May 6, 2009

  • EDIT


    Carltonartgallery com norwood

    **My computer is going into the shop today!
    Please pray for wisdom that they can get this fixed, and not lose any files,
    or any of my photos!
    Pray that they will get it done as quickly as possible.
    I’ll not be around to catch up today, as I had hoped,
    unless I get a ‘loaner’, which is in the warranty.
    Have a blessed day, and I hope to see you all soon!
    And thank you so much for your prayers!
    It’s not such a good feeling being cut off from your friends and family on here!
    Blessings and hugs ~ Deborah <><


    Well, I do believe I am back!  I want to get around to each and every one of you, to thank you for your kind thoughts, and prayers, over the past few weeks … you’re all so very sweet, and I can’t thank you enough!  To quickly touch on the past couple of weeks … the memorial service for Marcia was absolutely beautiful!  Lewis, sadly, couldn’t be there since he had left town the day of, to be on a job right about the time the service was starting.  I missed him being by my side, but everyone there was so supportive of one another … we were all among many friends, friends who all loved Marcia!  The family had set up a memorial table with a few of her personal items on it … her well worn, and well marked, beloved Bible, her eye glasses, her favorite old watering pail with a bouquet of the most beautiful flowers in it … as I said before, she loved to garden, and loved flowers, and with these, Marcia would have been pleased!  They also had her gardening gloves, and her garden spade, with the dirt from her garden still visible on it.  They had also enlarged, and framed, a photo that I had taken of her this past September … one, they said, she had really liked of herself.  I was so blessed they used that.  They also had a DVD with photos of her with both friends, and family, which was being shown on the monitors.  The service itself was so very touching … not a dry eye in the house as different ones would share about how she impacted their lives.  I could have shared as well as many others there, I’m sure, but they had only asked certain ones in their family, along with a couple other close friends to speak.  I’m not too sure that I could have gotten through it anyway … those who did say a few words, broke down before they were finished sharing.  Her daughter played the guitar, and sang a beautiful song which she had written … one of Marcia’s favorites.  I could share so much more in detail, but I’ll let this be it for now … I will say that no one there wanted to leave when it was over … most stayed at the church until 10:30PM … it had begun at 5:00PM!  It was good to stay and share just how much she had touched us, and affected our lives … and what she meant to each one of us!  We will all miss this very special lady … our dear and precious friend, wife, and mother!  Thank you all, again, for your prayers for her husband, and her children, for comfort, in the days ahead.

    My mind’s been in a bit of a fog lately … so I hope I can remember everything that’s gone on since I was last here!  The rest of the week was quiet for me … a time to reflect and focus on what is truly important in my life, and put things in proper perspective again.  As I said, my husband was out of town on a job last week, until Thursday afternoon, when he came home … I was so glad to see him … he brought me some beautiful geraniums to plant, and, knowing my sweet husband, to cheer me up as well!   Saturday, Lewis worked at the church, chopping wood, then he came home and did some yard work around here, after that, he had a much deserved rest.  We had a wonderful day on Sunday … repairs and improvements at the church, since the flood this past winter, are coming along nicely … it’s so beautiful, and it won’t be long until things are finished. Lewis put the flooring in the bathrooms … and will be working in the kitchen soon, once they get the carpet in the sanctuary.  God has blessed the church in so many ways through all of this!  So many times, it takes some trials to see growth in our lives!  From trials, to triumph … in Him! 
     
    After church we headed down to my sister-in-law’s house for O.P.’s 88th birthday dinner!  Mom Betty and O.P. both seem to be doing pretty good, right now!  We are thankful for that!  We had a delicious spaghetti dinner, with salad, and, for dessert, he didn’t want the traditional ooey-gooey birthday cake … he asked for my Blueberry Dump Cake!  I was so blessed!  Have any of you had that before?  You can also use cherry … either way, it’s delicious!  I found the recipe years ago, and it’s been a hit wherever I’ve taken it, and especially with O.P.! 

    After we left there, we drove around and looked at a couple of houses … we can only rent right now, and one of them we looked at the owner does not look kindly on cats because of past renters who weren’t responsible … makes it tough on those of us who are!  We have two precious cats, and are praying that the Lord (literally) opens a door for us … leads us to just the right home!  We are still hoping for the house in the country … the one I’ve shared about in the past … it should be back up for rent in about a month … that’s my heart’s desire right now … unless, of course, the Lord has something else even better in mind!  We also looked at another house that my sister-in-law told us about … she saw a For Rent sign in the yard a couple of days before.  Well, we went there, and saw that it would be perfect, but the sign was gone!  We’re still hopeful, though!  We left a note in the door after we looked through the windows to see what we could … it had a two car detached garage (just the right size for hubby’s equipment, and van, for work), a 2 car attached garage (just the right size for our car, and extra storage), a basement, a fireplace, a beautiful yard with well kept trees, bushes, and flowers coming up, and, it, too, is in the country … just where we want to be!  We may or may not hear back on that one, since the sign was gone, but we know that God has the perfect place for us!  In the meantime, while we’re waiting, patiently, we will be content and thankful … we will paint, and declutter, and be faithful with that which He’s blessed us with here! 

    We’ll be painting the kitchen and bath soon … the livingroom and two bedrooms shortly after,  We’re working on deciding which colors to go with, and I found a great site that has a ‘Color Visualizer’ that you can play around with …

    Sherwin-Williams web site

    … so if you’re getting ready to decide on a fresh coat around your home, it’s really fun to use … just click on the visualizer!  I’m also thankful that our landlord pays for all the paint … that’s such a blessing … and, we can even pick our color of choice! 
     
    And finally, this week started out pretty quiet … not much going on right now, although, I do have to restock soap down at the antique mall, which I need to get busy labeling today.  Hubby’s work is a tad slow right now … he was offered a one day job in Omaha, Nebraska, at a Panera Bread Company, but it’s just not profitable enough to warrant that long of a drive.  Here again, we know that God will provide other work for him, instead!  Well, I think this has gone on long enough, for now!  I’ve missed everyone, and as I said, I will get around to catch up, and thank each one of you, starting today!  Have a wonderful Wednesday … we’re supposed to have some storms pass through … praying the sun is shining where you are!  

     Tiny Tag Flower Hugs,
               
    ~ Deborah <><  

    FLOWERS ART COM  Floral-Spray-I-Print-C10323197

    In all His dispensations God is at work for our good.  In prosperity He tries our gratitude; in mediocrity, our contentment; in misfortune, our submission; in darkness, our faith; under temptation, our steadfastness; and at all times, our obedience and trust in Him. 
    ~ Anonymous  


    The will of God for your life is simply that you submit yourself to Him each day and say,
    “Father, 
    Your will for today is mine.
    Your pleasure for today is mine. 
    Your work for today is mine. 
    I trust You to be God. 
    You lead me today and I will follow.”
    ~ Kay Arthur

Comments (11)

  • I am so sorry for your loss. It is always hard to loss someone, who was such a big part of your life.

  • Hello my friend…it has been awhile….don’t you just hate it when “life” gets in the way of blog time?? LOL

    Hopefully your computer is fixed and works well for you. It is gonna be a warm one already today..
    up to 90*.

    :eek: :eek:

    Have a great week!!!

  • I loved your description of the funeral. So often people make them something to dread. They should be a celebration of a life lived for God and for family. I know they miss her and you do, too…I can feel it when I read what you’ve posted.

    Praying for all of you, sweet friend! :heartbeat:

  • Pray that you will get your computer back soon,   i know how much i depend on my computer and keeping in contact with friends and family  Hurry back i will miss you

  • Just stoping by to say hi and glad to see you here on xanga, hope all is going good for you i know that you have had a lot to deal with over the last few weeks, how is your son feeling , i sure hope better, want you to know that you are in my prayers and thoughts Take care and i catch up with you soon,

                                                                GOD BLESS,

                                                                 SANDY

  • So glad you are back. You’ve really had a lot on your plate lately, haven’t you?!

    Blueberry Dump Cake??? Mmmmmmmm…………….. Can you share the recipe with us?

    I LOVE your layout, too! I really need to learn how to do this!!

  • :wave: yum…blueberry dump cake!!!! I felt like I was in suck a fog yesterday that my dh forced me to take a walk in the wet outdoors…it did help…
    we are thinking of painting the bedroom here in the missionary apartment….it did not get painted with the rest of the place four years ago and it really needs it…..
    I need to get out to finish the planting I began Saturday before the rain kept coming down…it is cloudy today but no rain so far…

  • I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend. It sounds like she was very special.

  • I have missed you, my dear friend. It seems like sometimes the realities of life off Xanga intrude, and since we are Xanga buds, it means we aren’t able to stay in touch at those times. ~~ Your friend’s homegoing sounds so wonderful! I do hope when it is my turn that there will be those who will be there to share that I have been a blessing to their lives. Awesome to think what Marcia is experiencing now! She is on the other side of Heaven’s door now. ~~ Things are pretty busy here with meetings. Our church is really stepping up with prayer. When you read about revivals coming, they always seem to begin with committed people on their knees, don’t they? We WILL have revival in Denmark! We WILL! There are prayer meetings springing up all over, and it is so wonderful! We go to one for our apartment blocks, and we pray for the area, the city officials, and the nation. Our new church building is going up and will hopefully be ready for convention at the end of March. We have made connections with a Romanian pastor and will be receiving some of his leaders in the Fall to train. I got many, many hugs my first Sunday back, and it really helped me. I admit a part of me is still pining for my sweet little grandson and my family, but being in Sunday service was good to remind me of my calling. I have my cell group kids on Friday. They especially missed me. They are so precious! One of the guys was here for lunch to talk and go over some stuff. He is the greatest young man! ~~~ I know God has just the right house for you. He takes care of His own. :heartbeat: I am going to stop now before I write a book! Seems to be a habit of mine! Love you! :sunny:

  • What great quotes at the end of your blog.  AMEN.  I’m glad your back and I hope that you’re able to get an apartment in the country.  God knows exactly what is best for you and I’m praying that you’ll wait on his timing and choice.  Marcia’s service sounded so great.  I have had blueberry dump cake before and I agree it is delicious!  Have a great week Deb!  Blessings, Elisha

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend! So good to hear from you on here!…………My job is doing well. We are getting back to normal for now. Leaving before our 10 hour shift ends………….The Guys… well Jess graduates next Friday the 15th. And than he is still deciding what he wants to do school? or work full-time?….Philip is being Philip, living life in Germany and working. When your 25 you just do what you know and not worry about the rest of the  world as he reminds me. ……..I will be praying that the Lord opens your eyes to the right house and if it is ment for you to stay where you are at right now, to give you that comfort, too! Hope you have a Wonderful day! ((((((Hugs)))))))……………In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads