March 11, 2009

  • Catch Up and Cat Talk


    I’m finally back …. but first I wanted to share a couple of photos of my ‘kids’ ahead of my update … hope y’all don’t mind!  It does seem that the photos look fuzzier here, unless you add them by using HTML.  This was quicker, though.  Well, the ‘kids’ are getting along pretty well … they spend the day taking turns ‘attacking’ one another.  I feel like a referee at times, making sure no one gets hurt!  I need a whistle!

    IMG_4675 rt Pookie The Eyes have it rs

    Here we have our Miss Pookie
    … yes, she really does have ears! ;o) 
    I accidentally cropped them when I was taking the photo.
    This is the best one I’ve gotten of her so far …
    I’ve been trying to get more of her,
     
    but, she doesn’t sit still very long … always on the go!
    She’s also known around here as, Pooks, Pooksie, or sometimes Missy-Girl.
    Yeah, I know … I’m confused at times, too!
    I’ve even called my hubby Pookie … or Mooshie!
    She’s still very small, a lightweight, with big, bright golden eyes,
    and I have no idea what color to call her …
    ‘mottled’ seems to come to mind! 
    Someone said she is a ‘tortoise shell color’ …
    she doesn’t look much like any turtle I’ve ever seen!  :o )
    She has the most gentle personality, and she comes quick as a wink when I call her name.
    Her tail wags more like a dog’s tail, back and forth,
    whereas, Mooshie’s tail seems to ’float’ in the wind! 
    With the warmer weather, she’s really beginning to shed, and the fur is flying!! 
    Does anyone know if there is any help for that?
    She’s definitely worse with that, than the Moosh has ever been! 

    IMG_3641 my mooshie the eyes have it rs

    And of course, our older guy … Mr. Mooshie
    {aka. The Moosh}
    No confusion here!
    Gray, thick fur, with bright lime green eyes
    Loves to ‘romp and roll’!
    Very independent … stubborn, you could say.
    But you know that you’re loved by him.
    Doesn’t seem to mind sharing toys, bed, and even food.
    Sneaky critter, though … he’s always eating the ‘kitten’ food!
    When I catch him at it, all I have to do is give him ‘the look’,
    and he’s well aware that he’s done something wrong, 
    then immediately makes a quick get away under the couch! 
    He’s very solid, and strong, but he’s putting on the pounds … a heavyweight! 
    He’s very ‘mushie’!  I think a diet is in our forseeable future! 
    They are both such a joy to have around, and I’m blessed to have them! 

     The End Cat

    Okay … it’s been just a bit long since my last log-in & update, so I thought I’d better let you know that I’m doing better now … still working at getting my strength back, but the coughing is almost completely gone!  Yesterday was the best day so far for me, and I’m praying that by Friday I’ll be pretty much back to normal … we have a 3 day show this weekend starting on Friday, and I have to be there alone Friday to set up because hubby has to be away on a job then! 

    It was quiet last week/weekend for me … warmer, and I even had to turn on the air conditioner!  I’m just so spoiled on cooler weather, I guess!  Anyway, yesterday was the warmest, in the 70′s, but a storm blew through, bringing with it some 40 degree cooler temperatures for the day today.  It was in the 30′s, and I even heard that tonight it’s going to be around 19*!  It’s crazy, I tell ya! 
     
    I spoke to Ian in CA … some sad news about what I shared in my last post … that house that he was going to be staying in for the summer is no longer available for us to stay in if we go visit.  The person’s schedule changed and they aren’t going to Iraq now.  We’re still wanting to go out and see him, though … we’re praying that the Lord sends some more work our way so we can afford to go, and then stay somewhere there.  Ian lives in a house with about 6 other young men from his church college group … no room there for us!! Lol!  Although, I wouldn’t mind being ‘den mother’ for a little while!  I don’t think they’ve had any homecooked meals, well, nothing that wasn’t prepared in a microwave, anyway!  He did say that they will be moving out when their lease is up in September.  I asked him if he might be coming home … he said, not just yet.  He mentioned a job opportunity that might be coming up for him, too.  Do you remember me telling you about a movie that he helped with, back before he left Indiana?  Filmed by a local producer, it’s an independent film called, The Broken Road The Movie … Ian was even in it during a funeral scene … he cried right on cue … but really, it is very inspiring, and if you have a chance, I do recommend it.  Anyway, he may be helping them out on some future projects, which may bring him home more often!  We are trying to figure out a plan for a trip out … flying, driving, maybe a train … we’ll check out all the options, then decide.  I want to walk along the beach, and sit with my son while watching the sun set!  He’s always telling me how beautiful it is!
     
    I have missed being here and visiting with everyone … but, after the next two weekends of shows, we should be running at a slower pace, other than our decluttering, and spring cleaning, which we want to get through at a record pace!  I’m so ready for an OrGaNiZeD hOmE!  So, how are you all doing … have you started on your spring cleaning?!  It doesn’t feel much like spring here today, but still, it’s definitely in the air!  Well, I’m off to pack up the soap, and candles, to get ready for the ‘really big show’ this weekend!  At least, I’m praying that it will be!  You all have a wonderful, and blessed week, and remember, there is joy in the journey!  I’ll be by to catch up soon! 
     
    Smilie Cat Hugs,
                ~ Deborah <><
     

    Bar Red Rose Vine

    Here’s something I received in my email I thought I’d share … it’s worth the read!
    Good Mood … or Bad Mood?
     
    John is the kind of guy you love to hate.  He is always in a good mood and always has something positive to say.  When someone would ask him how he was doing, he would reply, ‘If I were any better, I would be twins!’  He was a natural motivator.  If an employee was having a bad day, John was there telling the employee how to look on the positive side of the situation.  Seeing this style really made me curious, so one day I went up and asked him, ‘I don’t get it!  You can’t be a positive person all of the time.  How do you do it?’ 
    He replied,
     
    ‘Each morning I wake up and say to myself, you have two choices today.  
    You can choose to be in a good mood or … you can choose to be in a bad mood.
     
    I choose to be in a good mood.  
     
    Each time something bad happens, I can choose to be a victim or …
    I can choose to learn from it.  
     
    I choose to learn from it.
    Every time someone comes to me complaining, I can choose to accept their complaining or …
    I can point out the positive side of life.  I choose the positive side of life.’

    ‘Yeah, right, it’s not that easy,’ I protested.

    ‘Yes, it is,’ he said. 
     
    ‘Life is all about choices.  When you cut away all the junk, every situation is a choice.  You choose how you react to situations.  You choose how people affect your mood.  You choose to be in a good mood or a bad mood.
    The bottom line:  It’s your choice how you live your life.’

    I reflected on what he said.  Soon hereafter, I left the Tower Industry to start my own business.  We lost touch, but I often thought about him when I made a choice about life, instead of reacting to it.
     
    Several years later, I heard that he was involved in a serious accident, falling some 60 feet from a communications tower.  After 18 hours of surgery, and weeks of intensive care, he was released from the hospital with rods placed in his back.

    I saw him about six months after the accident. 
    When I asked him how he was, he replied, ‘If I were any better, I’d be twins … wanna see my scars?’

    I declined to see his wounds, but I did ask him what had gone through his mind as the accident took place.
    ‘The first thing that went through my mind was the well-being of my soon-to-be born daughter,’ he replied.

    ‘Then, as I lay on the ground,  I remembered that I had two choices:  
    I could choose to live or…I could choose to die.  
    I chose to live.’ 
     
    ‘Weren’t you scared?  Did you lose consciousness?’  I asked. 
     
    He continued,

    ‘…the paramedics were great.  They kept telling me I was going to be fine.  But when they wheeled me into the ER and I saw the expressions on the faces of the doctors and nurses, I got really scared. 

    In their eyes, I read, ’he’s a dead man’.  I knew I needed to take action.’
    ‘What did you do?’ I asked.
    ‘Well, there was a big burly nurse shouting questions at me,’ said John.

    ‘She asked if I was allergic to anything. 

    ‘Yes, I replied.’  The doctors and nurses stopped working as they waited for my reply.
     
    I took a deep breath and yelled, “Gravity”!!!!!

    Over their laughter, I told them, ‘I am choosing to live.  Operate on me as if I am alive, not dead.’
    And he lived, thanks to the skill of his doctors, but also because of his amazing attitude.
    I learned from him that every day we have the choice to live fully.
    Attitude, after all, is everything.

    Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus:
    ~ Philippians 2:5
     
    Therefore do not worry about tomorrow,
    for tomorrow will worry about itself.
    Each day has enough trouble of its own.  
    ~ Matthew 6:34.
    After all, today is the tomorrow you worried about yesterday.

    Now go with a good attitude, and greet the day! 
     

Comments (10)

  • So happy that cough is almost gone and that you are starting to get your energy back! I do hope something will still work our for you and Lewis to go for a visit! Well, as you know, I am up to my neck in packing my bags! I leave VERY early tomorrow morning. I will fly from Denmark to Frankfurt, then to Washington, and then on to Rochester, NY. I hope you are selling LOTS of soap and candles! :wink:

  • Hi Deborah, It looks like we have been having the same sort of yucky germies flowing around here as you have had there. I love that story that you got via e-mail. I have read it before, but it is excellent! I am praying that you and your hubby can still go to be with Ian for a time of reunion and rest.

    Those cats are so different in looks and in temperament, but both are very distinctive in their looks!  Both are beautiful! I don’t think that I have ever seen a cat with the coloration of  Pookie. Quite a unique look… the photo looks like a painting.

    I hope you are feeling much better this weekend. Have a blessed Sunday. Love, Carolyn :love:

  • So glad you are feeling better. I hope you continue to regain your strength. It was nice reading a post from you again!

  • I’m so glad to hear you are feeling better!  I hope you are able to go visit your Ian!  That would be so special!  I haven’t gotten ahead on any spring cleaning yet.  This time of year here, I’d probably get it clean and then a good thaw would come and mud would be everywhere. . .well not everywhere  . . .another excuse I think I made for myself.  I’m glad that you’d had some nice weather!!  I hope have much success at the shows!  Love, Elisha

  • Just love the pics and descriptions of both kitties!  They are adorable and look happy.  My Maxx could use a diet too…he’s about 13 years old and when you pick him up his parts (stomach mostly) go every which way…his a chubby one.  I will be praying that the trip to go to CA to visit Ian becomes possible. May you have a blessed weekend dear Deborah. 

  • So glad that you are finally feeling better…..good news about Ian and a future job…..blessings

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend! Praying for your strength and energy! …….So sorry to read about the change in plans for Ian. But God does know best! And it is ovious He doesn’t want him to house-sit! I will continue to pray for God to make a way for you and Lew to go to Cali!……..Cute pics of the kitties:goodjob:…………SherKhan and Beauty now make a game of chase with each other when they feel like playing. He isn’t hissing at her any more. He loves to jump on her and attack her! But gently! I just worry because he weighs so much more than her that he’ll squish her!lol…….Don’t know what to tell you about Pookie’s shedding. You may call the Vet and ask! Well, I hope you have a Great Day! ((((((((HUGS))))))))…………….In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • Organized house? What is that? I don’t recognize that term :lol:

    Your kitties are so pretty. Miss Pookie is a brindled calico, since she has some white. If she had no white, she’d be a tortoise shell.

    We’ve been in the 80′s, but the front is coming through tonight, and it will be in the 40′s tonight. And it’s supposed to rain all weekend. We were supposed to have a church garage sale, and Brandon and Rachael are supposed to start moving into their house. Beth didn’t even wash her car…that’s what usually brings the rain :giggle:

  • Hey hun, good to see ya online. I have really missed you around here. I pray you have great sales at the craft fair this weekend.

    Your kitties lok so adorable! Must be alot of fun to watch them together.

    Headin bak to the books, just wanted to say hello my sweet friend.

    {{{{hugs}}}}

  • Oh my goodness! Mr. Mooshie looks just like the cat I had when I was in school!!!!! I really miss that cat, he was awesome!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads