January 17, 2009

  • **PRAYERS NEEDED** 
    This is an update to the bottom of this post regarding the flooding at our church that happened yesterday!  Here is an email we just received today:

    This is a follow up to the earlier prayer request regarding the frozen sprinkler head, which in turn caused flooding.  The entire first floor of the building is flooded. The whole office area is flooded except for Jeremy Bialek’s office.  The foyer, most of the sanctuary, down both hallways, both bathrooms, the kitchen, under the stage, the rooms behind the stage, and the fellowship room. The insurance and restoration companies are already working well with us. Mr. Richards who works with the restoration company is a dad of one of the Wildcat basketball  players (the team that Jeremy coaches). More restoration will begin on Monday including: replacing drywall. Flooring, ect… We will have service on Sunday morning however there will be no pitch-in.

    Shane is currently working on an online album that will be posted at the end of this e-mail so that all of you may be able to see the intensity of the damage. Thank you for your continuing prayers, ICF Eldership Team

    P.S. This is the link to the website with photos of the damage: 

     
    ** Click on each photo to see it in a larger size! **
    http://s241.photobucket.com/albums/ff157/godrox221/Church%20pics/

    ** A quicker way to get through them in the larger size would be to watch this …
    you can click through them faster.

    http://s241.photobucket.com/albums/ff157/godrox221/Church%20pics/?albumview=slideshow

    ** I had no idea just how much damage broken sprinklers could do to a building, until I saw those pictures!  You can see in one of the pictures the water pouring in between the double doors at the entrance!  The site is at Photobucket for you to take a peek at, and if you would, please keep our church in your prayers … from what I can see, it will take some time to get things back to normal!  Regardless of this trial, we’ll all be there in the morning singing praises to our Lord!  Thank you all so much for your thoughts and prayers!  <><

     

      Bar Snow Village


    FYI:
      With all the snow around, well, for many of us, anyway, I thought it would be fun to share this with you!  I, personally, thought it would be a great gift for my hubby … his back tends to go out when he’s shoveling snow … that stuff’s heavy!!  This just might be our answer, huh, ladies?!  We have a small amount here now … and it’s still frozen to the ground, so right now, it wouldn’t do me much good!  But, winter is not over just yet!  For those of you who don’t have snow … well, I guess you wouldn’t be in the market for one of these, so, you can disregard this part of the post!!  I did find it interesting either way, though!


    Shovel well it's really a wovel

    THE SNOW WOVEL

    When shoveling snow, you usually end up throwing your back out, falling over, getting pneumonia, and eventually, you die.  Or you could start shoveling snow with the Wovel.  The Wovel Snow Shovel is this huge contraption with a big wheel and a snow shovel attached to it.  You use your body weight to move the snow around and clear out gigantic patches of snow.  The scoop on the front is enormous — “easily throws five foot piles of snow” — which makes the Wovel ideal for big jobs that need to be done quickly.  Personally, I’d like to find some little kids during a big snowfall and would chase after them with this thing.  Genius.  You can also pick up some accessories like foam grips.  Now all you need are bike pegs and you’re the next BMX/Wovel star.  If you demand to eradicate back pain this winter, grab yourself a Wovel for $120 and get to work.  The newly redesigned version goes on sale this month.

    - Courtesy of The Gadget Blog


    Bar Snowball and Snowflakes


    I do hope you’re all having a great day, staying warm, wherever you may be … I’m here, all warm and cozy, truly blessed, drinking my hot cup of tea!  We did not do the show this weekend because of some things that came up on the job for my husband, which made it a necessity for him to be there today, to supervise.  He got a glowing report from the doctor about his ankle yesterday … the x-rays showed the bone is healing very well, although it is still swollen, and was told not to lift anything heavy!  He did tell him not to use the crutches, or walker, any longer.  He said putting more body weight on it will promote healing … so, he has a tight velcro brace on it, which he’s to wear, continuously, now.  He can drive, but he can’t work on it just yet.  Also, we didn’t have the help we had hoped we’d have for the show … so with all this, we felt we had our answer, and decided to cancel this year.  We were concerned about the deposit we had paid way in advance for the booth space, but we were very blessed when hubby called the contact person for the show, to explain about his ankle, and us not having help, and his job … well, she was more than happy to transfer our deposit to the show for next year!  All we have to do is send a note to her stating why, and it would be done for us!  That was a miracle, because they normally don’t do that, especially when we called on the day we were to have set up!  God is good!  That took such a weight off of us … it can cost a pretty penny getting booth spaces at these events! 

    So, I’m home, catching up here today, Lewis is at the job, sitting, and supervising, the cats are playing (wrestling), we’re having a regular heat wave of 28* compared to the past couple of days, when the coldest reading here was -12*, with a windchill of -27 … (I also notice that it’s 67* where my son is in CA right now!)  I’m needing to do some ironing for church tomorrow … speaking of which, we got a call from the church yesterday … one of the sprinklers in the entrance hall broke, and water was pouring, not out the door, but going back into the main hall and sanctuary, and this was on a below 0* day! They finally got it shut off, and now they are trying to get it all dried out … they need prayer that they can get it all taken care of, and things work out with the insurance company!  They cancelled our pitch-in tomorrow because of it.  We’ll miss that!  It’s always such a great time of fellowship during most of the afternoon!  And, now, I’m wondering what to make for dinner here tonight … any suggestions?!  I was thinking of some lemon-herbed, baked fish, with steamed fresh veggies, and maybe a side of seasoned black beans and rice.  So, what are your plans for the weekend … perhaps, ‘woveling’ all that snow?!  :o )  Warm blessings on you all, and whatever your plans, I pray you have a wonderful Sunday! 

    WinterHotChocolateMugs2[1]  Hugs,
                                  ~ Deborah <><

    Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made
    the Lord his hope and confidence.
     - Jeremiah 17:7

    When God comes down, He removes the immovable difficulties.
    When God comes down, the impossible becomes reality.
    God moves on behalf of the one who waits. –
    Author unknown

     
     

Comments (12)

  • Oh…PS:  The Wovel looks quite intriguing – here’s raising my hand to give it a good workout, lol!  :goodjob:

  • Ooooh I will keep you all in my prayers!  For strength, energy, motivation, wisdom, discernment, and speedy-repairs! 

    I thought about ya over the weekend -  wondered if you were “sale-ing” or not – so glad you didn’t lose that deposit!  God is good, isn’t He?!

    Your meal selection is a manistay around my house – I love fish, veggies, rice, and black beans.  I eat fish at least twice a week…and beans, well, they’re almost a daily!  In fact, tonight is Vegan Mexican Lasagna (a new recipe…and no, I am not vegan, lol.  I just cook alot of things that way because I am wheat, sugar, red meat and dairy free.)  And yesterday was baked tilapia with home canned green beans. 

    So you’re a tea belly too, eh?  My new obsession is home brewed chai - oh I can’t get enough of it…I have to exercise alot of discipline not to guzzle the whole pot! 

    Hugs and blessings to you…and a dry church building! Thanks for the news and the update…will be praying! :heartbeat: 

  • :( O wow I am so sorry about your church.

    My prayers are w/ yall

    hugs, jen

  • Oh, my…what a mess! Hope you are able to get it fixed soon.

    I keep reading posts from all of you in cold places. I am glad to live in this warm area. At least….until next summer when we are over 100!

  • Oh that’s awful! Praying that cleanup will be quick and easy. Our church’s furnace died some time this weekend. Pipes were frozen, but praise the Lord, no flooding. We just bundled up and had church in our building regardless of the cold. I was thankful to snuggle next to my husband the whole time. It WAS cold! :heartbeat:

  • Deborah,

    That is SOME flooding! I will pray for your church. I hope the cleanup isn’t too taxing on people.

    I’m glad your husband’s ankle is doing better. Now you just have to get rid of that cough completely!

    Gina

  • Well — I knew that you had to keep pipes open or warm them to prevent them from freezing, but I didn’t realize how much of a mess it would make if they broke!  That wovel thing looks like a big joke — does it really help?  Glad to hear that your husband’s ankle is healing so well!

  • Oh i look at the picture so sorry that this has happen  i will be praying for your church and the ones that have the clean up to do some years ago are basement flooded and it was a mess to clean up we had to get all new carpet and some other things it’s getting the water out that was tough. and getting thing dry up.

    I am so glad that your hubby ankle is doing better will continue to hold him up in prayer your supper sounds great, we have very cold weather here and are expecting some more snow then next week we are to get in the 30′s yea!! have a great weekend and try and stay warm will catch up with you soon

                                            GOD BLESS,

                                                SANDY

  • that looks neat.  glad to hear the good news.  It’s good you got your deposit transferred!  You know the Carousel we go to closed and lots of people didn’t get their money back (if they bought advanced subscription or tickets or gift cert. etc).  Thankfully we did because we paid by credit card.  I would have been so upset to have close to $600  just gone =(  I hope that  most paid with some type of card.  It makes me sad for those who lost their money like that….it’s bad enough we don’t get to go anymore.  Tonight would have been our date night there =(

    Enjoy your evening :love:

  • YES! That is a good gadget!! LOL When Im shoveling….I put it in front of me and put my weuight on it and PUSH!! a wheel would make it go much nicer

    Im so impressed your hub dubs ankle is healing so well so soon I broke my hand ….my rigt hand and yes im right handed….sigh…..even with the cast on it, I managed to use it to much and it never heald right, they wanted to re- break it and re set it…..NOT!! LOL  I just deal with the pain I have sometimes.

    I dont know what the temp is here right now but I went out side with hubby and we dug the kittens out again and got them water. Its freezing to me!! But I stayed a minute with them and loved on them. My Cat rascal even came out and said hi to them….LOL

    I will talk about it and all my good new news  right now on my xanga…..give me a min or two…LOL:fun:

  • :sunny:Hello Sweet Deborah! Hope you are staying warm and cozy!……..We are having a heat-wave today! In the 30′s and the snow is melting………Hope you and Lew have a Blessed Sunday!………what time is Dinner?lol…….Sounds wonderful!……..I was wondering what to cook myself!…….Hope you have an Awesome evening! (((Hugs)))…….In Christ’s Love….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • We’re supposed to go out with friends if my husband ever gets home.  (sigh) I hope your dinner ends up as yummy as it sounds!  so glad to hear the good report about Lewis healing well and that you didn’t lose your deposit!  I hope you have a great weekend!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads