October 5, 2009

  •   

    Autumn-Walk-4-web

     

    Well, I’m back!!  And, how are you all doing?  Thank you all so much for your thoughts, your precious prayers, and comments on my last post!  It’s been far too long since then, and, I’m again, sorry I haven’t been more faithful here!  Well, let’s see … where to begin!  To catch you up on family happenings …. Mom Betty has been in the hospital section of the retirement home for a very nasty cough, which did not seem to want to go away!  She was separated from O.P., (dad) for about a three week period, and has just been well enough to be released to go back to their room!  Dad has missed her, and kept asking when she’d be able to come back … he just seemed lost without her, so, my dear hubby spent a part of almost every day up there with them both, especially to be with Dad, as he has been alone.  He played quite a few games of pool with him, which O.P, happily, won!  I must say, that it has been great for Lewis to have this extra time alone with his father … it’s been good for them both! There were things in years past, that needed mending between them, and this time together has so helped!  O.P. is having trouble with his memory more, and more, now … they call it dementia, and he has been getting lost easily, there in the home, when walking to the dining room, or to an activity, etc., so, the doctor decided it best that they move them both to the next level up, where there is more watchful care for them both.  Of course, Dad does not like this one bit … the room is more like a hospital room now, and not an apartment, like the one they had been in with their own furniture, etc..  Mom Betty just takes things in stride!  Dad, on the other hand, has been calling members of the family asking them to take him home … to the home they left to come to the retirement center!  It’s breaking my husband’s heart, so we all continue to encourage them the best we know how, and to pray for them!  They just cannot be alone at this point in their lives without daily medical care … this is such a hard place for them, and for the family!  We’ve so appreciated those of you who have prayed for these two special people, and we ask again, that you keep them in your prayers!

    mom and dad 1 rt rs

    Now, for my dear son, Ian … as you all know, he had originally gone out to California to intern in the church, where he’s been now, for two years, plus … well, due to the economy, the church had to make the position he had, a volunteer position.  It came as a shock to him, and we thought maybe it was God telling him it was to come home.  We talked with him about it, but, he said he had prior video contracts that he needed to fulfill, which might take upwards of three months.  He began looking for another job, and thankfully found one, in no time at all!  It, too, is at a church, doing the same thing, only, not as many hours a week, and still making, almost, the same amount of money!  During this transition period, besides badly spraining his ankle, which is still not doing very well, he was also in another car accident!  Someone had just ‘given’ him a car, and it was, unfortunately, totaled!  Now, no transportation!  More reason for us to think God was trying to tell him it was time to come home!  We didn’t say anything though, we were just so very thankful that he was not seriously hurt … no one was, just his new car!  On top of all that … he also had to move from the house he was living in, but, again, the Lord provided him a home through a friend, and that same friend has given him free loan of a vehicle, in exchange for him helping to remodel the place he’s staying in … he also has free rent at this time!  He recently told me that he’s getting more video contract offers which will help him with his finances.  He said he has some very caring friends out there who were looking out for him!  Sure seems like it!  Thank you, Lord!  So, for now, he’s still out there, trying to get things in his life, in order, and once he does, we’re praying he comes home, but we know that God has a plan in all of this … so, we’re leaving Ian where we ought to … in God’s hands! What better place to leave our children, no matter how old they get!  God has given me great peace through all of this … it’s a wonderful place to be … in (under) the shadow of His wings!  Oh, I still have my moments, to be sure!  We often have to be mindful, and stop to ‘be still and know that He is God’, in ALL things!  I want to thank you all again, for your prayers for Ian … he’s been in a hard place, so please pray that he uses wisdom, and has discernment in all the things he’s going through now, and most of all, that he walks in God’s will for his life!  The world has become a crazy place these days, and above all, we want our son to be closer to the heart of God!  And, of course, we’d really like to see him come home, as well!  Many of you have been on this journey with me over the past two years … I want to thank you so much, for your kind words of comfort, and encouragement! 

     

    Welcomefall LEOSCORNER COM


    Well, I don’t know about you, but, I’m looking forward to the changing of the seasons!  Autumn is my very favorite time of the year!  We’ve had some really beautiful weather here the past couple of days … clear blue skies during the day, full harvest moon, bright stars, and wood smoke that fills the air, during the cool nights.  Ah, definitely my kind of weather!  We’re having a repeat of the same, tonight!  This time of year I always feel alive, although, I haven’t been feeling very well physically, the past few weeks, so I bit the bullet, and started a daily walking program!  I’m on my fourth week, and up to 3 miles a day, and I’m using weights, as well!  I’ve noticed a big difference in my energy level, sleep patterns, appetite, attitude – state of mind, endurance, and joint pain.  Exercise really promotes good health all around, and you really do feel so much better … it was a little rough going at first, being I hadn’t exercised in months, and months, and …… =  but, just starting, is half the battle!  We aren’t built for sitting, which I was doing too much of over the summer … ‘these joints are made for walkin” … and that’s just what I’ll do’! Lol!  God created us to move, so, I’m trying to get my dear husband to join me, now, and, I think … I think … I’m wearin’ him down! =)

    blinkperfectdaywalk

    fall_aplepie


    Our craft shows have begun for the season … our first one having been the last weekend of September, at the Apple Orchard’s annual Scottish-Highlander Festival.  That Saturday was mostly cloudy, and it had rained during the night.  We were thankful for the loan of a waterproof tent (we had forgotten the top of ours, which was NOT waterproof!) But …. God saw ahead to the rain, and the owners of the orchard had an extra tent we were able to use, when we arrived there Saturday morning!  It kept all my wooden shelving dry overnight when those rains came down!  Our next show isn’t until the first weekend of November, so in the meantime, I’ll be getting my soap inventory built up for the busy schedule.  October is pretty quiet, other than my hubby’s birthday, and our 27th anniversary!  We’re also going to the Covered Bridge Festival that’s starting in about a week … the leaves haven’t turned yet, but after a night, or two, of near thirty-some degrees, they’ll be changing fast!  They’re predicting cool nights like that, later this week! I so love this weather! I’m also still working on my photography, but it’s coming along slowly.  I just need to put more time into it.  Anything we want to improve on, needs time! 

    Well, this was a ‘not so quick’ update … (I had every good intention of keeping it short – really = but, I wanted to let you know that I’m still here! I haven’t been consistant here on the Xanga, but I’m not going anywhere!  I’ll be working my way around to catch up with everyone this week … see what you’ve all been up to!  Next post won’t be as late, or so long … and, if you got this far … well, thank you for bearing with me!!  In the meantime, have a wonderful week, and count every blessing He sends your way, with an ever grateful heart!

    candyapples[1] Hugs,
                  ~ Deborah <><

    Bar Autumn Apple 4

Comments (13)

  • Just though i drop in to say hi over here, always enjoy your post.  we had  a busy Oct and it looks like it gone to be a busy Nov. my where has this year went.    Pray that all is going good for you will keep your  hubby parents in prayer love the picture of them.  Have a blessed week

                                          SANDY

  • i am trying to get back to posting…

  •  I am so proud of your hubby the way he goes and spends so much time with his dad. Good for Him!! Bless his heart. He will  have NO regrets!:heartbeat:

    wow has Ian been going through it. all I can say is at least he is calling you and you know what he’s going through… I have been feeling ignored boo hoo woa is me….LOL   I do hate it that He is in Califorina…I wish it wasent *there*. I hope God wants Ian to come home to you guys soon, or at least some where closer.

  • :sunny:Hello Deb, I see things are going good, I wish I had the energy to walk i’m proud of you. I know I should and it’s no ones fault but mine if I don’t ugh! So glad to hear all the uplifting news about Ian God is good. Will keep your inlaws in my prayers. Your sight looks very good as usual.

    :heartbeat:Hugs Linda

  • :goodjob: I love reading your posts. I’m trying to catch up on everybody since I’ve not been on here much, either. That is such a precious picture of his parents. They look so happy.

    I love the fall, too. Although here, it’s still running 90+ degrees! I’m ready for cold!

  • Your work is AWESOME, I think it is more then worthy of posting. I have yet to take a professional lesson but I do know there is SO much room for improvement so I just keep on clicking away and for me that is the best way to learn. I wish we lived closer as well, that would be so fun shooting with you.

  • :sunny: Hi Deborah

    Love your background… :heartbeat: wow…lots happening…I know the feeling with a parent with dementia…but my mom will NOT leave her home…no way…so we have a health care worker coming in 12 hours a day. With Ian…wow, I would have said Get your tail home…LOL….but with him having found another job, house, etc….I will pray the Lord’s will which is seeming like he stays there…at least for now….who knows what the Lord has….it is exciting to see what the Lord does….I am still over at blogspot…I update and you can see it on facebook too….

  • Great you are back :)

  • He Deb!!! I’m so glad you’re back!  I can relate so much to your in-laws and the state they are because i have a grandfather who has Altheismers and it is very heart breaking in some ways.  I will be praying for you as you keep your relationship with them and with your son also.  I hope you have a great week.

  • So great to see you here on Xanga. I am pressed for time right now, but I will try to come back when I can. Love you!

  • It’s good to see you, girl… I’m back, too for the time being… through the holiday, anyway! ha! I love this time of year, too… my favorite..

    Your parents are precious and it’s good to know they are doing better.. bless their hearts!

    Take care and I’ll see ya soon… either here or on FB… gotta go harvest my FARM! ha!

    Hugs!

  • Hey Deborah
    Thanks for stopping by my site. I will be praying for Betty and O.P. You have greatly inspired me about exercise,thank you for sharing. Your web site is amazing!! :wave:

  • I so miss you around here but love it that you do pop in from time to time.

    praying for your family hun!

    {{{{{hugs}}}}}

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads