldn’t have gone the way I was feeling, but I just couldn’t miss being there with Ian again!  After that we had dinner out with a few friends at a restaurant where they cook healthy Japanese food right in from of you. Yummy!  It’s one of Ian’s favorite spots, and he enjoyed that!  He tells us he eats lots of Sushi out in CA … I just don’t think I could bring myself to eat that!  I like my Chicken Yakisoba they cook there, too much! After that we headed home … Lew needed to get off that ankle, and I was starting to cough even more.  Ian helped us get settled in, and then got together with another friend for the evening. 
     
    Monday, was much the same … a great breakfast by my son, followed by another quiet family day … and yet again, Ian got together with another friend who wanted to see him.  Another highlight of the week, well actually two, one of which was on Tuesday … a friend picked him up and they went to the Porter’s (Tim & Miss Elizabeth’s family) to have a time of fun and fellowship!  I so wish I could have gone, but still too sick, and Lew felt he needed to stay home and off that ankle, as well, since it was still swollen.  Ian had a great time with his ‘second family’ that night! 
     
    Wednesday, Ian and Lewis ran some errands, and then went to see Mom Betty and O.P. to have lunch with them … they were anxious to see their only grandson!  They miss him alot!  Ian also made a trip to the chiropractor … that broken tailbone he got a couple of years ago, if you recall I had posted about, is bothering him again.  He felt better after seeing the doctor.  Me, well, I just basically stayed in bed … the cough, I came to find out from a friend who works for a doctor, said it lasts anywhere from 3 to 6 weeks … I think it’s about the 3rd week now, although, unfortunately, it got worse this past week when Ian was here, but today it seems quite a bit better.  (Figures … a couple of days after he leaves I start to feel better!!)  It had kept me up most of the night all week, so, needless to say, I’m still exhausted, and working at getting back to feeling normal again.  Ian had brought me his dirty laundry to wash … he loves me … I didn’t mind at all, so I was doing that through the week, along with ’dirty dish duty’ after he would cook for us.  
     
    The time he had with us came, all too quickly, to a close … so, on Thursday night, while quietly shedding those tears, I lovingly packed his clothes in his bag, and then helped get him ready to leave Friday morning.  I didn’t sleep much that night, again … and not all due to the coughing, either.  I didn’t want to think of him leaving … again.  My night was filled with prayers for my son.  He also shared that he wanted us to be in prayer for him … for wisdom as to what God’s will is for him concerning film school.  He’s been granted 2 scholarships and he hasn’t decided which one to go with, or even if he should go with either, right now.  He said if he went to one, it would keep him from moving back home permanently, for awhile.  Please keep him in your prayers.  We want, more than anything, for God’s will to become clearly evident to him! 
     
    We watched as he flew away Friday morning … so, it’s been a bit difficult for me the past few of days.  I need to focus on the Lord … He is my comforter … my peace.  I’ll be okay … the first few days are always a bit hard.  I’m thankful that he arrived safely in California that same afternoon.  I spoke to him that evening, our time, and he’s already back and hard at work for the church again.  I don’t have many photos of his visit either, but I’ll try to get what I do have posted soon. 
     
    Saturday, I worked at getting things back in order best I could here at home, but I mostly rested.  Hubby has had that illness known as, ’cabin fever’, so he was happy to hobble out into the cold rain that we had that morning, to go with a friend to breakfast, then to the men’s prayer meeting at church.  I’m glad he got to go out … he’s been going crazy cooped up with that ankle!  Also with this injury, his prison ministry is on hold, at least for him … a friend of his is filling in for him the next few weeks. 
     
    Sunday, he got a ride to church … he told me to stay home, and rest … I don’t like missing church, but I must admit I did agree with him, at the time, that I really shouldn’t go.  I wouldn’t want anyone to get what I have had!  Thankfully, neither Ian, nor Lewis, have gotten this … must be good immune systems … so, what happened to me?!!  Has anyone out there had this ‘congested cough’?!  I do know that Mucinex DM is helping me right now … wish I had that early on!
     
    And finally, Monday, or yesterday, my husband did go to work to supervise a job.  His friend came and drove the business van, since he isn’t able to drive for awhile yet.  Do say a prayer for him … he has to be there for 3 days this week, and I really don’t want him doing too much, too soon, on that foot.  He does have an appointment on Wednesday for more x-rays to see how it’s healing.  I’m praying for a good report!  When he got home last night, we headed out to the store to get in some groceries … we’re expecting some very cold temperatures this week, and we wanted to be prepared!  Ian also called me tonight while we were at the store  :o )  … he told me of some changes taking place at the church out there, and also, he wanted to share with me a new way we could do a video chat, so we’ll set that up today by phone.  It blessed me that he wanted to ‘see’ me so soon after he left! 

    Well, again, this is another long post … thank you all for still coming by, and for all of your sweet comments on this last post … I’ve missed coming by your sites so much … I know I’ve not been too good about my visiting habits lately … I do hope you’ll forgive me … I’ll be working on that this week!  
     
    Bless you all!
     Hugs,
        ~ Deborah <><

Comments (15)

  • :heartbeat:My heart goes out to you. I’m so glad you had a wonderful time with Ian. I hope you feel better real soon. God bless you and you are definitely in my prayer.

  • :sunny:Hi dearest Deb, hope today is a much better day for you. I think of you guys often and keep you in my prayers. Its cold here at 27 and not going to get much warmer..brrrrrrrrrrr! Get well soon dear friend.

    HuGs….Linda:love:

  • What a wonderful son for making a special breakie every day…
    so glad you got to see him for a while….and it would be wonderful if he moved back closer……take care and stay well now…. :sunny:

  • How nice for him to surprise you like that! I hope you both are feeling better soon though.

    Sarah

  • Oh hun…You know what I got from this whole week as I was reading it…you have a great son!!! You are truely blessed and you can rest in knowing God is with him always expecially because Ian choosees for God to be with him you raised him well!!!! I hope your hubbies ankle is not swollen any more and doing better??? what a crazy week you both had

  • :goodjob:Glad you had a great week with ian I like both pictures in last post and this one

  • :wave:  I’m so glad you got to spend some time with him =]  I know it will be so hard to let my babies go when the time comes.  Big ((hugs))

  • Thanks for the update. Sorry you have been feeling so rough. Sounds like you had a good visit with your sonny though! :) I’ve sure missed you around here.

    {{{{Hugs}}}}

  • Glad you had that wonderful surprise visit – I am missing my sons now that they have returned to college – it is quieter (my daughter is very quiet) and my food bill has definitely been reduced!

    Heather

  • I’m so sorry to hear you are still under the weather.  I pray you continue to feel better every day.  Those kinds of coughs are so hard to shake.  What a blessing to spend the time with Ian you were able to…memories I’m sure you’ll treasure forever.  I pray that Lew continues to heal quickly and that Ian hears from the Lord as to his next move.  God bless sweet friend. 

    P.S.  I always love your posts!

  • I shed a tear for you as I read how much you miss Ian. I will be going thru this in a while when my daughters get ready to leave the nest. I get so emotional now and they are only 10 and 14…I am praying for you all…I have been sick since the 20th of December and my congested cough turned to pnemonia and I ended up going on meds, however, they are done now and my cough is back so I can definitely relate to not sleeping well. Lots of love and prayers for you…(((HUGS))) a family in Eastern Canada is praying for you…

  • Thanks for catchin us up on your life.  I can imagine the sadnes of kind if getting in the comfortable lifestyle of having your son home and then having to say goodbye.  You must have wished that there was some reason for him to stay but I guess that’s part of being a parent-letting go.  I’ll be praying for Ian too.  That sounds like a tough decision, one that only leaning on the Lord with give the right answer to.  I’m still praying for your health, Deb, and your husbands also.  Lots of hugs and love, Elisha

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah! praying for you and Ian and Lew, too!……((((Hugs))))……..So glad your time with I an was good and comforting. I know that even though it is tough to see your child grow-up and make decisions we juat have to let them go. I always tell God in prayer, “thank you for letting me  be his Mother, but you truly are his Father and I trust in you in everything he does.”All we really can do is pray for them. Once they reach the age of independance that’s all we really can do. Hope your Tuesday is a Great Day! And Lew and you get rest and heal quickly! (((((Hugs)))))…….Just know you have a Sister in MO praying for you and thinking of you!……..In Christ’s Love……….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • Love you! I messaged you!

  • Awwww….I’ll be praying for you hon. I know you miss him terribly. And it doesn’t help either when you don’t feel good!!! (((HUGS)))

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads