April 7, 2009


  •  spring1 2

    Hope you’re all doing well!  We had a good weekend … full of friends, family and fellowship!  We had our homeschool convention both Friday, and Saturday.  It was so good to see everyone, and spend time browsing through books.  There was also the children’s conferences going on, so we spent a little time with some of Ian’s friends.  He used to be involved in that, as well, and he is missed.  On Saturday, we left a bit early to have dinner with our Aunt Martha, her daughter, and hubby who came in from out of town for a few days to see Mom Betty and O.P..  Aunt Martha is O.P.’s sister, and she won’t be traveling too much in the future … she is also getting up in years.  They travel from Oklahoma and it’s getting harder on her.  We enjoyed a dinner out at Carrabba’s … Aunt Martha’s treat, and then made plans for Sunday.  After church, which was awesome I might add … God is doing a new thing … we headed over to the retirement home, and had a delicious lunch, and more time of fellowship.  O.P. is getting very frail … please keep him in your prayers.  He’s forgetting things alot, now, although, his sense of humor is still intact!  He has some really quick comebacks that make us all laugh!  Mom Betty is physically slower, but her mind is sharp.  We’re going to see them again this coming week.  They are planning an Easter dinner on Saturday at Lewis’ sister’s house, but we’re not sure if we’ll be able to go, as it is the day the church has planned to work on some of the landscaping, and Lewis is partly in charge of that … so we’re hoping he gets done with that fairly early in the day, but that remains to be seen, although, if it rains, well, we can definitely be there for dinner!  Lewis is torn, and feels bad, but they’ve had this planned for awhile now at the church.  Something will work out, it always does! 

    Hope you’re all having a good start to the week!  Hubby’s work schedule is very slow this week, so he was home yesterday, and we piddled around here.  We had some snow yesterday morning … nothing much to speak of, though.  It is very cool, which I’m happy about.  It won’t be long before we’re all sweating again!  The Extreme Home Makeover is now over, and from what my friend, Vanessa, tells me, everything went very well!   If you’re interested in seeing some of the photos you can catch them over at
    Vanessa’s Xanga site here.  There are also links to her Facebook page with more photos!  She did a great job on capturing those ‘busy bees’ at work, along with some other special shots, as well!  The house is absolutely stunning … and I’m anxious to see the episode that will air on May 17th … Vanessa will be in a clip, so needless to say, she is excited. The McFarland family has such an inspiring story to tell, so I hope you’re able to catch it when it airs! 

    I’ll end with a devotional that touched my heart yesterday … sometimes, with our busy schedules, it can be so hard to find the time, and place to get quiet before the Lord, to hear what He’s speaking to our hearts, and that is so very vital to our spiritual growth!  This encouraged me, and helped me to realize just how much He longs to bring us into that rest … to be still, and to know!  I hope it speaks to your heart, as well!   Have a blessed day in Him!    Hugs ~ Deborah <><


    Bar Leaves Thin Vine Down

    The Gift of Stillness 
    By:  Julie Todd

    ‘Be still and know that I am God’
    Psalm 46:10

    It’s late.  Nothing is moving about in the house, except for my fingers upon the keyboard.  All work has shut down, bringing our house to a time of rest. Noise of the busy household is silenced, shutting out distractions.  The senses are sharper at this time of night, allowing me to hear the softer noises of my home.  There’s something about the stillness of the night that invites me.

    It takes me back a few years.  The words were becoming so repetitive I knew He was trying to tell me something.  He kept saying to me, “Be still, my love and know I am God.”  I’d known this scripture for as long as I could remember, yet there was something about the way it kept coming to me that alerted me to His invitation.

    Truthfully, it wasn’t one of my favorite verses.  In fact it frightened me.  What was stillness any ways? I had never been still a day in my life.  I was accustomed to putting forth my efforts for Him.  It made me feel good.  Wasn’t it what good Christians did.  Wasn’t I supposed to be busy for Him?

    What did it mean to be still?  How do I get there?  Having been one who loved having an agenda I waited to get “the plan” so I could get busy.  Nothing came.

    I couldn’t reason my way in.  I couldn’t figure it out and quite frankly the more I tried the more I fell away weary and frustrated.  If I was going to find this place of stillness God would have to take me in.  Finally, exasperated, I gave up.

    It’s quite the paradox.  As I gave up God began to move.  He swept me up into His arms and invited me into my rest.

    I began to discover His life in me.  He began to show me the things that mattered to Him.  He removed my efforts and told me about His.  Distractions began to be removed revealing that still small voice.

    In I Kings 19: God told Elijah that His presence was going to pass by Him.  A great wind came and tore the mountain apart but the Lord was not in the wind.  After the wind there was an earthquake but the Lord was not in the earthquake.  After the earthquake came a fire but the Lord was not in the fire.  And after the fire came a gentle whisper.  The voice of the Lord was in the whisper.  In the whisper He told Elijah what was next on his journey.

    The stillness takes away the elements of life and reveals the whispers.  It becomes a place where I have no life of my own, my life becomes His.  I can’t figure it all out.  Enter twined as one, He begins to live through me.

    He tells me what’s next on my journey.  He makes known the plans.  He even shows me the path and tells me whether I am to turn to the right or left.  He invites me to step out and follow where He wants my feet to be planted.  He is the cloud in the day, the fire in the night that leads me where He wants me to go.  I don’t have to figure it out.  He will reveal.  I can rest.

    Everything is initiated by God.  Everything.  It’s all so remarkable.

    This place of being still has become the most tender of places.  It’s the place where I am free to wait and be.  Even my tears become precious to Him, for they are the words of my heart.  All those years I had tried to form the right words to get Him to move on my behalf.  When there are no words, it’s enough.  He reads my tears and comes for me just because I need.

    I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I said yes to stillness.  I will never be the same.  The ceasing of my striving has brought the gift of knowing God.  As I rest from my efforts, life becomes about Him.  In stillness I come to know Him, for it is there that God becomes God in me.

    Late at night everything in the house shuts down … all work ceases, everyone and everything comes to a place of rest.  It’s so easy for me to see it now.  Being still is an invitation to enter into my rest.

    For anyone who enters God’s rest also rests from his own work,
    just as God did from his. Hebrews 4:10

    FLOWERS ART COM  Floral-Spray-I-Print-C10323197

Comments (8)

  • Hi Deborah, I have been to Boise to visit our daughter again and see is doing much better. You site is so pretty!! Hav  wonderful Easter and I will be Praying for our family! God bless!!

  • :heartbeat:Hey lady… I just wanted to pop in and check on you and others!
    Have a beautiful Easter weekend and glory to His name… He has risen!!! Yeah!

    Love you!

  • I missed your post! It must have been one day when I did not check my subs. We’ve been so stinkin’ busy lately. I’m glad you got to go see family. We don’t have each other nearly long enough.

  • Hello sweet friend, i finally got a chance to get over here and it always good to hear how things are going in your life, i will keep your mom Betty in my prayers and your hubby work i know how it goes when they don’t have work my son- in law just lost his job for good he been laid off since Nov, and now they closed up  Jobs around here are really hard to fine.   I did write a post on xanga the other day but i lost it so when i can get time i will update again and share what going on in are lives here in PA have a great day and i will catch up with you soon either on here are face book

                                                                                  sandy:

  • Thanks for stopping by for a visit and leaving a comment.   the door is open all the time, will leave the light on, come for a visit.  (( course I dont say that for my relatives)) ha ha  (( will shut off the lights  and hide under the table when they come))  teee heee   No seriously, thanks for teh visit.  yeah Im from Indiana, moved here 2 years ago, live in Dyer (northern Indiana) and HATE the snow we haev been having around here.. GGRRR  My sites are “yawn” at times, sometimes I can get funny, guess it depends on my mood, those whacky hormones!!!!  But stop by anytime….. Linda

  • I see I’m not the only Vanessa you know. I know another Vanessa, too. I also know a family with the last name McFarland. My dad used to ride Harleys with the husband. Their names are Mike and Sue McFarland and have been doing ministry work for many years. I haven’t seen them since the late 90s and I haven’t seen their two sons since I was a little girl.
    I also went to school with a guy named Danny McFarland, but no relation to the family I know. He moved away when we were in 8th grade. He died in a car accident at the age of 17. From what I was told by friends that kept in touch with him. He was a nice guy.

    I know it’s been a while since I’ve done the gallery. I have been busy, but also still trying to think of what I want to do next. Hopefully I will have something by next week.

    Have a great week! :sunny:

  • How fun to find out that you have a xanga too! :) I found you from Vanessa’s site! It was simply lovely to meet you last weekend. May the Lord bless your day today! Hopefully we will meet again soon ~ maybe at a photographer’s shoot in Indy?!

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Deborah! I will be praying for Mom Betty and O.P. and Lew, too! I know it is hard to see your loved one’s health change and you know they won’t be here much longer!……..I remember the last year my Dad was still alive, they were living in AZ and by the pics my Mom sent, I knew that it would be his last year here. He had out lived the Doctor’s time. My Dad had battled cancer for 20 years. And that wasn’t what finally took him, his kidneys finally failed. He had been a diabetic for over 20 years, too. But I knew that he would be at peace and so would my Mom when he finally went.Well I sure hope this snow is finally iver here as well! Like I told a coupe of people at church,” Is April fooling us with this weather, or what? ”……….I am so ready for Spring and warmer temps! Well, I hope you have a Terrific Day and pop over to FB and you can enjoy the newest of pics of Miss Beauty!…She is growing and getting taller and a little longer!……….(((((Hugs)))))………In Christ’s Love…..Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads