January 16, 2009


  • A2

     
    Pursuing God ~

    We are often hindered from giving up our treasures to the Lord out of fear for their safety; this is especially true when those treasures are loved relatives and friends. But we need have no such fears. Our Lord came not to destroy but to save. Everything is safe which we commit to Him, and nothing is really safe which is not so committed.
    A. W. Tozer–The Pursuit of God

    Now, that’s a word that spoke directly to my heart today!  And not just this excerpt from the book by A.W. Tozer, but the title of that book, itself … The Pursuit of God!  How important is it to me to truly know Him … to know him intimately?  How much of my time do I put forth into activily ‘pursuing’ God?  Seeking His face … and delighting myself in Him moment by moment?  How important is it to me to truly know His will for my life? 

    Knowing His will is more valuable than all the treasures we could ever have, and we must always esteem knowing His will as the true treasure, and therefore make it the primary thing that we seek. 
    To pursue Him means striving for a more intimate relationship with Him.  It implies a continuous following through until we have attained the desired result, which in this case, is not only to be close to Him but also one with Him in all we are, and all we do. 
    Pursuing the presence of the Lord is to seek knowledge and information about Him. This we find in His Word, His love-letter to us.  I know more than anything, that my heart wants to pursue God, to seek His face, to delight in Him, to be devoted to Him, and to treasure His will for my life!  How about you?!  Let’s pursue Him together!

    Praying you’re all staying snug and warm!  We are about -10 here now, with a windchill of -25!!  Power lines went down about 2 blocks from our home, so we are right at the line where many homes are without electricity!  I’m so grateful we weren’t on that part of the grid, but I do pray for those that have no heat in these dangerous temperatures!  It’s always good to have a kerosene heater in times like these!  We are at least prepared with that … and lots of snuggly, warm quilts! 

    We have another show this weekend, which we are to set up at later today, but we may just reconsider, although the extra money sure would be a blessing right now!  We are supposed to have a ‘heat wave’ tomorrow, so if we can just get through this major cold spell today, we should be fine.  We may not have help, as we had hoped, so please say a prayer that God will direct us in what we should, or shouldn’t do, and that somehow we will have help!  Dear hubby has an appointment with the doctor this morning for x-rays to see how that ankle is setting, and he may give him the go ahead to drive.  Still not sure if it’s time yet … he’s been supervising a job this week, mostly sitting, but his ankle is still swollen.  My cough, I’m grateful to say, is much better.  I’m beginning to feel somewhat normal again.  We did bring our little ‘Miss Pookie’, the kitten, into the house, out of the cold, about the time Ian arrived for his visit.  Seems she and ‘Mr. Mooshie’ are getting along pretty fine … I’m glad he has a companion now!  It is not good for cat to be alone!  :o )   Well, I hope you’ll all have a very blessed weekend … I’ll be back on Monday to do more visiting to your sites, unless plans change, and we don’t do the show, then you’ll see me sooner.  Thank you so much for your prayers for our weekend!  Think of me warmly!

    tnlan[1]

     

     Hugs,
           ~ Deborah <><
     

       

Comments (9)

  • :sunny:Sending you some sunshine to warm all of you….can’t even imagine how cold that is….we have been having a heat wave here…very unusual for us to be in the low 80* in the mid of Jan…..sending warm hugs…and that is a very excellent book…I might have to look thru our book and read it again…. :sunny:

  • :heartbeat:Hi Deb, I pray you get an answer on the show for this weekend…I know I haven’t been around you in person but somehow I have gotten a bad cold with a sore throat…cough, cough…ugh! Our temps only got up to 25 today we are now slowly dropping again. This arctic freeze sure has effecting a lot of areas around us here in the south. I hope Lew gets a good report on his ankle. Thanks for the comment your so sweet!

    BiG HuGs:love:Linda

  • Helloes, Hugs & Blessings To You Deborah!

    ….hmmmm, seems that the comment I left you over by the snowman mug on my site somehow got cut in half, lol!  Sorry about that.  I am not sure if it’s a Xanga thing, or if I just talked too much!  LOL  

    So, I apologize for the un-finished comment…although when I wrote it, I did finish it!  :rolleyes:

    Hope your weekend unfolds with many sweet blessings, warm hearts-and-hands, and recouperated ankles.  You and your hubby will be in my prayers. 

    Thank you again for stopping by – I truly look forward to your future fellowship ~ you’ve already been a welcome blessing.  The Lord bless you back, dear!

    Hugs and more chai…oh and here’s a cocoa with whipped cream for you….Cookie:wave:

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah!…….May the Son shine on you with favor today and lew as well. I am praying Lew’s ankle is healing. I hope the Lord gives you confirmation about this weekends show. If you have it that He provides many hands to help. So glad your cough is better, too. Wasn’t the landing of the plan in N.Y. an amazing miracle of God’s Angels and grace!…..Hope you have an Awesome Day and so glad that Miss Pookie and Mr. Mooshie are getting along………..(((((HUGS))))))………..In Christ’s Love…..Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • We are cold here too!  I sure the electric doesn’t go out!! That wouldn’t be good =(

    I’m glad to hear you are feeling better.  I know a few people who have a cough that just hangs on right now.  Hoping your dear husbands ankle is healing well. 

    Snuggle up and enjoy some time together :heartbeat:

  • :sunny:what a beautiful post:sunny:

    Have a great day:)

    :heartbeat:Jen:heartbeat:

  • Hello! That quote from Tozer really touched my heart this morning. I appreciate you sharing it. I haven’t been by in a while, so I didn’t know that you were ill or your husband was hurt. I hope both of you are completely “mended” very soon. And we have some of that frigid below zero air here today, too. We’ll be staying in for sure.

  • I’m so glad you are starting to feel better! I pray you have wisdom to know what is best about the sale this weekend. May God send you a helper. Blessings!

  • Praying the help or no help showing up will be the answer to your uncertainty. Glad to hear you are feeling better and hoping your hubbies ankle is healing well.

    Temp. here is around -1 C tonight and the days about +2 or 3 sometines up to + 6. My brothers are in the -50′s in Winnipeg. Brrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    Glad you bought the kittie inside from the cold and that he has a warm home and a roommate! :)

    Bless you

    {{{{HUGS}}}}

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads