February 2, 2009

  •   

    untitled


    Well, it’s February, so I decided to change the look around here a bit!  It’s snowing again, just flurries, but none the less, it’s still snow … there are about 6 squirrels playing out in the backyard, and some of them are at the birdfeeder!  I’ve never seen so many here before!  Unfortunately, they’re eating all of the bird food!  We have a guard on the pole, but does that stop them?!  No!!  Persistent little things … well, they look pretty fat in my opinion!  I’ve also noticed an abundance of oversized robins over at my sisters house … already!  They really look large to me … we haven’t had any here at our birdfeeder, yet!  Hubby recently filled it, and we have some hungry critters out there this evening! 
     
    Well, I do hope your weekend was blessed!  We went to the antique mall, on Saturday, to do some restocking … then we walked around a bit, looking at some of the booths there.  We noticed that a few of them are empty, or selling out with high percentages off … which is not a good sign for the mall. I’ve noticed a few businesses have closed in our area these days. My husband’s work schedule is slow right now, but, we’re going to pray, and trust the Lord that our businesses don’t suffer!  If something does happen, we know that He is our Provider, and will meet all of our needs!  We need not be anxious … no matter what any of us are going through!  When we seek Him, He truly does ‘supply all of our needs according to His riches in glory’!  {Philippians 4:19}

    “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on.  Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not of more value than they?  And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?  And why are you anxious about clothing?  Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?  Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.  But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself.  Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.  {Matthew 6:35-34} 

    Bar Red Rose Vine

    When we were at the antique mall, I found an older Corelle Corningware percolator coffee pot, that I’ve been looking for since I accidently broke ours!  We had bought it at a garage sale, for $8.00, the first week we were married, and a couple of months ago, I set it on the edge of the counter, not looking at what I was doing … and I heard this thud, and a crash of tinkling glass!  It was a dear ’old friend’, always faithful, and making the best coffee in town!   Well, I have the ‘remains’, and haven’t had the heart to ‘bury’ it just yet!!  Back to the one I found on Saturday … Lewis really didn’t like the flower design that was on it, and it wasn’t the exact same model, or year, of the one I broke, but we thought we’d give it a try.  It was about $25.00, but, we have looked, and most perculators, these days cost twice that much, and then some!  This one was in great condition … notice, I said WAS!  When I carried it to the car, the sack, which was very thin, ripped, falling out of my hands, and landing on the concrete … !! oops !! …. more tinkling glass!  Well, I had a moment, or two, of severe disappointment, but then I got to thinking … the Lord knows, and maybe the cord was bad, and He was protecting us from a fire … ever feel like that?!  When things happen, and you wonder why … well, we can find peace, and comfort, in knowing that He sees way beyond what we do … He knows best!  I’ll find another one … eventually!  In the meantime, we’ll just continue to use our other backup, or, then again …. maybe give up drinking coffee altogether!  We only make it on the weekends anyway, but since my hubby’s been home with his ankle, we’ve been drinking it more often, and it sure does smell good, while perkin’!  But, I’m having a nice hot cup, or two, of Irish Breakfast Tea, today!  I prefer tea, anyway!  Much healthier!  And also, yesterday, I was reading about how even the smallest things can so easily become idols in our lives.  Made me realize that I have one, or two, to get rid of ……. 
     
    Sunday, we had a wonderful service at church with people sharing testimonies of how God is working in their lives … when you hear that, it is so encouraging, and helps to grow our faith!  After church we went to a very small chinese restaurant, and I had some broccoli chicken, fried rice, egg drop soup, and hot green tea.  It was a simple meal, but very good.  We left there and went to visit my sister.  We found out that they will be moving away, about 2 hours from us, but they will continue working here and commuting … so I will still get to see her!  It just won’t be as easy to drop in and visit, like we do now.  They will be moving into his mother’s home, who recently passed away.  They, like many, been struggling with finances lately, and since the house was completely paid for, things will work out much better for them financially.  Later, yesterday afternoon, we went to a friend’s house to eat a lite dinner, and then play some cards … a game called, ‘Pounce’.  It was new to me, but it was fun!  All in all, it was a full, and blessed day. 

    Today, I’ve been working on my to-do list, thinking of completely rearranging our rooms … changing things up a bit.  We are hoping to move, but in the meantime, we need to be faithful here, and be content with what we have now … God knows the right place, and the right time to move us!  Well, my hubby will be home in a bit, so I’m going to go put on our pot of chili to warm-up … we need to eat our leftovers, and chili is even better a day, or two, later!  And, we still are getting those snow flurries!!  Blessings on your day!! 

    chbiblegrouping Hugs,
                           ~ Deborah <><

    P.S.  Just got this email from my brother … here is a recipe that sounds easy, and delicious!  I’m fond of carrot cake … it was the type of cake we had at our wedding, with apple cider, and not punch!  I think I have all the ingredients for this version on hand, so I may just make this to go along with another cup of that tea!  Enjoy! 

    CarrotCakeAmber


    Carrot Cake

     
    Ingredients:
    1 box (about 18-1/4 oz.) yellow cake mix with pudding in the mix
    2 tsp. ground cinnamon 
    1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
    1/2 tsp. ground ginger
    3/4 cup Hellmann’s® or Best Foods® Real Mayonnaise
    3 eggs
    2 cups shredded carrots
    1 can (8 oz.) crushed pineapple, drained
    1/2 cup chopped walnuts
    Cream cheese frosting or whipped cream (optional)
     
    Preparation:

    Preheat oven to 350°.

    Grease and flour a 13 x 9-inch baking pan, a bundt pan, or two (9-inch) round baking pans; set aside.

    Beat cake mix, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger in large bowl, with electric mixer on low speed until blended.

    Add Hellmann’s® or Best Foods® Real Mayonnaise, eggs, carrots and pineapple; beat 30 seconds or until moistened.

    With mixer on medium speed, beat 2 minutes. Stir in walnuts. Pour into prepared pans.

    Bake 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean.

    Cool 10 minutes on wire rack; remove from pans and cool completely. Just before serving, frost cake. 
    Yield:  Serves 12.  Enjoy!

Comments (10)

  • :wave:Howdy, That cake looks real good. My mom always made the best carrot cake. I miss it. have a good week and thanks for all of your comments. im sorry Im not here as much as my wife is LOL:fun:

  • :goodjob: Awesome attitude!! We are truley ment to be friends I think that way too. when something happens I have learned that maybe God was protecting us from something. Just this last saturday when we went into a store I wanted to leave bacuse the prices were so much higher then walmart, so we went to the car and the left brakes were locked…weird and then my hubby said well, we will just drive to walmart and you can shop while i fix that, so we got in the car and it woudlent even start:eek: I did not get angry or fusterated. My husband said, well go back into this store and do your shopping. I almost got upset because I DID NOT want to pay there high prices…..but I obeyed…LOL and I went in and froogled and did my shopping. I did very well with Gods help well, as we got back into the car It started right up and the back left brake unlocked:eek: I looked at William and I said GOD was keeping us from something bad.

    The house I am moving too has lots of bird feeders How fun for me But there is snow everywhere and its so deep, I dont even know what the yard looks like LOL so in Spring I will have lots of suprises LOL, well I better get back to moving, I just had to come say hi to you. If I disapear….its only because there taking forever to hook up my internet ok

  • Have you ever heard of one of the commandments regarding coffee making? Thou shalt not perc. It really has its own flavour. :lol: That is disappointing about dropping it though. But you had such a good attitude about it.

    Did you click on the link on my blog about coffee and alzheimers? Aah, that’s spelled wrong and because I can’t right click I can’t fix it. I know why you have no right click though. It just disables my spell check. It’s disabled on one of my own sites, too. :spinning:

    About squirrels, I kind of miss them. We had a squirrel feeder in Omaha. Here, coyotes or other undesirables take care of that. :eek:

  • Hello:sunny:,

    I love the look here its so you…:heartbeat:…I hope that your business prospers. I have sent you an email about the box codes they are great when you cannot see the writing. I have never seen a carrot cake recipe with mayo weird. But it looks scrumpcious. So sorry about the Corningware percolator coffee pot I remember my mom using one all the time. I just would have a problem remembering it was on the stove…lols..I would burn it up! I am going to send you a message. Ok, deary I will be out and about today in the freezing cold as its 33 here and not suppose to get any warmer….and the groundhog saw his shadow and 6 more wks of winter ugh! Did I say that right he saw his shadow or he didn’t I can’t remember….old age…lols!

    Hugs dear friend………Linda:love:

  • I LOVE the new look! It’s so … pretty! :love: I hope hubby’s doing better with the ankle. Your carrot cake recipe sounds yummy, too. Cream cheese frosting … mmmmm…. :lol: Hope you can find a “new” coffee pot, soon. I really appreciate your wonderful attitude. :heartbeat:

  • By the way I love the look of your site and the top image looks like a framed art things I’ve got hanging in my dining room from home & garden!

  • I’m glad you had a good weekend.  I need to work on some goals and lists too.  Thanks for the inspiration.  I hope you have an excellent week!

  • That recipe does look easy! I’ll bet it’s good. ~~ Love the new look on your site. You always make it so welcoming and pretty. ~~ It is good to know that God will take care of us no matter what! Even if He has to make manna! LOL! I am sure He still has the recipe. :p Still no news on the car. Thanks for continued prayers. I am kind of getting tired of being stuck at home. We have been able to bum rides to church and to meetings, and hubby does our shopping on his bike. We are doing some fasting this week, so there isn’t too much to buy. :wink: It’s another gray day here. I am so tired of gray and brown. I think I need to put on some good, uplifting music and praise my wonderful worthy Lord for a while. Nothing like doing that to lift the mood and chase away the mullygrubs! HUGS!

  • I love this background. I use to have a skirt with almost the same print on it. It was my favorite.

    Sorry about those coffee pots. I have one that was my grandmother’s Corningware pot. We use it to make wassail at Christmas time. I use a drip pot for coffee. You could be right about that cord :wink: We were on our way to the church one morning for a work day, when we had a flat tire….right in front of Walmart. My thought was God probably saved us from being run over by a dump truck at the beltway. They regularly run the lights there. But he allowed us to at least be in a place where we could easily get help…Walmart! (What better place?) :goodjob:

    Man….now I want carrot cake with cream cheese icing…:(

  • :sunny:Well Hello Sweet Deborah! Beautiful new look! You do have a gift of decorating and making me feel welcome!……Too bad about the coffee pot, but, you are right, only God knows why!……..Hope Lew’s leg is healing. We just have to look around us and feel blessed with what we have and know that God is carrying all our worries and troubles and continues to provide blessings!……..My song went well , but , I will say that it was all God! I woke up at 6:ooa.m. with a raging throat on fire and couldn’t carry a note. I took some more meds and went back to bed dismayed and prayed and asked Him what to do? He reminded me that this was His song and He was in control. So, I got back-up took my shower and dressed and went to the Church at 8:30.am knowing that the Worship Team was practicing and decided to wait until I could talk with Pastor, but next thing I know, Pastor wanted me to do a quick sound check, we had just got a new sound board, so I tried a couple of lines and that was it.  I was at peace and I felt God guiding me and controling all nerves and doubts. After worship Pastor made annoucements than announced me to come up and sing, I told God that it’s all YOU!……And not a missed note or sour sound , my voice as if it was 100%! Afterwards my Pastor’s wife was in tears and said she thought it really was touching and needed to be sung. When I spoke she could tell than that I have a cold, she looked bewilderd, and said she would have never have known! I confessed I almost called her after waking-up, but told her that it was All God!…….The song sung:”In Christ Alone!”…….I get tears every time I think about how Amazing is His love like no other!………Well enough about me! Hope you and Lew have a Wonderful evening! Thank You for your prayers and friendship! ………In Christ’s Love…..Monic

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads