March 23, 2009


  • flowers multi

    Tag heart Wow, I sure hope you haven’t forgotten me!  It’s been one week since I posted!  Well … I told you it was going to be a busy week for me here, and it certainly was!  I wanted to share a little blessing that came my way this past week.  My son had helped me purchase a camera before he left for CA, and I’ve always wanted to turn it into a small business with him, once I learned how to use all that it had to offer, and after having lots of practice … a whole lot!!  Well, I had an opportunity to go with a group of seasoned photographers to do a ‘photo shoot’ for some practice this past Thursday!  My husband and I both went to meet a friend who had invited us along.  Once we got downtown, met everyone, (a great group of people, and mostly wedding photographers) we just started walking, looking for places to ‘shoot’.  This practice was for ‘portraits’, and we all were taking photos of one another.  It really was fun … nothing like I’d ever experienced with a camera in my hand, and it was really good experience … I learned alot!  I must say, though, for me personally, I’d much rather be behind the camera than in front of it!  

    After about 2 hours, and lots of ‘captured images’, we were all getting hungry, so we trouped to a really great pizza place downtown called, BazBeaux … it has such a quaint, cozy atmosphere … I almost felt like I was in Italy, or somewhere other than downtown Indy!  We all ordered our own personal pizzas (made with different kinds of fresh ingredients, and herbs) … it was fantastic!  We never knew that place even existed until then!  I think … no … I know we’ll be going back!  This group will be having more of these ‘shoot-arounds’ downtown, about once a month.  I find myself looking forward to the next one!  I want to learn all I can, and it was such a blessing to have been invited along with this group!  If you don’t mind, I’ll share one of the photos I took of my sweet friend, Vanessa … who, also, is an aspiring photographer, and the one who had invited us to this group!  She’s also an acomplished pianist, and a beautiful Christian young lady … and I might add, very photogenic!  I love the old buildings we found … they make really nice backdrops for the photos.

     
     
    facebook size


     
    I have lots more photos from the shoot, but I really don’t want to bore you too much!  I’ve been working on a photography site, here on Xanga, where I’ll be sharing more as I go along … I’ll post a link to that soon!  Anyway, after all that excitement on Thursday, we had our show this past weekend, which started on Friday … we were extremely busy, and God truly blessed our sales!  The weather has been beautiful here, and that helped to bring out everyone who’s been couped up for so long!  It’s hard to believe, but do I think spring has finally sprung!  I hope you’re all having warmer weather, and clear skies!  I’ve really missed being here, and checking in with you, but sometimes life just gets busy!  It should slow down for us now, as this was the last show, until possibly the end of May, but we haven’t decided whether or not to do that one, yet.  Otherwise, we’re free until August!  Seems so far away, but I’m sure time will fly … it seems to be traveling faster and faster, the older I get!  Anyone else notice that, besides me?!  Well, I am hoping to slow down a little … at least for this coming week!  I really need to catch up with you all … it’s been far too long!  But first, I’ll leave you with an email that I received awhile back … this one kinda makes you go ‘hmmm’!  Hope you all have a wonderful and blessed Monday!  See you soon!

    Tag heartHugs,
             ~ Deborah <><
     
    Only in America …. can a pizza get to your house faster than an ambulance.

    Only in America …. are there handicap parking places in front of our skating rinks.

    Only in America …. do drugstores make the sick walk all the way to the back of
    the store to get their prescriptions, while healthy people can buy cigarettes at the front.

    Only in America …. do people order double cheeseburgers,
    large fries, and a Diet Coke.

    Only in America …. do banks leave both doors open
    and then chain the pens to the counters.

    Only in America …. do we leave cars worth thousands of dollars in the driveway
    and put our useless junk in the garage.

    Only in America …. do we use answering machines to screen calls and then have call waiting
    so we won’t miss a call from someone we didn’t want to talk to in the first place.

    Only in America …. do we buy hot dogs in packages of ten and buns in packages of eight.

    Only in America …. do we use the word ‘politics’ to describe the process so well:
    ‘Poli’ in Latin meaning ‘many’,  and ‘tics’ meaning ‘bloodsucking creatures’.

Comments (10)

  • Hi friend! 

    I loved the “Only in America” things, they are too funny [and too true!]

    Have a great day!

    Love,

    Jennelle

    P.S.   Your photo’s are wonderful [way better than any pics I have ever taken!]

  • Sounds like you had a wonderful time.  I would love to see more of your pics.  I got a new camera a year ago and would love to learn more about photography.  You are so blessed to have the group you do.

  • That is a funny one about politics…… :lol: :lol: :lol:

    Glad that your shows are busy….yes, it is finally Spring…I need to put up a few Easter decorations and get it springy looking in the house…..blessings :sunny:

  • She really is a pretty lady!

    We all love photography. I’ve done many weddings…my favorite thing to shoot. My husband use to do a lot of photography, and even did an album cover for a Christian band. Bethany has an eye for things that most people don’t see. She very often takes a photo and overlays an appropriate scripture, and then gives them as gifts. When Brandon and Rachael bought their house, I took the pic of the front of the house, blurred it, and overlaid a prayer for their home. I framed it in a black and burgundy frame.

    Only in America …. do we buy hot dogs in packages of ten and buns in packages of eight.

    That may just be a genius sales tactic. If you have leftovers from either package, you need to go back and buy more of the other!

  • :sunny:Hi Deborah,

    So glad this past weekend was properous for ya. I love that photo and just know that all of yours are good.HuGs…….Linda

  • Welcome back :)   Nice photo!  Those Only In America were interesting.

  • :heartbeat:Hi Deborah! I did not forget you! I was so glad to hear about your photographic adventure! It is just the kind of thing I am interested in. I am very busy right now anyway but if I find something like this I will fit it in! It is not very warm here yet…it keeps swinging up and down. Blessings to you!

  • Sounds like you have have a wonderful time! You always did take good photos.  Glad to here you got to spend some time with our son too and are back in good health. God bless!!:heartbeat:

  • So happy to hear everything is going well.  Great photo of your friend.  I am so glad the show was a big success.  I loved the “Only in America”…how true.  I look forward to your photography Xanga and will check it out when you post the link.  Have a blessed day IN HIM. :love:

  • :sunny:Hello Sweet Deborah! ((((Hugs))))) I am so grateful that you and Lew were blessed with a good outcome this weekend! PTL!………Sounds like you had a very exciting Thursday! Jess had  one of his many photos take 2nd place @ Central Missouri University at a state Art Show! We are very proud of him. It is actually the photo on my myspace of the windows that he uses as  his banner to advertise his photo site………I actually saw some pics of you on face book that your friend had taken. I must agree with her, you are very photogenic!:goodjob:……………Well I hope you get plenty of rest and have a Marvelous Monday! Our busy time of year has arrived at my Company (QT)……..So I will be working long days until 5:00 p.m. -6:oop.m.  lots of job security!………..God Bless!………In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads